newcars.com®
Quick Car Finder

New 2018 Mitsubishi Outlander PHEV Reviews See 2019 Model

New 2018 Mitsubishi Outlander PHEV

Average Overall Rating:

4.8/5

Write a Review
Value:
4.6/5
Exterior:
4.7/5
Interior:
4.6/5
Comfort:
4.6/5
Performance:
4.2/5
Reliability:
4.5/5

22 of 23 (95%) of consumers said they would recommend this vehicle to a friend.

Meets all my needs in a vehicle

Reviewed by DonFour
September 07, 2019

Very roomy both for people and cargo. Quiet and very efficient. Sound system is over the top. I was looking for a SUV PHEV and this is really the only game in town now. Very satisfied and do most of my driving on electricity, not gasoline which was a major purpose in getting it.

I would recommend this vehicle to a friend: YES

Great car that saves gas!!

Reviewed by ShelleyE
July 24, 2019

I am really glad I bought this car because it is great to drive on electric mode (well powered and quiet) and it has saved me a ton of money on gas. I may fill up the gas tank once a month and it only holds about 8 gallons. The gas engine isn't super powerful but it is more than sufficient. It is a great car for carrying larger items, and the seats fold down really easily. It is a no-hassle car.

I would recommend this vehicle to a friend: YES

Overall decent value

Reviewed by Jomar
June 29, 2019

Plug in hybrid a plus for mileage but wish it went further on electric. Quality is good but not what you would expect for the money. Time will tell about reliability but that’s why we have extended warranty

I would recommend this vehicle to a friend: YES

Just got it two weeks ago, so far so good

Reviewed by tafkam
March 24, 2019

This is the only plug in hybrid crossover/suv available to US under 40k as far as I know. It is not perfect, and I wish they had put a bigger battery maybe a 20 kilowatt so the electric range could approach 50 miles. Lots of other little things and "I wish" kind of stuff but overall I am happy and almost can't wait for next winter so I can try the 4 wheel drive in the snow

I would recommend this vehicle to a friend: YES

Underrated electric SUV- Deserves more!

Reviewed by R2DPHEV
February 02, 2019

To all the critiques who trash this car- You guys don’t know how to derive the best out of this car. It’s an excellent PHEV SUV. I drive on an average 1500 Kms on a full tank of gas! It has its negatives, but which car doesn’t- I don’t think the perfect car exists.

I would recommend this vehicle to a friend: YES

Great AWD PHEV

Reviewed by MikeW
February 01, 2019

I was looking for something with at least a plug-in hybrid, and wanted all wheel drive for the Minnesota winters. The Outlander PHEV met those needs, and is a great car so far! Getting mid-40s gas mileage in the middle of winter, and I don't really know how to drive the car in the most efficient way yet. Solid, great handling, good in all weather that I have experienced so far. Love the EV monitoring tools in the car. Only complaints are: 1. There appears to be no way to set default settings for features like turning off the lane departure warning and setting the desired drive mode (EV or Eco) -- need to press those buttons each time the car is started 2. The remote start app leaves a lot to be desired -- relies on WiFi (the car is its own network), but have to be really close to the car for it to work and once you are connected to the car Wifi, you can't do any internet things on your phone. Great for safe driving, but this car relies on Appie maps for navigatoin, so you either have to turn off WiFi to use navigation or forget the car's network, both are a pain 3. The touch screen interface is a little basic. It gets the job done but could be better organized with one-touch access to important things. Maybe this will come in a software update at some point So far, I love the car. Came from a 2013 Ford Explorer. The Mitsubishi is much smaller, but I don't feel small on the road.

I would recommend this vehicle to a friend: YES

Fun to drive. Incredible fuel economy

Reviewed by Keith
January 12, 2019

We bought the PHEV to save on gas. It obviously does that. What I wasn’t expecting was to have so much fun driving. It’s like a game stretching your charge as far as you can. The regenerative braking and economy needle add to the game feature. I’m a lot less aggressive of a driver knowing that it costs me gas to accelerate and weave in and out.

I would recommend this vehicle to a friend: YES

No/little gas cost / 100,000 mile warranty PHEV

Reviewed by Catfun
January 03, 2019

Wife’s car usually used for short trips and that’s mostly on silent, pollution free electric with the assurance that she will never be stranded like could be with a battery electric vehicle because this has a gas engine/ generator on board with 300+ mile range. Seems like the best option these days for going electric without waiting around for the battery to charge in some remote parking lot. Getting 50-70 mpg combined equivalent so far depending on driving style. Cool instrumentation and smart phone ap with lots of tech stuff to look at. Interior is comfortable rides ver well, takes corners amazingly flat and smooth unnoticeable transitions between electric and gas modes and quiet cabin. Great Japanese craftsmanship inside and out and less than half the price of the Mercedes PHEV we were cansidering with better performance better technology and range.

I would recommend this vehicle to a friend: YES

So far so good!

Reviewed by RPElextricNewbie
December 14, 2018

So far I am quite satisfied with my vehicle. Mind you, it’s only been 2 weeks! I love the room, space, and reliability. I find however the electro aspect of the vehicle is better suited to shorter drives and I tend to do a lot of commuting in the lower mainland. That said when I am in my community I just use the electric & am very happy with the performance thus far!

I would recommend this vehicle to a friend: YES

A lot of value despite being "dated"

Reviewed by Dbroush
November 18, 2018

A pretty amazing piece of machinery, especially for the money. I've had it two weeks now and I'm very pleased with the decision to go forward on this vehicle. If you want to go electric and need an SUV (technically a CUV), this is really the only game in town unless you can swing the MUCH higher price of the Tesla Model X or BMW, etc.

I would recommend this vehicle to a friend: YES

Mitsubishi Outlander PHEV SUV Comparison Reviews