newcars.com®

New 2016 Subaru Legacy Reviews

Add to Favorites  | 
More Details & Photos New 2016 Subaru Legacy

Don't Overpay for Your 2016 Subaru Legacy!

Save Time and Money Online When You Shop with Us

Over the past month we helped 97,581 new car buyers find their perfect car.

Get your best price before going to the dealer!

Consumer Reviews Summary Write a Review

Average Overall Rating:

4.5/5

Value:
4.7/5
Exterior:
4.4/5
Interior:
4.4/5
Comfort:
4.5/5
Performance:
4.3/5
Reliability:
4.6/5

14 of 15 (93%) of consumers said they would recommend this vehicle to a friend.

Overall Rating:
5/5
Value:
5/5
Exterior:
5/5
Interior:
4/5
Comfort:
4/5
Performance:
4/5
Reliability:
5/5

2016 Legacy Owner (3.6r)

Reviewed by Bob
May 29, 2016

I have owned the car since Sept. 2015 and I am glad that I bought car this rather than several other vechile that I researched and test drove. It represents a great value for content choice. Looks good, not over done and the interior is clean and intuitive. It handles well in the Western North Carolina mountains, has plently of smooth passing power and rides very smoothly. I think it is totally understated and classy. Gas mailage has been much better than EPA rating and I really enjoy the power of this car. Fun to drive, great infotainment unit for the price and the eyesite feature is brilliant . Plus you get all wheel drive, While I see many comments from others that all wheel drive is not necessary, I find the traction feel better than any, any other car, SUV or truck, and I driven a great variety. Floor the gas and feel the traction. Great to speed out of curves too. This is the best vechile for the money out there today, but that's just my opinion. I have had only one issue and that was a sticking fuel filler door and that was repaired by Subaru.

I would recommend this vehicle to a friend: YES

Overall Rating:
1/5
Value:
1/5
Exterior:
3/5
Interior:
2/5
Comfort:
1/5
Performance:
1/5
Reliability:
1/5

Outrageous handling.

Reviewed by Second time Last time owner
April 11, 2016

People in our small town know that I have probably owned more personal cars than anyone else my age. I have owned brand new cars from the least expensive to some of the most. luxurious. I have owned dump trucks and flatbeds. I have never been so disappointed in any car the as I am with my 2016 Subaru Legacy. It's handling is outrageous. It has problems with the parking brake, with the trunk opening on it's own and with the starter button as well. When I called the Subaru factory rep, I was on hold for 15 minutes and then told she would call me back. It has been a month and I haven't been called. The dealer made an absurd offer to trade for a Ford that I liked but he even wanted to charge me $ .32 per mile for the miles I've driven. NONE of the miles were enjoyable and a good portion of the miles were for travel to the dealer to beg for service

I would recommend this vehicle to a friend: NO

Overall Rating:
5/5
Value:
5/5
Exterior:
5/5
Interior:
5/5
Comfort:
5/5
Performance:
5/5
Reliability:
5/5

million bucks

Reviewed by lucky girl
March 30, 2016

Love my new Legacy color was what I wanted great on gas. Steering was right on very tight an precise. only complaint gas release on floor could'nt reach .Over all loved everything

I would recommend this vehicle to a friend: YES

Overall Rating:
5/5
Value:
5/5
Exterior:
5/5
Interior:
5/5
Comfort:
5/5
Performance:
5/5
Reliability:
5/5

Awesome

Reviewed by bogiejdt
March 18, 2016

The 2016 Subaru Legacy Limited is one awesome car. It has all the current technology included plus AWD, Rides Great.

I would recommend this vehicle to a friend: YES

Overall Rating:
4/5
Value:
5/5
Exterior:
3/5
Interior:
4/5
Comfort:
4/5
Performance:
3/5
Reliability:
5/5

Great value

Reviewed by avg driver
March 15, 2016

Purchased 3.6R ltd with Eyesight and almost everything possible - that was a great decision. Car feels solid, robust and very safe. H6 Engine may not seem great on paper with lower hp/torque compared to others, but is very responsive and hauls this one with gusto. Interior quality is really good and comparable to some 'luxury' brands costing 10K more. AWD system is terrific in snow (PA hills) and better than many 'trucks' when it came to traction and braking. This car is very much underrated - only if H6 performance was even better would have given all 5 stars (not that it matters)

I would recommend this vehicle to a friend: YES

Overall Rating:
5/5
Value:
5/5
Exterior:
4/5
Interior:
5/5
Comfort:
5/5
Performance:
4/5
Reliability:
5/5

Great Car Overall

Reviewed by Willie
March 02, 2016

Traded in a 2013 Sonata for the security and safety of all-wheel drive and this car does not disappoint. 27 mpg local and 33 mpg highway is awesome! Bought the Limited , so all the bells and whistles - literally! EyeSight is excellent, so get used to beeps telling you what to do (you can turn some of them off). Interior is nice except for some ugly dark paneling. The T/T steering wheel is better than the Sonatas, but not by much. Navigation system is not very good - very user unfriendly. Other than that, the car is everything I expected it to be. Highly recommend it.

I would recommend this vehicle to a friend: YES

Overall Rating:
5/5
Value:
5/5
Exterior:
5/5
Interior:
5/5
Comfort:
5/5
Performance:
5/5
Reliability:
5/5

Simple and Reliable

Reviewed by Fam
February 17, 2016

This is car is amazing. It gets great mileage I am averaging 33 mpg total. All Wheel Drive has improved traction when driving in the rain. I can tell this car will last. What I like is the technology and Eyesight of the Subaru Legacy. The interior is nice and upscale with soft cloth seating and neatly thought out. I really love my Subaru. I made a right choice buying this car.

I would recommend this vehicle to a friend: YES

Overall Rating:
5/5
Value:
5/5
Exterior:
5/5
Interior:
5/5
Comfort:
5/5
Performance:
5/5
Reliability:
5/5

First Time Subaru Owner

Reviewed by Teen Driver
February 16, 2016

I am amazed with the Subaru Legacy. This car is spectacular such as: fuel economy, power, safety, and technology. Eyesight is the best thing invented. Everything is easy to use and in arms reach. And the cloth seating is soft and supported. What I love about it is well equipped car and space is amazing in and out. Great job. Just received the car as a birthday gift so cant wait for adventures to come with my Subaru.

I would recommend this vehicle to a friend: YES

Overall Rating:
4/5
Value:
5/5
Exterior:
4/5
Interior:
3/5
Comfort:
4/5
Performance:
4/5
Reliability:
4/5

Road Warrior

Reviewed by Painless
January 31, 2016

Makes for easy long commutes. I have a daily 80 mile (each way) commute and have logged over 3k miles since purchasing. Made a good decision with this as it exceeded my expectations in many ways. Very affordable AWD commuter. Pros: Good handling in the snow. Very respectable mileage. Throaty sounding engine during accelerating. I like this as it makes it seem a bit sporty. Oil filter on the top of the engine with a catch reservoir. This is some very forward thinking by the Subaru team. Really makes me wonder who was asleep during the engineering process to allow the counter-intuitive audio system controls (see cons below). Trunk space is amazing and the security well thought-out. Things stay secure in your trunk even if someone breaks into the car. Love the Cruise Control. More good Subaru engineering here. Once set, you can use it to adjust your speed in 1mph increments up or down. Awesome for road trips. Cons: The steering-wheel controls for the audio system are counter-intuitive. Volume adjust is up/down on the wheel yet left/right on the display. Channel select is left/right on the wheel and (of course) up/down on the display. Seriously Subaru… How did you miss this one? The right-hand wiper leaves a line that is dead center in front of the drivers’ line of sight. Front passenger seat is a few inches lower than the drivers’ seat with no way to adjust. Not a huge deal, just a bit annoying. The light in the trunk is not bright enough. Touchscreen buttons should be larger for easier selection. Still not sure what the “Vehicle Mode” screen is supposed to show me. Tires are always green when driving. Sunglasses holder is too close to the SOS/Star link Info buttons. So far, only pressed the Starlink Info button a few times (not the SOS).

I would recommend this vehicle to a friend: YES

Overall Rating:
4/5
Value:
4/5
Exterior:
3/5
Interior:
4/5
Comfort:
4/5
Performance:
4/5
Reliability:
4/5

Love this car

Reviewed by SA2
January 11, 2016

Very good value. I really liked the car. It handled very well and seems to have a great pickup. Awesome value.

I would recommend this vehicle to a friend: YES

2016 Subaru Legacy Sedan Comparison Reviews

*MSRP and Invoice prices displayed do not include applicable gas taxes or destination charges.