newcars.com®
Quick Car Finder

New 2017 Volkswagen Passat Reviews

New 2017 Volkswagen Passat

Average Overall Rating:

4.9/5

Write a Review
Value:
4.9/5
Exterior:
4.8/5
Interior:
4.8/5
Comfort:
4.9/5
Performance:
4.7/5
Reliability:
4.8/5

46 of 48 (95%) of consumers said they would recommend this vehicle to a friend.

So much room

Reviewed by friendlyVW
August 13, 2017

The trunk is huge and there is so much leg room. I sit with the drivers seat all the way back and the back seat still has room.

I would recommend this vehicle to a friend: YES

R-Line

Reviewed by Bieglesworth
August 07, 2017

I bought this car as I was in an accident and my car was totaled. I previously owned a 2014 Chrysler 300. When I started to look at the Passat, I thought it was ultimately going to be a downgrade. However, I was more than surprised with what I got. I chose the R-Line version for the sporty look and got the upgraded LED lighting kit. From a looks point, its about as sporty as a midsize sedan can get. On the interior, it is beyond roomy. I am 6'2 and I can set my seat at a comfortable distance and then sit in the back with about 4 inches between my knees and the front seat. The touchscreen and electronics are an upgrade over my last car by leaps and bounds. One of the biggest parts I like about the vehicle is what comes with it standard. It, in my opinion, is loaded like a luxury vehicle, with many features that other manufacturers charge to upgrade. Leather seats, heated seats, blind spot warning, back up cam, back up warning, etc. The only things that I wish it had were a sunroof ($1600 to add), touch start (not an option for this trim), and remote start ($600 upgrade). Overall, it is a great vehicle. You get the German performance without the German price that you would pay for the Audi, Mercedes, or BMW. But you still get all the same features.

I would recommend this vehicle to a friend: YES

High Quality for Reasonable Price!

Reviewed by SheriK
July 30, 2017

I was really researching vehicles to determine which vehicle would meet all my needs for the best price, overall review and recommendations for safety, price, warranty and styling. I reviewed Honda, Toyota, Kia, and Jeep. After weeks of researching, I concluded the 2017 Passat had the best bang for my buck between Tech options to styling to price to warranty. I love my vehicle, it's so pretty I ended up with a White (exterior) and Beige (interior) R Line version. I love it, it has such great giddy up, styling and options. Excited to cruise around town in this whip =0)

I would recommend this vehicle to a friend: YES

Fast and efficient !

Reviewed by Melmel
July 29, 2017

This car has exceeded my expectations! Not only is it roomy but I love the interior design and fast performance! I feel luxurious driving it !

I would recommend this vehicle to a friend: YES

Best driving car i bought, smooth, handles amazing

Reviewed by Barbie55
July 25, 2017

The car has plenty of room Safety, features Amazing, on the road very smooth ride, very sporty inside and out.

I would recommend this vehicle to a friend: YES

Latest in a line of VWs

Reviewed by Yorkie 54
July 25, 2017

This will be my 4th VW, but 1st Passat! I was a Jetta/Golf man before but decided it was time to slow down a little and the Passat was the perfect choice. The trunk is like a cavern, which is augmented went the back seats are folded down. The comfort, ride handling & build are second to none.

I would recommend this vehicle to a friend: YES

Passat review

Reviewed by Ruben
July 19, 2017

OK, you asked. This is not an exciting car to drive at all, I realized that during the Test drive, but, needed a new car and the Dealer I purchased from has always treated me well. It is a comfortable car, no problem there. Why does it have a "Sport Mode"? beats me.... Handles like any other mid size car. Performance is only Mediocre at best. interior space is far above any other car in its class,that is why I purchased this car. Good value, but don't expect it to be much more than a Grocery Getter. So, Good Value, Great MPG, Great comfort.... but.....boring to drive

I would recommend this vehicle to a friend: NO

Best purchase

Reviewed by Shannon Smith
July 06, 2017

Great car, good horsepower, roomy, good gas mileage, I would definitely steely recommend to a friend/family

I would recommend this vehicle to a friend: YES

2017 Passat R Line great family vehicle

Reviewed by csc571
July 06, 2017

More leg room than your big SUV! An absolue ridiculous amount of room in the car, front seats, back seats, and trunk. I don't know how they did it. Love the engine change from our previous 2014 Passat, more power with no hesitation. Also love the R Line style, getting lots of compliments and the Apple Car Play is seamless and really easy to use.

I would recommend this vehicle to a friend: YES

Passat a great buy

Reviewed by Passat owner
July 05, 2017

It is a great example of German design. Car is an incredible buy. They say 32 MPG, but so far I am up to 40 MPG. Car is comfortable and does hold its own on power. The styling is incredible. Beautiful car inside and out.

I would recommend this vehicle to a friend: YES

2017 Volkswagen Passat Sedan Comparison Reviews