2020 Ford Explorer MPG, Price, Reviews & Photos | NewCars.com

A member of the Cars.com family

New 2020 Ford Explorer Reviews

Average Overall Rating:

4.0/5

Write a Review
Value:
4.0/5
Exterior:
4.8/5
Interior:
4.7/5
Comfort:
4.8/5
Performance:
4.0/5
Reliability:
3.9/5

149 of 179 (83%) of consumers said they would recommend this vehicle to a friend.

A fun new ride

Reviewed by Mark
September 22, 2020

This SUV is quiet, comfortable, and FAST. It has a lot of extras but I mostly bought it for the smooth ride. The 20 mpg/ 27 mpg is an added benefit.

I would recommend this vehicle to a friend: YES

Sporty yet very versatile driving modes and very g

Reviewed by Fast Eddie
September 22, 2020

The suv has plenty of room for vacation trips and comfortable for long trips. Love the different drive modes for this model. Very spacious cargo area and can seat 7.

I would recommend this vehicle to a friend: YES

Overpriced piece of junk

Reviewed by Bought a lemon
September 14, 2020

I bought the new 2020 explorer as a family car. Worst mistake ever. Looks nice on the outside but drives horribly. The transmission jerks and lunges while driving. It is scary and completely unsafe. No sensors seem to work on my vehicle correctly. It blew the intercooler and never threw a code. The seats are cheap and extremely uncomfortable compared to the real leather I traded in. The car consistently has electronic issues. The dealerships will just reset the computer and send you on your way. The gas mileage is a complete lie! I get 18MPG my 6.0 V8 and my 6cyl. got better gas mileage the ride is loud and bumpy. The interior is very cheap.

I would recommend this vehicle to a friend: NO

Most comfortable car we've owned!

Reviewed by Robby,L happy xlt owner
September 13, 2020

My wife and I traded in our 2017 ford explorer for a new 2020 4x4 xlt its beautiful inside and out plenty of room comfortable and classy ! It may take a minute to figure out all the options and technology but we love it and have had nothing but good luck with several ford vehicles in the past ! Love it !

I would recommend this vehicle to a friend: YES

Amazing new design and features of the new EXPLORE

Reviewed by jesush
September 11, 2020

The new EXPLORER is a great car. I had an EDGE and I used then previous EXPLORER. The big difference, the interior of the car. It´s outstanding! Nice, easy to handle and drive. The engine is also a very powerful one.

I would recommend this vehicle to a friend: YES

Ford Explorer Excellence

Reviewed by Susan Baker
September 10, 2020

I just purchased a 2020 Ford Explorer and I absolutely love it! Plenty of room and great performance. This is the second Explorer I have owned. I highly recommend this vehicle for great comfort and performance!

I would recommend this vehicle to a friend: YES

Turned out to be a Lemon

Reviewed by Deb P
September 06, 2020

Loved the car but from day one had unresolvable electrical/sensor issues. Finally, after a 7 month battle, FORD bought it back. I have been a Ford owner for years, but given that this was a new release for 2020, I did not wish to chance getting another that could potentially have similar issues. I was not in the market for a smaller Ford vehicle so have taken a break and have opted for a Jeep Grand Cherokee Summit for now.

I would recommend this vehicle to a friend: NO

Best Luxury SUV on the market!

Reviewed by Stephanieg
September 03, 2020

This is the second Platinum Explorer I have owned. It has every luxury feature you can imagine with a much better price than Acura or Lexus. Super comfortable with a speedy engine and great look!

I would recommend this vehicle to a friend: YES

a good bye

Reviewed by bbhg
September 02, 2020

This vehicle is impressive with minor problems like lack of USD ports and goes upscale when not necessary, ( does a gas gauge need changing) but I am happy to have it.

I would recommend this vehicle to a friend: YES

2020 Explorer has a lot to like!

Reviewed by David Hillstrom
August 31, 2020

It's brand new, so time will tell. Overall I love this vehicle. A V6 hybrid with lots of power and I feel very safe in it (all the safety technology). It looks great and has more features than I think I will ever use (but I'm glad they are included). If there is anything I don't really care for, it is the smaller windows all the way around on the vehicle. I get that Ford isn't the only one following this trend. I guess that means that I rely more on the cameras on the car, and the anti-collision / lane navigation / integrated safety technology on the vehicle. I'm okay with that. And This Explorer is way more advanced than my last one!

I would recommend this vehicle to a friend: YES

2020 Ford Explorer SUV Comparison Reviews