newcars.com®

New 2016 Toyota 4Runner Reviews

Add to Favorites  | 
More Details & Photos New 2016 Toyota 4Runner

Don't Overpay for Your 2016 Toyota 4Runner!

Save Time and Money Online When You Shop with Us

Over the past month we helped 97,581 new car buyers find their perfect car.

Get your best price before going to the dealer!

Consumer Reviews Summary Write a Review

Average Overall Rating:

4.8/5

Value:
4.7/5
Exterior:
4.8/5
Interior:
4.8/5
Comfort:
4.8/5
Performance:
4.5/5
Reliability:
4.9/5

15 of 16 (93%) of consumers said they would recommend this vehicle to a friend.

Overall Rating:
4/5
Value:
5/5
Exterior:
5/5
Interior:
5/5
Comfort:
3/5
Performance:
5/5
Reliability:
5/5

Best Rugged and Stylish SUV Available

Reviewed by TJ
November 29, 2016

I've owned 2 Rav 4's and a 2015 Highlander Limited. These vehicles are great for in town and occasional moderate off road trips but I needed a SUV to navigate the road to our cabin in rain and snow. Traded the Highlander for a 2016 SR5 Premium and noticed less fuel economy, (no big deal),stiffer ride, not as many bells and whistles, but love the overall features, controls, and off-road performance. I hope Toyota continues to produce this vehicle design as well as their cross-over models for in town use. The SR5 is the best SUV I've owned.

I would recommend this vehicle to a friend: YES

Overall Rating:
5/5
Value:
5/5
Exterior:
5/5
Interior:
5/5
Comfort:
5/5
Performance:
5/5
Reliability:
5/5

Most Reliable SUV I have ever owned

Reviewed by Angel
November 20, 2016

I have owned Toyota 4Runners for the past 16 years. Over the years I have always liked the style and build of this particular vehicle. It has a smooth, quiet ride & I have a third row so there's more than enough room for all of me & my daughter's belongings. I live in a small town & work 15 minutes away from my home, I purchase gas twice a month & it costs $40-$50 to fill my tank up depending on gas prices. I've had 1 major service issue over the 16 years & the dealership has always handled them quickly at no cost to me. I love the inside of the vehicle, the touch screen & navigation system are very user friendly. I would strongly recommend this vehicle to anyone.

I would recommend this vehicle to a friend: YES

Overall Rating:
5/5
Value:
5/5
Exterior:
5/5
Interior:
5/5
Comfort:
4/5
Performance:
3/5
Reliability:
5/5

Last SUV Standing

Reviewed by Wolf2000
November 16, 2016

I have been looking to replace my tired Explorer for a few years now but was concerned that there are no equivalents on the market. All SUV's but the 4runner have gone unibody. I test drove the Grand Cherokee and it did have nice road manners but they have sacrificed cargo area for style as the roof and tailgate are angled inwards. 4Runner is wonderfully old-school boxy still much more cargo space than Grand Cherokee. Grand Cherokee had a deal breaking noise in the interior on rough pavement - very loud ear popping rumble, probably thanks to the unibody frame. 4Runner is body on frame and insulated from the road - very quiet. Surprisingly what clinched the 4Runner for me was that its exterior dimensions are nearly identical to the Grand Cherokee, I assumed it was much larger and wouldn't fit in my garage but it fits just fine. Oh and the tailgate window opens down into the tailgate and out of the way. Very nice to carry long items without the inconvenience and danger of bungee cording the lift-gate down like all other SUV-CUV's require.

I would recommend this vehicle to a friend: YES

Overall Rating:
5/5
Value:
5/5
Exterior:
5/5
Interior:
5/5
Comfort:
5/5
Performance:
5/5
Reliability:
5/5

Lived up to my expectation!!

Reviewed by The MITCHELLS
October 25, 2016

We purchased a 2016 Toyota SR5 Premium 4Runner from Ali Kamal at Handy Toyota in St.Albans Vermont. What a great experience from start to finish! We would recommend Ali and the entire staff at the dealership for anyone looking for a vehicle and get great customer service at the same time!! Great vehicle with a great experience!! Thanks Ali and the Handy team!! Pete & Jackie Mitchell

I would recommend this vehicle to a friend: YES

Overall Rating:
5/5
Value:
5/5
Exterior:
5/5
Interior:
5/5
Comfort:
5/5
Performance:
5/5
Reliability:
5/5

Toyota 4 Runner

Reviewed by Pat pat
October 01, 2016

Me and my husband both like our 4- Runner we feel this is the best vehicle we've ever owned, we test drove it and the Tacoma and decided it was the one for us

I would recommend this vehicle to a friend: YES

Overall Rating:
2/5
Value:
2/5
Exterior:
3/5
Interior:
2/5
Comfort:
5/5
Performance:
1/5
Reliability:
4/5

Dissappointed

Reviewed by Alien Al
July 20, 2016

I have previously owned a 2005 4 Runner, I really liked it but the engine died at 180 k. My wife wanted another 4 runner so we bought a 2016. It has way less power and acceleration than my 2005. My 2005 was an SR5, this is an SR5 premium. It has an under performing heating cooling system, way poorer than 2005. The back has open compartment where everything falls out and is useless. The gps cannot be changed unless parked. I haven't been able to find if they even have a gas mileage calculator. The dash board is next to impossible to see if the sun is shining from the glare. We have 5000 miles on it and are thinking about getting rid of it already.

I would recommend this vehicle to a friend: NO

Overall Rating:
5/5
Value:
5/5
Exterior:
5/5
Interior:
5/5
Comfort:
5/5
Performance:
5/5
Reliability:
5/5

04toyota 4runner

Reviewed by Roger
July 01, 2016

it saved my life in a rollover I was hit on the left front side and it cause the 4runner to roll all of the air bags deployed II had to coral out the sun roof

I would recommend this vehicle to a friend: YES

Overall Rating:
5/5
Value:
5/5
Exterior:
5/5
Interior:
5/5
Comfort:
5/5
Performance:
5/5
Reliability:
5/5

TRD-PRO-Excellent SUV

Reviewed by Toyota For Life
April 15, 2016

I have owned the 2016 TRD-Pro for 3 months now. Its my favorite of my fleet . It can do anything and everything with-in reason. Installed a 2" lift from TOYTECH,couldn't be happier with that outcome. Love this truck, this will be my 2nd 4runner.

I would recommend this vehicle to a friend: YES

Overall Rating:
5/5
Value:
5/5
Exterior:
5/5
Interior:
5/5
Comfort:
5/5
Performance:
5/5
Reliability:
5/5

Excited about this vehicle

Reviewed by camper
March 04, 2016

Having just purchased of course I rate it all 5s. I know coming from a CRV my gas mileage will take some getting use to!! Very comfortable and big!! Again I am comparing to the CRV. I purchased for towing ability comfort and style!!

I would recommend this vehicle to a friend: YES

Overall Rating:
5/5
Value:
5/5
Exterior:
5/5
Interior:
5/5
Comfort:
4/5
Performance:
4/5
Reliability:
5/5

Good vehicle..

Reviewed by AZ Guy
February 22, 2016

I replaced my 2007 Tacoma TRD Off-Road double cab and 2010 wrangler with a 4x4 4Runner. Wife said “we have too many vehicles and her Prius was staying”. It's very similar to the Tacoma I traded in. My fully loaded wrangler looked crude to the 4Runner. I considered the Jeep Grand Cherokee but I was concerned about reliability. I looked at a fully loaded 2016 Jeep Sahara Unlimited but it was a crude as my 2010 Wrangler. Also the price of the jeeps were very close to the 4Runner.

I would recommend this vehicle to a friend: YES

2016 Toyota 4Runner SUV Comparison Reviews

*MSRP and Invoice prices displayed do not include applicable gas taxes or destination charges.