newcars.com®
Log In

New 2015 Toyota RAV4 Reviews

Add to Favorites  | 
More Details & Photos New 2015 Toyota RAV4

Don't Overpay for Your 2015 Toyota RAV4!

Save Time and Money Online When You Shop with Us

Over the past month we helped 97,581 new car buyers find their perfect car.

Get your best price before going to the dealer!

Consumer Reviews Summary Write a Review

Average Overall Rating:

3.9/5

Value:
3.7/5
Exterior:
4.2/5
Interior:
4.0/5
Comfort:
4.0/5
Performance:
3.8/5
Reliability:
4.3/5

22 of 30 (73%) of consumers said they would recommend this vehicle to a friend.

Overall Rating:
3/5
Value:
3/5
Exterior:
4/5
Interior:
4/5
Comfort:
4/5
Performance:
3/5
Reliability:
5/5

Speedometer inaccuracy

Reviewed by Shocked
August 19, 2015

My speedometer is reading 3 to 4 mph below actual speed according to radar and confirmed by the dealership. An average speed of 40 mph is a 7.5 to 10% discrepancy. The warranty is 36,000 miles. That equals to a loss of 2,700 to 4,000 miles of warranty. Actual warranty miles will be 32,000 to 33,300. Toyota refused to fix or replace the speedometer. I went through arbitration with the National Center for Dispute Settlement on July 8, 2015. I lost because there are no laws governing the accuracy of speedometers and that the 3 to 4 mph is within Toyota specifications. In other words, Toyota dictates the accuracy of its speedometers and can therefore reduce the mileage warranty without the buyer being aware that this is happening. In my view this is corrupt as I would not have bought the RAV4 if I had known that Toyota is actually selling me a lesser warranty. Otherwise the vehicle operates fine. However the screen is very touchy and has a habit of going bonkers. I recommend using the tip of a pencil or a similar device. It is definitely underpowered. Discard the navigation and have a separate GPS handy. Bluetooth doesn't always work. Great for hauling stuff. Again if I had known about the speedometer, I would have purchased an alternate brand as there are many out there.

I would recommend this vehicle to a friend: NO

Overall Rating:
5/5
Value:
5/5
Exterior:
5/5
Interior:
5/5
Comfort:
5/5
Performance:
5/5
Reliability:
5/5

Best driving car I have owned

Reviewed by she-she
August 11, 2015

I Love my new RAV4, and so do my Grandchildren who are 12 and 11. They like the room and the ease of getting their things out of thee back when we are just going a short distance. They think all the gadgets as they call them are COOL.

I would recommend this vehicle to a friend: YES

Overall Rating:
4/5
Value:
5/5
Exterior:
5/5
Interior:
5/5
Comfort:
3/5
Performance:
2/5
Reliability:
4/5

best overall exceptional price

Reviewed by Dr. Death
August 07, 2015

Styling and price beyond comparison in its category and class. Human functionality fluid and above average. I am a large man and find the vehicle to be tight to get in and out of. There also seems to be a great deal of engine and road noise. These 2 factors are minor when considering all amenitys, standard options, and overall drivability of the vehicle. Recommend the Forerunner for anyone over 6'2 or 270 lbs. It was a very good fit. I still greatly enjoy the rav4 though.

I would recommend this vehicle to a friend: YES

Overall Rating:
3/5
Value:
2/5
Exterior:
3/5
Interior:
4/5
Comfort:
3/5
Performance:
2/5
Reliability:
5/5

Not my best buy

Reviewed by Previous Rav Fan
July 30, 2015

I traded in an older RAV for a 2015 LE model and I regret having done so. Incredibly the older RAV handled far better and the engine noise was quieter. The LE model doesn't come with fog lights and the black fillers make the vehicle look very tacky. The 2015 RAV acceleration is fair at best and the handling is far from special. Overall the 2015 Rav seems functional but functional is the kindest thing I can call it. It looks and drives like vehicle that should sell for several thousand dollars less. This is my third Toyota Rav and it's also my last one. I would gladly swap it for a competitor's model if I could. Pretty much any competitor. If you're determined to purchase a 2015 Rav, I strongly urge you to at least avoid the entry level LE model. It's somewhat cheaper and the slightly lower price is self evident in the vehicle itself.

I would recommend this vehicle to a friend: NO

Overall Rating:
3/5
Value:
2/5
Exterior:
4/5
Interior:
4/5
Comfort:
4/5
Performance:
3/5
Reliability:
1/5

BlueTooth System is TERRIBLE!!!

Reviewed by EB
July 20, 2015

Bought a new car and the sales experience was incredibly bad- we were basically held hostage and not allowed to leave to eat. After 5 hours and 2 mistakes with the paperwork, we left. The Bluetooth system is very poor and no one can hear me when I call using it on the car. I have had it back to Toyota 3 times and they indicate it is my problem - not the car. this is my 4th new Toyota and will likely be my last as they don't want to fix the problem and most people believe it is the microphone. Buying a new car should be fun and exciting but not this time. I recommend you look to other companies due to the problems with the software and if hands-free is required in your state, this system is horrible.

I would recommend this vehicle to a friend: NO

Overall Rating:
5/5
Value:
5/5
Exterior:
5/5
Interior:
5/5
Comfort:
5/5
Performance:
5/5
Reliability:
5/5

bought Toyotas for past sixteen years

Reviewed by love my auto enthusiast
July 17, 2015

I trust the Toyota product very happy with my choice. The city here gets a lot of rain and i like the little higher vehicle. Also I am tall and more comfortable getting in and out of this size vehicle. I love the interior all the accessories are easily accessible and right where I am accustomed to. It has a back up camera which I have learned to love for safety. I enjoy the seats folding flat for carrying larger items. The back door makes loading groceries easier and not as much stretch and bending. Appreciate the help with knowing prices thanks.

I would recommend this vehicle to a friend: YES

Overall Rating:
5/5
Value:
5/5
Exterior:
5/5
Interior:
5/5
Comfort:
5/5
Performance:
5/5
Reliability:
5/5

Best of the three Toyota's I've owned.

Reviewed by Toyota loyalist.
July 02, 2015

The RAV4 has a great sound system and handles like a dream. I've been to Geargia two times in the safest and most comfortable SUV It handles great, sight line is excellent, smooth transition of the gears good on gas.

I would recommend this vehicle to a friend: YES

Overall Rating:
4/5
Value:
4/5
Exterior:
5/5
Interior:
4/5
Comfort:
5/5
Performance:
5/5
Reliability:
5/5

A Review of My 2014 Toyota Rav 4

Reviewed by Bones
June 22, 2015

This comment applies to all Toyotas I have seen, but especially my 2014 Rav 4, which has black fabric seats. The materials Toyota uses for fabric seats have never been particularly well chosen (from a design, look and feel standpoint). My 2014 Rav 4 is a really terrific car in all ways but one - it has black fabric seats, and the fabric looks, and feels cheap, and is impossible to keep clean especially from pet hair (even when pets have never set foot in the car). The fabric is far more problematic than the fabrics in my 2012 and 2010 Ravs, although these were not stellar either by any means (just not like Velcro). Toyota would do well to take a look at the fabrics used to upholster Honda CRV interiors, which look and feel far superior, and which do not function like Velcro for pet hair and similar stuff. It is the one major design flaw in the vehicle (looks like the 2015s are much the same!), and, it's so annoying, my next car my well have to be the Honda CRV instead.

I would recommend this vehicle to a friend: YES

Overall Rating:
4/5
Value:
4/5
Exterior:
5/5
Interior:
4/5
Comfort:
5/5
Performance:
5/5
Reliability:
5/5

2015 Toyota Rav4 XLE.

Reviewed by Andy
June 16, 2015

Though overall I like the vehicle, I was disappointed with 3 things that I thought were standard in XLE models (this is not basic model): 1) Does not have auto seat adjust. 2) Does not have lumbar support. 3) Does not have auto headlights. Drive is very comfortable and could have few additional bells & whistle as blind spot indicator.

I would recommend this vehicle to a friend: YES

Overall Rating:
5/5
Value:
5/5
Exterior:
4/5
Interior:
5/5
Comfort:
5/5
Performance:
4/5
Reliability:
5/5

First week down and I'm thrilled

Reviewed by NewToy
June 11, 2015

I was looking to replace my minivan with something smaller and more efficient but with large seating areas. I cannot believe how big the rear seat area is, even with the front seats all of the way back. The RAV4 sits higher than the typical economy sedan like a Corolla or Civic, so getting the kids in and out is much easier. This would likely also apply to seniors. The car also drives very nicely. I cannot believe other reviews mention that it is underpowered. My FWD LE seems to scoot quite well. I also really like how the 6 speed auto transmission always seems to be in the right gear at the right time. The thing about other makes is that when you get a base model the interior really looks like it. The base level LE RAV4 looks like a quality car from inside and out. The interior is beautiful, but oddly has mabye 5 or 6 different materials and textures. I am averaging 24+ MPG tooling around town so far, but have yet to take a long highway drive to test highway mileage. I really am impressed with the integrated stereo/bluetooth phone controls/backup camera setup. Again, a base car with top line features. Stereo sound is very good IMO, especially in CD mode. If you want a car that is small outside but very large and comfortable inside the RAV4 should be considered. For the price paid it can't be beat.

I would recommend this vehicle to a friend: YES

2015 Toyota RAV4 SUV Comparison Reviews

*MSRP and Invoice prices displayed do not include applicable gas taxes or destination charges.