2020 Toyota Prius Prime MPG, Price, Reviews & Photos | NewCars.com

A member of the Cars.com family

New 2020 Toyota Prius Prime Reviews

Average Overall Rating:

4.8/5

Write a Review
Value:
4.8/5
Exterior:
4.6/5
Interior:
4.4/5
Comfort:
4.8/5
Performance:
4.6/5
Reliability:
4.4/5

18 of 19 (94%) of consumers said they would recommend this vehicle to a friend.

Favorite Car

Reviewed by Cliff
September 02, 2020

This is my second Prius Prime and I appreciate its energy efficiency. I am happy with the comfort of the seating and quality of construction.

I would recommend this vehicle to a friend: YES

third prius owned

Reviewed by retiree
August 16, 2020

have owned three prius cars; this one is a little disappointing; no factory sun roof, smaller trunk compartment, it does handle very well; quick responsive handling

I would recommend this vehicle to a friend: YES

Green is Great!

Reviewed by GrandmaSue
July 21, 2020

I love this car. I’ve had it for 6 months, and it still has the original full tank of gas. With covid 19, I only drive around town. It’s a nice comfortable and quiet ride. Plenty of zoom to merge onto freeway in the power mode. During the winter I got 22 miles from a charge. This summer I’m getting 30, with the ac on. It feels good knowing I am helping the planet. Love the music system with Bluetooth.

I would recommend this vehicle to a friend: YES

It is "All THAT"

Reviewed by Drbob3800
July 08, 2020

I have owned three Prius, non-plugin and Plug in. On my third, it is a Prius Prime LE, I am averaging 75 MPG, the last 1000 miles have been to work and back and I am averaging 116 mpg. Styling, comfort, ride and tech, it is by far the best for that combination. The dealer is fantastic.

I would recommend this vehicle to a friend: YES

Love my new Prius

Reviewed by Jim
July 04, 2020

It’s a great car. Very roomy, I have a long commute every day and the car fits me just fine. I’m 6’-1”, it’s a very roomy cabin. Trim is fantastic With the leather seats and all. Performance suits me just fine, quick enough when necessary, and the ride is smooth. Mileage is fantastic. No complaints. Highly recommend.

I would recommend this vehicle to a friend: YES

super gas saver

Reviewed by cpu
June 10, 2020

Powerful and quiet when using EV mode. Weak and noisy when using gas mode. Road noise, need more sound proof insulation. NYC traffic rush hours expressway driving, jam and slow... it get 35 to 40 miles per charge. NYC to boston 220 miles get above 55 to 60mpg.

I would recommend this vehicle to a friend: YES

LOVE IT!

Reviewed by Kilo Charlie
May 22, 2020

really a great vehicle. seats five. getting ridiculous mileage by charging the battery from a regular outlet almost every night. up to 94 mpg so far. very comfortable seating and layout. couldn't be more pleased.

I would recommend this vehicle to a friend: YES

Once I took a test drive I knew this was it!!

Reviewed by newtothisplugincar
May 10, 2020

Bought the LE-Base Model.. for Commuting.....Currently driving 70 miles a day round trip in S. California (San Diego) and yes the cost of gas is at an all time low but we all know how volatile that market is and will likely face price spikes in near future. I know Tesla are everywhere here in California but out of my price range and not like the Prime's availability of using the hybrid engine if going on long trips. I do wish the battery had a longer distance but I'll take the 25 miles. Let me just say that this car drives so smooth and comfortable on the road....and....it has zip!! I test drove a Prius Hybrid and it was like a slug compared to the Prime. Some expert reviews have said it is sluggish but I can say getting on to the highways here or through traffic it is quick.... Tech is great with Apple Car Play of course. The Plug In is easy to use with interface. Plugs right into the outlet in garage. Some have said that will cost but looking to add solar to the home to offset price. Other selling point of car was the Federal and State rebates at $4500 and $1500 so wanted to take advantage of that (no longer available on Tesla). One concern so far is no rear windshield wiper?? Why Toyota? Also back seat doesn't have air vents?? I'll keep an eye on those 2 simple items but with transporting family from time to time might be a concern. Excited for this vehicle.

I would recommend this vehicle to a friend: YES

Best car on the market. Unbelievable gas mileage!

Reviewed by Roland and Linda
March 30, 2020

This car is beautiful, reliable, comfortable and rides like a bigger car. Plenty of room and love the hatchback which allows us to take our 2 dogs with us everywhere. We have been getting an average 300mi. to the gal. With the combination electric and gas. Love it! Also, less emissions into the atmosphere. It’s green!

I would recommend this vehicle to a friend: YES

Love my Plug-in

Reviewed by Priusfan
February 13, 2020

Great car for efficiency and comfort. Easy to 'recharge' Display(s) very convenient. With speed displayed 'in front' of driver windshield. Steering wheel touch controls makes for safer adjustments.

I would recommend this vehicle to a friend: YES

2020 Toyota Prius Prime Coupe/Hatchback Comparison Reviews