newcars.com®
Log In

New 2015 Subaru XV Crosstrek Reviews

Add to Favorites  | 
More Details & Photos New 2015 Subaru XV Crosstrek

Don't Overpay for Your 2015 Subaru XV Crosstrek!

Save Time and Money Online When You Shop with Us

Over the past month we helped 97,581 new car buyers find their perfect car.

Get your best price before going to the dealer!

Consumer Reviews Summary Write a Review

Average Overall Rating:

4.6/5

Value:
4.5/5
Exterior:
4.9/5
Interior:
4.5/5
Comfort:
4.5/5
Performance:
4.0/5
Reliability:
4.9/5

11 of 11 (100%) of consumers said they would recommend this vehicle to a friend.

Overall Rating:
4/5
Value:
4/5
Exterior:
5/5
Interior:
3/5
Comfort:
4/5
Performance:
3/5
Reliability:
5/5

Loaner car

Reviewed by Kev
August 19, 2015

I drove the Crosstrek as a loaner car at my local Subaru dealer while my Forester was being worked on, so this review compares the 2 models. I found the Crosstrek to drive surprisingly quiet, road noise was isolated, and handling quick. Compared to my Forester the Crosstrek was more sluggish, not as powerful A/C output, the CVT shifted a bit more rough, and the view from the driver's seat not quite as open. The Crosstrek's seats were adequate, but far less roomy and comfortable compared the Forester. Luggage space is limited. Overall I recommend the Crosstrek as a great commuter car, and perfect in snow county. However for approx. $2k more one could buy the Forester and get a far better and more powerful car.

I would recommend this vehicle to a friend: YES

Overall Rating:
5/5
Value:
4/5
Exterior:
5/5
Interior:
4/5
Comfort:
4/5
Performance:
3/5
Reliability:
5/5

Good Machine

Reviewed by h820
August 18, 2015

I leased a Crosstrek XV because I'm a photographer who needs to get off the beaten path but also need a comfortable, good mileage, road car. It doesn't have a lot of bells and whistles compared to some but Subaru fit and finish is superb. Everything fits perfectly. There are no slight mismatches in trim and door fit. The ride on pavement is smooth and quiet.. Off road is more bouncy because of the stiffer suspension but that's expected in a car with off road all wheel drive capability. I've had it on fire roads and with 9" of clearance never scraped bottom once.

I would recommend this vehicle to a friend: YES

Overall Rating:
5/5
Value:
5/5
Exterior:
5/5
Interior:
5/5
Comfort:
5/5
Performance:
5/5
Reliability:
5/5

Best small SUV on the market

Reviewed by prior Honda guy
August 03, 2015

I have spent months looking and driving all the cars in this class. As soon as I pulled out of the dealer’s lot I knew this was the car for me. It's sporty, fun to drive, very comfortable, high quality, not over loaded with electronics (simple systems to operate), and the engine/all wheel drive system can't be matched by any other manufacturer. Very happy with the purchase.

I would recommend this vehicle to a friend: YES

Overall Rating:
5/5
Value:
5/5
Exterior:
5/5
Interior:
5/5
Comfort:
5/5
Performance:
3/5
Reliability:
5/5

Bang for the buck

Reviewed by Marty
July 21, 2015

I had a stroke 11 years ago, so we decided to settle on one car, a midsize crossover. It has been upgraded over the years, and with my wife out and about, I decided it was time for a second vehicle. I settled on a Crosstrek. With the added ground clearance, it was easy to get in and out. I wanted a smaller vehicle with good mileage, and comfort. This vehicle exceeded my expectations. As a senior citizen, I wasn't looking for quick acceleration, but it gets me where I need to go. And it looks great, in and out..

I would recommend this vehicle to a friend: YES

Overall Rating:
5/5
Value:
5/5
Exterior:
5/5
Interior:
5/5
Comfort:
4/5
Performance:
4/5
Reliability:
5/5

Great Ride!

Reviewed by The Outdoor Boys
July 06, 2015

I love this car. My boys and I lead a very active outdoor lifestyle. The Crosstrek is perfect for us. We've already done camping trips in two places in New Mexico in the last three weeks with the car. The car handles great on the winding back roads. Safe, fun, and capable.

I would recommend this vehicle to a friend: YES

Overall Rating:
4/5
Value:
4/5
Exterior:
5/5
Interior:
5/5
Comfort:
4/5
Performance:
4/5
Reliability:
4/5

Good Daily driver

Reviewed by Pegasus242
June 30, 2015

(2015 XV Crosstrek Premium with CVT) First Subaru for me. I wanted a daily use car that would be good year round in all types of weather conditions. So far I've found the Crosstrek to have a comfortable, quiet ride and above average handling for a vehicle with fairly high ground clearance. Unlike many reviews I've read, I think the car is adequately powered although engine noise is very noticeable under acceleration but I've heard this is common with "boxer" type engines. I've also read bad reviews of the audio systems. I think it's pretty good however the touch screen graphics look like something out of a 70's era video game. So far I've seen about 25 mpg around town and I'm happy with that. THE CVT transmission works well although I've noticed when backing up, and then shifting to drive, there is a noticeable hesitation before the CVT engages. If I had it to do over again I think the only thing I'd do different is go for the Limited just for the extra bells and whistles which include better instrumentation for not too much more money.

I would recommend this vehicle to a friend: YES

Overall Rating:
5/5
Value:
5/5
Exterior:
5/5
Interior:
5/5
Comfort:
5/5
Performance:
5/5
Reliability:
5/5

great mpg

Reviewed by me
June 05, 2015

Getting 35-37 mpg. Easy to get in and out of, even with bad knees. Very comfortable ride. Lots of room. Gauges are easy to see. Love the paddle shifters, can downshift and save on brakes. Overall very nice and handy car.

I would recommend this vehicle to a friend: YES

Overall Rating:
4/5
Value:
4/5
Exterior:
5/5
Interior:
4/5
Comfort:
3/5
Performance:
4/5
Reliability:
5/5

Fun Driver

Reviewed by SusieQ
May 08, 2015

Bought it for a tow car behind our new motorhome....but we can't keep our hands off of it. Out of the 3 vehicles we own this is the one we choose most all the time!! It's a stick shift and it's very fun to drive.

I would recommend this vehicle to a friend: YES

Overall Rating:
4/5
Value:
4/5
Exterior:
5/5
Interior:
4/5
Comfort:
5/5
Performance:
4/5
Reliability:
5/5

Just what I was looking for

Reviewed by Ranger15
April 17, 2015

I've owned 4 Subarus before this one, so i'm obviously a fan. I bought the Crosstrek because I wanted a compact car with decent gas mileage that I could occasionally take off road. I was concerned that the 2.0 liter engine may not have sufficient power, but that concern disappeared after I owned the car for a few months. It has enough horsepower for almost all circumstances. I've taken this car off road a few times, and I'm very satisfied with the performance. It has traveled very rough, rocky, and steep roads better than I expected. I highly recommend this car, and I would buy another one myself.

I would recommend this vehicle to a friend: YES

Overall Rating:
5/5
Value:
5/5
Exterior:
5/5
Interior:
5/5
Comfort:
5/5
Performance:
5/5
Reliability:
5/5

Great Car

Reviewed by mtn mama
February 02, 2015

A great mountain car. Wonderful handling and great performance. This is my 7th Subaru and I couldn't be happier with the Crosstrec

I would recommend this vehicle to a friend: YES

2015 Subaru XV Crosstrek Wagon Comparison Reviews

*MSRP and Invoice prices displayed do not include applicable gas taxes or destination charges.