newcars.com®

New 2016 Toyota 4Runner Reviews

Add to Favorites  | 
More Details & Photos New 2016 Toyota 4Runner

Don't Overpay for Your 2016 Toyota 4Runner!

Save Time and Money Online When You Shop with Us

Over the past month we helped 97,581 new car buyers find their perfect car.

Get your best price before going to the dealer!

Consumer Reviews Summary Write a Review

Average Overall Rating:

4.7/5

Value:
4.5/5
Exterior:
4.7/5
Interior:
4.6/5
Comfort:
4.9/5
Performance:
4.5/5
Reliability:
4.9/5

10 of 11 (90%) of consumers said they would recommend this vehicle to a friend.

Overall Rating:
2/5
Value:
2/5
Exterior:
3/5
Interior:
2/5
Comfort:
5/5
Performance:
1/5
Reliability:
4/5

Dissappointed

Reviewed by Alien Al
July 20, 2016

I have previously owned a 2005 4 Runner, I really liked it but the engine died at 180 k. My wife wanted another 4 runner so we bought a 2016. It has way less power and acceleration than my 2005. My 2005 was an SR5, this is an SR5 premium. It has an under performing heating cooling system, way poorer than 2005. The back has open compartment where everything falls out and is useless. The gps cannot be changed unless parked. I haven't been able to find if they even have a gas mileage calculator. The dash board is next to impossible to see if the sun is shining from the glare. We have 5000 miles on it and are thinking about getting rid of it already.

I would recommend this vehicle to a friend: NO

Overall Rating:
5/5
Value:
5/5
Exterior:
5/5
Interior:
5/5
Comfort:
5/5
Performance:
5/5
Reliability:
5/5

04toyota 4runner

Reviewed by Roger
July 01, 2016

it saved my life in a rollover I was hit on the left front side and it cause the 4runner to roll all of the air bags deployed II had to coral out the sun roof

I would recommend this vehicle to a friend: YES

Overall Rating:
5/5
Value:
5/5
Exterior:
5/5
Interior:
5/5
Comfort:
5/5
Performance:
5/5
Reliability:
5/5

TRD-PRO-Excellent SUV

Reviewed by Toyota For Life
April 15, 2016

I have owned the 2016 TRD-Pro for 3 months now. Its my favorite of my fleet . It can do anything and everything with-in reason. Installed a 2" lift from TOYTECH,couldn't be happier with that outcome. Love this truck, this will be my 2nd 4runner.

I would recommend this vehicle to a friend: YES

Overall Rating:
5/5
Value:
5/5
Exterior:
5/5
Interior:
5/5
Comfort:
5/5
Performance:
5/5
Reliability:
5/5

Excited about this vehicle

Reviewed by camper
March 04, 2016

Having just purchased of course I rate it all 5s. I know coming from a CRV my gas mileage will take some getting use to!! Very comfortable and big!! Again I am comparing to the CRV. I purchased for towing ability comfort and style!!

I would recommend this vehicle to a friend: YES

Overall Rating:
5/5
Value:
5/5
Exterior:
5/5
Interior:
5/5
Comfort:
4/5
Performance:
4/5
Reliability:
5/5

Good vehicle..

Reviewed by AZ Guy
February 22, 2016

I replaced my 2007 Tacoma TRD Off-Road double cab and 2010 wrangler with a 4x4 4Runner. Wife said “we have too many vehicles and her Prius was staying”. It's very similar to the Tacoma I traded in. My fully loaded wrangler looked crude to the 4Runner. I considered the Jeep Grand Cherokee but I was concerned about reliability. I looked at a fully loaded 2016 Jeep Sahara Unlimited but it was a crude as my 2010 Wrangler. Also the price of the jeeps were very close to the 4Runner.

I would recommend this vehicle to a friend: YES

Overall Rating:
5/5
Value:
5/5
Exterior:
5/5
Interior:
5/5
Comfort:
5/5
Performance:
5/5
Reliability:
5/5

2016 4 runner TRD PRO

Reviewed by Pale rider
January 30, 2016

Hands down this is the best vehicle I have ever owned. The crawl feature with the overall styling is very impressive. If you can find a TRD pro buy it you won't be disappointed.

I would recommend this vehicle to a friend: YES

Overall Rating:
5/5
Value:
5/5
Exterior:
5/5
Interior:
4/5
Comfort:
5/5
Performance:
5/5
Reliability:
5/5

Great Ride

Reviewed by Dball
January 27, 2016

First Toyota that I brought! I'm a Ford man but wife wanted something that she could drive and I could tow trailer. So far we both love this for it drives great! Only thing was you could only get interior in black or leather (Trail Motel). Wife hates leather and black. But when she had to pick she kept the black and has found that it is easy to clean. So overall we are very happy with this SUV

I would recommend this vehicle to a friend: YES

Overall Rating:
5/5
Value:
4/5
Exterior:
5/5
Interior:
5/5
Comfort:
5/5
Performance:
5/5
Reliability:
5/5

Frank The 4Runner

Reviewed by WEELY
January 17, 2016

We love our new 4Runner! My husband drives it on the weekends over his Lexus sedan -the car is smooth and handles great on the highway - so much space - it has exceeded my expectations. The only complaint I have is that we cannot connect the garage door to the factory installed GDO in the car. We have tried numerous times. Other than that - it's awesome!

I would recommend this vehicle to a friend: YES

Overall Rating:
5/5
Value:
5/5
Exterior:
5/5
Interior:
5/5
Comfort:
5/5
Performance:
4/5
Reliability:
5/5

This car is a tank

Reviewed by wineman
January 16, 2016

I purchased this 2016 4 Runner Premium in December of 2015. We have not owned it very long, but the times I have spent driving it have been great. If you're looking for a luxurious ride in an SUV, this isn't your vehicle. Because it's built on a truck chassis, you feel as if you're driving a pickup truck without the bed. It's a great feeling to sit up high when cruising in this car and you feel like you could climb a mountain. I bought this car because of its track record of being the most reliable SUV on the road. My in laws have a 1997 4 Runner that is still in great shape and has never left them stranded. They won't get rid of it because it's bullet proof reliable. The instruments, dials and buttons in the cabin are so "old school" and easy to use. I also like the looks of the long hood from the cabin. Most cars today have a sloping nose and you can't see any car in front of you. The 4 Runner is big and bulky, which gives it a substantial feeling of metal in front of you. I calculated my gas mileage by miles driven versus gallons used and came up with 18.2 MPG in mixed driving (70% highway and 30% city). I'm very happy with my purchase so far and would highly recommend this vehicle to anyone looking for a rough and tough SUV.

I would recommend this vehicle to a friend: YES

Overall Rating:
5/5
Value:
4/5
Exterior:
4/5
Interior:
5/5
Comfort:
5/5
Performance:
5/5
Reliability:
5/5

Fun to drive Toyota

Reviewed by outdoorsman
December 29, 2015

My Toyota 4 runner is everything I thought it would be. Fun to drive, comfortable and reliable with great features. All of the controls and features are easy to understand and simple to operate. Leather seats are very comfortable and look great. Performance is great, powerful and handles well with a very smooth ride.

I would recommend this vehicle to a friend: YES

2016 Toyota 4Runner SUV Comparison Reviews

*MSRP and Invoice prices displayed do not include applicable gas taxes or destination charges.