2020 Volvo XC40 MPG, Price, Reviews & Photos | NewCars.com

A member of the Cars.com family

New 2020 Volvo XC40 Reviews See 2021 Model

Average Overall Rating:

5.0/5

Write a Review
Value:
5.0/5
Exterior:
4.8/5
Interior:
5.0/5
Comfort:
5.0/5
Performance:
4.9/5
Reliability:
4.9/5

40 of 40 (100%) of consumers said they would recommend this vehicle to a friend.

Great car - very happy with my purchase.

Reviewed by Nancy VV
September 14, 2020

I downsized from an XC60 to XC40 and couldn't be happier. Love the look of the car, very comfortable and the technology is much more advanced than it was 7 years ago. There are definite improvements in the interior design from the size of the screen and ease of use to storage options. Drives beautifully. Rated Reliability as average as I haven't had it long enough to rate that.

I would recommend this vehicle to a friend: YES

Just bought this car and I love it

Reviewed by Cary S
September 06, 2020

I have only had this car about a week. So far I can say the following: it is beautiful inside and out. It handles great on city and highway. I love its safety features one of which is absolutely amazing visibility out the front and side windows. It has all the features I could want in a vehicle: safety, handling, good looks, comfort and reliability.

I would recommend this vehicle to a friend: YES

Drives Beautifully

Reviewed by Vicky
July 31, 2020

This is my third Volvo and is the best car I've ever had. The XC40 drives like a dream and handles like a sports car. The safety features are state of the art, and the technology enhancements are amazing. What fun to drive!

I would recommend this vehicle to a friend: YES

wonderful

Reviewed by Skj
July 27, 2020

I love this car. Coming from a 2010 xc60 it was a change. The only complaint I have are seats, I have the inscription model with the most comfortable leather but they still do not compare to my old xc60 leather seats. The headlights however and overall ride is so comfortable, I love the way it integrates seamlessly with my phone, takes awhile to get used to. the upgrades to the sound system are the same as my old harmon kardon- like the gas mileage and auto shut off. owned it for 9 months now. Roomy front seat, not sure it would comfortable for 2 adults in back- great for groceries, love the 360 view camera and alert system when cars are passing, auto finger locks on doors and how it tells you when u left your keys in the car, love the remote start and locking it from your house in case you forget.

I would recommend this vehicle to a friend: YES

Beats all other cars I’ve owned

Reviewed by Randyxc40
July 18, 2020

This car equals my bmw 135i my previous favorite. Amazing SUV. I’ve owned xc60, 4 runner, pilot, mdx and multiple Mercedes. The fit and finish is amazing. T5 plenty of power. Likely t4 also. Miss my CD player. Otherwise great great great. Thanx Volvo.

I would recommend this vehicle to a friend: YES

Beautiful Car at Exemplary Value

Reviewed by DanaS
July 18, 2020

This car exceeded my expectations! It is very well planned with a place for all accessories. It drives like a dream, and is very comfortable for passengers. I would highly recommend this car.

I would recommend this vehicle to a friend: YES

Fell in love with it!

Reviewed by Jbspinit
July 16, 2020

Fell in love with this car when I rented it in Germany last year. We purchased the T5 r-design. Love the styling and the technology you get for the price is fantastic. Some of the most comfortable seats I've ever sat in and glides on the street. Strongly suggest taking a test drive if looking at other brands such as the fpace, rdx,x3 and tiguan.

I would recommend this vehicle to a friend: YES

Volvo got this car right!

Reviewed by RBEmerson
July 14, 2020

After reading reviews for the XC40, BNW X1, and Audio Q3, the XC40 was the winner in all of the comparisons. We personally test drove the XC40 back to back with the X1. The X1 isn't a bad car, but the XC40 is simply a better car in performance, handling, options, and interior. I bought the RDesign (sporty) model. I gave the XC40 five stars, although I'd like to have given four and a half. In all major areas, the car is simply a winner. A few things shave points. They're all detail items, but they're there and are worth noting. The two biggest points are the black roof - the RDesign's roof comes in black, black, or black. Not fun in the summer. The sensor pod next to the rear-view mirror blocks the line of sight to traffic lights when stopped - this thing is huge. This shifter has two oddities - Park is set with a separate button, not on the shifter handle. Reviews knock needing to double push or pull the shifter to go from R to D or D to R. It's really move to N, then move to R or D - so what. It's a little too easy to drop into manual mode (the RDesign uses paddle shifters, not in the Momentum or Inscription models). Reviewers have other negative comments. Initially I agreed with many of them. After driving the car for a while, most of these complaints simply go away. For example, the shifter, a big point, becomes a "no brainer". The screen, with a little practice, becomes a non-issue. On the plus side, the list of standard features is impressive, add the Advance package and seat/wheel heating, and this car is seriously loaded. Performance with the stock 248 hp motor (in T5 - all-wheel drive only) has good punch. Add the Polestar firmware, and the XC40 RDesign is a monster. Overall, the XC40 RDesign offers superior performance, handling, and value for money.

I would recommend this vehicle to a friend: YES

Love my new XC40 T5

Reviewed by MikeC
July 07, 2020

So far so good. My new XC40 lives up to it's reputation. T5 has great pickup, drives more like a car to me which is what I wanted. I previously had a Jeep GC which was bigger. I wish it had wireless CarPlay but I bought an adapter to add that functionality.

I would recommend this vehicle to a friend: YES

Amazing car and an amazing lease deal!

Reviewed by EdC
July 04, 2020

We purchased this car because we like driving in comfort, and we love Volvo seats. We paid off our old car ($450 payment) and leased a loaded XC40 for $357/mo! This new car has it all, self-driving Pilot Assist, panoramic sunroof, powerful motor, etc. We love this vehicle!

I would recommend this vehicle to a friend: YES

Volvo XC40 SUV Comparison Reviews