2019 Mitsubishi Mirage MPG, Price, Reviews & Photos | NewCars.com

A member of the Cars.com family

New 2019 Mitsubishi Mirage Reviews See 2020 Model

Average Overall Rating:

4.2/5

Write a Review
Value:
4.2/5
Exterior:
4.4/5
Interior:
4.0/5
Comfort:
4.0/5
Performance:
3.9/5
Reliability:
4.1/5

38 of 43 (88%) of consumers said they would recommend this vehicle to a friend.

It depends on you

Reviewed by DM
September 21, 2020

It depends on what you need and want. This car gets great mileage, has good front seat head and leg room and gets the job done at a budget price. It has good safety ratings (4 out of 5 stars), which I find impressive for a sub compact. Power windows, keyless entry, back-up camera, blue-tooth, air conditioning, looks cute and other decent standard features. Yes, the engine is loud but it was never intended to be a luxury vehicle. It gets the job done on an economical price. Not everyone can afford to pay more at today's car prices.

I would recommend this vehicle to a friend: YES

Most reliable car I owned. Fun to drive.

Reviewed by Queen Gladys
September 02, 2020

This is car is great on gas, fun to drive. Reliable. Perfect for my needs. I drive mostly on my own and it is the perfect size. I would recommend this car to anyone.

I would recommend this vehicle to a friend: YES

Not the best but.

Reviewed by Cedric 74
August 30, 2020

Bought it brand new 11-19. Already had both front wheel bearings replaced and now dealing with a possible electrical short. Fuel economy is okay, about 33-35 miles per gallon. Not comfortable to drive for longer than a few hours.

I would recommend this vehicle to a friend: NO

im alive because the car is safer than it looks

Reviewed by bigdaddy
April 29, 2020

i unfortunately totaled mine. i turned to read a sign and the car in front of me was completely stopped when i turned back. i was going about 40 and the suv was about 10 feet away and not moving. all the airbags deployed instantly and my car was totaled. the bumper went in about 2 feet as long as everything else. i escaped without any injury except a bruise from the airbag. i thought the car was designed well before that and more so after. i miss the mpg and being able to fit in small parking spots.

I would recommend this vehicle to a friend: YES

Super Gas Milege

Reviewed by RichardK
January 27, 2020

I had to buy a car quick...other car no more. Felt bad about having to downsize.....but drive 3 hrs. a day to and from work. The 40 PLUS !! MILES I get are FANTASTIC! The car is not the little xxxx car I was afraid I would have to buy.....actually falling in love with this car!

I would recommend this vehicle to a friend: YES

Most reliable car I have ever owned

Reviewed by Kathy
January 20, 2020

I love my car. It rides smothly. It looks really nice, very sleek and smoth. It comes in a lot of different colors, I got the wine red, which looks like purple.

I would recommend this vehicle to a friend: YES

Great little hatchback, contrary to pro reviews.

Reviewed by Little Car Convert
December 31, 2019

I have found the car small but mighty. Very good acceleration when needed, great on gas. Handles well in the snow with snow tires. Blind spots are minimal, seats comfortable, stereo good enough.

I would recommend this vehicle to a friend: YES

Basic Transportation that serves its purpose

Reviewed by Ash
December 30, 2019

I have owned a 2018 Mitsubishi Mirage ES Hatchback for over a year. The reason I chose to buy the Mirage was the price and the 3 cylinder engine. There is no other vehicle in North America that has a traditional 3 cylinder engine without turbo. The Mirage is reliable, fuel efficient and more than adequate for a family of 4. Critics have slammed the vehicle as being under powered, basic, anemic and not fit for North America.. The vehicle is never advertised and speaks for itself without having to defend why it exists. The Mirage is a great commuter car. It is easy to maneuver and park. It exists for those of us who look at vehicles as appliances whose sole purpose is to transport its occupants from point A to B I have driven it on the highway. Yes it is light and the 3 cylinder engine, like all the critics state, is quite “buzzy”. Road noise is an issue, but for a 3 cylinder engine with 77hp, I had it at 120Km/h with revs around 2700 RPM. The joy of driving this vehicle is rooted in the experience of feeling the road and understanding the sole purpose of the vehicle is a “people mover” and nothing else. I decided to wait a year and half before writing a review too see if what the critics state about the vehicle is true. Most of their opinions hold weight if you compare the Mirage to typical 4 cylinder vehicle like the Micra. A proper review would look at the capacity of the vehicle and make appropriate comparisons. However this would not be possible as there is no other vehicle in the same class as the Mirage, which nullifies all the negative comments about it. Newer vehicles are filled with technological marvels that cushion the ride and electronic gadgets that offer the latest creature comforts. This vehicle is as bare bones as you can get. I opted for the base model without a/c , however as the is was for my wife we settled for the CVT transmission. I would have chosen the manual, but the CVT is not that bad. Fuel economy is unheard of with us averaging around 6.2 liters every 100 km of city driving and 5.3 of highway driving. This is unheard of unless you have a Hybrid vehicle. It is odd when you are on the highway and every other vehicle is a SUV or truck. It’s a shame in my opinion that we tend to buy more than we need especially when it comes to vehicles. Vehicle are depreciating assets and it does not make sense to spend a ton of money on them. I know many will disagree with me, however ask yourself what do you use your vehicle for. The majority of you will find out that your vehicle is an appliance that gets you from point A to point B. The only thing that matters is that you have enough space in your vehicle to fit your family and it is safe and reliable. We are not racing around the city. Many of us like to show off our wealth, which is another issues all together. Given the fact that a car is a depreciating asset ,this does not make any sense. I would rather invest the money that I save buying a basic vehicle such as the Mirage over a $60,000 vehicle. Yes I may be the minority and expect many to think of me as a cheapskate. However the Mirage is one of a handful of vehicles that does not need to pretend to be something its not. That is a lesson that many in our world today could learn from.

I would recommend this vehicle to a friend: YES

I love my Mirage!

Reviewed by GotMitsu
December 28, 2019

I am a 55yo female, wanted a reliable car with a strong warranty . I bought the last Mirage on the lot...a wine red manual . I love it. The seats are the most comfortable of new seats I've sat in for years (most headrests push your head down..these are almost flat/straight..so I love em) the radio has a huge screen and easy to operate. The manual is zippy, easy to shift, has a back up camera ( that I dont personally use, but it auto comes up in reverse). The windows are designed so the driver has excellent visibility..basically, no blind spots and can see everywhere. So far I'm getting about 39 miles to the gallon in the city. The car is very easy to handle, can cut sharp u-turns.

I would recommend this vehicle to a friend: YES

Best small car!

Reviewed by Nickgee
December 18, 2019

I wanted a small car. I really fell in love with the looks of this car, I found other hatchbacks had weird narrow look to them. But the mirage is nicely styled! My first car . It's not fast but the manual transmission can take a beating! Really great in downtown and you can really abuse it. It's been super reliable. I don't know why auto critics are saying it's so bad. My friends Yaris is way worse ! Mirage is great! I've already got 200,000kms on it and noooo problem! My sister bought one too and she loves it as well!

I would recommend this vehicle to a friend: YES

Mitsubishi Mirage Coupe/Hatchback Comparison Reviews