Thys Motor Company in Belle Plaine including address, phone, dealer reviews, directions, a map, inventory and more

A member of the Cars.com family

210 7th Ave
Belle Plaine, IA 52208

Get Directions
Visit Dealer Website

Sales: 866-857-4280

Used Cars: 866-945-1538

Hours Toggle

Sales Department

Sun Closed
Mon 8:00am – 6:00pm
Tue 8:00am – 6:00pm
Wed 8:00am – 6:00pm
Thu 8:00am – 6:00pm
Fri 8:00am – 5:00pm
Sat 8:00am – 12:00pm

Service Department

Sun Closed
Mon 8:00am – 5:00pm
Tue 8:00am – 5:00pm
Wed 8:00am – 5:00pm
Thu 8:00am – 5:00pm
Fri 8:00am – 5:00pm
Sat 8:00am – 12:00pm

Reviews of Thys Motor Company

Overall Rating:

4.9 (out of 5)

99% recommend this dealer

121 total reviews

Showing the most recent reviews from Cars.com and DealerRater.

5.0 (out of 5)

My family needed a second family vehicle. Checking on...

Reviewed by LukeAugust 22, 2021

My family needed a second family vehicle. Checking on Autotraders website, I found a great deal on a used vehicle priced fair, with great pictures detailing the car. I contacted Thys online, and they got back to me within half an hour. I live in Cedar Rapids, and the dealership location was in Belle Plaine. I made arrangements to test drive and inspect the vehicle the same day. I let Josh, the salesperson, know that I had to discuss the vehicle with my wife before committing. He contacted me the following afternoon to follow up on my family's decision. We decided to purchase the vehicle, and made a small deposit over the phone, and made arrangements to pick the car up on the weekend. All my questions were answered in a timely fashion, there was no upselling of packages or warranties or any other time wasting things. On arrival to pay for and pick up the vehicle, my family was there ten minutes. It was not a rushed 'get out of our store' 10 minutes, it was a respectful pleasant purchase. This is the second used vehicle that I have purchased from Thys, and both times have been amazing. It is well worth the time to drive a little ways out of town for the speed and quality of service, and my total time between the two trips for this vehicle, including travel, was less than the time I've had wasted by bigger dealerships in Cedar Rapids or Iowa City. Thanks again Thys!

  • Does recommend this dealer
  • Shopped for a used car

Overall Experience 5

Customer Service 5

Quality of Repair N/A

Friendliness 5

Pricing N/A

Maximum rating = 5

5.0 (out of 5)

Excellent service all throughout the process. Willing to...

Reviewed by ed.lindrothJune 29, 2021

Excellent service all throughout the process. Willing to work with what I needed for trade and we were able to pull the trigger on the Truck we looked at. Will definately buy from then again!

  • Does recommend this dealer
  • Shopped for a used car

Overall Experience 5

Customer Service 5

Quality of Repair N/A

Friendliness 5

Pricing N/A

Maximum rating = 5

1.0 (out of 5)

Won't Negotiate, not worth your time.

Reviewed by ArmyVet84 from Belle Plaine, IAMay 03, 2021

Will not negotiate, it's their way or the highway, despite having full asking price basically in cash they would not even enter the negotiation phase never trust a dealership that refuses negotiation. Josh also lied saying their Cars don't depreciate as they sit, anyone with any kind of Vehicle knowledge knows this is a lie.

  • Does not recommend this dealer
  • Shopped for a used car
  • Did not make a purchase

Dealer Response

We see you left a similar review on google and facebook where we replied... here's a copy of our reply from your google review and your review for context... Your review..."50% of the fun is the Negotiation, this place will not negotiate, despite having full askin price as cash in hand, it is they're way or the Highway, Our Representative Josh Lied to our faces, saying nothing on their Lot depreciates, This place thinks they are too good for you." THYS replied... "Thanks for your visit and for taking the time to leave a comment. We're sorry to hear you didn't have a good experience here. Our store manager, Mike O'Brien would like to talk with you more about it. I can address a couple of things in the meantime based on your comments regarding negotiation and vehicle appreciation. You mentioned negotiating being 50% of the fun. I know that's the way most dealers operated for a very long time. Most of our customers don't like to have to negotiate especially since they can research and find anything they want online. We price our vehicles very competitively online as a small, rural store just to make sure people have a reason to come all the way to Belle Plaine. You'll notice more and more dealers using this philosophy and most customers really appreciate knowing they are getting a good deal without having to negotiate the price. In fact, most shoppers won't even contact a dealer if they think the price is too high. The particular vehicle you looked at is priced very competitively and is a great, local, well maintained SUV. It is also a very strange time in the car business where most vehicles have truly appreciated in value for the first time I can remember and continue to do so. The shortage of new and used vehicles has continued to drive prices up. It's unheard of but true. More importantly, we're still sorry you didn't have a good experience here and will be talking about how we can better explain some of these things. We're always doing our best to improve and would sincerely like the opportunity to talk with you more on the phone or in person about how it was presented to you and how we can do better. If you look through our other reviews, you'll see most people have a genuinely positive experience here. It's important to us that we provide that kind of experience to everyone and that people leave here feeling like family. Please call Mike directly at (319)444-2163 if you have time."

Overall Facilities N/A

Customer Service 1

Buying Process 1

Quality of Repair N/A

Maximum rating = 5

About Thys Motor Company

If you're looking for well-stocked inventory of new Chrysler Dodge Jeep Ram vehicles you've come to the right place! At Thys Motor Company the qualified sales service and financial staff members strive for 100% customer satisfaction. You should always leave our dealership satisfied with your experience. Stop by and we'll take care of all your automotive needs!

Ready to buy? Get a price quote before visiting the dealership.

  • Get multiple quotes
  • No cost, no-hassle negotiation
Back to Top