newcars.com®
Quick Car Finder

New 2017 Volkswagen Jetta Reviews

New 2017 Volkswagen Jetta

Average Overall Rating:

4.8/5

Write a Review
Value:
4.8/5
Exterior:
4.8/5
Interior:
4.6/5
Comfort:
4.7/5
Performance:
4.7/5
Reliability:
4.8/5

90 of 93 (96%) of consumers said they would recommend this vehicle to a friend.

Most favorite car I have owned

Reviewed by Nick93mac
September 19, 2017

I recently turned in my lease on my 2015 Jetta after having a few issues with it. I loved the car and decided to go with another Jetta. I got the 2017 Jetta SE 5speed pretty much fully loaded and I couldn't be happier. It has all of the upgrades and options I was missing on my other one. And the turbo engine is far better than the NA 2.0L that was in my last one. The car is great on fuel and very comfortable. I personally like the styling because it has and will age well. I think it's an excellent value for the money. Almost as big as a Camry or Accord for the price of a Corolla or Civic. And it feels very solid and "German like".

I would recommend this vehicle to a friend: YES

Most reliable, good looking car I've owned.

Reviewed by Brooksabe
September 18, 2017

e best value for my money. It is solidly built, quiet. It's just the right size, has very comfortable seats and is loaded with technology!

I would recommend this vehicle to a friend: YES

Amazing Expirence

Reviewed by goodjuju42
September 12, 2017

This automobile is amazing, rather you are jetting off to the store or taking a road trip. Comfortable and full of creature comforts!

I would recommend this vehicle to a friend: YES

Love, love, LOVE my new Jetta!

Reviewed by AJ
September 05, 2017

I love the updated design and the technology is crazy! I loved my last Jetta but wonder why I didn't upgrade sooner!

I would recommend this vehicle to a friend: YES

Hard to Beat for the Price

Reviewed by ldp15
September 05, 2017

Traditionally I have owned rear wheel drive coupes all my life ranging from fairly affordable to a tad pricey - 1996 Nissan 240SX, 2006 Lexus IS350 (ok this one had 4 doors), 2008 Infiniti G37 Coupe, 2011 Infiniti G37 Coupe, 2013 Hyundai Genesis Coupe, and a 2016 BMW M235i. Needless to say I'm accustomed to a bit more performance and power out of my vehicle. I only list these vehicles to give a point of reference as to where my prior experiences come from. That being said, my new Jetta Sport couldn't be more of a pleasant surprise. Before I continue though, let's just get one thing straight: The Jetta is not any one of those cars I listed above, and that's ok. But if that's what you're looking for out of the Jetta you will be disappointed. My need was to go to something a lot more fuel efficient but not sacrifice all of the fun and styling that I've grown accustomed to. I have to say, for the price (about 18k used for a 2017 with 3000 miles), I would be hard pressed to find a better deal out there. The ride is sporty enough but not rough. The steering is pretty responsive but not ultra sharp. The throttle is a tad laggy but serviceable (0-60 in about 7.5 seconds and the turbo lag is noticeable if you really get into the pedal). Handling is surprisingly agile but with a little bit of body sway. The exterior and interior styling suits my tastes, but that part would be personal preference for sure. Aside from styling though, it's roomy and the seats are comfortable. My one complaint would be the use of too much hard plastic and a rather small touchscreen display. I'd say all in all this car does a lot of things pretty well all while getting great gas mileage (35+ so far for highway driving and 26+ in town).

I would recommend this vehicle to a friend: YES

Awesome car and beautiful

Reviewed by C Ford
September 04, 2017

It exceeded all of my expectations. I loved this car! The car is stylish and has a smooth ride on the bumpy PA roads. The color is absolutely beautiful and the design is classic yet updated.

I would recommend this vehicle to a friend: YES

Best cheap car on the market

Reviewed by helot13
September 02, 2017

Base model S The Good: Turbocharged 1.4L with manual transmission gives you power when you need it. The car does get up and feels stable at speed. Engine never seems to have to fight under normal conditions and it is fun to drive. There isn't a whole lot of interference between the driver and the road. It is a drivers car, responsive and capable. Large trunk with remote open is nice. Tilt and telescoping steering wheel allows for tall people to drive comfortably while still leaving some room for rear passengers. Interior is pretty basic, but has what you need and doesn't feel cluttered. Gas mileage so far is awesome, as is visibility. The Bad: The ride is by no means luxury. It seems VW cut corners to save money when it comes to sound deadening and suspension. This is probably also to cut weight for the 1.4L, and while it will stick in tight turns at speed, I would not trust it on a track by any means. Front wheel drive will likely produce some stability in slick conditions, but nothing like an AWD. The ride isn't terribly rough but noisy and rough pavement really shows off where the Jetta lacks. The biggest issue is the aerodynamics. With the drivers window open a few inches there is massive air cavitation in the cabin. When driving it is not noticeable, but in the front passenger seat, the air thumping is deafening. Usually this is a phenomenon that only happens when the front windows are closed and the rear windows are open, but somehow German Engineers discovered a way to do it with just the drivers window or passenger front window open. Conclusion: The electronics are chintzy. Pretty decent bass response, but the audio system is hard to navigate and lacks style and features. This is the base model so if you want better bells and whistles then go for the others. There are options for larger engines and more doodads and nonsense, but this will sacrifice your mileage and offer more points of failure. I doubt the other models have superior suspension or aerodynamics so not worth it in my book. Still, the best car for 14-15k you can get right now in terms of speed and mileage. Could be better, but not bad at all.

I would recommend this vehicle to a friend: YES

Needed a safe economic reliable car for daughter

Reviewed by Dean smith
September 01, 2017

This can has 5 start safety rating, gets 42 miles to a gallon, steering and handling felt like my BMW. Small turbo charged engine has a lot of pep, was not a problem getting on freeway or passing. No blind spots to worry about, just wished there was a fog light options without spending for the series option upgrade and couple grand later. Car does not have a lot of sound insulation so road noise is a little noticeable,but not a problem where your conversation requires raising your voice.

I would recommend this vehicle to a friend: YES

Simple and Reasonably Priced

Reviewed by H35
August 30, 2017

The vehicle is a simple design with clean lines and is nothing fancy, but great value for the dollar. Gas mileage is amazing and the vehicle has really nice pickup! Would recommend a Jetta to anyone.

I would recommend this vehicle to a friend: YES

Great Car

Reviewed by BrianL
August 30, 2017

I am so impressed with the interior comforts. Apple CarPlay is an amazing feature, bringing your apps onto the center display.

I would recommend this vehicle to a friend: YES

2017 Volkswagen Jetta Sedan Comparison Reviews