newcars.com®
Quick Car Finder

New 2017 Toyota Tacoma Reviews

New 2017 Toyota Tacoma

Average Overall Rating:

4.7/5

Write a Review
Value:
4.4/5
Exterior:
4.8/5
Interior:
4.6/5
Comfort:
4.6/5
Performance:
4.4/5
Reliability:
4.8/5

146 of 161 (90%) of consumers said they would recommend this vehicle to a friend.

In the shop as i type this

Reviewed by Twon
October 16, 2017

I had issues with this truck the 1st week i bought it. I have a driveway on a slight incline. You go from park to drive and it would make this awful grinding noise. The dealer said it was fine. This last week we went off road and I went from 4 low to neutral to 4 high and grinding noise to a loud bang and it is stuck now in 4 high. Not to mention going down hill or up hill it doesn't seem to know how to shift itself and is all over the board. This is my second Tacoma (first was 2014) I will not buy another one! Also the front bumper started to peal away from the metal parts. They fixed that but all in all I am seeing a cheap put together truck for an extreme price!

I would recommend this vehicle to a friend: NO

Downsized from F150

Reviewed by Evans76
October 13, 2017

This truck is the absolute best forbwhat I needed. I am a over 6’3” and needed to have a truck that was still roomy enough for my height yet not as bulky as a full size Ford F-150. The Tacoma fit the bill. Perfect truck for my needs.

I would recommend this vehicle to a friend: YES

Toyota Tacoma's are built solid and a great truck!

Reviewed by KJ
October 13, 2017

I've always owned Toyota Tacoma's because they are reasonably priced and they are so reliable I love them!

I would recommend this vehicle to a friend: YES

Toyota is value

Reviewed by Tim's Toy
October 12, 2017

I bought my first toyota 4x4 truck new in 1983. Ever since, I buy a new one about every decade. With the resale value so high, this is very economical system. I use my truck, in the Pennsylvania woods: cutting firewood, hunting, etc. . I love the reliability and the solid feel on the highway. Newest purchase is an off road double cab. Check out the "Crawl" system. Probably will use it once or twice in the next ten years, but it is way cool. These trucks have had problems in past with rust etc. BUT, Toyota stands behind them and has been very generous with recalls to fix any problems. Highly recommend the truck but drive each model to compare feel, highway noise, power, etc..

I would recommend this vehicle to a friend: YES

Minor issues

Reviewed by Yep47
October 12, 2017

As others have said, it could use more power. After a month and a half I have a couple minor gripes. There is no where to put change. The arm rest compartment is just one big deep cavern, my wife's Camry has a tray at the top of it for small items like change and also has a small drawer to the left of the wheel. Biggest complaint is the composite bed. It may as well be made of ice. It is too slick to have anything in it without being tied down. PUT SOME RUBBER IN THE COMPOSITE!!!

I would recommend this vehicle to a friend: YES

My 5th Toyota Tacoma since 1980

Reviewed by Richard E Lahn
October 10, 2017

All the bells and whistles, beautiful design and ride is outstanding! After breakin I towed my Bass Boat to Kentucky Lake..perfect towing package! Love the truck.

I would recommend this vehicle to a friend: YES

Excellent small truck with big trauck feel.

Reviewed by First Toyota
October 09, 2017

A Solid quite very smooth riding vehicle. I have not had truck long enough to say much but very happy with the Tacoma and the buying experience. it is too soon to rate reliability.so I just gave it three stars but not really fair to do so the review system required a rating however.

I would recommend this vehicle to a friend: YES

Great truck!

Reviewed by Mervin
October 08, 2017

Made a road trip to Montana, Wyoming and Oregon over 3400 miles on and off road. Great on highway and mountains.

I would recommend this vehicle to a friend: YES

I love my Tacoma.

Reviewed by Damon B
October 08, 2017

I've wanted a Tacoma forever. I finally got a brand new one and I love it. The TRD Sport model is excellent. Very happy with my choice.

I would recommend this vehicle to a friend: YES

Sharp Truck

Reviewed by Toy Wagon
October 04, 2017

Seems to check all the boxes but not too pricey. I was literally 6 blocks from dealer and the car next to me was asking about it.

I would recommend this vehicle to a friend: YES

2017 Toyota Tacoma Truck Comparison Reviews