University Auto Center GMC/Buick/Cadillac in Ellensburg including address, phone, dealer reviews, directions, a map, inventory and more

A member of the family

1817 US-97
Ellensburg, WA 98926

Get Directions
Hours Toggle

Sales Department

Sun Closed
Mon 8:00am – 6:00pm
Tue 8:00am – 6:00pm
Wed 8:00am – 6:00pm
Thu 8:00am – 6:00pm
Fri 8:00am – 6:00pm
Sat 9:00am – 4:00pm

Service Department

Sun Closed
Mon 7:30am – 5:00pm
Tue 7:30am – 5:00pm
Wed 7:30am – 5:00pm
Thu 7:30am – 5:00pm
Fri 7:30am – 5:00pm
Sat Closed

Reviews of University Auto Center GMC/Buick/Cadillac

Overall Rating:

4.7 (out of 5)

96% recommend this dealer

177 total reviews

Showing the most recent reviews from and DealerRater.

5.0 (out of 5)

Best Experience EVER!!!

Reviewed by Katie from CLE ELUM, WAMarch 23, 2022

I have never in my life spent less then 4 hours in a dealership, until Univeraity Auto! I had two other dealers sell a truck out from under me, I told the University what happened to me and they told me that they would take care of me and they absolutely did!! Holly is AMAZING! She made the experience so much better than i could have ever imagined! 20 minutes and I was done and driving my new canyon home!! I will continue to buy everything from this dealership and will tell eveyone I know how amazing they are!!

  • Does recommend this dealer
  • Shopped for a new car
  • Did make a purchase

Overall Facilities N/A

Customer Service 5

Buying Process 5

Quality of Repair N/A

Maximum rating = 5

1.0 (out of 5)

I Bought a used 2017 GMC Sierrra Denali from UAC.

Reviewed by Dan BroylesMarch 04, 2022

I Bought a used 2017 GMC Sierrra Denali from UAC. Sales transaction was pretty seamless. Was told by salesman truck had been well taken care of, with no issues, local owner, and I was making a good choice in truck. The outside of the truck was clean, the inside was not detailed and not what you would expect for that type of truck, but I let it pass. I drove 4 hours to get the truck from Idaho, and when I got home is where the problems starting happening. Long story short, after taking the truck to my brother in laws auto mechanic shop in Kennewick WA, UAC sold me a truck with bad transmission, bad truck battery, bad cell phone charger, rotors were warped, both shocks and struts leaking oil, and trailer brake controller started showing up after I brought the truck home.. Contacted service manager in Ellensburg, and basically she told me truck sold as is no warranty. After some complaining, they offered to replace the transmission under a customer appreciation program, and told me out of pocket would be $500, but I would need to bring truck back to them, and they would look at the other items. So I drove the truck back to them and they replaced the transmission, but would not replace anything else that was bad that I mentioned before to them. They supposedly did a 120 point inspection on truck before selling, and I got the inspection report, you can see where these items were suppose to be repaired in UAC shop, but they crossed them off and didn't repair the items. I got this report after I started having all these issues. I inquired about why the repairs were not made, there response from the general manager, was that the work was not authorized. Once I got the truck back, they charged me $1500 for the warranty transmission work, where I was told from the lady service manager, it would be $500, and they charged me for the inspection and diagnosis of the items that they knew were bad already. Needless to say I had to make all the other repairs to this truck at my cost, and at this point, I am into a new truck cost. I was led to believe the truck was in sound working condition, which it was not, they sold a truck, they knew needed parts repaired and fixed, and they told me otherwise. They would not take any money off the sales price as it was an internet special and AD said call for special pricing. When I asked, they refused to take any money off the asking price. Whats the point of the internet special asking price? The whole experience form UAC was the worst dealer experience in the 5 trucks I have bought over my life time. When I picked up the truck from dealer, the sales rep nor the service manager nor any member from management could front me, and give the truck keys to m, or even express some sort of apology. They had another sales guy, whom I have never seen and met, give me the truck keys. None of the people I dealt with, had the xxxxx to meet me. Beware of this dealership and before buying a truck from them, take it to another mechanic to go over truck. Either there mechanics are incompetent in there repairs and diagnosis, or the management just plain sucks on pleasing the customer. I will say my salesman Riley, answered my questions and got back to me in a timely fashion, but I am sure his hands were tied from management. I wont go into the details of licensing, but it took several weeks to get paperwork from UAC to go to my local DMV, which initially they told me this would only take a few days. Overall, worst buying experience, customer service, service department, and not even a 1 star experience. UAC knows who i am, as i was always referred to them as that guy from IDAHO.

  • Does not recommend this dealer
  • Shopped for a new car

Overall Experience 1

Customer Service 2

Quality of Repair N/A

Friendliness 1

Pricing N/A

Maximum rating = 5

1.3 (out of 5)

I bought a brand new 2020 Jeep Cherokee from UAC approx 5...

Reviewed by sriel2510October 29, 2020

I bought a brand new 2020 Jeep Cherokee from UAC approx 5 months ago. Drew Snider is absolutely incredible at his job and made the buying process fun and easy. He is the only reason I am still happy I bought my car locally. However I would honestly not recommend this dealership because of their service center. Approx 1 month ago my vehicle started having problems shifting and randomly would not come out of park. The first time it got stuck in town for a day and half because it was the weekend and wouldn't work. It randomly came out of park and I called the service department. Initially they told me they couldn't get me in for another week. After telling them this was unacceptable since the car literally could not be driven reliably they found a spot for me. I dropped my Jeep off early in the morning and they had it all day. Eventually calling be fore they closed saying they couldn't recreate the problem so I could come get the car and gave me the number of Chrysler to call next time it happens to have the car towed. 4 days later the jeep again would not shift out of park, I call UAC service and the tow number. I waited 4.5 hours for a tow truck and when it got towed to UAC they looked at my car, they told me it was probably my fault and I must just be shifting wrong because they can not get the car to fail. However they state they are going to order a new shifter anyways just in case that is the problem. They inform me the shifter is back ordered and they will call me when it comes in. In the meantime because they inform me there is absolutely no way they can give me a loaner car, "they don't have loaner cars," the service tech teaches me a way to override the shifter if it happens again. I thought great at least this way I won't get stuck at work since I drive 160 miles to the west side to work. I go to work a couple days later and attempt to drive home.....the car will not come out of park, I attempt the override and it does not work. I am stuck at a gas station for over an hour because of this issue. Finally after multiple attempts and people trying it the jeep comes out of park. I call UAC they tell me there is nothing they can do to help me, the shifter will be in in four days and I can bring it in there. I ask them for a loaner car or a rental since I have to go to work they say their hands are tied and it is impossible. So here I am with an unreliable car that randomly will not work that I have to drive over the pass. The car goes in to get the shifter changed. They have the car all day. I get the car back and a few days later same problem won't come out of park. I then manage to get the car back to UAC and they keep my car overnight without an update, without a phone call. When I call the next morning they say they just forgot to call and dropped the ball. They state they still haven't checked everything out and are waiting for Chrysler support to call them back. They state I will call you back in 20 mins. No one calls. 4 hours later when I am headed out of town I stop by because I need things out of my car I get a "oh i was just about to call you." They hand't heard back yet and forgot to call to follow up. 3 days later I get the car back with a Chrysler recommended we do the computer updates and everything will be fine. At this point I am just waiting for it to happen again and hope I can actually make it home. I know that the car not working is not the dealerships fault. However the incredibly poor customer service is. I have multiple videos of what is happening when it won't come out of park. I have had numerous people try it when it happens, something is failing. The hard part for me is I just spent of 30,000 on a new vehicle, bought the VIP service membership and over the course of a month I can't get a loaner car or even a smidge of help to have a reliable car to drive to work.

  • Does not recommend this dealer
  • Came in for service or repair

Dealer Response

Hello, we are so sorry to hear about your experience and understand how frustrating it can be to be waiting on the manufacturer with no answers. Unfortunately our hands were tied because we too were waiting to hear back from the manufacturer. It was never our intention to keep you waiting or make you feel like you were in the dark in this situation and are willing to do what we can to make it right with you. Also, because of the COVID guidelines we have been unable to give loaner cars to any customers, no matter the situation. We apologize for the inconvenience this may have caused you. Please do not hesitate to reach out if you need anything else from us. Thank you.

Overall Experience 1

Customer Service 1

Quality of Repair N/A

Friendliness 2

Pricing N/A

Maximum rating = 5

About University Auto Center GMC/Buick/Cadillac

Welcome! University Auto Center is proud to serve as your preferred Ellensburg GMC & Buick models as well as an expansive selection of quality used vehicles. Our sales team can easily assist you with financing options or help you find the perfect accessories to complete your current vehicle. Yakima and Tri-Cities GMC and Buick customers whether you are searching automotive sales or service no other dealership in the area can match our level of knowledge and quality. At University Auto Center we also feel proud to serve Wenatchee Yakima & Tri-Cities GMC Buick customers and are always ready to help all drivers find their car.

Ready to buy? Get a price quote before visiting the dealership.

  • Get multiple quotes
  • No cost, no-hassle negotiation
Back to Top