newcars.com®

New 2016 Subaru WRX Reviews

Add to Favorites  | 
More Details & Photos New 2016 Subaru WRX

Don't Overpay for Your 2016 Subaru WRX!

Save Time and Money Online When You Shop with Us

Over the past month we helped 97,581 new car buyers find their perfect car.

Get your best price before going to the dealer!

Consumer Reviews Summary Write a Review

Average Overall Rating:

4.8/5

Value:
4.9/5
Exterior:
4.9/5
Interior:
4.6/5
Comfort:
4.5/5
Performance:
4.8/5
Reliability:
4.8/5

8 of 8 (100%) of consumers said they would recommend this vehicle to a friend.

Overall Rating:
4/5
Value:
5/5
Exterior:
4/5
Interior:
5/5
Comfort:
5/5
Performance:
5/5
Reliability:
3/5

Fun yet not 100% reliable

Reviewed by C
April 29, 2016

I bought my first brand new car and decided on the 2016 WRX. I love the 6 speed manual transmission and overall response the car gives. Unfortunately it doesn't want to always start. It has been determined that it is not from the clutch being not being pushed in all the way, just an unknown problem that happens intermittently and the experts are unable to figure it out. The best news is that it comes with roadside assistance.

I would recommend this vehicle to a friend: YES

Overall Rating:
5/5
Value:
5/5
Exterior:
5/5
Interior:
4/5
Comfort:
5/5
Performance:
5/5
Reliability:
5/5

Reliable and Safe Performance Vehicle

Reviewed by first_new_car_review
January 28, 2016

I bought this car for the engine, reliability, and AWD. I wanted something fun to drive, something that I could keep for a 10+ years (driving 25k/year), and an assured ride through snowy weather in Cleveland, OH. There's no doubt this car is fun to drive (6 speed manual) and I find it to be worth the extra spent on gas (don't forget you need 91/93 octane). However, I have been getting avg. of 29MPG! Which is great because I drive close to 100 miles a day. The car comes with summer tires, so if you're in colder climates it's a good idea to get winter tires (just get tires with wheels so that you can swap them out every season on your own). Once the winter tires are on, this thing has great control in the snow. As for reliability and safety, I can't really say anything from experience, but this car holds its value very well and Subaru has a reputation for reliability. Both were important in making this purchase. Only complaint is the touch screen/steering controls system. It's pretty slow to respond to actions and is not setup well in various ways. You learn to work with it, but it should be the other way around. In conclusion, if you're looking for a performance car that can be used as your everyday commuter..this is it. Highly recommend it. If you don't care about the AWD and slightly less reliability, then go get the mazda3.

I would recommend this vehicle to a friend: YES

Overall Rating:
5/5
Value:
5/5
Exterior:
5/5
Interior:
5/5
Comfort:
5/5
Performance:
5/5
Reliability:
5/5

2016 WRX base

Reviewed by Sports car enthusiast
November 26, 2015

This is an amazing machine! Great AWD system, beautiful color and dazzling performance on the road all together. Best bang for your bucks!

I would recommend this vehicle to a friend: YES

Overall Rating:
5/5
Value:
5/5
Exterior:
5/5
Interior:
4/5
Comfort:
4/5
Performance:
5/5
Reliability:
5/5

Performance at a reasonable price

Reviewed by JJ
November 02, 2015

This car is quick off the blocks and fast. The six speed manual is pretty precise. The interior is roomy and comfortable.

I would recommend this vehicle to a friend: YES

Overall Rating:
5/5
Value:
5/5
Exterior:
5/5
Interior:
5/5
Comfort:
5/5
Performance:
5/5
Reliability:
5/5

Awesome Ride

Reviewed by Boxster03
November 02, 2015

The muscle or sports cars I have owned include a 66 GTO, 67 Mustang, 70 Road Runner, 74 Mustang, 74 240Z, 78 280Z, 92 RX-7, 99 Porsche Boxster and 2014 BRZ. The only car that was a much fun to drive as the WRX was the Boxster. This car is a blast to drive and is very comfortable also with the extras the Limited edition offers. If you want to experience driving rather than floating around in SUV or luxury car then this is the entry level option that makes sense.

I would recommend this vehicle to a friend: YES

Overall Rating:
4/5
Value:
5/5
Exterior:
5/5
Interior:
5/5
Comfort:
5/5
Performance:
5/5
Reliability:
5/5

Eye catcher

Reviewed by Blue
September 07, 2015

Only had it 2 weeks, but fun to drive..only complaint is the ac/heater fan is loud..you need to turn it down to talk on the phone with the hands free ..also turned it down to converse with the backseat passenger.

I would recommend this vehicle to a friend: YES

Overall Rating:
5/5
Value:
5/5
Exterior:
5/5
Interior:
5/5
Comfort:
4/5
Performance:
4/5
Reliability:
5/5

2016 WRX Base

Reviewed by First time Subaru owner.
September 03, 2015

This is a great performing vehicle with lots of value. Subaru has put a lot of time and engineering into the handling, engine, and overall performance of this vehicle. It is truly a driver's car. Yes you can spend a little less and buy a car with a flashier interior however the car will look and feel like a commuter. This car is meant to be driven and experienced. I didn't have the option not to rate the reliability which I would've opted not to because I have not had the car long enough to make a fair rating. If you're looking for something a little less aggressive choose the Impreza. If you want the best of both worlds, choose the WRX. The interior loses a star for radio sound quality and no standard heated seats. The performance loses one star for a gear box that seems a bit clunky and I would like brakes that are a little more aggressive. Those are my only two complaints. The car drives, sounds, excellent with incredible visibility. Interior was roomy, back seat is very functional, and the door clearance makes it easy to get in and out of.

I would recommend this vehicle to a friend: YES

Overall Rating:
5/5
Value:
4/5
Exterior:
5/5
Interior:
4/5
Comfort:
3/5
Performance:
4/5
Reliability:
5/5

Very pleased with the car I chose

Reviewed by Aesthetic suburu
June 30, 2015

Very pleased to purchase this amazing ride! Perfect fit for me and my son along with weather conditions

I would recommend this vehicle to a friend: YES

2016 Subaru WRX Sedan Comparison Reviews

*MSRP and Invoice prices displayed do not include applicable gas taxes or destination charges.