newcars.com®
Log In

New 2015 Subaru XV Crosstrek Reviews

Add to Favorites  | 
More Details & Photos New 2015 Subaru XV Crosstrek

Don't Overpay for Your 2015 Subaru XV Crosstrek!

Save Time and Money Online When You Shop with Us

Over the past month we helped 97,581 new car buyers find their perfect car.

Get your best price before going to the dealer!

Consumer Reviews Summary Write a Review

Average Overall Rating:

4.6/5

Value:
4.6/5
Exterior:
4.9/5
Interior:
4.8/5
Comfort:
4.5/5
Performance:
4.1/5
Reliability:
4.9/5

8 of 8 (100%) of consumers said they would recommend this vehicle to a friend.

Overall Rating:
5/5
Value:
5/5
Exterior:
5/5
Interior:
5/5
Comfort:
5/5
Performance:
3/5
Reliability:
5/5

Bang for the buck

Reviewed by Marty
July 21, 2015

I had a stroke 11 years ago, so we decided to settle on one car, a midsize crossover. It has been upgraded over the years, and with my wife out and about, I decided it was time for a second vehicle. I settled on a Crosstrek. With the added ground clearance, it was easy to get in and out. I wanted a smaller vehicle with good mileage, and comfort. This vehicle exceeded my expectations. As a senior citizen, I wasn't looking for quick acceleration, but it gets me where I need to go. And it looks great, in and out..

I would recommend this vehicle to a friend: YES

Overall Rating:
5/5
Value:
5/5
Exterior:
5/5
Interior:
5/5
Comfort:
4/5
Performance:
4/5
Reliability:
5/5

Great Ride!

Reviewed by The Outdoor Boys
July 06, 2015

I love this car. My boys and I lead a very active outdoor lifestyle. The Crosstrek is perfect for us. We've already done camping trips in two places in New Mexico in the last three weeks with the car. The car handles great on the winding back roads. Safe, fun, and capable.

I would recommend this vehicle to a friend: YES

Overall Rating:
4/5
Value:
4/5
Exterior:
5/5
Interior:
5/5
Comfort:
4/5
Performance:
4/5
Reliability:
4/5

Good Daily driver

Reviewed by Pegasus242
June 30, 2015

(2015 XV Crosstrek Premium with CVT) First Subaru for me. I wanted a daily use car that would be good year round in all types of weather conditions. So far I've found the Crosstrek to have a comfortable, quiet ride and above average handling for a vehicle with fairly high ground clearance. Unlike many reviews I've read, I think the car is adequately powered although engine noise is very noticeable under acceleration but I've heard this is common with "boxer" type engines. I've also read bad reviews of the audio systems. I think it's pretty good however the touch screen graphics look like something out of a 70's era video game. So far I've seen about 25 mpg around town and I'm happy with that. THE CVT transmission works well although I've noticed when backing up, and then shifting to drive, there is a noticeable hesitation before the CVT engages. If I had it to do over again I think the only thing I'd do different is go for the Limited just for the extra bells and whistles which include better instrumentation for not too much more money.

I would recommend this vehicle to a friend: YES

Overall Rating:
5/5
Value:
5/5
Exterior:
5/5
Interior:
5/5
Comfort:
5/5
Performance:
5/5
Reliability:
5/5

great mpg

Reviewed by me
June 05, 2015

Getting 35-37 mpg. Easy to get in and out of, even with bad knees. Very comfortable ride. Lots of room. Gauges are easy to see. Love the paddle shifters, can downshift and save on brakes. Overall very nice and handy car.

I would recommend this vehicle to a friend: YES

Overall Rating:
4/5
Value:
4/5
Exterior:
5/5
Interior:
4/5
Comfort:
3/5
Performance:
4/5
Reliability:
5/5

Fun Driver

Reviewed by SusieQ
May 08, 2015

Bought it for a tow car behind our new motorhome....but we can't keep our hands off of it. Out of the 3 vehicles we own this is the one we choose most all the time!! It's a stick shift and it's very fun to drive.

I would recommend this vehicle to a friend: YES

Overall Rating:
4/5
Value:
4/5
Exterior:
5/5
Interior:
4/5
Comfort:
5/5
Performance:
4/5
Reliability:
5/5

Just what I was looking for

Reviewed by Ranger15
April 17, 2015

I've owned 4 Subarus before this one, so i'm obviously a fan. I bought the Crosstrek because I wanted a compact car with decent gas mileage that I could occasionally take off road. I was concerned that the 2.0 liter engine may not have sufficient power, but that concern disappeared after I owned the car for a few months. It has enough horsepower for almost all circumstances. I've taken this car off road a few times, and I'm very satisfied with the performance. It has traveled very rough, rocky, and steep roads better than I expected. I highly recommend this car, and I would buy another one myself.

I would recommend this vehicle to a friend: YES

Overall Rating:
5/5
Value:
5/5
Exterior:
5/5
Interior:
5/5
Comfort:
5/5
Performance:
5/5
Reliability:
5/5

Great Car

Reviewed by mtn mama
February 02, 2015

A great mountain car. Wonderful handling and great performance. This is my 7th Subaru and I couldn't be happier with the Crosstrec

I would recommend this vehicle to a friend: YES

Overall Rating:
5/5
Value:
5/5
Exterior:
4/5
Interior:
5/5
Comfort:
5/5
Performance:
4/5
Reliability:
5/5

Very Happily Surprised - Much More Than I Expected

Reviewed by Argus
January 22, 2015

I've only had my Limited since Dec. 31 and 600 miles but it's been flawless and appears to be even more of a "find" and "value" than I expected. A very practical vehicle with legendary AWD and durability, at least this Subaru model also has very good design, comfort and overall appearance. Great handling, surprisingly good and improving fuel economy, excellent braking and more-than-adequate power/acceleration in real-world situations complete this delightful package. (See the "1st Subaru" review of the 2014 model for additional comments that reflect mine for the 'improved' 2015.) In short, I'm a very, very happy camper to date!

I would recommend this vehicle to a friend: YES

2015 Subaru XV Crosstrek Wagon Comparison Reviews

*MSRP and Invoice prices displayed do not include applicable gas taxes or destination charges.