2019 Kia Niro EV MPG, Price, Reviews & Photos | NewCars.com

A member of the Cars.com family

New 2019 Kia Niro EV Reviews

Average Overall Rating:

5.0/5

Write a Review
Value:
5.0/5
Exterior:
4.8/5
Interior:
5.0/5
Comfort:
4.8/5
Performance:
4.9/5
Reliability:
5.0/5

12 of 12 (100%) of consumers said they would recommend this vehicle to a friend.

The electric car we've been waiting for

Reviewed by Aaron
June 09, 2020

We were early adopters, back in 2004 or 2005, when we bought one of the first Priuses in our part of the state. Since we've owned a Prius V, both a CMax and Honda Clarity PHEV, and a Chevy Bolt. The Kia Niro EV is by far our favorite of the bunch. In a market segment given to huge display screens, wiz-bang gadgetry and few manual controls, the Niro stands out as a paragon of simple, practical, common-sense design. Both my wife and I got into the car and immediately knew where every control was located - exactly where it should be. The car drives well, range is stellar (consistently over 300 miles in warm weather), and it has a surprising amount of interior space for a relatively small car. We purchased it with the winter package - a necessity here in New England - and we are hopeful the battery heater will solve the problem we had with Bolt, where range dropped by half during the winter. The Niro is not a high end car like a BMW or Tesla, but it is a wonderfully comfortable and practical one. In fact, we liked it so much we purchased it instead of leasing. That's how sure we are that this one's a keeper.

I would recommend this vehicle to a friend: YES

The most fun I've ever had driving a car

Reviewed by cgsitr0629
May 10, 2020

Comfortable, fun to drive.....and we pass every gas station. Plug it in once or twice a week and in the morning the "tank" is full. 285 miles on a charge normally gets me through a week of driving.

I would recommend this vehicle to a friend: YES

Instant Torque, Great Range, Great Quality

Reviewed by CalifEVdriver
February 18, 2020

This car has been great so far. I've owned the car for 4 months now and have had no issues. The interior is excellent, the automated driving features are excellent, and the touch screen is good. I gave this a 5/5 for value because of the US federal tax credit of $7500, otherwise it would be a 3/5. At ~$39,000, this car is an OK buy, but at $32,000, it's exceptional. No oil changes, no trips to the gas station, instant torque, great headlights, quiet drive, and great automatic safety features. I have only two complaints so far with this vehicle: First, the seatbelts easily get twisted, and rattle rather loudly whenever you turn the car if they're twisted. Second, for not having an engine, you hear quite a bit of noise while driving - especially the whirring of the motors/drive train. These are both minor gripes, and don't make me regret my decision one bit.

I would recommend this vehicle to a friend: YES

Enjoy owning and driving

Reviewed by xmapper
January 12, 2020

I like it “ a lot”, I also own a Nissan Leaf ( 40 kw). and I chose the Kia because of the range, believe me the extra range makes a big difference. The only negative that I can point out is that the car has a bit more road noise at highway speeds. Big plus is that the Kia seems to accurately display true range at highway speeds , the leaf tends to over state range at highway speeds. I should note that I love both of my ev;

I would recommend this vehicle to a friend: YES

Better than what I imagined

Reviewed by Happy commuter
January 12, 2020

I was blown away by the quality of the Kia product I had purchased. I didn’t think I was going to like it and was in the process of ordering another car from another dealership where I bought my last car. Out of courtesy and to be positively sure I gave it go. So glad I did. I purchased the premium Niro ev and felt like I was driving a luxury car. The lane assist and the smart cruise control worked better than I could have imagined. My salesman John I think was enlightened too as how well it performed when I tested it with my hands off the wheel. I don’t recommend that but, I was just curious to how well it would work. I’m going to be whistling happy songs with the supreme comfort in my tumultuous LA traffic commute. The Harmon Kardon stereo has to be one of the best systems I’ve heard. So far extremely impressed with my purchase. I went in pre prejudiced a certain amount about the Kia. I’ve been more than pleasantly surprised by the comfort and quality of their vehicles.

I would recommend this vehicle to a friend: YES

Quiet, Powerful, Environmentally Correct

Reviewed by Silkrip
December 27, 2019

With a range of 240 miles and easy charging at home, this Kia Niro EV is working out well for us. I was surprised to discover how many charging stations there are between the Central Coast and San Francisco, so we can now contemplate long trips.

I would recommend this vehicle to a friend: YES

Love this car

Reviewed by Micheal’s dream car
November 15, 2019

This is by far best car I’ve owned. I traded my 2018 Subaru Outback which I loved but hated putting money in gas companies pocket. Kia has a winner here and I would recommend to all, buy this car and you won’t regret it?

I would recommend this vehicle to a friend: YES

Fuel efficient

Reviewed by DesertKats
October 21, 2019

Sporty looking car with all the features we wanted. Smooth driving, excellent gas milage. Very comfortable and easy to get in and out of driver's seat, an important feature for us.

I would recommend this vehicle to a friend: YES

Best mid-range EV on the market

Reviewed by DA
October 02, 2019

I can get ~275 miles per charge, making this the perfect commuter car. The interior is comfortable and well-appointed, and the UVO system seems to work really well. It's Andriod Auto compatible, and I've had no issues with the voice operation at all. Adding a charger to my house wasn't too difficult either, but if you aren't used to working with electrical in your house you should probably hire someone.

I would recommend this vehicle to a friend: YES

Rommy stylish

Reviewed by Kia fan
September 29, 2019

Car gets great mileage city and highway. Find a repair shop with knowledge, its new and mechanic s don't know how to realism because its new here. A/C went out took2 weeks to diagnose an repair. But otherwise great car for the money.

I would recommend this vehicle to a friend: YES

2019 Kia Niro EV SUV Comparison Reviews