newcars.com®
Quick Car Finder

New 2017 Volkswagen Golf R Reviews

New 2017 Volkswagen Golf R

Average Overall Rating:

4.9/5

Write a Review
Value:
4.5/5
Exterior:
4.8/5
Interior:
4.9/5
Comfort:
4.6/5
Performance:
5.0/5
Reliability:
5.0/5

11 of 11 (100%) of consumers said they would recommend this vehicle to a friend.

Perfect fit

Reviewed by Expernow
August 05, 2017

Fun to Drive. I've owned a lot of vehicles in my 50 years of driving and this vehicle is perfect for my needs: Speed Handling Storage Comfortable seating Value for the money Technology

I would recommend this vehicle to a friend: YES

First 2 months!

Reviewed by GolfR17
August 04, 2017

I look forward to driving this car. Love the features and ability to change from comfort to race mode with a quick click or two of a button. I find the seats comfortable for me once I found the right settings. It's quick and enjoy pressing it some, especially when accelerating onto hiways and some of the twisty, hilly back roads in the area. I'd never take it to the track but wanted a car that's fun, quick and not "boy racer" style with big wings. It suites me fine as a hot hatch. The quality of fit, finish and materials is first class. Everything looks and feels better the majority of cats. I just wish it came with a sunroof. First VW I've ever owned without one and I've owned 7! In the future VW, give us the Sunroof back!

I would recommend this vehicle to a friend: YES

Great car

Reviewed by C63beast
August 03, 2017

This is a great car. Sold my M3 and this is more fun to drive on back roads and better in the snow. Will soon order a 2018

I would recommend this vehicle to a friend: YES

I daily drive my Golf R. 31k runs like a beast!

Reviewed by 2016GolfR
July 07, 2017

Best hot hatch out there. Literally, get one asap!! Have 31k miles on it since I bought it in December 2015. I drive it like I stole it. Never had an issue. Absolutely amazing car. Comfortable and easy to drive ( manual trans).

I would recommend this vehicle to a friend: YES

Most engaging, fun fast car

Reviewed by DaveRRR
July 07, 2017

The Golf R is a really cool mix of a 4 door car, a hatch that can absorb stuff to haul, and a super sticky - tossable car that can just scream! This thing sits low, has very tight steering, brakes, and is just addictive. Can't wait to drive again. The turbo makes this a mini-monster once rolling. It feels like an expensive German sports car, but - oh - its a VW hatch. A blast!

I would recommend this vehicle to a friend: YES

Best car I have ever owned!

Reviewed by Scott
June 26, 2017

This car is great, fast, comfortable, fun to drive. Anyone debating buying this car do it you will not regret it.

I would recommend this vehicle to a friend: YES

Fast & Fun HoTT Hatch for a great value

Reviewed by Rrrrrrrrrr
May 29, 2017

I have been a VW enthusiast for my entire life so I may be somewhat biased with my review. I have own 2 Golf R32's and the 1st version of the Golf R from 2012-2015, then an Audi S3 from 2015-2017 (which was a childhood dream to own an S4 so I was excited) My Audi was over $50K with a custom "Carrera Blue" paint and fully loaded. This 2017 Golf R is the exact same car without the luxury and prestige yet is more fun to drive! I'm excited for some great road trips with summer.

I would recommend this vehicle to a friend: YES

great car

Reviewed by guilo79
May 21, 2017

Great car, superior handling, styling, high quality interior, excellent performance. Lots of great features

I would recommend this vehicle to a friend: YES

A Whole Nother Level

Reviewed by MALFGD
May 11, 2017

Best car I've owned so far - couldn't be happier! Downgraded in size, but upgraded in performance. I was a bit hesitant on getting a hatchback, but after the test drive, it was a clear decision.

I would recommend this vehicle to a friend: YES

Golf R

Reviewed by mdlam79
April 25, 2017

Awesome car enjoying every moment in it. Pretty comfortable for a sports car. Excellent acceleration and cornering. Interior looks more like an Audi than your typical Volkswagen.

I would recommend this vehicle to a friend: YES

2017 Volkswagen Golf R Coupe/Hatchback Comparison Reviews