2019 Genesis G70 MPG, Price, Reviews & Photos | NewCars.com

A member of the Cars.com family

New 2019 Genesis G70 Reviews See 2020 Model

Average Overall Rating:

4.6/5

Write a Review
Value:
4.6/5
Exterior:
4.8/5
Interior:
4.7/5
Comfort:
4.6/5
Performance:
4.7/5
Reliability:
4.5/5

36 of 39 (92%) of consumers said they would recommend this vehicle to a friend.

Worst car I ever owned

Reviewed by Santo,FL
July 25, 2020

I got a G70 2.0 back in December 2019, and it has been in the shop 3 times since I bought it. Creaks, squeaks, rattles, and pops developed all over the interior by 1000 miles. The sunroof and headliner rattle and pop non stop constantly. The dealer has tried to fix the noise from the headliner, but so far they havent been able to. It’s very apparent now why this car is so much cheaper than a comparable BMW, Mercedes or Lexus...it was put together very, very badly. Do not buy this car.

I would recommend this vehicle to a friend: NO

BMW beater

Reviewed by Mudweiser
June 23, 2020

Has everything the BMW 3 series has except the MSRP and the badge. Faster and safety systems are standard. Best buy in today’s market. 👍

I would recommend this vehicle to a friend: YES

Today was my 1st day to own car. So Far Good!

Reviewed by King Henry the Jetty
May 30, 2020

Car met needs ,very comfortable to drive and love the interior. Style is sharp like the computer Just purchased today will let you know more later

I would recommend this vehicle to a friend: YES

Unbelievable car.

Reviewed by mks0031
May 13, 2020

I purchased a 2019 Genesis G70 about a month ago. This car caught my eye a year and a half ago when I first saw one at an auto show. I made the change from a Lexus to the G70 and it has not disappointed. A couple pros worth mentioning: Exterior/Interior: The material used is high quality. The package I chose did not include the napa leather, but it is still wonderful. Lots of chrome features on the exterior that add flare and class. Some people dislike it, but it is one of my favorite things about the car. Navigation/infotainment system: Easy to use. This should be a given for any luxury vehicle, however the Lexus vehicles I am used to driving are TERRIBLE. The infotainment system is almost impossible to use while driving. Genesis managed to make their system much more user friendly without sacrificing any features. Voice command is incredible in this car. Performance: This is my biggest pro. This car is a beast. I love that it has drive modes. Eco and comfort are comparable in my opinion. I can put it in cruise on the highway and it is a smooth, quiet ride where I average 25-26 mpg during this phase of my commute. In one second you can switch it to sport mode and it is a completely different vehicle. It handles curves like you wouldn't believe and accelerates 0-60 in roughly 4 and a half seconds.. If you're into tracking your car it does have features such as launch control, a lap timer, etc. I test drove other vehicles and the only thing that might beat out the G70 is the 2020 BMW M340i.. It has a little bit of an edge in the performance, but not enough to justify $20k price gap. The only con I have for this vehicle is the dealership experience. In case anyone reading this isn't aware- Genesis currently has zero stand-alone dealerships. Some label themselves as Genesis of "wherever", but they are all currently Hyundai dealerships that can sell Genesis vehicles. I have nothing personal against Hyundai, in fact we used to have one and loved it enough to put 250k miles on it. However, Hyundai dealerships are a let down when it comes to luxury vehicles. I'm not trying to come off as a snob, but almost everyone I've worked with at the dealership lacks knowledge about the car, from what I've been told- the typical loaner you receive is an Elantra if you're dropping of your G70, G80 or G90. This doesn't bother me too much personally, it is only for a day, but I will say if they want to survive in the luxury market, then they will have to do better than an Elantra with an $18k MSRP as a loaner for someone dropping of there $75k G90.

I would recommend this vehicle to a friend: YES

Close to German feel!

Reviewed by Syed
May 08, 2020

Was always on edge about buying an expensive luxury car until the genesis caught my eye. German like feel with less trips to the mechanic shops.

I would recommend this vehicle to a friend: YES

Poor assembly, creaks and rattles.

Reviewed by RMI Chicago
May 03, 2020

I got a G70 3.3T AWD back in October 2019, and it has been in the shop on average of twice a month since then, sometimes several times during the same day. Creaks, squeaks, rattles, and pops developed all over the interior by 3,000 miles. The sunroof and headliner rattle and pop non stop, and I had a severe steering column issue. The dealer fixed the steering issue, after 6 visits, but no dealer so far wants to touch the noises or the sunroof. “Can not duplicate” or “This is normal” is all I ever get. It’s very apparent now why this car is so much cheaper than a comparable BMW, Mercedes or Lexus...it was put together very, very badly. I have never driven a worse put together car, and that includes old rusted out Corollas, which still sounded rock solid over bumps, unlike the G70.

I would recommend this vehicle to a friend: NO

Best car I ever owned

Reviewed by gdvendor
February 16, 2020

Great styling and I get a lot of looks and compliments. The interior is gorgeous and very comfortable. The performance is exceptional, it gets up and goes and the safety features are the best.

I would recommend this vehicle to a friend: YES

More Fun and More Comfortable than an Audi S5

Reviewed by Jon 1988
February 13, 2020

I currently own a 2016 VW GTI. I test drove the 3.3TT Sport last summer and was surprised by the power; the torque shove was extremely fun! The fit and finish was good as well, and the front seats were very comfortable. The infotainment was slightly better than what I am used to in my GTI, though lagging behind the all-digital displays done by Mercedes and Audi. However, since I almost exclusively use Apple Carplay, it's not much of an issue for me. After test driving this car, I went to an Audi dealership and test drove an S5 Sportback. It was nice, but the torque shove was nowhere near as aggressive as the G70, and the ride (though sporty) was a bit too harsh for my liking. The few things that I preferred on the S5 over the G70 was the engine and exhaust note (which was a bit underwhelming on the G70), the impressive launch control (which the sales manager did while I was in the passenger seat), the transmission (though to be fair, the G70 trans was pretty darn close and more than good enough), and the feel of the knobs and plastics. However, after taking both on a back road, I felt like the G70 was more engaging, as the power felt more usable (again, that torque shove was simply intoxicating), all while delivering a more comfortable ride when I wanted to calm down. Ultimately, I really wanted to like the S5 more than I did, and I ended up liking the G70 more than I expected I would. Then there's the issue of cost: the G70 I drove was $51k. The S5 was $67k. I'm planning to lease a G70 this summer.

I would recommend this vehicle to a friend: YES

Bought new so NA reliability, Great warranty.

Reviewed by Tmaxmorgan
January 15, 2020

Only test drove because of lease deal and wanted to move up from my 2016 Civic, also a COY. Way more car than I'd guessed, near equivalent to BMW M3XI AWD for $17K discount. on the sticker, more on the deal. The service at the Hyundai dealer has started off a little iffy on the scale of luxury car standards but probably average for the Hyundai label. Much better car than previous Mercedes and Audi's I've had both in terms of handling, performance and electronics though the latter is due mostly to the new stuff available now that wasn't on my older models. School's out on Napleton Hyundai's service. The loaner program is near useless so far. It's like no one is in charge overall for the Genesis line. Promises made casually, and kept more casually. My independent guy at Ogden Motors is in a way better class.

I would recommend this vehicle to a friend: YES

The Real Deal

Reviewed by DGMA
December 21, 2019

This car is an excellent cars and in some ways better than my previously owned S Class. However, I did some modifications as I didn't like how high it sat. Anyway the car is a beast with a stellar maintenance plan and warranty.

I would recommend this vehicle to a friend: YES

Genesis G70 Sedan Comparison Reviews