177 Lafayette Road
North Hampton, NH 03862

Get Directions

Reviews of Hampton Ford Inc

Showing the most recent reviews from Cars.com and DealerRater.

1.0 (out of 5)

I recently purchased an Ionic 5 from this dealership.

Reviewed by scott estey from Greenland NHJanuary 24, 2024

I recently purchased an Ionic 5 from this dealership. Very happy with the vehicle but very disappointed with the dealership. While talking with Scott my salesman and Rob the Sales Manager, prior to my purchase, they indicated they had a Blink level 3 charger at the dealership and that would make it very convenient to charge my vehicle quickly. This information was a key decision point in my making a decision to purchase an EV as the seacoast, currently, has very few level 3 chargers and I can't install a level 2 charger at my rental unit currently. I leased the vehicle based on this information and also purchased a blink subscription and card. I went to the dealership no less than 4 times to use the charger, everytime i attempted to use it, it malfuctioned or outright did not work. I met with Rob the sales manager who said to me "we are working to fix that....". On the same day, I wrote an email to the owner of the dealership (Jay McFarland) CCing the sales manager (Rob) asking when the charger would be fixed. Below is the response from the dealership owner: "Scott, I am sorry that the DC charger has caused frustration. I have not made a point of providing public charging at this time due to demand charges and our internal lack of need for the charger. Not due to the wifi or anything else. As you probably know businesses are subject to demand charges on their electricity bill. I am concerned that for the sake of a very few uses, we would incur a dramatic change in our bill. In addition, being I have driven electric vehicles for many thousands of miles myself and not needed DC charging I don't see how it would be an issue for others. Jay McFarland Hampton Ford-Hyundai 177 Lafayette Road North Hampton, NH 03862 It's my belief that they never intended on making the level 3 charger available to the public and Jay even made it seem ridiculous that I would even need to use a level 3 charger given "his experience". I believe that they were not being truthful or forthwith with me regarding the public availability of the level 3 charger from the beginning. When I pointed this out to them in a followup email, they never responded. Some may think this is petty. I think it's the principal of the matter. If someone makes a purchase decision based on a premise that is to be trusted as fact/truth and then find it's not the truth, personally I find it hard to trust a business or person in that case in the future. Be weary with these people when purchasing from them. I do not recommend them to friends or family.

  • Does not recommend this dealer
  • Shopped for a new car
  • Did make a purchase

Overall Facilities N/A

Customer Service N/A

Buying Process N/A

Quality of Repair N/A

Maximum rating = 5

Ready to buy? Get a price quote before visiting the dealership.

  • Get multiple quotes
  • No cost, no-hassle negotiation
Back to Top