cars.com

A member of the
Cars.com family

Log In
McAfee Badge

New 2014 Toyota RAV4 Reviews See 2013

More Details & Photos
New 2014 Toyota RAV4

Don't Overpay for Your 2014 Toyota RAV4!

Save Time and Money Online When You Shop with Us

Over the past month we helped 97,581 new car buyers find their perfect car.

Get your best price before going to the dealer!

Consumer Reviews Summary Write a Review

Average Overall Rating:

4.9/5

Value:
4.7/5
Exterior:
5.0/5
Interior:
4.5/5
Comfort:
4.5/5
Performance:
4.9/5
Reliability:
4.9/5

14 of 15 (93%) of consumers said they would recommend this vehicle to a friend.

Overall Rating:
5/5
Value:
5/5
Exterior:
5/5
Interior:
5/5
Comfort:
5/5
Performance:
5/5
Reliability:
5/5

Smooth Driving Machine

Reviewed by Subbu
April 08, 2014

This is a reliable crossover/SUV with a lot of inner space and comfort for front row and back row passengers.

I would recommend this vehicle to a friend: YES

Overall Rating:
5/5
Value:
4/5
Exterior:
5/5
Interior:
5/5
Comfort:
5/5
Performance:
5/5
Reliability:
5/5

Great vehicle

Reviewed by Toyota enthusiast
April 07, 2014

Very pleased with this RAV 4!!!!!!! Bought the limited after not planning for anything past the XLE. Turned out to be a great decision! Highly recommended!!!!'mm

I would recommend this vehicle to a friend: YES

Overall Rating:
4/5
Value:
4/5
Exterior:
5/5
Interior:
3/5
Comfort:
4/5
Performance:
4/5
Reliability:
4/5

nice vehicle, but not totally satisfied

Reviewed by jane
March 21, 2014

This review is on the 2014 Rav4 Limited Edition. While the exterior and interior are great to look at....I have some reservations on the vehicle regarding majority of the interior. 1. My #1 complaint is about the touchscreen radio. I wear polarized sunglasses (to minimize glare) but when the sun hits the screen...I can't see ANYTHING on the touchscreen radio!! I have to take my glasses off and then I can KIND of see. They should make the touch screen anti-glare or something because even when not wearing my sunglasses, when the sun hits the screen it is VERY difficult to see anything. 2. There are NO INTERIOR LIGHTING in the glove compartment, center console, or cargo area!!!! So, when it's night time and I have to get something from the glove box or center compartment I have to use the lighting from the top by the rear view mirror. And if I have to get anything in the cargo area at night...forget about it!!! I can't see anything, so I have to get out a flashlight or use my cell phone to look around. Granted, I do have black interior but still...at the very least wouldn't you think that there'd be SOME kind of lighting for the cargo area?! 3. There are very few interior compartments and the center console is pretty shallow compared to other vehicles I've had. At the very least, for the limited edition they could have included a compartment for your glasses. I find myself having to stuff everything into one place since there's such limited room. My smaller Honda Civic had wayyy more compartments and little nooks than this bigger size Rav4. 4. I'm sure they added all of the plastic pieces to the vehicle to save $. It would've been nicer without it, but of course it would've been much more expensive. Aside from all of that...I will say, the vehicle is a beauty to look at. I really like the different things you can do with the radio, change settings to certain things to fit what you want, and I absolutely love the heated seats. The ECO mode and the SPORT mode are interesting...but I honestly don't feel too much of a difference. The vehicle is very smooth to drive and I'm hoping to be keeping it around for another 10+ years!

I would recommend this vehicle to a friend: YES

Overall Rating:
5/5
Value:
5/5
Exterior:
5/5
Interior:
5/5
Comfort:
5/5
Performance:
5/5
Reliability:
5/5

Love my Rav4

Reviewed by Balloon Lady
March 20, 2014

Just traded in my 2005 Rav4 for a new 2014 one. Love the interior and the comfort. The outside is beautiful. Interior features I did not know was in there. As always it drives so smoothly and effortlessly. Would not of traded in my old Rav4 but the new features on the new one will make my life easier. I never had a problem with the old one and am sure I will experience the same high quality on the new Rav4.

I would recommend this vehicle to a friend: YES

Overall Rating:
5/5
Value:
5/5
Exterior:
5/5
Interior:
5/5
Comfort:
4/5
Performance:
5/5
Reliability:
5/5

Can't beat a Toyota

Reviewed by Brooks
March 19, 2014

Out of the other cars in this class that I looked at, I like the fact that the RAV4 sits up a bit higher. I also like that the spare wheel is no longer mounted on the hatch door but located inside, I also like that the hatch door rises up, versus opening from left to right. Much easier for loading/unloading to have the door out of the way. The back seats fold down fairly flat. I don't have to remove the head rests or move the front seats up any. I wish that Toyota had kept the lock on the glove box, but I guess they have to reduce costs somewhere. The inside styling is a little more functional and looks nice. The rear view camera is a nice addition. I love the hands-free calling thru the radio. The sound quality is very good. No more tunnel sounds or wind-rushing sounds on the other end. Easy to set up and use. The voice activated calling is great. I was very surprised. I also like that Pandora, when open on my phone, automatically streams thru the radio as soon as I turn on the ignition. I've only had the car for 3 weeks, but so far it is great. The only drawback at this point, is the cloth seat has a seam indentation near the seat-back. At first I thought this was a defect in the cushion, but soon discovered that it is the style of the seat. It is kind of strange to get used to at first, but I'm sure eventually I'll forget about it. The heated air takes about 5 minutes to warm up when the car is cold, and is not super hot, but adequate to stave of the cold. I find in general, that Toyotas take a bit longer to reach a hot air temperature, compared to other brands. I also find that I have to be careful to shut the door firmly, otherwise the latch catches, but the door isn't shut all the way. Several times I have failed to shut either the hatch or side doors properly and have to open and re-shut them. Only a minor nuisance. By the way, this review is based on the LE, automatic transmission. I really wanted the heated seats, but did not want to sacrifice the 3inches of head space for the sun-roof. I think it is a great car and will give me many years of satisfaction.

I would recommend this vehicle to a friend: YES

Overall Rating:
5/5
Value:
5/5
Exterior:
5/5
Interior:
4/5
Comfort:
5/5
Performance:
5/5
Reliability:
5/5

Love my RAV4!

Reviewed by GinaY
March 10, 2014

I purchased a Camry XLE in December 2013. I HATED it. So, after 2 months of driving it I traded it in for a 2014 RAV4 XLE. It was so worth it. I love everything about this car. I love the way it looks, the interior styling and features, the exterior, the technology, the way it drives-it's *exactly* what I wanted in a new vehicle and I couldn't be happier with it. The *one* thing I do wish it had more of is interior compartments/storage nooks-like a coin compartment or a compartment for my sunglasses. That's the only thing it lacks. I am so glad that I didn't waste any more time with the Camry and got my RAV4. I couldn't be happier with it!

I would recommend this vehicle to a friend: YES

Overall Rating:
5/5
Value:
5/5
Exterior:
5/5
Interior:
5/5
Comfort:
4/5
Performance:
5/5
Reliability:
5/5

Glad I Purchased

Reviewed by At Home With Rav4
March 08, 2014

I originally test drove this car based on a friend's recommendation. He has an older model RAV4 and is pleased with it. I have been driving my new RAV4 for approximately one month, and I am enjoying it! The only reason for 4 stars in the "Comfort" category is that I find that when getting into the driver's seat, I have to make sure to be positioned perfectly (for me) or, if driving for an extended period, I begin to get somewhat uncomfortable. I think that this problem will go away as the car and I "get used to each other", so not a biggie in the downgrade department. One review I read (before buying) did not think the car had fast enough acceleration when in the "eco", or efficient gas mode. However, I keep it in "eco" all the time and have not had any trouble safely accelerating while entering highway traffic. Also, my latest MPG was 26 combined town and highway, with more local than highway driving. In short....I love this vehicle and think Toyota has done an outstanding design job! I can't think of an item they may have overlooked.

I would recommend this vehicle to a friend: YES

Overall Rating:
5/5
Value:
5/5
Exterior:
5/5
Interior:
4/5
Comfort:
5/5
Performance:
5/5
Reliability:
5/5

Love my Rav4

Reviewed by jackiefla
March 05, 2014

I've had my car for over a month and really love it. The seats are comfortable and everything is within reach when driving. The blue tooth does not work as well as I wish it did, but I bought the car for its reliability and safety. So far I am getting better gas mileage than my 2007 Camry (it was a v6). The drive is smooth and if I want a little more kick, I can change from the eco setting to the sport setting. If I could change anything, I wish the back window was a little larger and that I could get more visibility out of it especially when trying to zip in and out of traffic. Other than that, it's a winner.

I would recommend this vehicle to a friend: YES

Overall Rating:
5/5
Value:
5/5
Exterior:
5/5
Interior:
5/5
Comfort:
5/5
Performance:
5/5
Reliability:
5/5

My favorite car of all time

Reviewed by CatBalou62
March 05, 2014

This is my third Rav4. I owned a 2001 and 2005 Rav4 previously. I needed a bigger car in 2008 and the Sienna felt a little small. I purchased a 2008 Chrysler Town & Country. What a mistake that was, I had nothing but problems from the day I purchased it. It is a beautiful car but poorly built. I have NEVER had a problem with my Rav4's so I went back to that. It is the best car ever!!! Thank you Toyota! Catherine

I would recommend this vehicle to a friend: YES

Overall Rating:
5/5
Value:
5/5
Exterior:
5/5
Interior:
5/5
Comfort:
5/5
Performance:
5/5
Reliability:
5/5

Over & above my expectations!

Reviewed by Sal-mom
February 25, 2014

My family has always had Fords, but we wanted to try a lease and had seen the good deals on the Toyota Rav 4 - went to Spitzer in Monroeville and dealt with Jim Yoxall - he was excellent! He took the time to explain the lease to us, and answer any questions we had on the car, it was over and above all my expectations! It handles so smoothly, ride is extremely comfortable, has many features and has done wonderful on gas mileage for us. The car has done extremely well in the bad weather we have recently had in PA, and I would highly recommend this car! If anyone is unsure of a Toyota take a trip to Spitzer and ask to talk to Jim and see what a good deal and exceptional vehicle hecan put you in. I will definitely return to Spitzer to deal again when our lease is up.

I would recommend this vehicle to a friend: YES

 

*MSRP and Invoice prices displayed do not include applicable gas taxes or destination charges.