newcars.com®
Log In

New 2014 Subaru XV Crosstrek Reviews

Add to Favorites  | 
More Details & Photos New 2014 Subaru XV Crosstrek

Don't Overpay for Your 2014 Subaru XV Crosstrek!

Save Time and Money Online When You Shop with Us

Over the past month we helped 97,581 new car buyers find their perfect car.

Get your best price before going to the dealer!

Consumer Reviews Summary Write a Review

Average Overall Rating:

4.6/5

Value:
4.5/5
Exterior:
4.9/5
Interior:
4.4/5
Comfort:
4.6/5
Performance:
4.8/5
Reliability:
4.6/5

14 of 16 (87%) of consumers said they would recommend this vehicle to a friend.

Overall Rating:
5/5
Value:
5/5
Exterior:
5/5
Interior:
5/5
Comfort:
5/5
Performance:
5/5
Reliability:
5/5

First car purchase ever!

Reviewed by Crosstrek Fan and Now Owner
June 13, 2014

My first experience in purchasing a new car from a dealer was very positive due to a very fine gentleman named Trevor Taron at Shortline Subaru here in Aurora Co. I have only had this vehicle for one week but I am very happy with the performance. I purchased the Limited which has leather upholstery that is very comfortable and I really like the automatic climate control system. The auto-on/off headlights are a very good feature. I am getting used to the rear-vision camera especially in a busy parking lot. The leather-wrapped steering wheel is very comfortable. There are many wonderful features in this automobile that I haven't described but I love this Crosstrek already and would recommend it without reservation.

I would recommend this vehicle to a friend: YES

Overall Rating:
3/5
Value:
3/5
Exterior:
5/5
Interior:
4/5
Comfort:
4/5
Performance:
4/5
Reliability:
2/5

burns oil

Reviewed by tac
June 11, 2014

this is my 3rd Subaru, I bought this because my others were very reliable and I had no issues. this xv burns so much oil. I've had it 8 months and it has been back to the dealer 6 times and ive had to put a quart of oil it it at least 8 times. the exterior looks nice and I love the awd, I will be trading this car in and not getting another Subaru. starting in 2012 Subaru has had oil consumption issues, I would not rely on them any longer. google subaru oil consumption and youll find all the reviews, rants, and frustration from owners & its so difficult to get anything fixed. look elsewhere.

I would recommend this vehicle to a friend: NO

Overall Rating:
5/5
Value:
5/5
Exterior:
5/5
Interior:
5/5
Comfort:
5/5
Performance:
5/5
Reliability:
5/5

Always wanted a Subaru

Reviewed by First time lease customer
June 11, 2014

Leased a 2014 Crosstrek and very happy with it so far. Comfortable inside; attractive exterior. Heated seats work great, so winter will be more tolerable this year. Looking forward to having AWD when it snows! I was used to a low, small car, so driving this feels like driving a small SUV, but it parks like my old car. Feels secure being a bit higher off the ground.

I would recommend this vehicle to a friend: YES

Overall Rating:
3/5
Value:
3/5
Exterior:
5/5
Interior:
3/5
Comfort:
4/5
Performance:
5/5
Reliability:
3/5

Not worth the money!

Reviewed by The Ravens Project
June 11, 2014

First, we have kept accurate records for mileage and there is no way that this vehicle will get 33 MPG at 65 to 70 MPH on the Interstate. You will be lucky to get 25 MPG or 26 MPG at normal Interstate speeds. The Crosstrek does not have an overdrive and it runs at a higher RPM than the Impreza, so don't hold your breath for great fuel mileage. The Bluetooth function for my cell phone is very poor. My phone loses the connection constantly. It is a big problem, so much so that I wouldn't advise getting the higher end electronic package. The paint job on the Crosstrek is sub-standard. Simple road sand will cause hundreds of chips on the hood of the vehicle. There is no primer paint. There is only one coat of paint. There is no clear coat protective paint. If you walk up to any Crosstrek that has 20,000 miles, you will see paint damage. The Crosstrek is a very cheap product with a poor paint job that will not last. (My Civic, with 90,000 miles, doesn't have this issue!) You will soon notice a bad rattle coming from the right front dash speaker. Why can't Subaru fix this problem at the factory? The center driver arm rest will not stay in place - which only shows the cheap quality of the vehicle. (I am really upset about the lousy paint job on this poor quality vehicle!)

I would recommend this vehicle to a friend: NO

Overall Rating:
5/5
Value:
5/5
Exterior:
5/5
Interior:
4/5
Comfort:
5/5
Performance:
5/5
Reliability:
5/5

I love my car! :)

Reviewed by MsMetroid
May 04, 2014

The car drives excellently. It is speedy and handles very well. We have taken it through some rough roads and it works very well. The extra clearance on the car made it fun. The manual drive is very easy to use. I do not so much love the interior console in the car. It is very boxy. There aren't any areas or compartments on the left of the steering wheel for change, gum, or anything. There is an unusual pocket that seems to go nowhere. With the newer version of the Jelly Bean operating system for Android, it seems that the BT does not sync automatically with my car anymore, I have to switch through the radio modes off of BT and back for the audio to play again. I love the leather seats and it makes it easy to clean. I only wish that I had gotten the Crosstrek with the Moonroof. Even without the GPS system, that is all I feel is missing from my car. Everything else I love. It looks nice, drives nice, is comfortable to even ride in when not driving. It gives me the space and room that I need without being too big, like a Forester. I love the extra window space past the side mirrors. I love the auto settings for the Air Controls. It's great how intuitive the car is! I wish that, like my Honda before, I could enable the Cruise Control and it would continue to be enabled after turning the car off, and back on again. Outside of a few things, I couldn't ask for a better car.

I would recommend this vehicle to a friend: YES

Overall Rating:
5/5
Value:
4/5
Exterior:
4/5
Interior:
5/5
Comfort:
5/5
Performance:
5/5
Reliability:
5/5

First New Car Ever

Reviewed by Bobbi
May 01, 2014

We got our Crosstrek at Lakeland Subaru in Sheboygan Wi and Gary really treated us royally. We knew what we wanted and Gary and the team made it easy. This is my first new car ever and it was the an all around positive experience. The car is comfortable and it gets great gas mileage. We took it to Indiana for a visit and we got 32 miles to the gallon. And our yellow lab loves it too!

I would recommend this vehicle to a friend: YES

Overall Rating:
5/5
Value:
5/5
Exterior:
5/5
Interior:
5/5
Comfort:
5/5
Performance:
5/5
Reliability:
5/5

Very Nice

Reviewed by Percy
April 25, 2014

Subaru Crosstrek XV Limited. Did not go with moonroof/Navigation package. Very comfortable seating, front and back. Great visibility and rear view camera is really nice feature. The automatic light featue is also very nice. Plenty of room for "stuff" in the rear. Good performance. Overall, a very pretty and sporty looking car!

I would recommend this vehicle to a friend: YES

Overall Rating:
5/5
Value:
5/5
Exterior:
5/5
Interior:
5/5
Comfort:
5/5
Performance:
4/5
Reliability:
5/5

XV Crosstrek Awesomeness

Reviewed by Brandon
April 07, 2014

I recently purchased an XV Crosstrek Premium CVT and I have to say that this is one of the most utilitarian vehicles EVER. I have had 16 cars in my day. I trade them up as quickly as the next fashion. I also work in the Automotive Industry and am a mechanically inclined person. I've owned everything from old British roadsters to modern luxury cars. I admit, I have a car problem. As for the XV, I did my research. I wanted something that was a smaller form factor, hatchback, and not a total bore to drive. Based on some reviews, the XV met them all but the "fun to drive factor". I read one review that said they felt the car was so slow it was dangerous in traffic. Now that I own one, I can say "WRONG!". This car has enough power for spirited driving, you just need to dive into the pedal some to get the engine up to its peak power output at ~4,000 RPMs. Don't be afraid, the boxer motors are naturally balanced and love to rev. Does it make noise? Yes, but it sounds like a symphony of boxer happiness. The interior is very well assembled (even for Subaru) with minimalist function abound. If you want worthless buttons, switches, and fake chrome paneling that only wears out, go get that. If you want an interior that is functional, well laid out, and very comfortable (I am 6'5") then this is a great sample. The ground clearance and AWD from Subaru is well executed here too. We recently got 10" of snow in Minnesota and I drove with confidence on both the snow and ice. Easily driving up steep inclines, on packed snow highways at 40mph, and through some rather deep drifts (so deep I got an ice pack under car that made the exhaust rattle against the bottom of the car). I have been getting about 29 mpg mixed driving with a spirited driving style. I get compliments everywhere I go on the look of the car too, which is nice. So, what are you waiting for? Want a CUV that is actually a CUV? Then this is the only one to be had if you ask me. I don't know what other reviewers (especially the experts) are talking about when they review this car... I think they are little to warped for the average person needs... I don't think we all need to drive 0-60 in 4.6 seconds raking through 6 gears and guzzling 3 gallons of premium gas with every gadget on the planet that just distracts us from doing the job of driving, now do we?

I would recommend this vehicle to a friend: YES

Overall Rating:
5/5
Value:
5/5
Exterior:
5/5
Interior:
4/5
Comfort:
4/5
Performance:
5/5
Reliability:
4/5

cant go wrong

Reviewed by such a surprise
March 28, 2014

if looking for dependability, gas mileage, & really cute suv the crosstrek xv limited is perfect! I cannot say enough regarding the outstanding service rec'd at stuckey Subaru in Hollidaysburg/I have purchased numerous new vehicles and have never had such an easy sale! do yourself a favor stop in and see jerry Pollock; I promise u will not be disappointed! only

I would recommend this vehicle to a friend: YES

Overall Rating:
4/5
Value:
4/5
Exterior:
5/5
Interior:
5/5
Comfort:
4/5
Performance:
4/5
Reliability:
5/5

Love my Crosstrek!

Reviewed by Gross Grace
March 11, 2014

I love this car. The only thing I could ask for is that is had a 2.5 engine to give it a bit more torque. Also, why did they make this car with such a light interior? I didn't want leather and that is all there was. The seats could be a bit more comfortable, too. Other than that, Subaru delivered as always, with exceptional technology.

I would recommend this vehicle to a friend: YES

2014 Subaru XV Crosstrek Wagon Comparison Reviews

*MSRP and Invoice prices displayed do not include applicable gas taxes or destination charges.