cars.com

A member of the
Cars.com family

Log In
McAfee Badge

New 2013 Toyota Camry Hybrid Reviews See 2014

More Details & Photos
New 2013 Toyota Camry Hybrid

Don't Overpay for Your 2013 Toyota Camry Hybrid!

Save Time and Money Online When You Shop with Us

Over the past month we helped 97,581 new car buyers find their perfect car.

Get your best price before going to the dealer!

Consumer Reviews Summary Write a Review

Average Overall Rating:

4.5/5

Value:
4.2/5
Exterior:
4.4/5
Interior:
4.3/5
Comfort:
4.6/5
Performance:
4.1/5
Reliability:
4.7/5

11 of 13 (84%) of consumers said they would recommend this vehicle to a friend.

Overall Rating:
2/5
Value:
2/5
Exterior:
4/5
Interior:
4/5
Comfort:
4/5
Performance:
1/5
Reliability:
4/5

Super Disappointed with my Camry Hybrid

Reviewed by Feeling cold
March 24, 2014

I waited for many years to buy a hybrid, and figured that the kinks were worked out and was excited to get my TCH. My first tank of gas I avg'd 40 mpg. Let my husband drive the car and was down to 37 for the second tank. Brought the car back to AK and was avg 37/38 city driving. Pretty happy with that. Put snow tires on first of November, had a cold snap and mileage plummeted. Not the 3-5 I expect in the winter with snow tires, but 10-15mpg. I thought that excessive and took car to dealer. They of course told me the tires would change the mpg, but also using the defroster, heater, cold weather. They also told me that they drove the car for 9 miles and averaged 32 mpg, and the computer said my overall mileage was 29, but when I fill the tank and divide miles/gals I was at 26. And it has continued to drop. I'm down to 20 mpg now. And I can drive from the gas station to my house (2 miles) and average 50mpg! I have always been a conservative driver, now I am the Shell Answer Man, to the point of distraction! I anticipate lights, don't slam brakes, accelerate with an egg under my foot! And my mileage still stinks. It's about time to change the tires, I'm sure looking forward to my mileage rocketing back to the high 30s. But if this is what I have to expect every winter (which is longer than the summer in AK) I am not going to keep this car. I have never in 40 years of driving been unhappy with my car, this is a first and it makes me sad.

I would recommend this vehicle to a friend: NO

Overall Rating:
4/5
Value:
3/5
Exterior:
4/5
Interior:
3/5
Comfort:
4/5
Performance:
5/5
Reliability:
4/5

How good is the $1450 extended warranty!

Reviewed by SomewhereinDalas
February 21, 2014

I have been driving new 2013 Hybrid Camry since August! Just found out that the extended warranty isn't exactly what you hoped for! One thing I would encourage every one to check of their Camry, though! Read on.... Me and a friend, who bought the same model a day earlier, found out quite by accident that our head liners just above the visors are defective. They are not put on right. seems like they are coming loose from the roof! One dealer said it's by design! If that's the case then it horrible design flaw! They extended warranty wouldn't want to allow a loaner car! What a shame for such a reputable car company!

I would recommend this vehicle to a friend: YES

Overall Rating:
4/5
Value:
4/5
Exterior:
4/5
Interior:
4/5
Comfort:
4/5
Performance:
3/5
Reliability:
5/5

2014 Camry Hybrid a good car for the money.

Reviewed by KGCommuter
January 20, 2014

Value is good. The electronics standard with an LE model were a very pleasant surprise. The blue tooth connection is awesome, hands free telephone and hooks up to the ipod flawlessly. Disappointed with overall millage. I'm only getting 36 average driving in city and did see 38 mpg once. I expected to 38 to 40 always like many of the reviews are saying. Could be the cold Chicago weather as we are still in January and the car has only 2k miles on it so far. I'll not nit pick on this yet. To improve mileage you can drive like a Gramma. And that will improve mpg by a 2 or 3 mpg but driving like that in Chicago will get you killed. Seriously! You have to keep up with traffic at all times. Other little things. The front window post combined with the drivers mirror seems to block a lot of vision There is no dash light in or around the USB or power connection terminals area, so you can't see to plug your USB in at night. Plus, so far I can't seem to get my USB working. Not detecting devices when plugged in and will not charge a device either. Lastly, the center arm rest and the door arm rests are not at the same height. So resting your elbows on both of these makes you slightly tilted. For people who hold their wheel up high, It probably doesn't matter.

I would recommend this vehicle to a friend: YES

Overall Rating:
5/5
Value:
5/5
Exterior:
5/5
Interior:
4/5
Comfort:
5/5
Performance:
5/5
Reliability:
5/5

2014 Camry Hybrid

Reviewed by car person
November 15, 2013

The 2014 Camry Hybrid is surprisingly nimble, quick and fuel efficient. Interior and truck storage is actually less than my 2009 Toyota Corolla. What it lacks in space it make it up in comfort and fuel efficiency.

I would recommend this vehicle to a friend: YES

Overall Rating:
5/5
Value:
5/5
Exterior:
4/5
Interior:
5/5
Comfort:
5/5
Performance:
5/5
Reliability:
5/5

High Tech !!

Reviewed by 1st time toyota buyer
November 12, 2013

My 300E was 24 yrs old and having some head gasket problems. I decided I wanted a high mpg car and I've heard of the reliability of Toyota so that is what I investigated. I checked a lot of reviews and nearly all were favorable. I bought an xle 2013 Camry Hybrid and have no regrets. It has been a little bit of a game but so far since new I've been averaging 44.3 mpg. I'm TRYING to do this. I drive slower and take off slower and occassionally watch the 8 led dial to keep it in the green. Engine and Electric Hybrid traction motor work seamlessly. You MAY only feel a shudder when it kicks in. Most times you can not hear it as you will only see EV light up on the dash to know you are in electric mode. Comfortable and stylish and will save you money over the long haul. No fan belts under the hood as well. That appealed to me. The seats are really comfortable. I'm 6-1 and weigh 220. There are a few things that I think should be changed.1) the front lip is so low, the high curb is not safe when parking. Bang!! if you are not careful. 2) I felt the underside of the wheel wells and I felt something like felt/burlap ?? I'm pretty sure that is part of the soundproofing but I live on a dirt road. hmmmm. So far it has not been a problem. 3)Maybe my age but the radio/display is a little on the complex side. For a 20 something probably not a problem. Positively love the eCRT transmission. You never hear the transmission at all except when you slow down quickly to make a turn,etc. Nice cup appointments in the cabin front and rear as well as lots of storage room in the glove box and the arm rest storage box. I came up 24 years newer and it is remarkable that engineers have come up with such high tech machines. I also now will get to buy regular fuel instead of Premium which is what my last car required. Truely not much to dislike. My only wish is that Americans had produced this vehicle.

I would recommend this vehicle to a friend: YES

Overall Rating:
5/5
Value:
5/5
Exterior:
5/5
Interior:
5/5
Comfort:
5/5
Performance:
5/5
Reliability:
5/5

Best Camry I've ever had - am very enthused!

Reviewed by JDiver in Roseville, CA
September 23, 2013

We've had this 2013 Camry XLE Hybrid since early July 2013, and have put about 2,000 miles on it in most conditions possible. We enjoy the comfort - very quiet (especially after owning a Prius 3 years) and much better road ride, and the mass of the car means less wind gust sensitivity. We drove it during quite a storm (rain, winds) 21 Sep and it was a relative joy to drive. Steering has generally been soft on Camrys, but this one is quite manageable. Visibility is great (no major Prius blind spots, and the side mirror and backup warnings plus rear view cam with guidelines are really great. I'm 6'4" / 193 cm and large, so the seat is important to me - it's quite comfortable overall, and the heat built in is convenient. The seat bottom of the leather seat can get feeling a bit flat after a couple of hours, is I'll likely get a thin, high-density foam cushion for it. The HVAC has worked well even when temperatures have been in the 100's. The moon roof works flawlessly - we used it on a lovely central California coastal highway / CA 1 trip and it's completely easy and watertight when closed, a breeze (literally) when open, letting in air but not huge blasts. The trunk and back seat passthrough are slightly smaller than the normally powered Camry - the battery does take up some real estate, but it's not that much - the trunk area still has good capacity for two of us with gear and suitcases. Gas mileage is spectacular - I am used to manufacturers fudging fuel stats, so I am very happy to be getting 42 MPG on short commutes with stop lights and 42- 45 MPG on longer highway trips. Using tips from my Prius when I was trying to get high averages I have been able to get 46-48 MPG on some highway and up to 53+ MPG truly hypermiling it. Presumably the 17" wheels / tires reduce fuel efficiency, but not that I've noticed - and they do keep the front air dam from scraping on sidewalk lips and the like, which was common with the Prius. The nav system takes a bit of getting used to after previously owning an Avalon and Prius - no standardization, of course! - but it works quite well once one puts a bit of study into it. Audio is also a bit more complex, but getting to know how to use it all is worth the effort - I quite like my XM Sirius and the Entune-enabled services, though it took a bit of work to get it all up and talking to each other (the newest Sep ~20 Entune app seems to work much better on my Android-OS smartphone). In my opinion, this is one well thought out and designed car, and both of us (my wife and I) dearly love it. I'd buy again in a trice, and feel quite comfortable recommending this car to others.

I would recommend this vehicle to a friend: YES

Overall Rating:
5/5
Value:
5/5
Exterior:
4/5
Interior:
5/5
Comfort:
5/5
Performance:
5/5
Reliability:
5/5

Best combination of fuel economy and performance

Reviewed by Fuel Economy Enthusiast
September 17, 2013

I have been driving my new 2013 Camry Hybrid for three weeks now and I am still amazed by the excellent combination of fuel economy and power it offers. The 200 HP combined gas and electric power is more than adequate for merging into fast moving highway traffic and I routinely get 45 miles per gallon on my 30 mile drive to work. The car is very quiet and has a solid feel that I have come to expect from Toyota. The blind spot monitor is a very useful option to consider. My only complaint is that the audio system is very complex and takes too much of my attention off the road to adjust.

I would recommend this vehicle to a friend: YES

Overall Rating:
3/5
Value:
3/5
Exterior:
4/5
Interior:
4/5
Comfort:
4/5
Performance:
1/5
Reliability:
3/5

Acceleration problem

Reviewed by terry
June 29, 2013

I have a Camry XLE Hybrid 2013. When accelerating from stop, it makes click feeling. I also tried other Camry Hybrid, they make this kind of click feeling when accelerating from stop. But Prius and Lexus ES Hybrid don't make this click feeling. I hope Toyota recall Camry Hybrid to fix it.

I would recommend this vehicle to a friend: NO

Overall Rating:
5/5
Value:
5/5
Exterior:
5/5
Interior:
5/5
Comfort:
5/5
Performance:
5/5
Reliability:
5/5

Best Hybrid car of its class

Reviewed by From Michigan
June 17, 2013

I purchased fully loaded 2013 XLE Hybrid end of May. I have put on over 1500 miles in two weeks and I am averaging little over 44 mpg. When I am careful and drive the way hybrid is designed, I am able to get closer to 47 mpg (50% city and 50% highway). Ride is very quiet, I love the JBL and wireless integration. This car has lot of power and kick in whenever it is needed. I am loving the traffic, weather and other info offered by XM (I think). I was able to get the Entune work without issue. I am planning on keeping this for a long time and my daughter who is 10 is eyeing the car and wants it to be her first car. I am very happy with the purchase and would not hesitate buying again. Camry has the same engine, which goes on Avalon and Lexus. This car is roomy and a pleasure to drive..Loving it!

I would recommend this vehicle to a friend: YES

Overall Rating:
5/5
Value:
4/5
Exterior:
4/5
Interior:
4/5
Comfort:
5/5
Performance:
4/5
Reliability:
5/5

Superb Comfortable Ride and Great Fuel Mileage

Reviewed by MegaChubbie
April 23, 2013

Traded in a 2012 Elantra that handled horribly, but wanted to keep good fuel mileage and get something bigger and more comfortable. The Camry Hybrid was the perfect choice, ride is incredibly smooth and with the Michelin MXV4 tires, this car will coast forever. Overall quality is great with a quiet ride and MUCH better handling than the Hyundai/KIA crowd. Just a few minor quibbles. The GOOD: Smooth quiet ride, excellent fuel economy (AND ACCURATE!), JBL stereo is good, comfortable interior with lots of rear seat leg room. Torque is good when combined with the electric motor, Backup camera and peripheral/blindside package works great, especially when you are backing up and you hear the warning of traffic coming from either side that you can't see. Really like the keyless entry and swiping the door with your finger to lock the doors. The BAD: Ok, c'mon guys, switch to Lithium Ion batteries!! MUCH lighter and much better than NiMH. Don't care for the CVT, wish they would have offered the 6-speed AUTO tranny. May just be me, but I like to control the A/C-heater fan with a knob and not a tiny rocker button. Regenerative braking takes a lot of getting used to and just doesn't stop as well as standard braking. Voice activation for phone is extremely difficult to use if not worthless. The $199 Alpine I put in my truck destroys the Camry. Not excited at all about Entune subscription-based BS. Overall navigation is decent though. OVERALL: Worth every dime IMO. Smooth ride, great gas mileage, comfortable seating, great reliability, what more do you want in a car? Just make SURE when you put new tires on the Hybrid that you go with low rolling resistance tires or your gas mileage will drop by about 2-3 MPG. I highly recommend the Michelin MXV4's as we had them on our 1997 Accord and was glad to see Toyota use them on the Camry. I have also confirmed with two tanks of gas that the on-board computer is exactly correct with the fuel mileage (the Hyundai we bought was off by 2-3 MPG on EVERY tank). Buy one, you won't regret it. My wife and I have already decided that we will never buy another car/SUV/truck that is not a hybrid. I did a LOT of research before buying this car, and the Camry is currently the best out there if you are looking for room, comfort, and decent power along with an affordable price tag.

I would recommend this vehicle to a friend: YES

 

*MSRP and Invoice prices displayed do not include applicable gas taxes or destination charges.