newcars.com®

New 2016 Subaru Outback Reviews

Add to Favorites  | 
More Details & Photos New 2016 Subaru Outback

Don't Overpay for Your 2016 Subaru Outback!

Save Time and Money Online When You Shop with Us

Over the past month we helped 97,581 new car buyers find their perfect car.

Get your best price before going to the dealer!

Consumer Reviews Summary Write a Review

Average Overall Rating:

4.8/5

Value:
4.9/5
Exterior:
4.8/5
Interior:
4.6/5
Comfort:
4.7/5
Performance:
4.8/5
Reliability:
4.9/5

22 of 22 (100%) of consumers said they would recommend this vehicle to a friend.

Overall Rating:
5/5
Value:
5/5
Exterior:
5/5
Interior:
4/5
Comfort:
5/5
Performance:
5/5
Reliability:
5/5

My Subaru

Reviewed by Regular Guy
April 18, 2016

The car is great--only had it for two weeks so hard to know what the future may bring. I owned an older model Outback for several years and got great service from it. This website had nothing to do with the purchase, though. My request for quotes from dealers was completely ignored, so I finally just went down to my local (and only) dealer on Maui and bought the car, making the best deal I could--just like the old days before websites like this.

I would recommend this vehicle to a friend: YES

Overall Rating:
5/5
Value:
5/5
Exterior:
5/5
Interior:
5/5
Comfort:
5/5
Performance:
5/5
Reliability:
5/5

2016 Outbac

Reviewed by crazy
March 21, 2016

great car, love all the safety features, only missing auto wipers. The car is very pepie for a four cylinder

I would recommend this vehicle to a friend: YES

Overall Rating:
4/5
Value:
4/5
Exterior:
5/5
Interior:
5/5
Comfort:
5/5
Performance:
4/5
Reliability:
5/5

They've come a long way since 1973

Reviewed by 2ByoungAgain
March 12, 2016

An older brother had a 73 GL, I had my first in 78, a DL 2dr (only FWD) but they were still fabulous in the Snow of the Midwest. 38 years have gone by, and I've owned many other vehicles in-between, and now I have my 2nd Subaru; a 2016 Outback 2.5 LTD. It is a pleasure to get in and go, wherever the road takes me. The top notch Harmon Kardon sound system makes me want to keep driving, just because. With the mulit-adjustable driver seat, it is the easiest and most comfortable vehicle I've ever owned for ease of entry and exit and long distance journeys. All my passengers have loved it as well; they just wish the passenger seat had height adjustability. With the factory equipped M&S tires it had no issues going up to Timberline @ Mt Hood with snow covered roads and parking in a foot deep or more snow. I can only imagine how sure-footed it will be with a good set of Snow Tires on it; probably like a wolf or snow-lynx :) I would prefer a 6 speed manual, but the CVT seems to work quite nicely and have no complaints about the ability of the 2.5 to go anywhere I need or want it to with ease. What I miss, auto locking doors when put into gear and auto unlock when I pull on the door handle. Engine noise upon hard acceleration is the only drawback to the engine, otherwise it is a smooth quiet ride when cruising along and under everyday acceleration needs. Wish they would offer some colors a bit more lively; like the Limited edition yellow from the Crosstrek last year and red for the Crosstrek in 2016 coming soon. Don't care for the Hyper-Blue myself.

I would recommend this vehicle to a friend: YES

Overall Rating:
5/5
Value:
5/5
Exterior:
5/5
Interior:
5/5
Comfort:
5/5
Performance:
5/5
Reliability:
5/5

Safest car I've owned

Reviewed by Subaru fan
March 10, 2016

AWD, eye sight crash protection, nav options are make this car the safest car I've owned. My wife and I love driving this car.

I would recommend this vehicle to a friend: YES

Overall Rating:
5/5
Value:
5/5
Exterior:
5/5
Interior:
5/5
Comfort:
5/5
Performance:
4/5
Reliability:
5/5

Best value for the money

Reviewed by Travco
March 06, 2016

Used Outback's were all bringing a premium as Subaru's have the highest resale value in my area. People are asking and getting thousands over book value for good clean used cars even if they have a lot of miles on them. Fortunately Subaru took advantage of the situation and came out with a new car lease that is absolutely unbeatable. Because of the high resale value Subaru's new 2016 Outback lease has a residual value, as high as 64% making the payments really small. I got a new 2016 Outback premium with sunroof package, and package #3 for a fraction of what I would have to pay per month on a similarly equipped 4 year old car.

I would recommend this vehicle to a friend: YES

Overall Rating:
5/5
Value:
4/5
Exterior:
4/5
Interior:
4/5
Comfort:
5/5
Performance:
5/5
Reliability:
5/5

Rides smooth

Reviewed by Happy sports vehicle the Outback
March 05, 2016

The Subaru I purchased feeling heavy and safe with all the new tech on the vehicle. This is the second Subaru I have and highly recommend this vehicle to all my family and friends. They love riding in it too!

I would recommend this vehicle to a friend: YES

Overall Rating:
5/5
Value:
5/5
Exterior:
4/5
Interior:
4/5
Comfort:
4/5
Performance:
5/5
Reliability:
5/5

Sabaru is almost great

Reviewed by Practical Lar
February 21, 2016

I love the new car because of its road handling. The interior still needs a bit of work. The only negative is the gas mileage. Sabaru must do better.

I would recommend this vehicle to a friend: YES

Overall Rating:
5/5
Value:
5/5
Exterior:
5/5
Interior:
5/5
Comfort:
5/5
Performance:
5/5
Reliability:
5/5

Great Car

Reviewed by 1st Subaru, But Not My Last
February 18, 2016

Purchased an Outback Limited with all of the safety features (blind spot, eyesight, rear cross traffic, etc.) for my wife. We live in New England and being a nurse there is no such thing as a snow day for her, so we were interested in a car that could haul stuff and handle any weather. We considered some small SUVs, but it really came down to purchasing a Volvo V70 or the Outback. While I love my Volvo S80, we chose the Outback and I after having it for a few months I can say that we made the right choice. Already we have driven the Outback in a several snow storms and the AWD system was amazing. The interior is roomy and nicely appointed while the ride is smooth but firm and the handling is easy. The acceleration is a good, not great, but fast enough that I don't believe it is necessary to upgrade to the six cylinder 3.6 (not worth the loss of fuel economy). The safety features are pretty interesting and are worth the extra cost for peace of mind. Overall we are very happy with our purchase and would recommend the Outback to friends and family.

I would recommend this vehicle to a friend: YES

Overall Rating:
5/5
Value:
5/5
Exterior:
5/5
Interior:
5/5
Comfort:
5/5
Performance:
5/5
Reliability:
5/5

Roomy Interior

Reviewed by 1st time Subaru owner
January 28, 2016

After thoroughly researching the Outback, I am not disappointed. At 6', 270lbs, I'm not a small man, and even with the driver's seat positioned for me, can fit comfortably in the rear seat; so I know my passengers have plenty of room also. Too, I can move the seat to it's highest position and still have head clearance. Styling and handling are great, with intuitive controls throughout. Don't be afraid of the 4 cylinder. Only wish I had bought one sooner.

I would recommend this vehicle to a friend: YES

Overall Rating:
5/5
Value:
5/5
Exterior:
5/5
Interior:
5/5
Comfort:
5/5
Performance:
5/5
Reliability:
5/5

Happy Outback owner

Reviewed by Jazzy Cal Gal
January 19, 2016

I've had the car a few weeks now, and I read the manual whenever I was trying to figure things out and found it easy to operate the different functions. I just had the best weekend adventure in a long time in my brand new Outback 2.5i Premium. It took under $40 to fill the tank up, and drove over 500 miles on that single tank! Love the mileage I am getting now. The car performed flawlessly in all kinds of driving conditions that I encountered along the way. It is roomy and extremely comfortable, even after long hours of driving. It handled it's first road trip so well, I am looking forward to many more in the years to come. I couldn't ask for a better handling, well built, and safer car. From all that I've seen, Subaru really stands behind their vehicles. I'm so glad I made this purchase.

I would recommend this vehicle to a friend: YES

2016 Subaru Outback Wagon Comparison Reviews

*MSRP and Invoice prices displayed do not include applicable gas taxes or destination charges.