cars.com

A member of the
Cars.com family

Log In
McAfee Badge

New 2014 Subaru Outback Reviews See 2013

More Details & Photos
New 2014 Subaru Outback

Don't Overpay for Your 2014 Subaru Outback!

Save Time and Money Online When You Shop with Us

Over the past month we helped 97,581 new car buyers find their perfect car.

Get your best price before going to the dealer!

Consumer Reviews Summary Write a Review

Average Overall Rating:

4.6/5

Value:
4.5/5
Exterior:
4.6/5
Interior:
4.6/5
Comfort:
4.6/5
Performance:
4.4/5
Reliability:
4.7/5

29 of 33 (87%) of consumers said they would recommend this vehicle to a friend.

Overall Rating:
5/5
Value:
5/5
Exterior:
4/5
Interior:
4/5
Comfort:
5/5
Performance:
4/5
Reliability:
4/5

Six is the Charm

Reviewed by Six time Subaru owner
April 07, 2014

Subaru offers great value for the money. Full time all wheel drive, good ergonomics and reliable all weather performance. Dealer at Manchester NH Subaru was pleasant and efficient. My sixth Subie in twenty years - if they've fixed the bad head gasket problem then I recommend Subaru!

I would recommend this vehicle to a friend: YES

Overall Rating:
5/5
Value:
5/5
Exterior:
5/5
Interior:
5/5
Comfort:
5/5
Performance:
5/5
Reliability:
5/5

Love my Subaru Outback

Reviewed by First time Subaru Buyer
March 20, 2014

Comfort, style, and performance is great. I used to drive another SUV so the gas mileage has been incredible - really noticeable increase. So far I am very happy with my purchase

I would recommend this vehicle to a friend: YES

Overall Rating:
4/5
Value:
5/5
Exterior:
4/5
Interior:
4/5
Comfort:
4/5
Performance:
5/5
Reliability:
4/5

First 1000 miles

Reviewed by RickSRL
March 10, 2014

Just rolled the first thousand on my 2014 3.6R Outback. Drove the 2.5 and found the power some what lacking. The extra power the six cylinder provides is impressive. My short trip average is 18 MPG. Not great, but with all wheel drive, I think it is okay. Excellent in the snow, I have no fear of unplowed parking lots. All the controls seem well placed and are easy to use. Sound system is good and I like putting my music on a flash drive and being able to navigate the content with the steering wheel controls. Dual zone climate control works well and you have to love those heated seats! Obviously haven't used the A/C or the sunroof yet. If they are as good everything else, no worries. Other nice stuff, back up camera, adjustable roof rails, Bluetooth, and cargo room. Two things I find lacking. The fan for the climate control seems way loud on full power, really got to crank up the volume to compensate. Really wish when you unlock the rear hatch , it would pop up, even just a little. Would make loading a lot easier. The wife's '06 Accord trunk does that. All around, feels solid. Haven't tossed into any corners yet, but it seems like it will do well. Drive both the 2.5 and the 3.6, and decide.

I would recommend this vehicle to a friend: YES

Overall Rating:
5/5
Value:
5/5
Exterior:
5/5
Interior:
5/5
Comfort:
5/5
Performance:
5/5
Reliability:
5/5

Outstanding value

Reviewed by Hip Grandma
March 02, 2014

Purchased this car for a cross-country trip with my grandchildren. Each time I drive it, I discover another useful feature. The comfort in the back seat - air, music - was especially important. Only drawback was that, at low fuel, the indicator on the dashboard dropped the miles remaining quicker than the actual miles driven. Other than that (easily compensated for) the car is a dream.

I would recommend this vehicle to a friend: YES

Overall Rating:
5/5
Value:
5/5
Exterior:
5/5
Interior:
5/5
Comfort:
5/5
Performance:
5/5
Reliability:
5/5

Looking for an exellent product

Reviewed by Practical owner
February 27, 2014

All you need to do is drive one and do some research on the product your about to buy. That's what I did and we really love it!!

I would recommend this vehicle to a friend: YES

Overall Rating:
3/5
Value:
3/5
Exterior:
5/5
Interior:
5/5
Comfort:
5/5
Performance:
1/5
Reliability:
3/5

Terrible mileage

Reviewed by unhappy owner
February 21, 2014

My new 2014 Outback is getting much less than 0 miles to the gallon, my old Outback 2010 is getting much better mileage. The car does not seem to shift out of 1st gear. I don't know what is causing this. The dealer said neither of the cars change gears. Then why is the old one getting 5 miles a gallon better mileage?

I would recommend this vehicle to a friend: NO

Overall Rating:
5/5
Value:
4/5
Exterior:
5/5
Interior:
5/5
Comfort:
5/5
Performance:
5/5
Reliability:
5/5

great all purpos vehicle

Reviewed by JC
February 21, 2014

After reviewing several AWD vehicles, the Outback most suited my demands. It has a proven record of reliability and trade in value. The dealership I bought it from bent over backwards in helping me purchase this vehicle. I'm more than satisfied with this purchase.

I would recommend this vehicle to a friend: YES

Overall Rating:
5/5
Value:
5/5
Exterior:
4/5
Interior:
4/5
Comfort:
4/5
Performance:
5/5
Reliability:
5/5

first time Subaru owner

Reviewed by dog lover
February 16, 2014

We love the car. GREAT gas mileage beyond what we were expecting. This is our first Subaru but I imagine it will not be our last! I like the seat warmers. I love the pick up power when I have to pass another car. It's easy to drive, easy to park. I can take my three large dogs with me.

I would recommend this vehicle to a friend: YES

Overall Rating:
5/5
Value:
4/5
Exterior:
5/5
Interior:
5/5
Comfort:
4/5
Performance:
5/5
Reliability:
5/5

size

Reviewed by CUBAN
February 14, 2014

I LIKE MOST EVERYTHING ABOUT THIS WAGON BUT THE SIZE. I FIND IT SMALL FOR ME. I THINK THAT THE NEXT TIME I WILL GO FOR THE TRIBECA

I would recommend this vehicle to a friend: YES

Overall Rating:
5/5
Value:
5/5
Exterior:
5/5
Interior:
5/5
Comfort:
5/5
Performance:
4/5
Reliability:
5/5

I'm hooked

Reviewed by Ceejaywho
February 13, 2014

I have owned 5 jeep wranglers, a dodge journey and a infinity qx4. I love the way the subaru looks and it seems that somany people here in my small river town in nj happen to have one. I looked up safety, price, and my only concern was for performance...I always had a 6 cylinder and I wasn't interested in a 3.6 limited. I ended up buying the car, the 4 cylinder is fine and I LOVE everything about the car. The size, the mileage,, the roof rack, the awd (I pass everyone who is having trouble in the snow (today; in fact!). It drives most like my infinity, only better. I got the 6 speed manual. The back seat is plenty big for me, and I'm 6'4"--and plenty of room is behind me when I'm driving. I paid $24,300 for a 6speed premium with heat seat.

I would recommend this vehicle to a friend: YES

 

*MSRP and Invoice prices displayed do not include applicable gas taxes or destination charges.