newcars.com®
Log In

New 2014 Volkswagen Beetle Reviews

Add to Favorites  | 
More Details & Photos New 2014 Volkswagen Beetle

Don't Overpay for Your 2014 Volkswagen Beetle!

Save Time and Money Online When You Shop with Us

Over the past month we helped 97,581 new car buyers find their perfect car.

Get your best price before going to the dealer!

Consumer Reviews Summary Write a Review

Average Overall Rating:

5.0/5

Value:
4.9/5
Exterior:
5.0/5
Interior:
5.0/5
Comfort:
4.9/5
Performance:
4.8/5
Reliability:
5.0/5

8 of 8 (100%) of consumers said they would recommend this vehicle to a friend.

Overall Rating:
5/5
Value:
5/5
Exterior:
5/5
Interior:
5/5
Comfort:
5/5
Performance:
5/5
Reliability:
5/5

Miles-o-Smiles (Sun Tan Lotion Not Included)

Reviewed by stew
June 23, 2014

I bought an '03 convertible and it was a lot of trouble to own in a very short while and I essentially gave it away to a family member. But, because I really wanted a covertible still I continued looking around , Sebring, Camaro, the usual suspects and I always came back to the VW Beetle. Last week I paid cash for a new one and picked it up Saturday and the next day I drove it 800 miles on business. Well, 1st of all, when top down motoring? They sure got the radio right. At speed the car has everything else right. It has enough reserve power left to pass, and handling when a trucks tire blew right in front of me really made the difference as I snapped the car to the left a half a lane with out warning! Stable, sure footed, and confidence building. One button top down/up operation is great. No latches, flaps, or other worries here. The owners manual says you can drop or raise the top on the move up to about 30 mph. When the top goes down comes up, it unlatches and unlocks on its own, and if you continue to hold the switch, all four windows raise up simultaneously when it goes back up and the top latches and locks itself. Miles per gallon were as promised, BTW, it is an automatic powered by the 1.8 Turbo. I must admit, I expected less performance. How do they do that? Cruise control was a great help, seating was firm but not too hard at all. Having arrived at my destination yesterday afternoon, I topped up the tank and got a car wash ready for my business appointment this morning with confidence my new car was up for the task. A convertible Beetle is not for every one, but it sure is for me!

I would recommend this vehicle to a friend: YES

Overall Rating:
5/5
Value:
5/5
Exterior:
5/5
Interior:
5/5
Comfort:
5/5
Performance:
5/5
Reliability:
5/5

Always wanted a Beetle

Reviewed by My Bugsy
May 22, 2014

Beautiful car which handles, drives and looks good. We have had many compliments already and we have told them to go to Spitzer in Amherst and the staff will treat you well. Ask for Daniel, Scott or Dawn. We love it and have been riding around with the top down.

I would recommend this vehicle to a friend: YES

Overall Rating:
5/5
Value:
5/5
Exterior:
5/5
Interior:
5/5
Comfort:
5/5
Performance:
5/5
Reliability:
5/5

2014 Beetle TDI

Reviewed by Meg
April 10, 2014

The TDI offers great gas mileage (42+ mpg) and great handling. It's a peppy little car and the TDI is a unique driving experience if you've never driven one before. The engine sounds different and the car almost slows a little by just letting off of the gas. The interior is roomier than one would expect and the certain features light up at night in different colors!

I would recommend this vehicle to a friend: YES

Overall Rating:
5/5
Value:
5/5
Exterior:
5/5
Interior:
5/5
Comfort:
5/5
Performance:
3/5
Reliability:
5/5

Cute Little Bug

Reviewed by VW Lover 4 Life
February 24, 2014

I have enjoyed driving this car since the day I've purchased it. I live in Chicago and used it in the winter because it handled better than my VW 2009 CC. Its great on gas. All ages/ethnicity/genders constantly compliment on how "cute" she is...... I wouldnt trade her for the world! Looking forward to the summer months to style and profile.......

I would recommend this vehicle to a friend: YES

Overall Rating:
5/5
Value:
5/5
Exterior:
5/5
Interior:
5/5
Comfort:
5/5
Performance:
5/5
Reliability:
5/5

Car for fun & particular people with value in mind

Reviewed by ParticularBuyer
January 17, 2014

Been watching serviceable convertibles for several years. Enjoyed our 2002 convertible very much (not a VW). It was a great car, gave us +100K miles, and taught us a lot about convertibles. Followed VW hardtop conv for several years. Replaced a SUV with a VW Jetta TDI Sportwagon and love it. When the VW TDI Beetle Conv arrived we paid attention. Researched this car for more than a year. Jetta TDI is very similar and proved very sound. Test drove a Beetle TDI Conv several months ago. Confirmed many of our conclusions. This car is smartly engineered and fun to drive. Good road vision. Improved side mirrors. Instrumentation very good for night driving. Nav and driver displays are sane and easy to use. They provide truly useful information without distraction. TDI has additional gauges on dash which give more data. Got the Windscreen accessory (necessary for putting the top down over a broad range of temperatures). Fender Subwoofer in the trunk is well tucked in to minimize its footprint. Windscreen tucks into its own shelf in top of trunk! Both are great space saving solutions. Sports supension => strong. DSG transmission => smooth. Car-Net services => High-5 value. Anticipate owning this car for +400K incredibly FUN miles! Grandkids can't wait to get their driving licenses!

I would recommend this vehicle to a friend: YES

Overall Rating:
5/5
Value:
5/5
Exterior:
5/5
Interior:
5/5
Comfort:
5/5
Performance:
5/5
Reliability:
5/5

Very Cute and Sporty

Reviewed by Fun Mobile
November 22, 2013

We drove the car before we bought and had looked at several other cars, but the red convertible was just too cute to pass up. It has many very nice feature. Now we just have to learn about them and our sales person said he would help any time.

I would recommend this vehicle to a friend: YES

Overall Rating:
5/5
Value:
4/5
Exterior:
5/5
Interior:
5/5
Comfort:
4/5
Performance:
5/5
Reliability:
5/5

Pretty Good Car

Reviewed by Ed
October 29, 2013

I just purchased a 2014 Beetle TDI, Denim Blue with VW Skins to replace my Cyber Green TDI, which I gave to may grandson after 217,000 miles. This car is so different from the old car!!! It is simply gorgeous, looks almost like a Porsche. I get compliments every day on its' looks. The windows are as tight as a drum and the only noise you hear are the tires. The Fender sound system is great, much better than the Monsoon system in the other car. The DSG tranny is very nice and I like being able to shift it. Plenty of power and it is pretty quick in Sport Mode. You pay a price for that though. Fuel mileage is much less than the other car 38 v 47. That's a big hit. It has lots of toys, like the keyless entry, Navigation system (which is not as good as I expected). Interior quality is excellent and fit and finish is very nice. More power outlets would be nice. I think that once we get used to each other it will turn out to be as outstanding as the other car was.

I would recommend this vehicle to a friend: YES

Overall Rating:
5/5
Value:
5/5
Exterior:
5/5
Interior:
5/5
Comfort:
5/5
Performance:
5/5
Reliability:
5/5

A beauty to drive

Reviewed by Iver
September 02, 2013

A real 'head turner' int the parking lot and on the highway. Hugs the road on curves and with the option to use a cluchless stick shift, it drives like a mini Porsche on all roads. The new interior is spectacular and you can even enjoy the stereo system with the top down. The 2.5 liter front engine is so quiet you will find yourself trying to restart an already running engine until you get used to it. (I did install an after-market back-up alarm system which would be a suggestion for the 2014 models). Great gas mileage. With the top down; you don't even know you are in a convertible. It is as tight as a drum and the headliner looks like a regular hardtop. The 2.5 liter is my wife's primary car and I like it so much I am buying a turbo for me. By every meaningful measure of merit, the 2013 VW Beetle Convertible is a 5 star car.

I would recommend this vehicle to a friend: YES

2014 Volkswagen Beetle Convertible Comparison Reviews

2014 Volkswagen Beetle Coupe/Hatchback Comparison Reviews

*MSRP and Invoice prices displayed do not include applicable gas taxes or destination charges.