newcars.com®

New 2016 Toyota Tacoma Reviews

Add to Favorites  | 
More Details & Photos New 2016 Toyota Tacoma

Don't Overpay for Your 2016 Toyota Tacoma!

Save Time and Money Online When You Shop with Us

Over the past month we helped 97,581 new car buyers find their perfect car.

Get your best price before going to the dealer!

Consumer Reviews Summary Write a Review

Average Overall Rating:

4.2/5

Value:
4.0/5
Exterior:
4.6/5
Interior:
4.3/5
Comfort:
4.5/5
Performance:
4.0/5
Reliability:
4.3/5

19 of 22 (86%) of consumers said they would recommend this vehicle to a friend.

Overall Rating:
3/5
Value:
3/5
Exterior:
5/5
Interior:
2/5
Comfort:
5/5
Performance:
4/5
Reliability:
2/5

Toyota did not learn from 2005 bulletins!

Reviewed by Kootenay Camper
June 17, 2016

Less than a month after purchasing my 2016 Toyota Tacoma, an oil leak showed on garage floor. Local dealer replaced Power Steering pump but oil leak got worse to the point I had to put a "diaper" down on the garage floor. Turns out the same sealant used between the timing chain cover and motor failed and has been failing historically since 2005!!! Wire harness in door had to be repaired due to constant rattle. Apparently first known problem in Canada but bet it won't be the last!!!

I would recommend this vehicle to a friend: NO

Overall Rating:
5/5
Value:
4/5
Exterior:
5/5
Interior:
5/5
Comfort:
4/5
Performance:
5/5
Reliability:
5/5

Best midsize truck

Reviewed by Rksilliw
June 06, 2016

I'm a Ford guy...wanted a truck with a back seat...F150 wouldn't fit in the garage ....Tacoma was only option because there's no way buy a Chevy or Dodge. This truck amazes me every day... extremely capable and actually fun to drive..i find excuses to go somewhere now...thank you Toyota!

I would recommend this vehicle to a friend: YES

Overall Rating:
4/5
Value:
4/5
Exterior:
5/5
Interior:
5/5
Comfort:
5/5
Performance:
4/5
Reliability:
5/5

Toyota hit a home run with this truck

Reviewed by SagamiTom
April 17, 2016

Been looking at trucks for some time. Finally choose the Tacoma for my birthday gift to me. Selected the 2016 Limited that was fully loaded in super white. What a truck! Incredibly quiet, tons of safety and technology features, ride and handling is spot on, and the acceleration is what ever you need it to be. Go easy and it purrs. Hit the gas and it roars. Getting 20.5 mpg on mixed driving. Shifting is smooth no matter your throttle habits. Interior is very comfortable (I'm 6'2"/195 lbs for reference) and the dash is organized in a very user friendly manner. Driver visibility is great. I get stares and compliments on the truck where ever I go. The wife even loves the truck (but won't drive it- she thinks it's too big! Did have to put on nerf bars so she could climb in....) A bit pricey, but then again, what decent vehicle isn't. More features, better price, better mileage, better dependability, and better resale with almost the same hauling capacity as a "full size" truck. I'm very happy with my purchase and would strongly recommend it.

I would recommend this vehicle to a friend: YES

Overall Rating:
5/5
Value:
5/5
Exterior:
5/5
Interior:
5/5
Comfort:
5/5
Performance:
5/5
Reliability:
5/5

Get a Manual

Reviewed by Tacoma for life!!!
April 15, 2016

This truck is rock solid with the new 6-speed Manual,but good luck finding one. I got the 2016-TRD-Off Road. Thanks to cars .com i was able to pin point the exact truck i had been looking for. Even tho it was 3100 miles away,i had it shipped to my door step.This will be my 3rd Tacoma,it just keeps getting better . I got my eye on the 2017 TRD-PRO,Also the resale value makes this truck a no brainer,the problem is you won't want to sell it!!

I would recommend this vehicle to a friend: YES

Overall Rating:
4/5
Value:
4/5
Exterior:
5/5
Interior:
4/5
Comfort:
5/5
Performance:
5/5
Reliability:
5/5

First Toyota I've owned

Reviewed by needed a truck crew cab
March 23, 2016

I have owned the truck only a few days, but I have driven it 600 miles and we like it. The fuel economy, the room of the crew cab, and the ride, We have hauled trash and furniture and I enjoy the easy tailgate. We have taken two trips over 200K each in one day. We enjoy the truck and plan to keep it for years. I looked at several trucks this size and dealerships for price and service. We are pleased with everything. It is our second (first) vehicle and we like everything it dose. Thank you

I would recommend this vehicle to a friend: YES

Overall Rating:
5/5
Value:
5/5
Exterior:
5/5
Interior:
5/5
Comfort:
5/5
Performance:
5/5
Reliability:
5/5

TRD 4X2 Tacoma Sport - blue color

Reviewed by Killeen buyer
March 22, 2016

I bought my TRD 4X2 Tacoma Sport in Killeen, TX. Walked onto the lot, saw the truck, sat in it, drove it, made the decision easy. Beautiful truck, drives really nice, seats fit me and my wife very well, very comfortable. All the power I will ever need. All of the high-tech stuff brings me into 2016 as a techie kind of guy (GPS, telephone, back-up camera, touch screen or voice controlled phone or radio). This truck can do stuff that I don't yet understand, but my son will teach me (ha, ha). The salesman was really good to work with. And the finance team is great as well. A really nice dealership in Killeen. I'm looking forward to maintaining this beautiful truck and keeping it like new for years to come.

I would recommend this vehicle to a friend: YES

Overall Rating:
4/5
Value:
4/5
Exterior:
4/5
Interior:
4/5
Comfort:
4/5
Performance:
4/5
Reliability:
4/5

enjoying it

Reviewed by second toy truck
March 11, 2016

this is my second Toyota truck, hands down much better than other trucks out there. good on gas, good ride, and a lot better looking than others, even the 2016 Tacoma.... Toyota what did you do? yuck. thanks to cars.com, I found what I was looking for.

I would recommend this vehicle to a friend: YES

Overall Rating:
4/5
Value:
5/5
Exterior:
5/5
Interior:
5/5
Comfort:
5/5
Performance:
4/5
Reliability:
5/5

this truck is awesome

Reviewed by taco-ma
February 17, 2016

I just got back from Phoenix ,I drove over 930 and I'm telling u what,this little truck handled great. I put it in cruise and this little thing did excellent. I'm a concern about the performance, sometimes the RPM's would go to about 5000 on a site hill. I'm also getting 19 mpg on the highway, so this a little rough. But 3 tank of gas from Albuquerque to Phoenix , I think this is pretty good.

I would recommend this vehicle to a friend: YES

Overall Rating:
5/5
Value:
5/5
Exterior:
5/5
Interior:
5/5
Comfort:
5/5
Performance:
5/5
Reliability:
5/5

TRD 4X2 Tacoma Sport

Reviewed by Damucha
February 03, 2016

Very nice truck for the money. Great color and trim package. Fuel mileage is better than the 2003 TRD Tacoma I just sold. They hold the resale value and I have gotten a lot of complements on it's looks.

I would recommend this vehicle to a friend: YES

Overall Rating:
3/5
Value:
2/5
Exterior:
5/5
Interior:
4/5
Comfort:
4/5
Performance:
1/5
Reliability:
3/5

Transmission engine mismatch

Reviewed by off roader
February 02, 2016

If there is anything i hate in a vehicle, it's a car that struggles to maintain speed without constant downshifting and that is what this dog does. I test drove one, and could not stand the lack of power. Oh it makes noise and feels like it will go if you floor it, but even at 55mph, it was constantly shifting and it feels like the tranny is always in too high a gear. The drive is NO FUN!

I would recommend this vehicle to a friend: NO

2016 Toyota Tacoma Truck Comparison Reviews

*MSRP and Invoice prices displayed do not include applicable gas taxes or destination charges.