newcars.com®
Log In

New 2014 Subaru XV Crosstrek Reviews

Add to Favorites  | 
More Details & Photos New 2014 Subaru XV Crosstrek

Don't Overpay for Your 2014 Subaru XV Crosstrek!

Save Time and Money Online When You Shop with Us

Over the past month we helped 97,581 new car buyers find their perfect car.

Get your best price before going to the dealer!

Consumer Reviews Summary Write a Review

Average Overall Rating:

4.4/5

Value:
4.3/5
Exterior:
4.7/5
Interior:
4.3/5
Comfort:
4.5/5
Performance:
4.4/5
Reliability:
4.4/5

23 of 27 (85%) of consumers said they would recommend this vehicle to a friend.

Overall Rating:
5/5
Value:
5/5
Exterior:
4/5
Interior:
4/5
Comfort:
4/5
Performance:
5/5
Reliability:
5/5

The Crosstrek is a Win!

Reviewed by KB
November 16, 2014

This is my first Subaru. I really had narrowed it down to the Crosstrek and a close competitor. I test drove both and decided on the Subaru. The Crosstrek has quickly become one of my favorite driving experiences. It has great acceleration for a car in it's class and gets top ratings for safety. The interior is basic but comfortable and everything is easy to reach. A lot of people complain about road noise with this car... I have no complaints. It has significantly less road noise than others in its class and according to my wife, significantly less than many rental cars she drives. Being an all wheel drive is a plus for our winter season and the roof rack and rear mount bike racks are great add on items for anyone as active as I am. It hauls our kayaks, paddleboards and bikes no problem. I say this car is a big winner!

I would recommend this vehicle to a friend: YES

Overall Rating:
5/5
Value:
5/5
Exterior:
5/5
Interior:
5/5
Comfort:
5/5
Performance:
5/5
Reliability:
5/5

I love my new Crosstrek!

Reviewed by Loyal Subaru Owner
November 10, 2014

I just bought brand new Subaru Crosstrek. I have owned Subarus for over 30 years. I loved my Outback, but this new Limited Crosstrek is out shining all others. It is rated very high on safety. It is stylish. The leather interior is elegant yet the car is sporty. It handles city, mountain, and a variety of road conditions that our Colorado weather creates. Bob Tartler at Shortline Subaru listened to me, worked with me over many weeks and got me the car I wanted. Before buying, I compared the Crosstrek to many other cars and it came out on top in every area: safety, price, style, AWD, and extras feathers. I remain a very happy Subaru owner.

I would recommend this vehicle to a friend: YES

Overall Rating:
5/5
Value:
5/5
Exterior:
5/5
Interior:
5/5
Comfort:
4/5
Performance:
4/5
Reliability:
5/5

First Subaru

Reviewed by Subaru driver
October 19, 2014

Love my Subaru Crosstrek. Fun car to drive, great mileage. Had oil changed at a quick lube, they were so impressed. Said all car makers should take after Subaru's ease of doing an oil change..

I would recommend this vehicle to a friend: YES

Overall Rating:
4/5
Value:
3/5
Exterior:
4/5
Interior:
4/5
Comfort:
4/5
Performance:
3/5
Reliability:
5/5

Forester is the better buy

Reviewed by twowheelsdown2002
October 04, 2014

I test drove this car after having a Hyundai Accent hatchback and needing more room for camping gear, more ground clearance, and all wheel drive. I compared it to the Forester, and just did not see the value in this in comparison. This is the same price as the Forester. It has way, way, less storage than the Forester, and less horsepower and torque for when you are loaded down with camping gear. And just slightly better mpg. I went with the Forester instead, and absolutely love it! Handles like my little hatchback, but eats up rough dirt roads, and I am getting 30mpg back in forth to work in mixture of city/hwy driving.

I would recommend this vehicle to a friend: YES

Overall Rating:
5/5
Value:
5/5
Exterior:
5/5
Interior:
5/5
Comfort:
5/5
Performance:
5/5
Reliability:
5/5

Sharp Looking Vehicle With Five Star Power

Reviewed by Gimo
September 22, 2014

Love driving my new 2014 Subaru XV Crosstrek Limited. It is a very smooth ride and it handles the road well in wet weather. Additionally, highway driving provides ample power. Look forward to the AWD during the winter months. The interior is plush: heated leather seats, leather-wrapped steering wheel, high end electronics with navigation & rear-vision camera. The exterior is sharp, sharp, sharp in its appearance. I couldn't have asked for more in a motor vehicle!!! Many thanks to Keith Goldsmith @ Bertera Subaru in W. Springfield, MA for helping me find the perfect vehicle! I look forward to many years of safe, fun driving!

I would recommend this vehicle to a friend: YES

Overall Rating:
1/5
Value:
1/5
Exterior:
3/5
Interior:
3/5
Comfort:
4/5
Performance:
1/5
Reliability:
1/5

Hight startup RPMs resulting in damaged engine

Reviewed by SubXV4Cyl2014
September 21, 2014

I own a 3+ week old XV Crosstrek. I had noticed an anusually high rpm but thought it was because it was new. About a week ago along with the high rpms the engine has been making a horrid sound like the valve train, pistons or other internals are rattleling very very loudly. I have heard this sound before coming from an engine with 100k+ miles on it, never from a new engine. I've read in some forums the high rpms is do to the fact that it is an pzev but like I said this sound can only be from an engine that's worn out due to poor lubrication as it is the case when an engine is first started. Sustained 2000+ rpms on cold starts! Great car otherwise but with a damaged engine anything else makes litle difference. I'm very dissapointed.

I would recommend this vehicle to a friend: NO

Overall Rating:
5/5
Value:
5/5
Exterior:
5/5
Interior:
5/5
Comfort:
5/5
Performance:
5/5
Reliability:
5/5

unhappy reviews

Reviewed by first subaru driver
September 03, 2014

I crack up when i read some of the reviews on here about the xv crosstrek that are sooooooo degrading! One person says your lucky to get 25mpg? I read another one that said he was getting 15? ( makes you wonder if they dont work for chevy!) Im getting 35.6 and it just seems to be getting better! No clear coat on the paint? Cheap paint? my paint looks great and is holding up fantastic! Using 8 quarts of oil in 8 months? Mine hasn't used a drop. what can you say? I'm happy!

I would recommend this vehicle to a friend: YES

Overall Rating:
5/5
Value:
5/5
Exterior:
5/5
Interior:
5/5
Comfort:
5/5
Performance:
5/5
Reliability:
5/5

New COuntry Subaru Delivers

Reviewed by jdmack1977
August 18, 2014

Tony at New Country Subaru in Saratoga Springs, NY got me everything I wanted in my new Crosstrek. I never felt pressured and he helped me get a great deal. I love my new car, which handles like a dream.

I would recommend this vehicle to a friend: YES

Overall Rating:
5/5
Value:
5/5
Exterior:
5/5
Interior:
4/5
Comfort:
4/5
Performance:
5/5
Reliability:
5/5

Love this car!

Reviewed by Mair
August 17, 2014

Have owned Subarus for over 20 years, so I know their reliability and durability. The Crosstrek is fun to drive! I've never quite thought of a Subaru as "fun"....but love this car!

I would recommend this vehicle to a friend: YES

Overall Rating:
2/5
Value:
1/5
Exterior:
3/5
Interior:
3/5
Comfort:
3/5
Performance:
1/5
Reliability:
1/5

2014 crosstrek, owned for 5months; ENGINE BLOWN

Reviewed by kdiggys
July 30, 2014

i am leasing a 2014 crosstrek and only had it for 5 months. the odometer read 2396 miles and the engine went on this vehicle. THE ENGINE IS BLOWN. are you kidding me??? first off, this is my first subaru i have owned. i was really excited about this vehicle because i had moved from los angeles to montana.. and montana can have some harsh winters. the first thing i noticed about the car was the lack of power. i noticed there was little to no pick up when i pressed on the accelerator, but i found that the gas mileage was pretty decent and i can live without having a fast car for once. (i used to own a nissan sentra se-r and that thing had pick up!) overall, i was pretty happy with the car until i was about 45 miles out of town and the engine went.. like i mean, KNOCKING.. fell apart. it sounded as if there was no oil in the engine but it was full of oil! being stuck out in the middle of nowhere in montana for 3 hours when you have a brand new car, and the engine is blown. left a SERIOUS bad taste in my mouth. it has been at the dealership since last thursday (7/24), and they are giving me 2 options: 1- replace the engine, which will be available aug 18th and its under the original warranty or 2 - replace the short block and rebuild the engine "with all new parts", offering me an ext on my warranty (currently have the 3/36) to 7/100k BUT i would have to sign a release that i will not sue for the lemon law. my question is: why would i need to sign a release saying i will not sue for the lemon law? are you saying you sold me a lemon? at this point, ive had to call subaru and the dealer.. ive wasted time on hold, being tossed back and forth between people who may or may not know what they are talking about. i am at a point where im wondering if i should just cut my losses and return the vehicle and go with a different make. the whole point when purchasing a new vehicle is the comfort knowing that this, mechanical problems, are limited to none. what if this happens in the middle of winter where i have no service? then what?

I would recommend this vehicle to a friend: NO

2014 Subaru XV Crosstrek Wagon Comparison Reviews

*MSRP and Invoice prices displayed do not include applicable gas taxes or destination charges.