newcars.com®
Log In

New 2014 Toyota Prius Reviews

Add to Favorites  | 
More Details & Photos New 2014 Toyota Prius

Don't Overpay for Your 2014 Toyota Prius!

Save Time and Money Online When You Shop with Us

Over the past month we helped 97,581 new car buyers find their perfect car.

Get your best price before going to the dealer!

Consumer Reviews Summary Write a Review

Average Overall Rating:

4.5/5

Value:
4.5/5
Exterior:
4.8/5
Interior:
4.4/5
Comfort:
4.4/5
Performance:
4.6/5
Reliability:
4.8/5

23 of 24 (95%) of consumers said they would recommend this vehicle to a friend.

Overall Rating:
2/5
Value:
1/5
Exterior:
5/5
Interior:
1/5
Comfort:
2/5
Performance:
1/5
Reliability:
3/5

No power, bad ride, complicated dash

Reviewed by bluemangroup88
August 18, 2014

This was my rental car for a weekend. Let me first say, that it took me a good 30 minutes to figure out the controls of this car. Toyota could have made the controls to the standard of most all others, but they went over the top trying to impress someone. So far that they alienated everyone. The gear shift is NOT A GEARSHIFT at all. It's a joy-stick. Oh.. and try to find PARK. You can't.. it's not there. The steering wheel is thin and tiny giving this car a feel like your child's play toy. The interior was confining. In an effort to make this car look like the starship Enterprise, they placed a big piece of plastic between the driver and the passenger. This serves no other purpose but for looks. but it really makes you feel confined. The acceleration was slow as expected,, but even more then what I had imagined before I got in. I was glad to turn this car in,, and I'll never rent one again.

I would recommend this vehicle to a friend: NO

Overall Rating:
4/5
Value:
5/5
Exterior:
5/5
Interior:
5/5
Comfort:
5/5
Performance:
5/5
Reliability:
5/5

Excellent Vehicle

Reviewed by K Scot
August 14, 2014

We purchased our Prius in June. We absolutely love the gas mileage and well thought our interior. In highway driving to work I am averaging 50+ mpg. Seating is comfortable and the interior very roomy.

I would recommend this vehicle to a friend: YES

Overall Rating:
4/5
Value:
5/5
Exterior:
3/5
Interior:
4/5
Comfort:
5/5
Performance:
5/5
Reliability:
5/5

Prius III

Reviewed by WorriedAboutOilShortages
August 07, 2014

Fantastic fuel economy!! Great engineering--every Toyota I've ever owned (this is the 5th) has never need much in the way of repairs. Interior has less space for travel books, etc in glove compartment and console than my previous Prius (2008). There is additional flat open space under cup holder part of console, but it's not easy to reach, especially when you're driving. The ride is a little rough at times. But fantastic fuel economy!! (49 mpg so far--in city driving).

I would recommend this vehicle to a friend: YES

Overall Rating:
5/5
Value:
5/5
Exterior:
5/5
Interior:
5/5
Comfort:
5/5
Performance:
5/5
Reliability:
5/5

My First New Car

Reviewed by Rural to Urban Driver
August 04, 2014

I've had my new car for almost 1 month now and I completely love it! I love checking the average miles per gallon I get after every trip. If I get over 40 - it's a win. Multiple times I've gotten over 50, that was exciting. I love the hands-free cell phone feature and connecting with bluetooth. I love going 75 mph and getting 100 mpg on the highway. It's comfortable, rides nice, great gas mileage, has power when I want it, plenty of cargo space when you fold down the seats, plenty of leg room (my Fiance is 6' 3" and he loves driving it - he puts gas in my car so that he can borrow it), nice tight turn radius, easy to park because it's so small, just over all I love it. Only negative, is that it is hard to see when backing up. I really have to use my side mirrors and crank my neck to make sure I'm clear. I might see if I can get a rear camera installed because I've heard they are worth it.

I would recommend this vehicle to a friend: YES

Overall Rating:
5/5
Value:
5/5
Exterior:
5/5
Interior:
5/5
Comfort:
5/5
Performance:
5/5
Reliability:
5/5

Prius - Highly Recommend

Reviewed by Love my Prius
August 01, 2014

At first I was a little reluctant about getting a Prius because I thought it was going to be too small for our needs only to find that it had as much room for passengers as my Camry. The back seat has plenty of leg room and the gas mileage is GREAT! All I can say is "I Love My Prius!"

I would recommend this vehicle to a friend: YES

Overall Rating:
5/5
Value:
4/5
Exterior:
5/5
Interior:
4/5
Comfort:
3/5
Performance:
5/5
Reliability:
5/5

First new car in 35 years

Reviewed by Quality minded
July 29, 2014

Brand new car, first hybrid owned, all if great for the first 3 weeks of ownership. Based on reviews and current owners I am anticipating being very satisfied. The MPG so far is 50.4 MPG for the first 1600 miles, feels great to drive past the gas stations. The drivers seat could have a better lumbar support, I will buy a cushion for my back. On a rough road the road noise is a bit more noticeable then with a larger car, but I can live with it. As long as the reliability is there, I anticipate being very satisfied.

I would recommend this vehicle to a friend: YES

Overall Rating:
4/5
Value:
4/5
Exterior:
5/5
Interior:
5/5
Comfort:
4/5
Performance:
5/5
Reliability:
5/5

Our new Prius seems to be all it has been claimed

Reviewed by Canoer
July 24, 2014

We took our new car on a 1200 mile drive with bikes on the back and got about 48 miles/gal overall. Our bike rack rested on the back end and the weight of the bikes put a small indentation on the bumper area where that portion of the rack rested. I guess to save weight (money?) the Toyota corporation installed a plastic over-bumper that really wasn't meant to take the weight of the bikes. Our dealer mostly popped out the small dent. I will have to place a padding next time to distribute the rack weight.

I would recommend this vehicle to a friend: YES

Overall Rating:
4/5
Value:
4/5
Exterior:
4/5
Interior:
3/5
Comfort:
4/5
Performance:
4/5
Reliability:
4/5

Actually a stylish ride

Reviewed by Nazrat
July 23, 2014

Prius 2 base model. I don't like the fabric on the doors or the center console storage. It will eventually be a magnet for dirt and oils. I bought seat covers for the fabric seats. Watch out on the ground clearance. I paid 500 for lifetime oil changes. I would have to jack it up for every oil change. The all electric feature at under 25 MPH is a joke. You may get 3 miles out of it before it runs out. The hybrid mileage is great. I took off the wheel covers to expose some cool black aluminum alloy rims. In retrospect I would get the Prius 4. Dark blue color is nice. Changed out the weeny horn. Painted the calipers black. Tinted the windows. Looks good. Not the yuppie.

I would recommend this vehicle to a friend: YES

Overall Rating:
5/5
Value:
4/5
Exterior:
5/5
Interior:
5/5
Comfort:
5/5
Performance:
5/5
Reliability:
5/5

Love this vehicle

Reviewed by Happy Customer
July 21, 2014

I have never been so incredibly happy with a purchase in my life. I wasn't even looking into purchasing a new vehicle let alone a Toyota. I searched for months test drove a used prius, loved it, then looked at a 2013 a dealer had on the lot and loved that. I am not an impulsive shopper, but with this vehicle I looked at it and purchased it the next day. Overall, the car is huge on saving money on gas. It is great for short trips around town. The gas mileage is awesome with the gas prices rising. Overall, this is a magnificant car, and everyone looking to save money on gas and be more eco friendly. this is the best car to at least drive and check out. It's just amazing couldn't be happier. I was going to purcahse a used vehicle so I had a lower car payment, but just feel in love when I got in it. The vehicle is so beautiful inside and very user friendly for the driver and so much space for such a smaller car. I had a friend purchase one then the next day I got one. Now my parents want one and my cousin. Looks like the family will be switching over to Toyota

I would recommend this vehicle to a friend: YES

Overall Rating:
5/5
Value:
5/5
Exterior:
5/5
Interior:
5/5
Comfort:
4/5
Performance:
5/5
Reliability:
5/5

Love the savings on fuel

Reviewed by Sagerider
July 12, 2014

The only real negative thing that I find is the view from the rear view mirror but love this little car over all.

I would recommend this vehicle to a friend: YES

2014 Toyota Prius Coupe/Hatchback Comparison Reviews

*MSRP and Invoice prices displayed do not include applicable gas taxes or destination charges.