newcars.com®
Log In

New 2014 Subaru Outback Reviews See 2015

Add to Favorites  | 
More Details & Photos New 2014 Subaru Outback

Don't Overpay for Your 2014 Subaru Outback!

Save Time and Money Online When You Shop with Us

Over the past month we helped 97,581 new car buyers find their perfect car.

Get your best price before going to the dealer!

Consumer Reviews Summary Write a Review

Average Overall Rating:

4.5/5

Value:
4.4/5
Exterior:
4.6/5
Interior:
4.6/5
Comfort:
4.6/5
Performance:
4.3/5
Reliability:
4.6/5

49 of 56 (87%) of consumers said they would recommend this vehicle to a friend.

Overall Rating:
3/5
Value:
4/5
Exterior:
4/5
Interior:
3/5
Comfort:
4/5
Performance:
4/5
Reliability:
4/5

Disappointed

Reviewed by Dewarsdad
October 10, 2014

First the good points. Very good gas mileage (28-29)overall. Comfortable care to drive and plenty of room for all our needs. Now the shortcomings: Engine noise and road noise for the type of vehicle excessive. My Toyota Tacoma is way quieter, both 4cyls engines. The ride is not as good either, very clunky on other than smooth roads. The interior controls are "small" and look like they belong on a lawn tractor. The display screen is very small and not very impressive. The blue tooth function is also lacking, no feature for downloading contacts, etc. Rear door is heavy with no assist mechanism unless you go to an upgraded package and mine is called "premium"? Had planned on keeping this vehicle a long time but after 3 months of use, a couple of years will be enough. This is my first Subaru and I am not very impressed.

I would recommend this vehicle to a friend: NO

Overall Rating:
5/5
Value:
4/5
Exterior:
5/5
Interior:
4/5
Comfort:
4/5
Performance:
4/5
Reliability:
5/5

2014 Outback

Reviewed by Trap
October 04, 2014

Just bought my first one. Enjoy the feel of the ride, Plenty of power through the Rockies, Quiet ride on the highway, Roomy with everything placed just right, and overall great fuel economy. Pretty much kinda hits the spot minus a few creature comforts we would of liked to have but can live without. Nice vehicle.

I would recommend this vehicle to a friend: YES

Overall Rating:
5/5
Value:
5/5
Exterior:
5/5
Interior:
5/5
Comfort:
5/5
Performance:
4/5
Reliability:
5/5

Nicest car I've ever owned!

Reviewed by Berrywoman
September 29, 2014

This car is just great! Great ride and luxury feel. Right now getting 27 mpg and hope it will improve as time goes on. Very happy with the vehicle and it is very versatile!

I would recommend this vehicle to a friend: YES

Overall Rating:
5/5
Value:
5/5
Exterior:
5/5
Interior:
5/5
Comfort:
5/5
Performance:
5/5
Reliability:
5/5

Taken one the road

Reviewed by 1st. One
September 19, 2014

I just bought my 1st Subaru in May. We took it on a 7100 plus mile trip out west. The MPG ended up at 31.8. That was up mountains and down, through canyons, freeway and lots of city driving. I was very impressed. There are a couple of creature comfort features I would have like, Windows you could roll up and down when you first turn the car off, a compass in the mirror (one would think with leather, moon roof, heated seats a compass would be there). The car has been a joy to drive, I would of liked a little more passing power but the MPG more than makes up for that, It is now Sept I have 12000 plus miles on the car and would by another one,

I would recommend this vehicle to a friend: YES

Overall Rating:
5/5
Value:
4/5
Exterior:
5/5
Interior:
5/5
Comfort:
5/5
Performance:
5/5
Reliability:
5/5

arthur

Reviewed by maz
September 08, 2014

runs very smoothly both mechanically and over different road condition. plenty off room for passengers and runs fairly quiet for a wagon.

I would recommend this vehicle to a friend: YES

Overall Rating:
5/5
Value:
5/5
Exterior:
5/5
Interior:
5/5
Comfort:
5/5
Performance:
5/5
Reliability:
5/5

Great car

Reviewed by George
July 18, 2014

Very pleased Feel very safe Turns on a dime Very accessible and easy on back to get in and out of any seat

I would recommend this vehicle to a friend: YES

Overall Rating:
4/5
Value:
4/5
Exterior:
5/5
Interior:
4/5
Comfort:
5/5
Performance:
3/5
Reliability:
5/5

Right car for the times!!!

Reviewed by So Practical
July 08, 2014

Subaru Outback Limited.Most bells and whistles. Power everything , heated seats moon roof etc. Attractive exterior design with smart features like the roof rack pulls across when needed for minimal wind resistance. Storage cabinet for cargo cover. First trip got over 30 miles /gal. Very comfortable interior. Electronics a little more difficult than I'm used to i.e. Bluetooth-extra step required. 4 cylinder leaves a little to be desired but that's the trade off for fuel economy. Handling on straight away ok sways a little through turns braking not as responsive as I would like. Overall for the money a really nice car. Have not driven the AWD in the snow yet but expecting great things.

I would recommend this vehicle to a friend: YES

Overall Rating:
1/5
Value:
1/5
Exterior:
4/5
Interior:
4/5
Comfort:
4/5
Performance:
1/5
Reliability:
2/5

2014 Outback Steering Wheel Vibration

Reviewed by JP
June 26, 2014

Purchased 2014 outback last month. The steering wheel vibrates and flutters while turning. The vehicle has been at the dealer for two out of the four weeks since purchase. The Service Manager: Mike Savage (607) 341-3963 stated this is the way the car was designed and not a issue. The vehicle does not seem safe to drive and we are looking to trade. He said that all 2014 Subaru Outbacks have the flutter while turning. I would avoid this car. Google outback shake and you will see plenty of supporting data. Regards, JP

I would recommend this vehicle to a friend: NO

Overall Rating:
5/5
Value:
5/5
Exterior:
5/5
Interior:
5/5
Comfort:
5/5
Performance:
5/5
Reliability:
5/5

Great car! Love it!

Reviewed by FrizzyMoto
June 17, 2014

At first I thought this is a wagon.....but after driving it...thought it was an amazing vehicle full of value. The safety ratings alone sold me! Mastro Subaru is awesome and so was my internet sales rep Andrea. She is the perfect person to deal with. Professional and polite! Two things you do not usually see when buying a car!

I would recommend this vehicle to a friend: YES

Overall Rating:
4/5
Value:
4/5
Exterior:
4/5
Interior:
4/5
Comfort:
4/5
Performance:
4/5
Reliability:
4/5

back to first love after a volvo

Reviewed by juncie
June 02, 2014

The first cars I owned were subarus. When I moved on each car had over 200,000 miles and were still running good. I leased a volvo for 10yrs. (High Maint.) When I was ready to purchase I came back to my first love the Subaru. Overall I am satisfied with the outback. I did notice a very loud noise from the engine when driving up steep hills. I wish the eyesight package had included the blind eye spot dector. Overall a very reliability car. And I am seeing more and more subarus on the road than ever. Someone has got the message! Love your subaru

I would recommend this vehicle to a friend: YES

Subaru Outback Wagon Comparison Reviews

*MSRP and Invoice prices displayed do not include applicable gas taxes or destination charges.