A member of the Cars.com family

New 2019 Toyota Avalon Hybrid Reviews

New 2019 Toyota Avalon Hybrid

Average Overall Rating:

4.8/5

Write a Review
Value:
4.7/5
Exterior:
4.7/5
Interior:
4.5/5
Comfort:
4.8/5
Performance:
4.7/5
Reliability:
4.8/5

32 of 33 (96%) of consumers said they would recommend this vehicle to a friend.

So much fun to drive!

Reviewed by Ashley
January 21, 2020

I love this car! I can get over 50 mpg driving across town in traffic. The technology equipped in the car is fantastic. People cannot even tell that the car is running. I love how large the back seat of the car is. The leg room in the back will rival mid-size SUVs. The trunk is also spacious. If you are looking for a full size sedan that can haul a family of four, this thing is perfect!

I would recommend this vehicle to a friend: YES

One of the few cars I have owned that I loathe

Reviewed by oblongata
January 20, 2020

Avalon Hybrid Limited: Let me count the numerous deficits of this very "limited" car I foolishly bought on the recommendations of Consumer Reports - never again!: 1. Dismal hybrid - even with very careful driving barely gets above 40 mpg on a trip and average is around 33 mpg. Far worse than other hybrids I have owned. 2. Interior is so 20th century - fuddy duddy, boring and tasteless - the synthetic wood is particularly appealing!!!! 3. Entertainment system is a poorly designed mishmash of buttons and dials from the 1950s. Nav system is hands down the most archaic and worst I have used in the past 5 years. 4. Design by Salvador Dali but without the charm 5. Driving dynamics and experience - as exciting as driving a refrigerator but less maneuverable 6. Ergonomics - clearly the designers do not understand the concept encompassed by this word. 7. Big car with little usable space 8. And some really special touches that only Toyota can deliver: In the first week I owned it my "key" rolled under the seat. The only way to retrieve it was to break the plastic plate under the seat. The Toyota dealership sells seat sealer pads to prevent objects falling under the seat for this reason. Then there is the rear sunshade that fails to open - a defect on Avalons for the last 15 years. Mmmm rear window sunshade - must be a big market for these in Japan - a sort of parasol for cars! 9. Reliability - the regular non hybrid battery lasted less than 2 years and cost $340 to replace at the dealer - a real foot stomping bargain. Summary: If a Tesla 3 were to have a desirability factor of 100, this car has a desirability factor of 0. DON'T BUY ONE.

I would recommend this vehicle to a friend: NO

Quietest car I have ever owned.

Reviewed by Gil
December 18, 2019

The car is so quiet, that I have to read the screen to know that it is on. I recently drove from Long Island NY to Florida and stopped twice for gas. The sound system is excellent and outside noise is minimal. When you put the car in cruise control and listen to the sound system, you think you are in your living room as the car moves at the speed limit on the road. I have owned Toyota cars for years and this one is the best, by far.

I would recommend this vehicle to a friend: YES

I love this car!

Reviewed by Lucy
November 25, 2019

This is my first car to have all the wonderful features that you expect from a luxury car. I really love how comfortable and stylish it is and how beautifully it handles. I’m still learning about all it has to offer, but it’s a real pleasure to own such a fine automobile.

I would recommend this vehicle to a friend: YES

Toyota Avalon

Reviewed by Ak
October 28, 2019

Avalon is the best car that I drove. I been driving the car for a little bit over one year and I really love it.

I would recommend this vehicle to a friend: YES

Everything as advertised and more

Reviewed by Realtor Rick
October 22, 2019

This car is amazing very comfortable, rides like a Lincoln and sips gas like a Prius. I am 6' 3 250 lbs and have more than enough room, love the heated and ventilated seats, heated steering wheel. People stop me and ask what car is it and comment it all the time. I have owned in for 3.5 months and have 9400 miles on it. Extremely pleased with this 2019 Avalon Hybrid limited.

I would recommend this vehicle to a friend: YES

Excellent

Reviewed by silverfocks
October 09, 2019

I had researched this car for almost a year. I wanted a specific color for the exterior and the interior. Thanks to the American Toyota Corporate Office I was able to obtain this vehicle. It rides quite and luxuriously, It has plenty of power when needed. The sound system is very good as well as the accessories. Best I have had in 61 years of cars

I would recommend this vehicle to a friend: YES

Best car ever.

Reviewed by Nate B
September 12, 2019

My 2019 Avalon is truly an incredible car. I bought the top-of-the-line Limited Hybrid with the tech package (the only available package) and I can say that it is basically a Lexus ES 350 Hybrid with a different grille. From the incredibly soft and comfortable leather seats (heated AND cooled) to the amazing stereo to the electrically-adjustable steering wheel (that lifts out of your way when you kill the engine), it is a luxurious miracle. The new hybrid engine (used also in the Camry and RAV4), produces an incredible 40+ miles per gallon in this truly luxury vehicle. It is amazingly quiet on the highway and in town, and it has the normal Toyota reliability. It also has the pep to scale a freeway ramp with no problem--not quite as fast as the outstanding V6 that Toyota uses, but enough for daily travel. The stereo is great, and using my Galaxy S9 for music works well. Frankly, I wish it had a CD player, as I still have a bunch of them, but all car companies are dropping them, and now that Toyota finally has Android Auto as well as Apple CarPlay, all is well in the world. Incredible luxury (in a Toyota!), astounding gas mileage, and smooth, pleasant day-to-day driving. It's the whole package.

I would recommend this vehicle to a friend: YES

Toyota Avalon Hybrid is our is our 4th. LoveToyota

Reviewed by Bill
September 02, 2019

Love it, everything we expect in an luxury automobile. 43 average miles pg. The deal we made was the same price as total gas vehicle. So why not make the purchase.

I would recommend this vehicle to a friend: YES

great car

Reviewed by jhbdce
August 21, 2019

This car has met almost all of our needs. Great seats with cooling and the passenger side raises up for short people. Very comfortable. like the lane assist. Could have more storage in the front. Lost some from the 2009.

I would recommend this vehicle to a friend: YES

2019 Toyota Avalon Hybrid Sedan Comparison Reviews