newcars.com®
Log In

New 2015 Subaru Outback Reviews See 2014

Add to Favorites  | 
More Details & Photos New 2015 Subaru Outback

Don't Overpay for Your 2015 Subaru Outback!

Save Time and Money Online When You Shop with Us

Over the past month we helped 97,581 new car buyers find their perfect car.

Get your best price before going to the dealer!

Consumer Reviews Summary Write a Review

Average Overall Rating:

4.8/5

Value:
4.8/5
Exterior:
4.5/5
Interior:
4.8/5
Comfort:
4.7/5
Performance:
4.7/5
Reliability:
4.8/5

18 of 18 (100%) of consumers said they would recommend this vehicle to a friend.

Overall Rating:
4/5
Value:
4/5
Exterior:
4/5
Interior:
5/5
Comfort:
4/5
Performance:
4/5
Reliability:
4/5

first subaru i have owned

Reviewed by outback
December 13, 2014

Have not driven it much. Some lack of headroom for the driver. Good headroom in back. Seems to have plenty of power with the 3.6 engine. Lots of bells and whistles. Functions on the center display seem fairly easy to navigate. Subaru has a good safety record with few recalls.

I would recommend this vehicle to a friend: YES

Overall Rating:
4/5
Value:
4/5
Exterior:
4/5
Interior:
5/5
Comfort:
4/5
Performance:
4/5
Reliability:
5/5

Okay Lifestyle Vehicle

Reviewed by Jim
December 11, 2014

I've been a German sedan owner for many years but decided to go for something more adventurous. I was swayed by the 2015 mild redesign and have been very happy with the interior and electronics on my 2015 2.5 Limited. The fuel mileage is a big disappointment at 24MPG with a lot of highway miles per tank full. Another annoyance is the road noise at 70 mph. It's ridiculously loud. I hate saying "for the money" it's ok. But that's what this car is-it's okay for the money.

I would recommend this vehicle to a friend: YES

Overall Rating:
5/5
Value:
5/5
Exterior:
5/5
Interior:
4/5
Comfort:
4/5
Performance:
5/5
Reliability:
4/5

Impressive Car

Reviewed by Mr. Practical
November 15, 2014

I purchased the 2.5 Four Cylinder Premium with the eyesight, navigation, and moon roof package. Unfortunately, my outback was one of the units with the defective small triangle window in the front passenger side. The dealership was great and Subaru engineered a fix within in three weeks. They replaced the window last week and the car is incredibly quiet. The ride is very comfortable for an all wheel drive vehicle and the technology is impressive. The mileage has been beyond my expectations and better than the sticker rating. I drove the car on a 140 mile round trip (mostly highway) and got 36 mpg. Additionally, I am averaging 27-28 mpg on my daily 1.5 mile commute to work and I have only put 1,200 miles on the vehicle. This is a lot of car for the money and worth a look for anyone that wants a solid all wheel drive car that does everything as advertised.

I would recommend this vehicle to a friend: YES

Overall Rating:
5/5
Value:
5/5
Exterior:
4/5
Interior:
5/5
Comfort:
5/5
Performance:
5/5
Reliability:
5/5

The new Outback is just plain GREAT!

Reviewed by Retired in Wenatchee, Wa.
November 11, 2014

We have owned the NEW Outback for about a month now. Like many others, we traded in our 2013 for this new version of the Outback. The 2013 was just fine but the NEW additions to this model were to much to pass up. Better safety items, new Nav and sound system, power tailgate, and best of all is the NEW INTERIOR. The only thing that has been a negative is the gas mileage. We average about 24 mpg in town and 30 on the road. As with the 2013 I'm sure this will improve. This car is quite and comfortable for the driver AND passengers. We LOVE this new Outback.

I would recommend this vehicle to a friend: YES

Overall Rating:
5/5
Value:
5/5
Exterior:
5/5
Interior:
5/5
Comfort:
5/5
Performance:
5/5
Reliability:
5/5

Most technology loaded car I've Owned

Reviewed by Fun Loving Little Old Lady
November 06, 2014

This is the first SUV or Crossover vehicle I've owned and I'm loving it. The eyesight and blind sight features took getting use but very helpful. The sound system is the best. I look forward to driving it for years.

I would recommend this vehicle to a friend: YES

Overall Rating:
5/5
Value:
5/5
Exterior:
5/5
Interior:
5/5
Comfort:
5/5
Performance:
5/5
Reliability:
5/5

Bells and Whistles

Reviewed by Hairy Gary
October 29, 2014

As with all new vehicles, the dashboard options are quite daunting to those of us who remember the Beatles on Ed Sullivan. My suggestion is a far more graphic and simple worded explanation booklet of these electronic options. The manual is poorly written. I would buy an 'Idiot's Guide' to the dashboard if available. My irks are with the radio, phone, 20 different button positions on the steering wheel not counting the turn signals and wipers, etc. They should offer a teenager in the back seat as an upgrade!

I would recommend this vehicle to a friend: YES

Overall Rating:
4/5
Value:
5/5
Exterior:
5/5
Interior:
5/5
Comfort:
5/5
Performance:
5/5
Reliability:
5/5

great ride!

Reviewed by candid camera
October 28, 2014

The only thing I don't like is the electronic throttle. Everything about the Outback is wonderful, great ride, very smooth after you get rolling . Glad I bought it, it's exactly what i needed and wanted.

I would recommend this vehicle to a friend: YES

Overall Rating:
5/5
Value:
5/5
Exterior:
3/5
Interior:
5/5
Comfort:
5/5
Performance:
5/5
Reliability:
5/5

Just got the 2015 Outback

Reviewed by Montana Tom
October 03, 2014

It's early, but here is my initial reaction: we were initially looking for a 2011-13 used Outback, but the leap of technology (including better fuel efficiency, incrementally larger size, and a "gee whiz" infotainment system) from the previous body style, versus the fact these darn things hold their value so much, it didn't make economic sense to get an Outback from the previous five year cycle. For only "a little more" (yeah, a few grand), the difference in value was dramatic. We had a 2006 Outback and loved it. But this 2015 is such an advanced vehicle, that it really came down to an excellent value for the money. One thing that is going to take some getting used to...the systems that keep it from getting stolen. There are so many safety precautions built in to keep the bad guys from stealing these, that there is an unusual learning curve. You have to wonder what these guys could possibly do for an encore, because it feels like they've thought of everything. We did get the Ltd 2.5i model.

I would recommend this vehicle to a friend: YES

Overall Rating:
5/5
Value:
5/5
Exterior:
5/5
Interior:
5/5
Comfort:
5/5
Performance:
4/5
Reliability:
5/5

Love our new Outback

Reviewed by J&J Eastern Oregon
September 30, 2014

We just bought a 2015 Outback and Love it, got a smoking Deal from Dan in Internet sales at Carr Subaru in Beaverton Or. We Have a 2006 Tribeca with 140,000 miles and now the new Outback. Thanks Dan Doyle at Carr Subaru !

I would recommend this vehicle to a friend: YES

Overall Rating:
5/5
Value:
5/5
Exterior:
4/5
Interior:
5/5
Comfort:
5/5
Performance:
4/5
Reliability:
5/5

outback 3.6 R

Reviewed by Randy
September 28, 2014

We drove over Cinnamon Pass west of Lake City CO . This is an "4-WD only" one vehicle wide "road" built into the side of a 2000 foot cliff. We were amazed by the performance and the clearance of this vehicle and found the X-Drive mode relaxing especially on the way down towards Silverton, CO. I was a bit embarrassed when I looked at the beaten up condition of the other specialized vehicles up there, but hey NO damage done, then letting her loose on the high speed paved roads we left all of those specialized vehicles in the dust.

I would recommend this vehicle to a friend: YES

2015 Subaru Outback Wagon Comparison Reviews

*MSRP and Invoice prices displayed do not include applicable gas taxes or destination charges.