newcars.com®
Log In

New 2014 Toyota Prius Reviews

Add to Favorites  | 
More Details & Photos New 2014 Toyota Prius

Don't Overpay for Your 2014 Toyota Prius!

Save Time and Money Online When You Shop with Us

Over the past month we helped 97,581 new car buyers find their perfect car.

Get your best price before going to the dealer!

Consumer Reviews Summary Write a Review

Average Overall Rating:

4.8/5

Value:
4.8/5
Exterior:
4.8/5
Interior:
4.7/5
Comfort:
4.7/5
Performance:
4.8/5
Reliability:
4.8/5

12 of 12 (100%) of consumers said they would recommend this vehicle to a friend.

Overall Rating:
5/5
Value:
5/5
Exterior:
5/5
Interior:
4/5
Comfort:
5/5
Performance:
5/5
Reliability:
5/5

My second Prius-need I say more?

Reviewed by shoop
June 22, 2014

My first Prius was a 2007. Just traded it in on the 2014. LOVE the gas mileage- as long as you drive carefully, it's great. If you are used to speeding around, jamming on the brakes, jackrabbit starts- your gas mileage won't be as good. They have improved some things about the Prius- most namely visibility. I love it and am looking forward to many more happy years as a Prius owner

I would recommend this vehicle to a friend: YES

Overall Rating:
5/5
Value:
5/5
Exterior:
5/5
Interior:
5/5
Comfort:
5/5
Performance:
5/5
Reliability:
5/5

Excited with new car!

Reviewed by Giftedgirl
June 07, 2014

My car is so new I am just getting used to it! It has many great features and some take a little time to learn. I am looking forward to getting great gas mileage as I am moving to California!

I would recommend this vehicle to a friend: YES

Overall Rating:
5/5
Value:
4/5
Exterior:
5/5
Interior:
5/5
Comfort:
5/5
Performance:
5/5
Reliability:
4/5

I love my 2014 Barcelona Red Toyota Prius.

Reviewed by Retired mama (grand)
May 28, 2014

This car handles well, fun to drive, average pickup for size and being an energy efficient hybrid. Plenty of room in the front and back seats. I love the hatchback and rear folding seats. I have the Prius C III., leather seats, navigation system. It is a little pricey at 30K with tax, title, license but very fuel efficient and quiet. So far I really love it. I only rated it as 4 stars on reliability because I have only owned it a month, so we will see how it is. I hope it will perform like my 2005 camry which has been the most reliable car I have every owned.

I would recommend this vehicle to a friend: YES

Overall Rating:
5/5
Value:
5/5
Exterior:
5/5
Interior:
4/5
Comfort:
4/5
Performance:
5/5
Reliability:
5/5

Looking like a wise decision after 1500 miles

Reviewed by Marc from Vero
May 18, 2014

The choice narrowed to an Accord LX, Camry, Camry Hybrid, and the Prius. In the end, after satisfactory test drives and reviews for all of the vehicles, I chose the Prius for the extra mpg it offered. So far, trips have ranged from 43 mpg to 54 mpg, i.e. as good as I expected. The Camry Hybrid is peppier and drives more like a regular car; I would have chosen it if the mpg was the same, but the Prius does significantly better. One review service suggests that on a cost per year basis the Camry Hybrid might actually be cheaper over the first five years, but since I tend to hold on to cars "forever" (traded a '99 Avalon for the Prius!) and I was looking at life-cycle costs, the Prius appeared better. Driving takes a little getting used to, particularly the two-tone rear window and the very loose coupling between engine speed and road speed. It's almost like driving a 1950s Dynaflow Buick or a transit bus. Once used to it, however, one discovers that one is actually keeping up with traffic and the acceleration is reasonable despite what sounds like a straining engine. Handling is solid but not sporty. I miss the steering feedback I get in most other cars. The car was delivered with zero defects. No trips back to the dealer for this car (or my previous three Toyotas.) The only downside discovered so far -- and we were aware of this before purchase -- is that there's quite a bit of road noise transmitted to the cabin on rough surfaces such as worn concrete. Engine noise is low, wind noise OK, and road noise is OK when on good roads. The best part is my grin when refueling.

I would recommend this vehicle to a friend: YES

Overall Rating:
5/5
Value:
5/5
Exterior:
5/5
Interior:
5/5
Comfort:
5/5
Performance:
5/5
Reliability:
5/5

Prius from Toyota of Kingsport

Reviewed by Jared
May 16, 2014

Derek at Toyota of Kingsport was great, very thorough, and sold me on the Prius. Great car and love the gas mileage!

I would recommend this vehicle to a friend: YES

Overall Rating:
5/5
Value:
5/5
Exterior:
5/5
Interior:
5/5
Comfort:
4/5
Performance:
5/5
Reliability:
5/5

very good investment

Reviewed by woodywayne
May 02, 2014

with only 1500 miles on our prius our only complaint would be passenger seat comfort is not as confy as drivers side. over all the vehicle is superb very, good handling. and great fuel economy if you do not drive at excessive speeds

I would recommend this vehicle to a friend: YES

Overall Rating:
5/5
Value:
5/5
Exterior:
5/5
Interior:
5/5
Comfort:
5/5
Performance:
5/5
Reliability:
5/5

most economical car

Reviewed by Prius driver
April 25, 2014

It is an amazing little car with much more room inside than one expects, economical, 500 miles on a 10 gal fill-up.

I would recommend this vehicle to a friend: YES

Overall Rating:
4/5
Value:
4/5
Exterior:
4/5
Interior:
4/5
Comfort:
4/5
Performance:
4/5
Reliability:
4/5

one of the best prius i ever knew so far

Reviewed by prius fan
April 11, 2014

I always love prius and toyota made car, i had couple lexus and three prius before and corola over the years, but i been hook in prius from toyota for many many reason. Even thought i thought i have exccelerator issue with two of my old package 6 before, this car seems to give a smooth ride with more upgrade options to enjoy for the long road. I had package 4 with solar systems: but with california summer it still might be too hot but i think that is just a problem from me personally. The dealership staffs always are helpful and i never feel like been push, the car fitted most of my needs and let face this, helps me a lot in saving gas money and somewhat are well reliable so i am quite please.

I would recommend this vehicle to a friend: YES

Overall Rating:
5/5
Value:
5/5
Exterior:
5/5
Interior:
5/5
Comfort:
5/5
Performance:
5/5
Reliability:
5/5

Extremely please with new Prius

Reviewed by Prius Buyer
March 19, 2014

I just bought a new 2014 Prius. I went with the most basic model I could find as it had all the features I was looking for. VERY comfortable, EXTREMELY good gas mileage, and plenty of bells and whistles. Get over any pre-conceived ideas and look at what you get for your money. There is no better value out there. I went almost 500 miles before stopping into a gas station. The entire trip, up hills, down hills, in town, and out of town, was very comfortable and quiet. I look forward to many miles of virtually no cost driving other than putting a little bit of gas into it.

I would recommend this vehicle to a friend: YES

Overall Rating:
5/5
Value:
5/5
Exterior:
5/5
Interior:
5/5
Comfort:
5/5
Performance:
5/5
Reliability:
5/5

Crazy Mileage!

Reviewed by Get off Gas
February 28, 2014

Unbelievable. Am sometimes averaging 92 MPG on the way home without hitting lights. Averaging well over 60 MPG. Car is smooth, quiet and very efficient.

I would recommend this vehicle to a friend: YES

2014 Toyota Prius Coupe/Hatchback Comparison Reviews

*MSRP and Invoice prices displayed do not include applicable gas taxes or destination charges.