cars.com

A member of the
Cars.com family

Log In
McAfee Badge

New 2014 Volkswagen Jetta Reviews See 2013

More Details & Photos
New 2014 Volkswagen Jetta

Don't Overpay for Your 2014 Volkswagen Jetta!

Save Time and Money Online When You Shop with Us

Over the past month we helped 97,581 new car buyers find their perfect car.

Get your best price before going to the dealer!

Consumer Reviews Summary Write a Review

Average Overall Rating:

4.8/5

Value:
4.8/5
Exterior:
4.8/5
Interior:
4.6/5
Comfort:
4.7/5
Performance:
4.8/5
Reliability:
4.8/5

13 of 13 (100%) of consumers said they would recommend this vehicle to a friend.

Overall Rating:
5/5
Value:
5/5
Exterior:
5/5
Interior:
5/5
Comfort:
5/5
Performance:
5/5
Reliability:
5/5

Jetta, Yeah!

Reviewed by Auto Bahn-zai
April 15, 2014

Okay, I admit it. I'm addicted to German autos. But here's the thing, I traded in a 2006 Mercedes S-Class for my new Jetta TDI Premium. Am I crazy? The Jetta is fun to drive. It's very nimble and the combination of torque and horsepower is more than enough to get you off the line and make the guy behind wonder if the TDI badge is just there to mess with his head. Great get up and go! The exterior styling is very German - subdued but cool. It doesn't scream "look at me", but you find yourself looking anyway. Lots of interior room. I'm a big guy. The first thing I do is set the driving position for me, then jump in the back seat to see if I'll fit. No issues here. Surprising leg room. The trunk is more than adequate to hold my golf clubs and some luggage for a weekend getaway or longer. The premium fender stereo delivers great sound from all sources. It's great to listen to local FM/AM/HD stations then flip over to Sirius for a while before clicking over to the iPod that I have connected to the built in data port. When I feel the need to change, I can select my iPhone via Bluetooth, a CD or the SD card I have loaded with more music than I could possibly listen to on a cross country road trip - which, by the way, would probably only require a couple fill ups. The TDI Clean Diesel is very easy on fuel. My first 550 miles made me nervous when the gauge was still showing 1/4 of a tank remaining, so I stopped and filled the tank - 12.2 gallons later, I realized the gauge was accurate. So, am I crazy? Yeah! Crazy about my new Jetta!!!

I would recommend this vehicle to a friend: YES

Overall Rating:
5/5
Value:
5/5
Exterior:
5/5
Interior:
4/5
Comfort:
5/5
Performance:
5/5
Reliability:
5/5

love the 2014 GLI

Reviewed by jdr475
March 31, 2014

I traded in a 2012 Jetta SE manual last week for the 2014 GLI manual with Autobahn/Nav. Love the car. Took a drive from DC to NJ and back in a single day this past weekend. Rained the entire way and had total confidence in the vehicle. Drove very well, great acceleratioon, great braking and overall fun to drive. Near the end of the trip, it started sleeting and snowing and I still had great control. No slippering of the tires and brakes were still dead one. My 2012 Jetta would have been all over the road, but the new GLI still had plenty of control. Still hate the plastic on the doors and the limited options for interior colors. Wish I could get the golf ball shaped shift know like you can in the GTI. Wish the Nav had more pizzaz to it (my wife has the sync system in the ford and it is pretty good, but love the Acura Nav system the best). Overall, a great car for the money. I was also looking at a 3 series and an A4, but decided on the GLI as it was just as good for much less $$. I am a father of two and having the saloon works great.

I would recommend this vehicle to a friend: YES

Overall Rating:
5/5
Value:
5/5
Exterior:
5/5
Interior:
5/5
Comfort:
5/5
Performance:
5/5
Reliability:
5/5

Sporty, reliable, comfortable car

Reviewed by Comfort car
February 18, 2014

I really do like the Jetta. comfortable, you don't feel every bump, it has a smooth ride. Easy to handle.. Drives great in the snow. The body style is comfy and a slightly bigger than the older jetta . I would highly recommend this vehicle to others.

I would recommend this vehicle to a friend: YES

Overall Rating:
5/5
Value:
5/5
Exterior:
5/5
Interior:
5/5
Comfort:
5/5
Performance:
5/5
Reliability:
5/5

I love my new Jetta!

Reviewed by car lover
January 24, 2014

I purchased my 2014 VW Jetta GLI Autobahn w/ Nav about a month now, and I love it. Currently, I have about 500 miles on it, and I've only had to fill up once. It gets great gas mileage while still having great performance. This car is great value for your money, leatherette, navigation, push button start, and keyless entry all come standard on Autobahn w/ nav. Also, the headlights have LEDs and shine very far (and turn when you turn the wheel too!). Performance is great, the only thing is that the turbo takes a second to kick in, but it's not bad. I would highly recommend this car!

I would recommend this vehicle to a friend: YES

Overall Rating:
5/5
Value:
5/5
Exterior:
4/5
Interior:
4/5
Comfort:
4/5
Performance:
5/5
Reliability:
5/5

Poor Man's Porsche

Reviewed by GoodKarma
December 20, 2013

I inadvertently ended up at the VW Dealership when the sales person at the Acura Dealership wouldn't take me seriously about buying a car. For spite I drove next door to look at VW's. Never in my wildest dreams had I even thought of owning a VW but the test drive convinced me on the spot. The GLI with the six speed manual transmission was the perfect car for me. This Autobahn series Jetta has tons of acceleration, quick handing, solid brakes, beautiful wheels, fantastic stereo system, moon roof, power seats and great gas mileage. After being repeatedly disappointed with most low economy manual compact cars, test drives and amenities, I was pleasantly surprised about how much I enjoyed driving this car. I've owned my 2013 GLI for about six months now and keep on loving it. Even with my spirited driving, I average around 28/29 MPG in the city. My GLI is quite maneuverable cruising in and out of traffic with ease while sprinting away quickly at a moments notice. It's a BLAST to drive in town or on the freeway! While it's exterior design is a bit on the conservative side, that isn't such a bad flaw if you enjoy the sportiness of this turbo engine too much. Sometimes blending in or being invisible is a plus. My only complaint would be the leatherette seats and cheap plastic interior which I am sure were installed as cost savings to keep the price competitive. Personally I would pay extra for a more luxurious interior with leather seats. Otherwise I love all the other options on the car. Overall, the VW GLI is a fun performance vehicle. It's certainly no 911 but it's an incredible choice for the money. It's the Poor Man's Porsche. ENJOY THE RIDE!!!!

I would recommend this vehicle to a friend: YES

Overall Rating:
5/5
Value:
5/5
Exterior:
5/5
Interior:
4/5
Comfort:
4/5
Performance:
5/5
Reliability:
5/5

Enjoying the new car

Reviewed by VJ
November 19, 2013

Happy with my recent purchase of VW Jetta. The new 1.8 liter Engine works very well and the response of this car is amazing.

I would recommend this vehicle to a friend: YES

Overall Rating:
4/5
Value:
3/5
Exterior:
5/5
Interior:
5/5
Comfort:
4/5
Performance:
4/5
Reliability:
3/5

Love the Look

Reviewed by First Time Jetta Owner
November 14, 2013

I've had my Jetta for little over a month now. I was looking at a Jetta or a Kia Optimum. Although the Jetta had less features (no auto dimming rearview mirror, cooled seats, driver seat size setting, garage programing into rear view mirror) I still felt like it was a safer and better made car. I get the same gas mileage at my 2011 Subaru Impreza (25 MPG city) but I sure do love having that extra power in the turbo. My mom owns a WRX and the handling on this car is pretty comparable but definitely a more comfortable ride. I don't know if it's worth the extra money to upgrade to this model, but i chose to just because I loved the overall look of the car. Overall I'm pretty happy with my decision.

I would recommend this vehicle to a friend: YES

Overall Rating:
5/5
Value:
5/5
Exterior:
5/5
Interior:
5/5
Comfort:
5/5
Performance:
5/5
Reliability:
5/5

Great car / Great Dealership

Reviewed by joe/m
November 10, 2013

The price was right. The car is outstanding. The dealership-Autoserv Tilton NH was oustanding. The salesperson Seth went above and beyond,he did an excellent job with my father who is in his 80's and needed alot of things explained to him more than once. Our family has bought many cars there over the years and will continue to do so in the future.

I would recommend this vehicle to a friend: YES

Overall Rating:
4/5
Value:
5/5
Exterior:
5/5
Interior:
4/5
Comfort:
5/5
Performance:
4/5
Reliability:
5/5

VW GLI DSG AUTOBAHN W/ NAV

Reviewed by VWCAL
October 25, 2013

With 1900 miles on the car, and both spirited and casual driving, I can say this car performs very well. Performance The GLI is now running on the 2nd Gen 2.0T FSI Engine, and makes 210 hp. The low-end torque is really what makes the GLI shine at 207 ft/tq @ 1700rpm. Expect a 0-60 from a standing launch-controlled position between 5.9 and 6.5 sec (depending on conditions and driver). Fantastic highway rider, road noise is damm near non-existent. The cabin remains quite when cruising normally, but turns into something ferocious when pushing it at 7/10ths. The car is fitted w/ Dunlop AS High Performance tires, which are overall OK, but I think the car should be standard with performance summer-tires. Exhaust note is loud when you want it to be, and silent vice-versa. The DSG is the transmission to get, just unreal gear change speeds w/ very very little lag. Interior Is a very nice place to be in, red stitching is a nice touch, the v-tex faux leather is VERY convincing, the steering wheel is hands down one of the best in the market, soft touch dash is very nice however, there are scattered hard plastics under dash and on top of door sill. Sport Seats are well-bolstered, not to tight, not to loose. Exterior The GLI looks much like a baby Audi A4, with the LED tailights, Bi-Xenon/LED headlights, the subtle sport styling of the bumpers, red brake-calipers, lower ride height, and the 18-inch wheels makes the car look slightly aggressive. The overall style still looks a bit conservative, but very handsome nonetheless( mine is in platinum gray metallic). Value The GLI's competition varies from the Subaru WRX, at the far end , and the Civic Si 4-door at the lower end of the performance spectrum. The GLI is a good middle ground between the two. What the GLI loses in speed and raw power against the WRX, it gains in a more mature, refined look, and practicality. The Si, is really no competition to the GLI period, in terms of performance or practicality. Below 30K will get you the Top-of-the-line GLI Reliabilty VW has cleaned up alot of reliabilty issues as of late, I have no issues with this car EXCEPT, the engine check light keeps coming on when the gas cap is loose, than it doesn't wanna cut back off when everything is normal, gets annoying to stop at the dealer to get the check light cleared.

I would recommend this vehicle to a friend: YES

Overall Rating:
5/5
Value:
5/5
Exterior:
3/5
Interior:
5/5
Comfort:
5/5
Performance:
5/5
Reliability:
5/5

As good as any Mercury I previously ownqd

Reviewed by GoJoJetta
October 15, 2013

I love my new VW. My first car was a VW Super Beatle. Now I don't have to jump our and scrape the wiindows in the Winter time at each stop light. Made sure of that befor purchasing.

I would recommend this vehicle to a friend: YES

 

*MSRP and Invoice prices displayed do not include applicable gas taxes or destination charges.