newcars.com®
Quick Car Finder

New 2017 Toyota RAV4 Reviews

New 2017 Toyota RAV4

Average Overall Rating:

4.8/5

Write a Review
Value:
4.7/5
Exterior:
4.8/5
Interior:
4.7/5
Comfort:
4.8/5
Performance:
4.7/5
Reliability:
4.9/5

224 of 229 (97%) of consumers said they would recommend this vehicle to a friend.

Nice and economical

Reviewed by Mike Dallmeier
August 15, 2017

First off let me say I owned a 2013 Ford Escape and sold it to buy the Rav4. I bought this vehicle in early March of 2017 and I now have 14000 miles on it...yes, I drive a lot! 80 miles round trip a day to and from work, I average 28.2 MPG on my AWD SE. I love the looks of the vehicle inside and out, the SE model has the LED/HID headlamps and tail lights, looks great! This model also has the power lift gate, which by the way, you can adjust how high it opens very easily. I have the "soft-tex" seats (Toyota's answer to leather) feels nice and looks good with the SE red stitching. I have to say that the seats could have more padding, as they are a bit uncomfortable after several hours of driving. The ECO mode is fine, but the SPORT mode gives you the extra "zip" that I like to feel in a vehicle. It has to do with the transmission gearing when put in SPORT mode. Either way my MPG's have stayed the same, 28.2! Another issue I have is that not all of the dashboard buttons are lit for night driving, I find this irritating...really?!?! The "safety sense" features are great! Saved me from an accident just the other day...whew! Blind spot monitoring, lane departure warning, adaptive cruise control and back up camera are great! The "Entune HD" radio/cd player has a very good sound, better than other vehicles I have owned. The rear seats lean back or fold down flat for cargo. I had two teens sit back there for a 10 hour trip and they said it was nice, plenty of room. I'm 6'-4", and 255 lbs. and I have no issues with headroom or legroom in front or back. Handling is a bit more stiff on the SE model, harder suspension...almost no roll going around corners or handling at high speeds on highways. Visibility is good except out the back but you have a camera so...Overall I am happy with the RAV4.

I would recommend this vehicle to a friend: YES

Worst car ever

Reviewed by Notbob's
August 14, 2017

There are too many other options out there I wish I had considered. Take your time and shop for value, reliability, and comfort. The paint is already peeling. Biggest regret of my life!

I would recommend this vehicle to a friend: NO

Choose RAV4 over of CRV and Rogue

Reviewed by robert_wolf_toronto
August 14, 2017

Gave away my 2006 Honda CRV and bought a 2017 Toyota RAV4. Look at Nissan Rogue but the CVT transmission has a lag so when you step on the gas pedal there is a slight hesitation. RAV4 has a 6 gear auto transmission, is has much better acceleration. Look at Honda CRV but it is thousands of dollars more, also uses a CVT transmission pluls CRV does not have an all-around the vehicle camera. With RAV4 I can see the entire car from a top down view plus it has four warning sensors on all four corners. Parking is so easy.

I would recommend this vehicle to a friend: YES

Very Smooth Driving

Reviewed by Cool Grandma
August 14, 2017

Has so many safety features which is very important to me. I like the back up camera too.. Very comfortable and love the aqua metallic color. Has lot of space in back for suitcases and more.

I would recommend this vehicle to a friend: YES

Feels and drives luxurious !

Reviewed by CaroleMccrary
August 14, 2017

Love everything about car except no place to stash purse, umbrellas, etc. Maybe better design of glovebox .

I would recommend this vehicle to a friend: YES

Well suited car for all ages

Reviewed by Gram
August 14, 2017

The 2017 Rav 4 is a vehicle suited for any age driver. It is a vehicle that is easy to handle, and has all the safety features that are necessary for safe driving. I would recommend this vehicle to anyone who wants a safe comfortable ride.

I would recommend this vehicle to a friend: YES

Overall great car

Reviewed by Kcarl
August 13, 2017

Safe, reliable, ease of drive Received many compliments about the car. Would highly recommend it. Love ot

I would recommend this vehicle to a friend: YES

My first brand new car

Reviewed by Tope Bsllo
August 13, 2017

This car is iust what i need ritght now. My kids love it too. Enough room for the in d back for the kids.

I would recommend this vehicle to a friend: YES

Just traded for this new car & am loving it so far

Reviewed by Eris C
August 12, 2017

Have only had it for one week, but am loving it so far. Great value for the cost, drives like a champ and has great safety features, like lane departure alert, accident avoidance feature that helps you stop quicker to prevent you from having an accident, or at least keeps you from hitting something so hard. Sorry but I can't think of the names of the feature right now. Anyway, I'm glad to have them. Hopefully, though, I won't need them. LOL

I would recommend this vehicle to a friend: YES

love this car

Reviewed by GrammiePammie
August 11, 2017

This is my fourth Toyota. Test drove other SUVs, this was the most comfortable, solid and fun to drive. I loved my previous car, a Camry, but haven't missed it at all! The primary uses listed below don't give a good option for a retired person's primary vehicle! I live out in the country and have to drive quite a distance for most of what I need to do and I need a car I can depend on.

I would recommend this vehicle to a friend: YES

2017 Toyota RAV4 SUV Comparison Reviews