newcars.com®
Log In

New 2014 Toyota 4Runner Reviews

Add to Favorites  | 
More Details & Photos New 2014 Toyota 4Runner

Don't Overpay for Your 2014 Toyota 4Runner!

Save Time and Money Online When You Shop with Us

Over the past month we helped 97,581 new car buyers find their perfect car.

Get your best price before going to the dealer!

Consumer Reviews Summary Write a Review

Average Overall Rating:

4.8/5

Value:
4.4/5
Exterior:
4.8/5
Interior:
4.7/5
Comfort:
4.6/5
Performance:
4.9/5
Reliability:
4.9/5

10 of 10 (100%) of consumers said they would recommend this vehicle to a friend.

Overall Rating:
5/5
Value:
4/5
Exterior:
4/5
Interior:
5/5
Comfort:
5/5
Performance:
5/5
Reliability:
5/5

A Solid SUV

Reviewed by Seasoned Sport Utility Owner
June 15, 2014

Good value in the mid 30k range. Dealer was most accommodating as the 4 Runner we wanted was located in another state, which posed no problem for this dealer. However, local Toyota refused to use the dealer network to locate the model with the option, color, etc., that we wanted. That sealed the deal with the other Toyota dealer. Just took a 1k road trip to NE, trouble free, great ride, easy handling. We own Chevy and Honda SUVs, but the 4Runner appears to be stronger built, with a better ride and performance. However, with any SUV, mileage will suffer. We average 22MPG on Interstates and turnpike. In-town, about 17MPG. The 4Runner is a quality vehicle and should provide years of reliable service. Highly recommend it.

I would recommend this vehicle to a friend: YES

Overall Rating:
5/5
Value:
4/5
Exterior:
5/5
Interior:
5/5
Comfort:
5/5
Performance:
5/5
Reliability:
5/5

2014 Toyota 4Runner Premium 4WD

Reviewed by RunFish
June 06, 2014

So far Love It! The comfort and handling of the vehicle is outstanding. I swapped the softex interior for leather and the leather match is not very good but for sitting who cares I just like leather better so can live with it.

I would recommend this vehicle to a friend: YES

Overall Rating:
5/5
Value:
5/5
Exterior:
5/5
Interior:
5/5
Comfort:
5/5
Performance:
5/5
Reliability:
5/5

Cave man the 3Runner

Reviewed by Happy Owener
May 28, 2014

This is the 5th 4Runner I've owned. Which should show how happy I am with these trucks. I'm nuts about them and my 2014 has not let me down at all. 4Runners are very reliable and I'm very happy with it's performance.

I would recommend this vehicle to a friend: YES

Overall Rating:
5/5
Value:
4/5
Exterior:
5/5
Interior:
5/5
Comfort:
5/5
Performance:
5/5
Reliability:
5/5

Red 4runner

Reviewed by Colorado 4runner!
May 23, 2014

My family and I have had this car for about 3 months now and it is just perfect! We have driven it mostly in Denver and in the south suburbs. We have averaged 17.4 MPG. This truck is a beast off-road and is a lot of fun around town. The five speed auto shifts smoothly and has very responsive power. We got a beautiful red sr5 Premium with leather, nav, sunroof, and all of the goodies. The back seat legroom far surpasses the 2004 sr5 we used to have. As a teenager writing this review, this car is tons of fun to drive around. My mother primarily drives this and says it destroys our previous 2013 Outback out of the water. Buy this truck if you want a capable, comfortable, and luxurious Toyota!!!

I would recommend this vehicle to a friend: YES

Overall Rating:
4/5
Value:
5/5
Exterior:
5/5
Interior:
4/5
Comfort:
4/5
Performance:
5/5
Reliability:
5/5

Love it ...almost perfect

Reviewed by Mikee
May 15, 2014

I love the new body style which makes this SUV look mean on the road. Its a lot roomier than its predecessor without getting a massive 3 row SUV, but guess what? It has emergency 3rd row sitting that fits kids comfortably. The V6 2WD has enough power for me, but for those moments I want to really take off at a light and leave someone in the dust I just switch it from automatic to manual shifting and you'll be surprised. Overall I love the car minus the driver's armrest... what I normally would lean my arm on on the driver's side door is too low and the cushioned window rest too high. There is so much space between me and the door you can fit a captain's chair arm rest. Also just like any SUV unless you tie up whats in the back its going to go flying everywhere and the Toyota cargo net is only good for small items.

I would recommend this vehicle to a friend: YES

Overall Rating:
5/5
Value:
5/5
Exterior:
5/5
Interior:
5/5
Comfort:
4/5
Performance:
5/5
Reliability:
5/5

4Runner Outruns Them All

Reviewed by Derek S.
May 14, 2014

As one of the last hold-outs to keep the rugged body-on-frame construction, this is an SUV's SUV. Even better— the 4Runner has evolved to keep up with the latest technology and styling. After driving a Nissan Pathfinder for the last ten years, I needed to change when Nissan turned the new ones super ugly, converting the PF to a soccer-mom crossover. But... that turned out to be a blessing in disguise because I couldn't be happier with the newly styled 4Runner. Looks rugged inside and out, navigation & bluetooth connectivity couldn't be cooler, and it's comfortable (although don't expect the plush comfort of its larger 8 cylinder cousins). Ok, some minor annoyances— seat heaters, moonroof and HomeLink mirrors only come on the higher end models; I'd prefer these as a la cart add-ons instead of the major jumps in package levels. Some handy things: 3rd row seating (option), 12 cup holders, door ground lights, and the best: automatic rear window (yep!) Finally, got great service from New Country Toyota in Saratoga. Though I dread dealerships and the whole car shopping thing, they made it an all-round satisfying experience. I highly recommend the '14 Toyota 4Runner.

I would recommend this vehicle to a friend: YES

Overall Rating:
4/5
Value:
4/5
Exterior:
4/5
Interior:
4/5
Comfort:
3/5
Performance:
4/5
Reliability:
4/5

2014 red 4runner

Reviewed by me
May 08, 2014

so far so good. we love toyotas. we have 7 different kinds in our family. the wife loves her new 4runner. built for serious offroading, she drives to work and back mostly. for the highway on long trips i would much rather be in my tundra though

I would recommend this vehicle to a friend: YES

Overall Rating:
5/5
Value:
5/5
Exterior:
5/5
Interior:
5/5
Comfort:
5/5
Performance:
5/5
Reliability:
5/5

My second new Toyota

Reviewed by Mike m.
March 12, 2014

If it's anything like the first it will be extremely capable and dependable. I really like the design and the fact that in most of the Toyota SUV's the rear window rolls down this will be not only great for hauling long objects, it will be great for my two dogs as well. As for the four capability, there is a reason they call it the best. It is!

I would recommend this vehicle to a friend: YES

Overall Rating:
5/5
Value:
4/5
Exterior:
5/5
Interior:
4/5
Comfort:
5/5
Performance:
5/5
Reliability:
5/5

Our 2nd 4Runner

Reviewed by DeereMan
February 01, 2014

We really liked the looks of the 2014 Limited in Dark Graphite Gray. Our first trip took us over Snoqualmie Pass in Oregon during a snow storm. The handling was excellent. I felt very secure behind the wheel on the road in ice and snow. I think the 4wheel drive lock control could have been placed differently instead of whrere a cup holder should be. It is a fun car to own and drive.

I would recommend this vehicle to a friend: YES

Overall Rating:
5/5
Value:
4/5
Exterior:
5/5
Interior:
5/5
Comfort:
5/5
Performance:
5/5
Reliability:
5/5

I waited 12 years for this

Reviewed by Dave
January 21, 2014

Finally it was time to replace my 2002 Honda. I researched and test drove similiar sized cars. Ultimately I decided on the 4Runner Limited. It took several days to find a straight shooting Toyota salesman. I not only recommed the vehicle but also wholeheartedly recommend Xavier Pesantes at Stadium Toyota in Tampa. He was an awesome salesman because he understood that my time was valuable, my inquiry was serious and that I would buy from him if he worked to get the best deal for me.

I would recommend this vehicle to a friend: YES

2014 Toyota 4Runner SUV Comparison Reviews

*MSRP and Invoice prices displayed do not include applicable gas taxes or destination charges.