2020 Toyota 4Runner MPG, Price, Reviews & Photos | NewCars.com

A member of the Cars.com family

New 2020 Toyota 4Runner Reviews See 2021 Model

Average Overall Rating:

4.8/5

Write a Review
Value:
4.8/5
Exterior:
4.8/5
Interior:
4.8/5
Comfort:
4.9/5
Performance:
4.7/5
Reliability:
4.8/5

78 of 82 (95%) of consumers said they would recommend this vehicle to a friend.

Tank when you need but styling is awesome.

Reviewed by Frank
February 24, 2021

There are no surprises with a 4runner. Its' safety and work horse attitude are fantastic. Be it summer with the rear window down or the deepest snow--its' a winner

I would recommend this vehicle to a friend: YES

Still great resale value & bad-xxx

Reviewed by Hiker
February 11, 2021

Have been driving 4-runner models since 1995. Great resale then and still great resale. Jeep cherokees not even in same class when it comes to off-roading and being bad xxx

I would recommend this vehicle to a friend: YES

Best Toyota I've Owned

Reviewed by Lakeside1
February 04, 2021

This 4 Runner Limited is the BEST of all the 14 other Toyotas I've owned. Comfort, reliability, handling, instrumentation. First one bought in 1970. Our son and daughter both drive Toyota products.

I would recommend this vehicle to a friend: YES

Love my 4Runner!!

Reviewed by Jtawz
January 22, 2021

We downsized and bought the Toyota 4Runner. It runs great, it’s easy to drive and park, and it looks sporty and awesome. We love it!!

I would recommend this vehicle to a friend: YES

Old school 4wheel drive

Reviewed by Sws
December 04, 2020

Love it Have owned 2 FJ 40 cruisers and the 2020 4 runner feels like a modern version of them We both love it and feel safe in it Very good visibility

I would recommend this vehicle to a friend: YES

The Auto review magazines don’t get it !

Reviewed by Billy Bob
December 03, 2020

Car magazines give 4R two stars, everyone here 4/5 stars. Amazing that Toyota hasn’t really changed much on the 4R since 2010 yet people keep buying and love them. Very rugged good all around SUV with great resale value. Only real negative is the way 4R darts around on interstate, I remember my last one did same thing and a set of Michelin LTX’s made a world of difference. People complain about MPG but it’s right on the window sticker so you know what your getting. The 4R excels at nothing but good at everything.

I would recommend this vehicle to a friend: YES

My 3rd 4Runner. And I had to wait for a new batch

Reviewed by Joey R
November 24, 2020

I traded in my 4rh Gen Limited with 185,000miles. Loved it although little things were starting to need replacement. I like all the new bling on the 2020, especially the rear backup camera. I don't like the idea of having to replace any of the electronics. All electronics go bad sometime. BUT - I love this 4R. I handles very well. Stiffer than a car frame SUV but I like that, on the highway or offroad. The turning radius is great. It steers well. I got the TRD Offroad Premium and the mind is on overload. It is complicated to say the least. The manuals are huge with a separate big one just for the infortainment system. The seats are very comfortable and I can adjust them to my liking. The materials are very good although not as high-end as some. I know It will be reliable and it came with a 2 year no cost maintenance package. I put almost 2k miles on it the first two weeks just driving around, some on some mild off-road. I want to take it on some more serious backcountry roads soon. They are fantastic in the snow. I know from experience how good the anti-skid works. I would have liked a Pro version but hard to find and expensive. I had to get on a waiting list to get this one. They are extremely popular around here. You see them all the time. The controls are complicated for the off-road features. The infotainment system has more features than I will ever learned. Setting up Apple Play and Bluetooth were super easy though. I am not a big fan of Sirius XM because of the limited channels and the cost so I may let it expire. The outer trim is very nice and I am proud to tool around with it. I pretty much love it and, obviously, thought it was worth the premium price (and the wait). I worked with the dealer through their internet sales person. My first test drive was when I picked it up at the dealer just before signing the sales contract. I knew I would like it. No disappointments. I do miss the alarm system on my 2001 Limited though. And I saw from one review that a screw driver is all it takes to open the door and defeat the alarm. That bothers me. I also don't like not needing a key to open and start the 4R. It's a matter of time before someone hacks the system or copies the codes from walking by with the fob in my pocket. The tires will be expensive to replace due to their size but he stock ones are quality with good 4 season tread. It would need more aggressive mud/snow tires if you are in that a lot, or for serious off-roading. I don't need the moon roof but it is impossible to find one without it so you pay several hundred more for something I will never (ever) use. I never used the one on my previous one. I love my new 4R.

I would recommend this vehicle to a friend: YES

LOVE LOVE my 4 runner!

Reviewed by Sherrie23
November 20, 2020

I love my 4 runner, I just have a few things I wish were different 1 The back gate needs to automatic or push button to open, kind of heavy for a short person. I also wished I would have upgrade to just a little better like automatic lights. Again I still love my 4runner

I would recommend this vehicle to a friend: YES

Easily Broken into too

Reviewed by F.Moh
November 05, 2020

Found out the hard way that using a flat head screwdriver someone can break into the car by breaking door handle and popping up actuator thus deactivating alarm. Toyota head office won’t investigate until they reach critical mass so until then hope your car doesn’t get broken into !!!!

I would recommend this vehicle to a friend: NO

We love it

Reviewed by Conniek
November 02, 2020

Our 4 runner is what we expected from toyota and more. It is a very quiet comfortable ride also we thought by this being a lo bigger vehicle than we are use to driving that it would use a lot more gas but it does not

I would recommend this vehicle to a friend: YES

Toyota4Runner SUV Comparison Reviews