A member of the Cars.com family

New 2019 Volkswagen Atlas Reviews

New 2019 Volkswagen Atlas

Average Overall Rating:

4.3/5

Write a Review
Value:
4.3/5
Exterior:
4.4/5
Interior:
4.5/5
Comfort:
4.6/5
Performance:
4.2/5
Reliability:
4.1/5

77 of 91 (84%) of consumers said they would recommend this vehicle to a friend.

Wonderful and spacious SUV

Reviewed by LKB
December 06, 2019

I test drove a handful of mid sized SUVS, and the Atlas was by far the most comfortable & spacious. Our family is very tall so finding an SUV that can fit all of us in not only the 1st row, but the 2nd and 3rd is a tough task. At 6'2, I fit comfortably in the 3rd row! Great visibility from the driver's seat, and overall a great SUV. Very happy!

I would recommend this vehicle to a friend: YES

Impressed with interior room

Reviewed by LauriMac
December 05, 2019

I went from a very small 2 door 2004 BMW convertible to my new Atlas a few weeks ago. Needless to say I am blown away by the size, the cargo space and loving the option of the 3rd row if I need it. We purchased a 65 inch TV and sounds system over Black Friday and she held it all like a champ. My husbands F150 truck bed did not ! I love all the bells and whistles with electronics, the blue tooth for handsfree talking on phone. I think the sound system is great, we purchased Sirius and I am having a blast. No more radio for me ever again. I am getting used to all of the features, I like the idea that the steering wheel bumps if it think you are drifting into another lane, i haven't had the use of the system that will stop me automatically if I don't and hope I never do. I love my atlas and hope to have her many many years. I love the look of the exterior, not too round, not too boxy. The blue color I chose (dark) is amazing. I went to the dealership thinking I was buying a white one. I am pleased with my decision. My new grandson and I will have many fun outings. The rear window even has built in shades for him ! Great job VW!

I would recommend this vehicle to a friend: YES

Simply an all around great vehicle

Reviewed by Kir
November 30, 2019

I love everything about it. Its quiet, comfortable and super roomy. Could use a little more power, but not lacking in a big way. Tons of space with the captains chairs. Love all the tech. Best warranty anywhere.

I would recommend this vehicle to a friend: YES

I sold it within a few months. Not normal VW stan

Reviewed by speeedbird1
November 29, 2019

I bought the first one in Montana and sold it within a few months. After a Touareg was not the same comfort or normal VW quality. Very thin fenders that could be bent by finger pressure. Low towing ability compared with a Touareg. I went back to a Touareg

I would recommend this vehicle to a friend: NO

Days new it almost killed us - manufacturer defect

Reviewed by Mom2three
November 29, 2019

Purchased brand new for 3rd row/storage within the class and the peace of mind of a 72k warranty. On the first tank of gas within days, not weeks of ownership, we experienced a life threatening catastrophic transmission and throttle failure while attempting to cross lanes and merge into 65 MPH traffic. The car’s transmission went into emergency mode and while attempting to move us to safety, the vehicle exceeded 5500 RPM trying to shift into 2nd gear at a painstaking sub 20MPH speed. We avoided a life threatening collision despite the surrounding 65MPH heavy traffic and for that we are thankful. Volkswagen admitted the faulty manufacturing and attempted to repair. For obvious reasons, we are not interested in placing our lives in danger again by driving this vehicle. It is notable that VW has also changed their warranty for 2020 year to be 48,000 verses the 72,000 on model years 2019 and earlier. Buyer beware. VW’s quality must be called into question as the depth and scope of the emissions scandals and a very significant reduction to the fleet wide warranty program for the 2020 model year seem indicative of larger issues within VW.

I would recommend this vehicle to a friend: NO

Probably the nicest 7 passenger around $30k

Reviewed by Jr
November 20, 2019

I did a lot a lot a lot of research. Test drove just about everything and the Altas was the best value for money. It was an average a really good options and price vs the competition. You simply can’t get this from another car manufacturer....

I would recommend this vehicle to a friend: YES

Best third row SUV on a budget

Reviewed by Rich and Emily
November 20, 2019

The 2019 Atlas SE with Technogy 4 motion is the best deal on the market. We test drove the Explorer, Highlander and the Subaru and by far the Atlas checks all of the boxes and comes in at the best price feature wise. You get all the accoutrements of a limited package from the toyota and ford at a solid $10k less and a better warranty! Coming from a Ford Explorer and a Toyota Highlander, I would recommend the Atlas for the best price and performer. It tows better than either of them we have owned as well as allows tall adults to be comfortable in the third row. 2k miles later no issue and love everything about our Atlas!

I would recommend this vehicle to a friend: YES

Love My New Atlas R-Line

Reviewed by Louvier
November 18, 2019

This vehicle meet all my needs and I plan on keeping it for many years. It drives so good. Very roomy. The trunk is huge. I love the third road seating.

I would recommend this vehicle to a friend: YES

Very comfortable. Roomy and practical.

Reviewed by RoyP
November 15, 2019

Only have owned for a week so far. But immediate impressions are good. Has many user friendly options plus an abundance of safety features that had a huge effect on my decision to purchase. Had a 2008 VW in the past and got 185k on it before trading it in. Minimal expenses during the 10 years of ownership.

I would recommend this vehicle to a friend: YES

Acceleration complaints should be ignored.

Reviewed by Greenfield Husker Fan
November 11, 2019

Traded our Nissan Murano in for an Atlas with premium trim. Up to that point the Murano had been the best riding car I had owned. The Atlas is more comfortable and is a smoother ride, probably due in part to the longer wheel base. Ignore the poor acceleration reviews. If you put the Atlas in sport mode, it's as responsive as our lighter weight Murano. If you're buying such a large vehicle for its acceleration strengths, you're probably buying the wrong vehicle, anyway. The amount of interior space is exceptional. Technology is extensive and intuitive. The cabin is VERY quiet. The transmission is a bit jumpy at lower speeds as it works to find the right gear, but it doesn't rise to an irritating level. If you are critiquing the vehicle from an expert's viewpoint, there are minor things to complain about, but they are minimal. Volkswagen has hit a home run with the Atlas. I bought after extensive research, and settled on the Atlas instead of the Hyundai Pallisade. The Atlas is well designed for human cargo, and we look forward to many years of ownership.

I would recommend this vehicle to a friend: YES

2019 Volkswagen Atlas SUV Comparison Reviews