newcars.com®
Log In

New 2014 Subaru XV Crosstrek Reviews

Add to Favorites  | 
More Details & Photos New 2014 Subaru XV Crosstrek

Don't Overpay for Your 2014 Subaru XV Crosstrek!

Save Time and Money Online When You Shop with Us

Over the past month we helped 97,581 new car buyers find their perfect car.

Get your best price before going to the dealer!

Consumer Reviews Summary Write a Review

Average Overall Rating:

4.3/5

Value:
4.2/5
Exterior:
4.8/5
Interior:
4.3/5
Comfort:
4.5/5
Performance:
4.4/5
Reliability:
4.3/5

20 of 24 (83%) of consumers said they would recommend this vehicle to a friend.

Overall Rating:
4/5
Value:
3/5
Exterior:
4/5
Interior:
4/5
Comfort:
4/5
Performance:
3/5
Reliability:
5/5

Forester is the better buy

Reviewed by twowheelsdown2002
October 04, 2014

I test drove this car after having a Hyundai Accent hatchback and needing more room for camping gear, more ground clearance, and all wheel drive. I compared it to the Forester, and just did not see the value in this in comparison. This is the same price as the Forester. It has way, way, less storage than the Forester, and less horsepower and torque for when you are loaded down with camping gear. And just slightly better mpg. I went with the Forester instead, and absolutely love it! Handles like my little hatchback, but eats up rough dirt roads, and I am getting 30mpg back in forth to work in mixture of city/hwy driving.

I would recommend this vehicle to a friend: YES

Overall Rating:
5/5
Value:
5/5
Exterior:
5/5
Interior:
5/5
Comfort:
5/5
Performance:
5/5
Reliability:
5/5

Sharp Looking Vehicle With Five Star Power

Reviewed by Gimo
September 22, 2014

Love driving my new 2014 Subaru XV Crosstrek Limited. It is a very smooth ride and it handles the road well in wet weather. Additionally, highway driving provides ample power. Look forward to the AWD during the winter months. The interior is plush: heated leather seats, leather-wrapped steering wheel, high end electronics with navigation & rear-vision camera. The exterior is sharp, sharp, sharp in its appearance. I couldn't have asked for more in a motor vehicle!!! Many thanks to Keith Goldsmith @ Bertera Subaru in W. Springfield, MA for helping me find the perfect vehicle! I look forward to many years of safe, fun driving!

I would recommend this vehicle to a friend: YES

Overall Rating:
1/5
Value:
1/5
Exterior:
3/5
Interior:
3/5
Comfort:
4/5
Performance:
1/5
Reliability:
1/5

Hight startup RPMs resulting in damaged engine

Reviewed by SubXV4Cyl2014
September 21, 2014

I own a 3+ week old XV Crosstrek. I had noticed an anusually high rpm but thought it was because it was new. About a week ago along with the high rpms the engine has been making a horrid sound like the valve train, pistons or other internals are rattleling very very loudly. I have heard this sound before coming from an engine with 100k+ miles on it, never from a new engine. I've read in some forums the high rpms is do to the fact that it is an pzev but like I said this sound can only be from an engine that's worn out due to poor lubrication as it is the case when an engine is first started. Sustained 2000+ rpms on cold starts! Great car otherwise but with a damaged engine anything else makes litle difference. I'm very dissapointed.

I would recommend this vehicle to a friend: NO

Overall Rating:
5/5
Value:
5/5
Exterior:
5/5
Interior:
5/5
Comfort:
5/5
Performance:
5/5
Reliability:
5/5

unhappy reviews

Reviewed by first subaru driver
September 03, 2014

I crack up when i read some of the reviews on here about the xv crosstrek that are sooooooo degrading! One person says your lucky to get 25mpg? I read another one that said he was getting 15? ( makes you wonder if they dont work for chevy!) Im getting 35.6 and it just seems to be getting better! No clear coat on the paint? Cheap paint? my paint looks great and is holding up fantastic! Using 8 quarts of oil in 8 months? Mine hasn't used a drop. what can you say? I'm happy!

I would recommend this vehicle to a friend: YES

Overall Rating:
5/5
Value:
5/5
Exterior:
5/5
Interior:
5/5
Comfort:
5/5
Performance:
5/5
Reliability:
5/5

New COuntry Subaru Delivers

Reviewed by jdmack1977
August 18, 2014

Tony at New Country Subaru in Saratoga Springs, NY got me everything I wanted in my new Crosstrek. I never felt pressured and he helped me get a great deal. I love my new car, which handles like a dream.

I would recommend this vehicle to a friend: YES

Overall Rating:
5/5
Value:
5/5
Exterior:
5/5
Interior:
4/5
Comfort:
4/5
Performance:
5/5
Reliability:
5/5

Love this car!

Reviewed by Mair
August 17, 2014

Have owned Subarus for over 20 years, so I know their reliability and durability. The Crosstrek is fun to drive! I've never quite thought of a Subaru as "fun"....but love this car!

I would recommend this vehicle to a friend: YES

Overall Rating:
2/5
Value:
1/5
Exterior:
3/5
Interior:
3/5
Comfort:
3/5
Performance:
1/5
Reliability:
1/5

2014 crosstrek, owned for 5months; ENGINE BLOWN

Reviewed by kdiggys
July 30, 2014

i am leasing a 2014 crosstrek and only had it for 5 months. the odometer read 2396 miles and the engine went on this vehicle. THE ENGINE IS BLOWN. are you kidding me??? first off, this is my first subaru i have owned. i was really excited about this vehicle because i had moved from los angeles to montana.. and montana can have some harsh winters. the first thing i noticed about the car was the lack of power. i noticed there was little to no pick up when i pressed on the accelerator, but i found that the gas mileage was pretty decent and i can live without having a fast car for once. (i used to own a nissan sentra se-r and that thing had pick up!) overall, i was pretty happy with the car until i was about 45 miles out of town and the engine went.. like i mean, KNOCKING.. fell apart. it sounded as if there was no oil in the engine but it was full of oil! being stuck out in the middle of nowhere in montana for 3 hours when you have a brand new car, and the engine is blown. left a SERIOUS bad taste in my mouth. it has been at the dealership since last thursday (7/24), and they are giving me 2 options: 1- replace the engine, which will be available aug 18th and its under the original warranty or 2 - replace the short block and rebuild the engine "with all new parts", offering me an ext on my warranty (currently have the 3/36) to 7/100k BUT i would have to sign a release that i will not sue for the lemon law. my question is: why would i need to sign a release saying i will not sue for the lemon law? are you saying you sold me a lemon? at this point, ive had to call subaru and the dealer.. ive wasted time on hold, being tossed back and forth between people who may or may not know what they are talking about. i am at a point where im wondering if i should just cut my losses and return the vehicle and go with a different make. the whole point when purchasing a new vehicle is the comfort knowing that this, mechanical problems, are limited to none. what if this happens in the middle of winter where i have no service? then what?

I would recommend this vehicle to a friend: NO

Overall Rating:
4/5
Value:
4/5
Exterior:
5/5
Interior:
4/5
Comfort:
4/5
Performance:
4/5
Reliability:
4/5

I love my car still

Reviewed by Yukij01
July 16, 2014

This is my first sub and I love it. I know my friend who had subs before doesn't like it as much as I do. But I've test drove a lot of other cars before I decided this is the one that stole my heart away. I went to Honda/Ford/Toyota looking for cars in the similar price range... When i walked into sub, the way this car looks just took me by surprise. A lot crossover cars gives me the feelings that they are confused and don't know where / who they are meant to be. But the way Crosstreks exterior looks just has personality. It drives very smoothly. It doesn't pick up as fast when AC is on... but that's with most cars. At times, the oil meter may jump two clicks after one 50 mile trip ... but it's not an big issue b/c it doesn't often. No oil leak so far and i've had this car for 9 months now. Still in love with my car. Last car i had was the new Altima, which I lost the love for new car in 3 months. The new line of 2014 subs are just amazing lookin~

I would recommend this vehicle to a friend: YES

Overall Rating:
5/5
Value:
5/5
Exterior:
5/5
Interior:
5/5
Comfort:
5/5
Performance:
5/5
Reliability:
5/5

First car purchase ever!

Reviewed by Crosstrek Fan and Now Owner
June 13, 2014

My first experience in purchasing a new car from a dealer was very positive due to a very fine gentleman named Trevor Taron at Shortline Subaru here in Aurora Co. I have only had this vehicle for one week but I am very happy with the performance. I purchased the Limited which has leather upholstery that is very comfortable and I really like the automatic climate control system. The auto-on/off headlights are a very good feature. I am getting used to the rear-vision camera especially in a busy parking lot. The leather-wrapped steering wheel is very comfortable. There are many wonderful features in this automobile that I haven't described but I love this Crosstrek already and would recommend it without reservation.

I would recommend this vehicle to a friend: YES

Overall Rating:
3/5
Value:
3/5
Exterior:
5/5
Interior:
4/5
Comfort:
4/5
Performance:
4/5
Reliability:
2/5

burns oil

Reviewed by tac
June 11, 2014

this is my 3rd Subaru, I bought this because my others were very reliable and I had no issues. this xv burns so much oil. I've had it 8 months and it has been back to the dealer 6 times and ive had to put a quart of oil it it at least 8 times. the exterior looks nice and I love the awd, I will be trading this car in and not getting another Subaru. starting in 2012 Subaru has had oil consumption issues, I would not rely on them any longer. google subaru oil consumption and youll find all the reviews, rants, and frustration from owners & its so difficult to get anything fixed. look elsewhere.

I would recommend this vehicle to a friend: NO

2014 Subaru XV Crosstrek Wagon Comparison Reviews

*MSRP and Invoice prices displayed do not include applicable gas taxes or destination charges.