newcars.com®
Log In

New 2014 Toyota Highlander Reviews

Add to Favorites  | 
More Details & Photos New 2014 Toyota Highlander

Don't Overpay for Your 2014 Toyota Highlander!

Save Time and Money Online When You Shop with Us

Over the past month we helped 97,581 new car buyers find their perfect car.

Get your best price before going to the dealer!

Consumer Reviews Summary Write a Review

Average Overall Rating:

4.5/5

Value:
4.3/5
Exterior:
4.6/5
Interior:
4.5/5
Comfort:
4.5/5
Performance:
4.5/5
Reliability:
4.6/5

27 of 31 (87%) of consumers said they would recommend this vehicle to a friend.

Overall Rating:
5/5
Value:
5/5
Exterior:
5/5
Interior:
5/5
Comfort:
5/5
Performance:
5/5
Reliability:
5/5

best car on the road

Reviewed by toyta fan
August 20, 2014

I recently went to toyota world of newton to look at some toyotas. my experience there was great. i had the pleasure of dealing with calvin. He was very knowedgable about the toyota product. He aswered all my questions and was very considerate about my lack of time i had to spend at the dealer. i definatly will be back to see him.

I would recommend this vehicle to a friend: YES

Overall Rating:
5/5
Value:
5/5
Exterior:
5/5
Interior:
5/5
Comfort:
5/5
Performance:
5/5
Reliability:
5/5

Fantastic vehicle!!

Reviewed by JoJo
August 20, 2014

We purchased the 2014 Highlander XLE a month ago and I have to say it is an amazing vehicle. I am surprised to hear someone felt they were slipping in the seat because I am 5'3 and have never had an issue! I actually think the seats are so comfortable I could sleep in them! Everything about the interior feels high end and classy. Toyota did a great job with this vehicle. Great pick up and an overall solid SUV. The leg room in phenomenal and even though I wouldn't put an adult in the third row seats for long, a teenager can sit there all day with no issues. The second row is cavernous and there is plenty of hip and leg room in the drivers seat to accommodate me at 5'3 and my hubby at 6'3. :) My one caveat is that I wish it got better MPG. I get around 21.5mpg combined which, although isn't horrible for a vehicle this big it still was stick shock at the pump. We own a Prius as well so that prob doesn't help!!! :D Very happy with our purchase and I would recommend to everyone!

I would recommend this vehicle to a friend: YES

Overall Rating:
5/5
Value:
4/5
Exterior:
5/5
Interior:
5/5
Comfort:
5/5
Performance:
5/5
Reliability:
5/5

Highlander XLE AWD Shoreline Blue Pearl w/Ash

Reviewed by Lookin'Good Toyota
August 16, 2014

I have used the internet in prior vehicle research & pricing, however, when it came to contacting the Dealers to find my car & their bottomline price...it was frustrating!! They want you to come in & play their money game. There were a few Dealers that were honest & definitely trying to use their Best Customer Services. Concord Toyota Won!! Concord Toyota gave us a good deal for our Highlander XLE AWD and our trade which was our last car we purchased from Toyota in 2001. Great vehicles!! But there we also like Toyota of Vallejo and Vacaville Toyota. We knew exactly what vehicle and color combo which was difficult to find but we did after two months.

I would recommend this vehicle to a friend: YES

Overall Rating:
1/5
Value:
2/5
Exterior:
2/5
Interior:
3/5
Comfort:
3/5
Performance:
2/5
Reliability:
2/5

The Car That Could Have Been

Reviewed by Former Auto lease/Sales consultant
August 12, 2014

None of the three Toyota dealers I contacted would provide me with the information I requested about a lease. I asked very specific questions and got very frustrated when all I got was a run around and invitations to go to the dealership to "discuss ". I have negotiated my last 5 car leases on-line. No being able to do this with the 3 Toyota dealers, I leased a Jeep instead.

I would recommend this vehicle to a friend: NO

Overall Rating:
4/5
Value:
5/5
Exterior:
4/5
Interior:
5/5
Comfort:
1/5
Performance:
4/5
Reliability:
5/5

Great car with the worst car seat ever

Reviewed by Alex
August 12, 2014

2014 Highlander Limited is absolutely amazing except for one thing - I can't comfortably drive it. This car has enormously big seats, probably designed to satisfy 300lb+ people. But for me (5' 8" height, 150 lb) this seat is a torture. It can't hold me in turns - I just slide from side to side. One of the adjustments allows to change the length of the seat, but even in shortest position it is still too long for me. I have spent more than a month trying to setup the seat with no result. Now I have constant pain in legs and back.

I would recommend this vehicle to a friend: NO

Overall Rating:
5/5
Value:
5/5
Exterior:
5/5
Interior:
5/5
Comfort:
5/5
Performance:
5/5
Reliability:
5/5

Nice Comfort

Reviewed by William
July 26, 2014

Very comfortable on long trips; good power in the mountains; adequate gas mileage for large SUV; adequate visibility

I would recommend this vehicle to a friend: YES

Overall Rating:
5/5
Value:
5/5
Exterior:
5/5
Interior:
5/5
Comfort:
4/5
Performance:
5/5
Reliability:
5/5

We love this car!

Reviewed by Cross country traveler
July 10, 2014

We already have a 2003 highlander which we love. We needed a new car for a 5000 mile plus cross country trip that we were planning. We tried to find a certified used later modal Highlander but were not successful as they sell out so fast. For grins we test drove a 2012 lexus GX-460 but it had no acceleration getting on the Interstate even though it was a V-8! So then we test drove the 2014 model Highlander and loved it, especially it's zippyness when merging into traffic on freeways and interstates. It took us a while to find one in the color scheme we wanted (these cars are selling like crazy!). We finally did and we have currently logged over 3700 miles and it's performing beautifully. Our only problem thus far is with the navigation system - it is NOT intuitive. Maybe by to he end of the trip we will have figured it out. Good thing we brought our hand held GPS because it saved us from getting lost a couple of times.

I would recommend this vehicle to a friend: YES

Overall Rating:
5/5
Value:
5/5
Exterior:
5/5
Interior:
5/5
Comfort:
5/5
Performance:
5/5
Reliability:
5/5

To the Extreme

Reviewed by Pap's Toy
June 23, 2014

So far I Love my Highlander Limited. It is one if the most comfortable Automobiles that I have driven in the past 20 years or so. It's like a Big easy chair on wheels. The Staff at the Toyota York Auto Group were very accommodating. Not Pushy or insistent, just helpful and straightforward. The Highlander really Sells itself. Remember the old TV Commercials with the Guy Jumping in the air and saying O What A Feeling.Well he was spot on. Thanks York Auto Group.

I would recommend this vehicle to a friend: YES

Overall Rating:
4/5
Value:
4/5
Exterior:
5/5
Interior:
5/5
Comfort:
5/5
Performance:
5/5
Reliability:
5/5

Comfortability and Safety

Reviewed by Chuchi
June 18, 2014

This vehicle has all the interest points which are what I need in a vehicle that is going to transport me and my four legged family in a safe and comfortable way. As far as mileage is concerned, I am sure it gets good milaeage from a full tank. On my test drive, starting the engine was an efficient manner and when it was time to stop, it did very gently. This SUV vehicle is the best vehicle I could safely say I would be a proud owner of. That is if I could afford it. On my retirement pension I couldn't. Therefore, I have to admire it from a distance and perhaps someday if I win the lotto, I could purchase a couple of Toyota vehicles as Toyota is a brand of car that lasts for a very long time. I should know. Presently, I own a 1987 Toyota SR5 and although old and worn out, its as strong as the day of its inception. So, there you have it. you got a great review of a vehicle I don't own but my experience with Toyotas' is unsurpassed. I hope that anyone who reads this review, feels as strongly as I do about all of Toyotas' vehicles and what they have to offer to the consumer.

I would recommend this vehicle to a friend: YES

Overall Rating:
5/5
Value:
5/5
Exterior:
5/5
Interior:
5/5
Comfort:
5/5
Performance:
5/5
Reliability:
5/5

Toyota Highlander

Reviewed by Beth
June 12, 2014

I love my Highlander XLE this new crossover caught my eye when shopping for another Toyota price worth so much in standard features. I have vent. Seats, panoramic moon roof, En-tune capability for hands free phone, navigation, eco mode and text msg. sending. Highlander drives while interior is so quiet on highways there isn't no squeaks or rattles going over bumps it's either smooth and rough surfaces on roads still, got an great SUV loves. I've owned 3 Toyotas when bought first in 1991 now switched over to a SUV love it more because has good road handling and lots of luxury in its class.

I would recommend this vehicle to a friend: YES

2014 Toyota Highlander SUV Comparison Reviews

*MSRP and Invoice prices displayed do not include applicable gas taxes or destination charges.