newcars.com®
Log In

New 2014 Volkswagen Passat Reviews

Add to Favorites  | 
More Details & Photos New 2014 Volkswagen Passat

Don't Overpay for Your 2014 Volkswagen Passat!

Save Time and Money Online When You Shop with Us

Over the past month we helped 97,581 new car buyers find their perfect car.

Get your best price before going to the dealer!

Consumer Reviews Summary Write a Review

Average Overall Rating:

4.8/5

Value:
4.7/5
Exterior:
4.6/5
Interior:
4.6/5
Comfort:
4.7/5
Performance:
4.8/5
Reliability:
4.6/5

17 of 17 (100%) of consumers said they would recommend this vehicle to a friend.

Overall Rating:
5/5
Value:
5/5
Exterior:
5/5
Interior:
5/5
Comfort:
5/5
Performance:
4/5
Reliability:
5/5

Great value and efficiency

Reviewed by Jaydn
June 19, 2014

A very elegant car, especially considering the reasonable price. German efficiency and refinement. I've gotten over 48 mpg on long highway trips and 34 overall.

I would recommend this vehicle to a friend: YES

Overall Rating:
5/5
Value:
5/5
Exterior:
4/5
Interior:
4/5
Comfort:
5/5
Performance:
5/5
Reliability:
4/5

Passat TDI

Reviewed by Kevin
May 12, 2014

I could not be happier with the power and MGP. We recently got over 52 MPG coming back from a trip. I would highly recommend the car. Hopefully it will be reliable

I would recommend this vehicle to a friend: YES

Overall Rating:
5/5
Value:
5/5
Exterior:
5/5
Interior:
5/5
Comfort:
5/5
Performance:
5/5
Reliability:
5/5

Love my passat tdi

Reviewed by passat girl
April 30, 2014

I purchased a 2014 VW Passat TDI on April 13th. I got 636 miles on the first tank of diesel which was all just city driving. I just re - fueled for my 2nd tank and can't wait to see how the mileage does. I love the exterior look of my car, the interior is roomy and comfortable for short or long drives. I get a lot of compliments from friends, family and coworkers.

I would recommend this vehicle to a friend: YES

Overall Rating:
4/5
Value:
4/5
Exterior:
4/5
Interior:
5/5
Comfort:
4/5
Performance:
4/5
Reliability:
4/5

Good, almost great

Reviewed by VW Newbie
April 19, 2014

Having had the TDI SE with sunroof for about a month now, 3 things I really notice: 1. The DSG transmission is really a drag. It shifts hard, lurches really, from one gear to the next esp at lower speed. It's not at all like a regular automatic transmission. I suppose some people get used to it. but I notice it a lot. I wish VW had a CVT or regular automatic option, even if it gave up some mileage. 2. The steering is really firm - I constantly feel like the car doesn't want to turn - I have to put way more effort into turning it than in my other cars. 3. The suspension is also very firm - firmer than needed in a big sedan. Wish it were a little more forgiving like a Camry or Altima. All that being said, the interior design is great, quality seems good, but there are a few small rattles here and there. When my lease expires I don't think I'll stay with VW unless there's a model that doesn't have these issues. Good luck.

I would recommend this vehicle to a friend: YES

Overall Rating:
5/5
Value:
5/5
Exterior:
5/5
Interior:
4/5
Comfort:
5/5
Performance:
5/5
Reliability:
5/5

2014 Passat TDI SEL

Reviewed by Jimbo
April 12, 2014

Owned the car for 7 months now and 7k miles. Roomy vehicle, better than the Volvo S80 we traded in. Mileage is great 38 mpg overall and 42 mpg at 80+ mph on the highway, 48 mpg at 73 mph. The only issue we have had is the tan seats with the suede like inserts. They have a blue tint to them from our jeans.

I would recommend this vehicle to a friend: YES

Overall Rating:
4/5
Value:
4/5
Exterior:
4/5
Interior:
4/5
Comfort:
4/5
Performance:
4/5
Reliability:
4/5

Almost there

Reviewed by skip hard to please
April 09, 2014

Overall I like the car quite a bit. The new 1.8 turbo has good power but turbo lag occurs occasionally. Gas mileage is between 30 and 34 combined city and highway. Comfort and ride are good but arm rest not in a good position. I have had it a little over two months and have put on 2200 miles. I get quite a few compliments on the looks of the car but it still is missing a little something to make it great car.

I would recommend this vehicle to a friend: YES

Overall Rating:
5/5
Value:
5/5
Exterior:
5/5
Interior:
5/5
Comfort:
5/5
Performance:
5/5
Reliability:
5/5

Excellent car

Reviewed by familyrosa
April 04, 2014

Love my new Passat. Couldn't be happier for the price & the status of car it works just well for me. Kids love it too because there is plenty of room for them. My husband is 6ft4in & he can drive it w/out any issues of feeling cramped & he can sit in back seat & has plenty of room if needed.

I would recommend this vehicle to a friend: YES

Overall Rating:
4/5
Value:
4/5
Exterior:
4/5
Interior:
5/5
Comfort:
4/5
Performance:
4/5
Reliability:
4/5

TDI SE Pretty Good but Things to Consider

Reviewed by JLoo
April 03, 2014

Generally a good car and I'm happy with it. Just a few comments that potential buyers may want to consider. The diesel engine, though clean and quieter that other diesels, is still a diesel, and has that distinctive diesel clacky sound mainly at low speeds. I suggest test driving it with the windows down and driving at low speeds or up hills. Also, there's a slight diesel smell that follows the car when I pull it into my garage. In hindsight I might have preferred the regular engine and given up the additional 6 mpg had I really noticed these things. Also, the Passat is a pretty big car - bigger than some other mid-sized sedans. You might want to also check out the Jetta. I wish I had, but that being said, I do love the quality, the stereo, and the highway driving performance. Also, as CR notes, the transmission is a little quirky at low speeds, but not a big deal. Good luck.

I would recommend this vehicle to a friend: YES

Overall Rating:
5/5
Value:
5/5
Exterior:
5/5
Interior:
5/5
Comfort:
5/5
Performance:
5/5
Reliability:
5/5

beautiful styling

Reviewed by retired
March 25, 2014

Car drives and handles beautifully, comfortable and roomy on a long drive. Interior layout is well designed and all controls are within easy reach of driver's position. Very large trunk and good all around visibilty.

I would recommend this vehicle to a friend: YES

Overall Rating:
4/5
Value:
5/5
Exterior:
5/5
Interior:
4/5
Comfort:
4/5
Performance:
5/5
Reliability:
5/5

excellent car for the value!

Reviewed by New VW Owner
March 22, 2014

I am new to the VW family! I love driving my car! It is comfortable, sporty and great on mileage! Do not sleep on this car. It has many features that are such a joy to have in your car.

I would recommend this vehicle to a friend: YES

2014 Volkswagen Passat Sedan Comparison Reviews

*MSRP and Invoice prices displayed do not include applicable gas taxes or destination charges.