newcars.com®
Log In

New 2014 Toyota Camry Hybrid Reviews

Add to Favorites  | 
More Details & Photos New 2014 Toyota Camry Hybrid

Don't Overpay for Your 2014 Toyota Camry Hybrid!

Save Time and Money Online When You Shop with Us

Over the past month we helped 97,581 new car buyers find their perfect car.

Get your best price before going to the dealer!

Consumer Reviews Summary Write a Review

Average Overall Rating:

4.8/5

Value:
4.7/5
Exterior:
4.3/5
Interior:
4.6/5
Comfort:
4.7/5
Performance:
4.6/5
Reliability:
5.0/5

11 of 12 (91%) of consumers said they would recommend this vehicle to a friend.

Overall Rating:
5/5
Value:
5/5
Exterior:
4/5
Interior:
5/5
Comfort:
5/5
Performance:
4/5
Reliability:
5/5

EPA Estimate is real.

Reviewed by East TN Buyer
June 17, 2014

Cons: disco-era upholstery pattern, no tachometer. Plastic wheel covers, I did not think anyone still made these things. Firestones instead of tires. Pros: everything else. Everything. The ride is smooth and surprisingly quiet. I prefer a firm ride over soft handling. The Camry strikes just the right balance. Compared to the minivans and SUVs I’ve been driving, the Camry is a go-cart. Acceleration is good. The car moves quickly with no apparent effort. My old minivan was quick and well-powered with a V6, but it protested noisily when pushed. Ditto for the old Cherokee with its I-6. I never know how hard the Camry is working, as there is no tachometer. There are multiple fuel economy gauges, but no tachometer. How many ways do I need to read fuel economy? A tach would have been nice. I was apprehensive about the CVT, thinking it might transition to a lower drive ratio (downshift) at the slightest touch of the gas pedal; but my worries were unfounded. Now I think I like it better than any automatic transmission I’ve driven. Apparently, I have an early model 2014, as there is no rearview camera. There is no urgent need for one; visibility is good. The disco-era upholstery looks odd, but it I am fat enough to hide it when I sit down. And I expect the pattern will disguise a few inevitable spots and minor stains. Exterior looks good. Toyota calls the color “Creme Brulee Mica”. When they asked at the DMV, I told them “tan”. A couple of dealer-specified extras are nice to have, particularly the fog lights, which are not standard on this LE trim. Also, there are clear plastic overlays to protect the paint on door edges and on the top of the rear bumper where careless loading and unloading of the trunk might scratch unprotected paint. Similar protection is applied under the door handles, but that may not be as necessary as in the old days when you opened the doors with a keyring in your hand, and the keys occasionally scratched the paint under the door handles. That brings up one of the nice advantages of this car – the smart key system. Locked doors, the trunk lid, and the “start” button all respond to your touch while the proximity key remains in your pocket. Phone pairing was exceptionally easy. After that, Bluetooth pairing with the music app on my phone was a non-event; music started as soon as I selected “Bluetooth” mode on the Camry’s audio system. Of course, the i-phone prioritizes GPS audible directions over music. If you get a phone call, hit the button on the steering wheel to pick up; all other phone functions such as Pandora and GPS are muted. If you are talking on the phone while the car is turned off, be prepared for the call to go hands-free as soon as you press the “Start” button. This is my first car with a MP3 player, so I tried it 2 or 3 times before it made sense. It is sufficiently intuitive that I did not resort to the owner’s manual. Digital MPG readings are nice, but I am skeptical, so I did the ‘rithmetic when I filled the tank. My second tank averaged 38.6 MPG. EPA reports whole numbers, so I am rounding up to 39, which matches the EPA highway estimate. I have never before matched any EPA estimate. This was a mixture of highway and local driving. In the hilly terrain where I live, I will not expect to see 43 MPG for local driving. And maybe the plastic wheel covers on my basic LE model are not so bad. EPA estimates are about 1 mpg lower for the XLE model with its 17” alloy wheels. And Toyota’s web site warns: “17-in. performance tires are expected to experience greater tire wear than conventional tires. Tire life may be substantially less than 24,000 miles depending upon the tire used and driving conditions.” Anyone know if this is typical for series 55 low profile tires? Steel rims (and plastic wheel covers) come with tires sized 205/65/16. The alternative tire size for alloy rims is 215/55/17. Maybe the best alternative would be 16” alloy rims instead of steel. I will admit these plastic wheel covers are not as ugly as some I have seen. My old prejudice may be no longer valid, but I have only one reference point for Firestone, back in 1975. Based on that experience, I can offer no endorsement of Firestone products that look like tires. Capabilities and features of new cars are progressing so fast now that I was confident I would prefer a new Camry over a used luxury model. No regrets.

I would recommend this vehicle to a friend: YES

Overall Rating:
5/5
Value:
5/5
Exterior:
5/5
Interior:
5/5
Comfort:
5/5
Performance:
5/5
Reliability:
5/5

my third camry - best ever

Reviewed by cub
June 13, 2014

IN MY LIFE TIME I HAVE BOUGHT OR LEASED 8 TOYOTA'S. EVEN MY DAUGHTER BOUGHT A CAMRY. I HAVE INFLUENCED SOME OF MY PERSONAL FRIENDS TO BUY A TOYOTA. FOUR OF MY TOYOTA PURCHASES HAVE BEEN FROM THE SAME DEALER. THAT SPEAKS VOLUMES FOR THEM. MY FIRST CAMRY I HAD FOR NEARLY 20 YRS. I SOLD IT WITHIN FOUR HOURS & IT HAS OVER 245,000 MILES. TOYOTA MAKES THE MOST RELIABLE CARS ON THE MARKET. MR. DARWIN GRIMM

I would recommend this vehicle to a friend: YES

Overall Rating:
5/5
Value:
5/5
Exterior:
5/5
Interior:
5/5
Comfort:
5/5
Performance:
5/5
Reliability:
5/5

Toyota Camry

Reviewed by Clay
June 04, 2014

The car runs great you cant even hear the engine, it great on gas (40 mpg), Its very comfortable, I get a lot of compliments about my Camry Hybrid, I'm a proud owner.

I would recommend this vehicle to a friend: YES

Overall Rating:
5/5
Value:
4/5
Exterior:
3/5
Interior:
4/5
Comfort:
5/5
Performance:
5/5
Reliability:
5/5

Great gas mileage with a plus interior

Reviewed by Joan
May 15, 2014

After driving a Prius for the last 4 years, I wanted some upgrades in styling and interior features. I got that in the Camry Hybrid. The leather upholstery is a step up from the Prius but I had to sacrifice some gas mileage for a bit more lux. I also preferred a female salesperson and Toyota has a jewel in Becky Grissom.

I would recommend this vehicle to a friend: YES

Overall Rating:
4/5
Value:
4/5
Exterior:
4/5
Interior:
4/5
Comfort:
5/5
Performance:
3/5
Reliability:
5/5

Not in cold states, but would buy regular Camry.

Reviewed by No cold weather
April 29, 2014

I really like the Toyota Camry, but if you live in a state that gets cold don't bother spending the extra money for a hybrid. I get 40 mpg in the warm months, but the minute it gets below 35 degrees the gas mileage plummets to as low as 25-27 mpg. Since winters in Wisconsin seem to now be lasting 8 months a year it doesn't pay. However, I would buy a non-hybrid Camry again in a heartbeat. They are reliable, roomy, and provide an excellent ride. Things to improve on: In the winter, when the roads are bad, the back end tends to be loose and does not handle as well as other vehicles I have driven. Handles on inside of doors needs to be a darker color. They get dirty very easily. Not sure why outside handle on drivers side does not unlock all four doors when you go to open it.

I would recommend this vehicle to a friend: NO

Overall Rating:
5/5
Value:
5/5
Exterior:
4/5
Interior:
4/5
Comfort:
4/5
Performance:
5/5
Reliability:
5/5

A Great Family Car

Reviewed by Happy buyer
April 24, 2014

The styling is quite conservative, but everything works so well, and it gets such great gas mileage, that this is an almost perfect car for most drivers, especially for a family that has to watch its budget.

I would recommend this vehicle to a friend: YES

Overall Rating:
4/5
Value:
4/5
Exterior:
4/5
Interior:
3/5
Comfort:
3/5
Performance:
4/5
Reliability:
5/5

Google car

Reviewed by Bob
April 18, 2014

Have not driven it enough to give an honest review. So far very happy with it. If my review is too short, please trash it.

I would recommend this vehicle to a friend: YES

Overall Rating:
5/5
Value:
5/5
Exterior:
5/5
Interior:
5/5
Comfort:
5/5
Performance:
5/5
Reliability:
5/5

LOVE this car

Reviewed by Sam
March 04, 2014

I purchased a slightly used 2012 with 7000 miles on it. It drives like a dream. Technologically amazing. Smooth, quiet, reliable. Great sound system. 35 mpg. Comfortable for big guys like me (6'3). No complaints.

I would recommend this vehicle to a friend: YES

Overall Rating:
5/5
Value:
5/5
Exterior:
3/5
Interior:
5/5
Comfort:
4/5
Performance:
5/5
Reliability:
5/5

Toyota is hands down best value midsized hybrid.

Reviewed by BasicTek
December 28, 2013

After doing my research I was considering the 2013 Fusion, Optima/Sonata for a while, and i wanted a Lexus 300H but my budget wouldn't allow it, even used... So the fusion was the front runner, although as an owner of the 2011 non hybrid Sonata I decided that while ford and Hyundai are very "kewl looking" up and coming autos. If going hybrid, I decided really wanted to stick with the company that had by far the most experience and best track record. Learning the 300H was essentially the same car as the Avalon I began watching the reviews and waiting to buy a used Avalon. Well then I realized that the Camry (while not nearly as "kewl looking" as the Hyundai, Fusion, or even their own Avalon) had the exact same engine (that can do 0-60 in about 7 seconds!!!) I decided to take a trip to my local Toyota dealer and see what they had. I ended up with an XLE Leather, Grey mica metallic for about 10k less than the Avalon XLE, 15K less than the lexus, even less than a comparably equipped Fusion. By now Honda's 2014 had also just come out and got onto my radar, but even that was running about 5K more, didn't seem to offer any real advantages, and toyota has outsold all other hybrids combined in the USA by almost 3 - 1 (75% see wiki hybrid synergy drive). To note planned new mazda/nissan's are going to purchase the toyota's technology (not honda's or ford's #2 and 3 selling manufacturers of hybrids) So the real world now that i own the XLE I have to say this car drives amazing, the 0-60 is very close to my wifes Volkswagen CC, and will torch my old Hyundai. The interior is huge, the hybrid system runs very effectively, and mileage for me has been between 30 and 56 mpg. Now for the most part I'm and extremely aggressive driver and usually I get less average mpg on vehicles than the city rating unless driving 100% on the highway. The look of the car is growing on me, but I don't think it really has anywhere near the kewlness factor of the fusion, Hyundai, or even it's own avalon, and the new Honda even looks a little better IMO. Everything abut this car feels solid, and combined with knowing Toyota's reputation i feel like I have the most reliable midsized hybrid made. The handling while not quite as good as Hyundai, or ford is still very good and certainly adequate. The ride and quiet factor seems much closer to the Lexus/avalon than any of the other mentioned vehicles. I read some reviews that complained of road noise, I have no idea why. Others complained about the seats and while they don't grab you like the regular camry SE, they are still comfortable (unless you're cornering like a maniac then you slide around a bit), and super easy to get in and out from unlike something sporty like my wifes CC. What I don't like is the XLE doesn't have enough standard options, (probably why their prices are so low) but this does allow you to get the options you want without paying a monster price. The trunk while very large really would be a ton better of toyota could have found a way to allow both seats down instead of just a small passthrough. The glovebox is flat instead of downward so things tend to slide out when opening it, there may be a few other small things I can recall right now. Bonus of getting a hybrid is all the feedback about my driving is actually turning me into a better driver, and I'm learning just how inefficient my aggressive driving is, and seem to be motivated to hit even higher mileage highs for each trip (my overall average was 31, and now up to about 38 per week) I love driving this car, the bluetooth and USB integration are great allowing me to use my pandora, and other music apps on my phone, as well as voice activated droid navigation system (which IMO destroys all auto systems that cost 1000's because it's always going to be updated to the latest and greatest). Everyone can actually hear me when using the hands free bluetooth (droid also gives voice activation here as well) I would have liked the JBL upgrade but for the price I'll add my own sub/amp and probably get better sound for a fraction of the price of that too. Looking at the prices of used 2012 camry hybrids shows me that this car holds it's value better than anyone cept possibly Honda so I'd strongly suggest buying new if you are in the market for one of these. The CVT is amazing and you never feel the traditional transmission shift like with other cars. So my 1st Toyota has been an absolute hit so far, we'll see how it stands the test of time....

I would recommend this vehicle to a friend: YES

Overall Rating:
5/5
Value:
4/5
Exterior:
4/5
Interior:
5/5
Comfort:
5/5
Performance:
4/5
Reliability:
5/5

An early review at what appears to be a great car

Reviewed by Red Dog
December 24, 2013

We've had the Camry for less than two months but already love it. It is very comfortable to ride and drive. The response is amazing for a car that is so economical to drive. My only detractor is the sound and nav system; not in performance but in complexity of controls. I'm sure that over time it will become second nature. It has the ride and feel of a larger car and the quickness and handling of a smaller car. The styling is fine, just a bit common. If this car continues to perform for an extended lifetime, as the ratings predict, I expect the value to improve to five stars.

I would recommend this vehicle to a friend: YES

2014 Toyota Camry Hybrid Sedan Comparison Reviews

*MSRP and Invoice prices displayed do not include applicable gas taxes or destination charges.