newcars.com®

New 2016 Toyota Highlander Reviews See 2015

Add to Favorites  | 
More Details & Photos New 2016 Toyota Highlander

Don't Overpay for Your 2016 Toyota Highlander!

Save Time and Money Online When You Shop with Us

Over the past month we helped 97,581 new car buyers find their perfect car.

Get your best price before going to the dealer!

Consumer Reviews Summary Write a Review

Average Overall Rating:

4.5/5

Value:
4.3/5
Exterior:
4.6/5
Interior:
4.5/5
Comfort:
4.3/5
Performance:
4.5/5
Reliability:
4.8/5

9 of 11 (81%) of consumers said they would recommend this vehicle to a friend.

Overall Rating:
5/5
Value:
4/5
Exterior:
5/5
Interior:
4/5
Comfort:
5/5
Performance:
5/5
Reliability:
5/5

Highlander LE PLUS

Reviewed by Admangia
April 09, 2016

This model s interior presents on par with the lower cost models and is barely different than the LE at a glance. It does have some very good standard safety features and feels big enough but maneuverable like the smaller SUV class. The ride is fantastic and it seats eight with a bit less side to side room than the Sienna. Overall performance and handling is excellent. Your paying for toyota quality and this vehicle delivers it. Too much money but a great vehicle.

I would recommend this vehicle to a friend: YES

Overall Rating:
5/5
Value:
5/5
Exterior:
5/5
Interior:
5/5
Comfort:
5/5
Performance:
5/5
Reliability:
5/5

Keep it for life

Reviewed by Braveheart
March 20, 2016

Great handling - feels like a tank but steers like a deer! love it! Took it to the ocean and through high water and it handled perfectly. Loved all the room inside, very comfortable and did not get road weary at all for the 300 + miles in one day. Very durable interior.

I would recommend this vehicle to a friend: YES

Overall Rating:
5/5
Value:
5/5
Exterior:
5/5
Interior:
5/5
Comfort:
5/5
Performance:
5/5
Reliability:
5/5

Loving My New Highlander!

Reviewed by ToyotaGirl
March 15, 2016

Very comfortable car. Love the sleek design! The features are very nice. Very much enjoying the XLE trim level. Wheels, paint, interior color / style, and sleek look are all very nice. Ride is nice and smooth.

I would recommend this vehicle to a friend: YES

Overall Rating:
4/5
Value:
4/5
Exterior:
4/5
Interior:
4/5
Comfort:
4/5
Performance:
5/5
Reliability:
5/5

First car purchase in over two decades

Reviewed by Allan M
February 17, 2016

Since I hold on to cars for a very long time I wanted my second new car purchase to be durable, be a quiet/comfortable ride, have above average acceleration and come from a company with a great reputation. Have had the car for a month and it's met or exceeded my expectations. I purchased the LEV6 which is more than enough for me but others may wish to have a sunroof, all leather interior, video screens on the back rows, etc.

I would recommend this vehicle to a friend: YES

Overall Rating:
3/5
Value:
2/5
Exterior:
4/5
Interior:
3/5
Comfort:
1/5
Performance:
3/5
Reliability:
5/5

Rented 2016 Highlander XLE from Toyota for a trip

Reviewed by A long timeToyota and Lexus fan
January 25, 2016

I am in the market for a new car, I am renting cars because I made a mistake with a Honda Accord a few years ago and will never have that happen again. Car was great around the block but get on the highway, road noise was ridiculous and seats were torturous. Now to the Highlander. I rented a 2016 Highlander XLE for a weekend trip, nicely equipped with leather and navigation. Very pretty car. Took it to pick up my wife and we stopped for breakfast before we took off. My wife loved it, I could not get comfortable for the life of me. What is with the hard breadbox of a console? Too low, hard surface and not functional at all, but I digress. The drivers seat was so narrow and the console was so wide I felt like I was stuffed into a small sports car with the side bolsters just aggravating my legs to the point of I had to get out. I called the Toyota dealer and swapped it out for a 4 Runner, much more room and much more comfortable. I am not sure what happened to this car, I rented a RAV4 and found it comfortable, I own an RX350 and find it very comfortable, Highlander seemed like a natural fit. I am warning you, try this car for longer than around the block, the drivers seat seems to be made for women or smaller men, I am 6' 215 and no way I could buy this car.

I would recommend this vehicle to a friend: NO

Overall Rating:
5/5
Value:
5/5
Exterior:
5/5
Interior:
5/5
Comfort:
4/5
Performance:
5/5
Reliability:
5/5

2016 Highlander XLE AWD

Reviewed by Uncle T
January 17, 2016

Excellent V6 powered SUV. It will get up and go. Very stable (AWD). No significant regrets. Only 2 items that I wish I could fix, one; head rest position (I also have a 2007 Nissan Murano SLE which has the most comfortable seats EVER), and, two; wish this XLE AWD had a power passenger seat. Otherwise it is one of the nicest car I have ever owned, and I've owned a few cars (over 70 years old). I also own a BMW 750IL, a Suburban, and a Toyota Tacoma, just to qualify myself to review a car or two.

I would recommend this vehicle to a friend: YES

Overall Rating:
5/5
Value:
5/5
Exterior:
5/5
Interior:
5/5
Comfort:
5/5
Performance:
5/5
Reliability:
5/5

Love it so far

Reviewed by Sharp car lover
December 24, 2015

I love it. Drives fantastic, looks great, very comfortable. I would suggest this car to anyone looking. First Toyota I've owned will definitely purchase another one.

I would recommend this vehicle to a friend: YES

Overall Rating:
5/5
Value:
5/5
Exterior:
5/5
Interior:
5/5
Comfort:
5/5
Performance:
5/5
Reliability:
5/5

Worth the wait

Reviewed by Car Junky
December 23, 2015

I had had a Highlander years ago and wondered if I'd like the bigger, higher version. Friends bought the newest Highlander which has been redesigned, so that it doesn't sit up so high. They bragged about how comfortable this vehicle is. I took a test drive in the new Highlander and loved the comfortable seats. An added bonus is the power steering which is superb! The interior is sleek and functional, and you will hear little road noise. I highly recommend the Highlander.

I would recommend this vehicle to a friend: YES

Overall Rating:
5/5
Value:
5/5
Exterior:
5/5
Interior:
5/5
Comfort:
5/5
Performance:
5/5
Reliability:
5/5

Absolutely Thrilled

Reviewed by Toyota4life
December 16, 2015

I love my Toyota Highlander. Performance,quality, reliability is top-notch! I would easily recommend this vehicle to friends and family.

I would recommend this vehicle to a friend: YES

Overall Rating:
4/5
Value:
4/5
Exterior:
5/5
Interior:
5/5
Comfort:
5/5
Performance:
4/5
Reliability:
5/5

Very Happy

Reviewed by Highlander Owner
December 13, 2015

This is a great SUV. The inside is HUGE for it's class. The trunk is mind blowing big. This car will get up and go when you floor it. The outside looks great! The dealer had aftermarket rims on mine and tinted my windows. The car looks fantastic. The sound system is great! The only thing that needs work in the electronics in the dash. The "push to talk" voice assistant is 80% there. If they can get the last 20% we would have a revolutionary car on our hands. I got my dealer down to 35,000 from 40,000. I don't know if I did well or not but I am happy for the money. 1.9% Interest rate doesn't hurt either!

I would recommend this vehicle to a friend: YES

2016 Toyota Highlander SUV Comparison Reviews

*MSRP and Invoice prices displayed do not include applicable gas taxes or destination charges.