newcars.com®

New 2016 Subaru Outback Reviews

Add to Favorites  | 
More Details & Photos New 2016 Subaru Outback

Don't Overpay for Your 2016 Subaru Outback!

Save Time and Money Online When You Shop with Us

Over the past month we helped 97,581 new car buyers find their perfect car.

Get your best price before going to the dealer!

Consumer Reviews Summary Write a Review

Average Overall Rating:

4.9/5

Value:
4.9/5
Exterior:
4.9/5
Interior:
4.7/5
Comfort:
4.7/5
Performance:
4.8/5
Reliability:
4.9/5

27 of 27 (100%) of consumers said they would recommend this vehicle to a friend.

Overall Rating:
5/5
Value:
4/5
Exterior:
5/5
Interior:
5/5
Comfort:
5/5
Performance:
5/5
Reliability:
5/5

Perfect car

Reviewed by Outback guy
May 23, 2016

I have wanted an Outback for many years and finally have one and not disappointed. It is the perfect car. Roomy, comfortable, go anywhere type of car. Love it!

I would recommend this vehicle to a friend: YES

Overall Rating:
5/5
Value:
5/5
Exterior:
5/5
Interior:
5/5
Comfort:
5/5
Performance:
5/5
Reliability:
5/5

Love my Subaru

Reviewed by J. R.
May 21, 2016

At first I was a bit apprehensive about the Subaru Outback. It came highly recommended from a relative, and after driving it for about twenty minutes, I knew I had to have it. It is by no means a race car, but the 4 cylinder engine is surprisingly peppy and quiet. The fuel economy is excellent, but the thing that won me over is the interior leg room. In most vehicles I've owned, the interior comfort was always an issue. Not so in this car. I can sit comfortably with my legs almost fully extended. It is not the limited edition, but it is lacking in the things I normally wouldn't want anyway, like a power moon roof, DVD player, etc. Bottom line: It is a pleasure to drive, comfortable, and after all, aren't those the most important things?

I would recommend this vehicle to a friend: YES

Overall Rating:
5/5
Value:
5/5
Exterior:
5/5
Interior:
5/5
Comfort:
5/5
Performance:
5/5
Reliability:
5/5

Best car I have ever owned !

Reviewed by perdo
May 19, 2016

Supplies all my needs. I live in Florida but I have to drive to Boston as I have four Children there. This car is safe in winter and summer. This gives me great peace of mind. I am very comfortable when my wife uses this car. The four wheel drive clings to the road during very heavy rain and gravel surfaces. I have owned many, many cars but this outback is the best yet. It is my second outback !

I would recommend this vehicle to a friend: YES

Overall Rating:
5/5
Value:
5/5
Exterior:
5/5
Interior:
5/5
Comfort:
4/5
Performance:
5/5
Reliability:
5/5

My 1st NEW CAR

Reviewed by KT
May 19, 2016

I chose a Subaru Outback 2016 V6.All the bells and whistles like lane Alert and correction ,brake assist with so much technology! I am in my 50's and this is the 1st new car I have ever owned.....

I would recommend this vehicle to a friend: YES

Overall Rating:
5/5
Value:
5/5
Exterior:
5/5
Interior:
5/5
Comfort:
5/5
Performance:
5/5
Reliability:
5/5

Big Guy Car

Reviewed by BigGuy
May 13, 2016

I'm 6'5". I wanted a four wheel drive vehicle that was peppy stylish and fit. I'm pretty sure I checked all the pick up trucks and major brand SUV's. This vehicle fit the best. Comfortable seats and enough head room that I can wear a hat and not touch the roof. I got the 36R fully loaded. Goes like a bomb, more comfortable and better equiped than my previous Cadillac. Totally thrilled.

I would recommend this vehicle to a friend: YES

Overall Rating:
5/5
Value:
5/5
Exterior:
5/5
Interior:
4/5
Comfort:
5/5
Performance:
5/5
Reliability:
5/5

My Subaru

Reviewed by Regular Guy
April 18, 2016

The car is great--only had it for two weeks so hard to know what the future may bring. I owned an older model Outback for several years and got great service from it. This website had nothing to do with the purchase, though. My request for quotes from dealers was completely ignored, so I finally just went down to my local (and only) dealer on Maui and bought the car, making the best deal I could--just like the old days before websites like this.

I would recommend this vehicle to a friend: YES

Overall Rating:
5/5
Value:
5/5
Exterior:
5/5
Interior:
5/5
Comfort:
5/5
Performance:
5/5
Reliability:
5/5

2016 Outbac

Reviewed by crazy
March 21, 2016

great car, love all the safety features, only missing auto wipers. The car is very pepie for a four cylinder

I would recommend this vehicle to a friend: YES

Overall Rating:
4/5
Value:
4/5
Exterior:
5/5
Interior:
5/5
Comfort:
5/5
Performance:
4/5
Reliability:
5/5

They've come a long way since 1973

Reviewed by 2ByoungAgain
March 12, 2016

An older brother had a 73 GL, I had my first in 78, a DL 2dr (only FWD) but they were still fabulous in the Snow of the Midwest. 38 years have gone by, and I've owned many other vehicles in-between, and now I have my 2nd Subaru; a 2016 Outback 2.5 LTD. It is a pleasure to get in and go, wherever the road takes me. The top notch Harmon Kardon sound system makes me want to keep driving, just because. With the mulit-adjustable driver seat, it is the easiest and most comfortable vehicle I've ever owned for ease of entry and exit and long distance journeys. All my passengers have loved it as well; they just wish the passenger seat had height adjustability. With the factory equipped M&S tires it had no issues going up to Timberline @ Mt Hood with snow covered roads and parking in a foot deep or more snow. I can only imagine how sure-footed it will be with a good set of Snow Tires on it; probably like a wolf or snow-lynx :) I would prefer a 6 speed manual, but the CVT seems to work quite nicely and have no complaints about the ability of the 2.5 to go anywhere I need or want it to with ease. What I miss, auto locking doors when put into gear and auto unlock when I pull on the door handle. Engine noise upon hard acceleration is the only drawback to the engine, otherwise it is a smooth quiet ride when cruising along and under everyday acceleration needs. Wish they would offer some colors a bit more lively; like the Limited edition yellow from the Crosstrek last year and red for the Crosstrek in 2016 coming soon. Don't care for the Hyper-Blue myself.

I would recommend this vehicle to a friend: YES

Overall Rating:
5/5
Value:
5/5
Exterior:
5/5
Interior:
5/5
Comfort:
5/5
Performance:
5/5
Reliability:
5/5

Safest car I've owned

Reviewed by Subaru fan
March 10, 2016

AWD, eye sight crash protection, nav options are make this car the safest car I've owned. My wife and I love driving this car.

I would recommend this vehicle to a friend: YES

Overall Rating:
5/5
Value:
5/5
Exterior:
5/5
Interior:
5/5
Comfort:
5/5
Performance:
4/5
Reliability:
5/5

Best value for the money

Reviewed by Travco
March 06, 2016

Used Outback's were all bringing a premium as Subaru's have the highest resale value in my area. People are asking and getting thousands over book value for good clean used cars even if they have a lot of miles on them. Fortunately Subaru took advantage of the situation and came out with a new car lease that is absolutely unbeatable. Because of the high resale value Subaru's new 2016 Outback lease has a residual value, as high as 64% making the payments really small. I got a new 2016 Outback premium with sunroof package, and package #3 for a fraction of what I would have to pay per month on a similarly equipped 4 year old car.

I would recommend this vehicle to a friend: YES

2016 Subaru Outback Wagon Comparison Reviews

*MSRP and Invoice prices displayed do not include applicable gas taxes or destination charges.