cars.com

A member of the
Cars.com family

Log In
McAfee Badge

New 2013 Volkswagen Tiguan Reviews See 2014

More Details & Photos
New 2013 Volkswagen Tiguan

Don't Overpay for Your 2013 Volkswagen Tiguan!

Save Time and Money Online When You Shop with Us

Over the past month we helped 97,581 new car buyers find their perfect car.

Get your best price before going to the dealer!

Consumer Reviews Summary Write a Review

Average Overall Rating:

3.9/5

Value:
3.6/5
Exterior:
4.2/5
Interior:
4.5/5
Comfort:
4.1/5
Performance:
3.7/5
Reliability:
3.5/5

11 of 15 (73%) of consumers said they would recommend this vehicle to a friend.

Overall Rating:
1/5
Value:
3/5
Exterior:
5/5
Interior:
5/5
Comfort:
5/5
Performance:
1/5
Reliability:
1/5

Loved it...but now my Tiguan is stalling

Reviewed by josisa
March 20, 2014

We loved this car until we have recently experienced technical issues. It suddenly stalls while driving. This happened around 12 times and the dealer ship can not find any problems. I am worried to drive with this car with my kids. Anybody having the same problem? it also has sometimes issues with starting.

I would recommend this vehicle to a friend: NO

Overall Rating:
1/5
Value:
1/5
Exterior:
2/5
Interior:
2/5
Comfort:
1/5
Performance:
2/5
Reliability:
1/5

Worst car I have ever borught wpuld not recommend

Reviewed by Sherry
February 27, 2014

2014 Tiguan bought in September ,two after start having problem with the car engineer car light kept coming on. Replace two chips one month later battery light came on then the engineer light came on. Was told to have the cat haul in do not drive the car. They said it was the engineer harness wiring. Iam consider getting rid of the car. To many repair on a new car Sherry

I would recommend this vehicle to a friend: NO

Overall Rating:
5/5
Value:
5/5
Exterior:
5/5
Interior:
5/5
Comfort:
5/5
Performance:
5/5
Reliability:
5/5

Way better than expected!

Reviewed by Dream Car Driver
October 02, 2013

I have owned my new Volkswagen Tiguan for over a month now and I cannot say enough great things about it! I didn't think it would be possible to LOVE a car, but this is the case. I am so satisfied with all the luxury features this vehicle has such as stylish leather interior, panoramic sunroof (my FAVORITE feature!), built-in navigation system and advanced audio system. We actually opted for the 4 Motion model and I'm so happy we did, we love the way the car handles. One of the best things I love is the way the car feels when you drive it. It feels so sporty and fun to drive, not bulky and heavy like some of the other crossovers we test drove. I have also been pleasantly surprised by the actual mileage we've been getting. I was worried after having owned a much smaller vehicle for years that this size car was going to use so much more fuel, but it has been coming in at the high end of the mileage gauge, in town and on the highway. I already took my first long trip in it and was so comfortable, I loved it. I am completely satisfied with my purchase and encourage anyone in the market for this size vehicle to test drive the Tiguan, you'll be sold too!

I would recommend this vehicle to a friend: YES

Overall Rating:
5/5
Value:
5/5
Exterior:
5/5
Interior:
5/5
Comfort:
5/5
Performance:
5/5
Reliability:
5/5

Haven't had it for that long but love it

Reviewed by VW lover
September 05, 2013

So far it has been great love the lights at night I live in the country and have wild animals on the road they light up the bar ditches very well so you can see them.

I would recommend this vehicle to a friend: YES

Overall Rating:
5/5
Value:
5/5
Exterior:
5/5
Interior:
5/5
Comfort:
5/5
Performance:
5/5
Reliability:
5/5

Great small SUV

Reviewed by Overall car fan
August 14, 2013

Let me start by saying the decision to choose this vehicle ended up being an easy one, but we at least looked at most options in the segment and the Tiguan worked best for us. We purchased a '13 SEL FWD. Also, this is our 3rd VW, and I'll say once you get used to the drive on these cars, it's hard to go back, but we still had to do our due diligence...The good thing is that there are many good options in this segment and at the end you should choose what's best for you. If you have the time, I would recommend as we did and looked as many of the options as possible. Our biggest need was that whichever small SUV we ended up with could fit a rear facing car seat well. Then in terms of comfort, we really wanted memory seats (me and my wife change cars a fair amount of times), keyless entry (easier for my wife to not have to dig to her diaper bag for keys everytime) and push button start (same story w/ the diaper bag :)). Pretty much every car that has those options is usually the higher level model, so that usually includes the rearview camera, leather, among other things. We had a budgeted number in mind but something with these 3 features that we enjoyed driving was worth a little more to us. So we saw and test drove the RAV4, CRV, Q5, RDX, and the CX-5. The RAV4 just felt underpowered to us and overall we didn't really like the styling. We did think it offered the most features for the price, and to some that's all she wrote. The CRV had a great price, but again, to us it felt underpowered and even on their higher end model in order to get that price it didn't have push button start and memory seats. The Q5 was higher than our budget but given there were some good deals on the '13 models we decided to try it out... Loved the drive, great car, but the problem was that to get to the features we wanted, it would've been way out of our price range, plus it turned out that even if we could've afforded it, our rear facing car seat didn't fit well on it, so there there was no justifying it. The RDX was a great option too, w/ great space, great features, we liked the look of it also, but we just weren't too excited about it for some reason and it was at a higher price point than the Tiguan. Then we saw the '14 CX-5 w/ the updated 185hp engine... my wife wasn't too big on it but I loved it, overall the looks, fun to drive factor, and features sold it for me. One big problem for us though, the rear facing car seat didn't fit well on it. If I remember correctly also the GT didn't have the memory seats, but I would've over looked that for the great price on it, plus it did have the blind spot warning system which most of our options didn't have anyways. At the end, the Tiguan had the space we needed in the backseats (and they slide if we don't need as much space in the future), had the amenities/features we wanted, the turbo engine almost feels like a V6 so enough power there for us, and it all came at a price point that worked with our budget. I will say we didn't consider the Ford Escape which I know many people like because I'm not a huge fan of Ford and to get the features that we wanted it would've put it very similar cost wise to the TIguan. Similar story with the Chevy Equinox. Hope that helps somebody... we've had the Tiguan now for 2 weeks and just plain love it.

I would recommend this vehicle to a friend: YES

Overall Rating:
5/5
Value:
5/5
Exterior:
5/5
Interior:
5/5
Comfort:
5/5
Performance:
5/5
Reliability:
5/5

Fantastic College Grad Gift

Reviewed by Mr Bad Example
August 08, 2013

Our daughter could have had any vehicle within a certain price point for a graduation gift. She chose the Tiguan. Having driven it a few times myself, her choice was excellent. It's easy to drive -- better than the others in its class even if those others were listed with higher horsepower and torque. The Tiguan makes its power much earlier in the power band making it more responsive in real world traffic, and still has amazing pull when reaching the higher RPM's . I'm not sure if the suspension is better or if it has a lower center of gravity (or both), but the Tiguan handles its cornering very well without much roll -- far less than I was expecting or experienced with other similar vehicles. The turning radius is very good and visibility is excellent. The Tiguan deals with rough roads and pot holes decently but offers a good feel for the road. Some similar vehicles may be a bit softer but I don't care for the trade-off of getting a certain numbness under normal conditions. The space behind the rear seats is very good and the leg room in back row was more than just adequate. Some say there is more storage room in other vehicles with the rear seats folded down, but I'm wondering if height is being considered. Just giving it the eyeball test, I see no shortcoming with the Tiguan on a width and length basis. My daughter did not get the "4-motion" feature. My wife may get a higher end Tiguan some day and we would probably prefer the all wheel drive version. The Tiguan is plenty economical as is but if VW offered a TDI version similar to the Jetta SportWagen, we would trade in our 11-year old (but trouble-free) Golf on one right away. The Tiguan may be the best vehicle combining utility, economy and performance at a reasonable price point. Finding something that excels better in any category will likely mean a downgrade in another category, and will probably have a premium attached to it.

I would recommend this vehicle to a friend: YES

Overall Rating:
4/5
Value:
3/5
Exterior:
4/5
Interior:
4/5
Comfort:
4/5
Performance:
4/5
Reliability:
4/5

Sporty SUV

Reviewed by First VW
August 06, 2013

This is a comfortable, sporty car. I went in to buy an Audi Q5 but found it to be larger than I wanted and more like a station wagon. The Tiguan gets decent gas mileage, has good pick up and go and nice features. Good cargo space.

I would recommend this vehicle to a friend: YES

Overall Rating:
2/5
Value:
1/5
Exterior:
3/5
Interior:
3/5
Comfort:
1/5
Performance:
1/5
Reliability:
1/5

Under powered and stiff acceleration ,Turbo lag

Reviewed by Arnab
July 15, 2013

The car seems to be under powered and his bitten by the dreaded turbo lag ,it seems to drag itslef to catch up to the speed from 0-40 mph and then suddenly the engine picks up speed .Took it to the dealership twice ,they told its common with all the Tiguans with electronic gas pedal.Other wise the interiors gives a cosy feeling.

I would recommend this vehicle to a friend: NO

Overall Rating:
5/5
Value:
4/5
Exterior:
5/5
Interior:
5/5
Comfort:
5/5
Performance:
5/5
Reliability:
5/5

Best in class

Reviewed by New Car Owner
May 30, 2013

I didn't test drive any of the competitors like the Ford Escape or the Subaru Forester before buying the Tiguan. But, I'm sure I would have come to the same conclusion. The Tiguan is perfect. Very roomy inside with a very stylish and compact exterior.

I would recommend this vehicle to a friend: YES

Overall Rating:
5/5
Value:
1/5
Exterior:
4/5
Interior:
5/5
Comfort:
5/5
Performance:
1/5
Reliability:
1/5

my new volkswagen tiguan

Reviewed by bike enthusiast
February 05, 2013

I have only owned my car for a month, but so far I am very happy with it. I think it is too early to rate performance, value for money and relability. The only reason I gave a lesser than 5 star rating for the exterior design is that I am an avid bicycle fan and yhink that the rack designed for the car is very poor and would require at least two persons to put a bike on it. I am a single person, 5"5" and going on 72 years old. I was hoping for a rear mounted one like I had on my Jeep. I am taking a trip to Florida soon and I believe I will enjoy the car.

I would recommend this vehicle to a friend: YES

 

*MSRP and Invoice prices displayed do not include applicable gas taxes or destination charges.