newcars.com®
Log In

New 2015 Subaru Legacy Reviews See 2016

Add to Favorites  | 
More Details & Photos New 2015 Subaru Legacy

Don't Overpay for Your 2015 Subaru Legacy!

Save Time and Money Online When You Shop with Us

Over the past month we helped 97,581 new car buyers find their perfect car.

Get your best price before going to the dealer!

Consumer Reviews Summary Write a Review

Average Overall Rating:

4.5/5

Value:
4.6/5
Exterior:
4.6/5
Interior:
4.5/5
Comfort:
4.3/5
Performance:
4.2/5
Reliability:
4.7/5

20 of 22 (90%) of consumers said they would recommend this vehicle to a friend.

Overall Rating:
4/5
Value:
4/5
Exterior:
4/5
Interior:
5/5
Comfort:
4/5
Performance:
4/5
Reliability:
5/5

2015 Legacy Ltd: Fine so far

Reviewed by New To Subaru
July 19, 2015

I've owned and enjoyed Toyotas for the past 20 years, and owned a 2002 Camry for the last 14 years. Taking the plunge into Subaru was a leap of faith for me, so I test drove several other vehicles to fortify myself. I bought a 2015 Legacy Limited, which I've had for only three weeks now. Here are my early impressions. I'm still comparing my Subaru against my old Camry LE. I bought the Limited because I wanted the leather seats, which seemed to be structurally better and even more comfortable than the cloth ones on the Premium. Most buyers would do fine with just the Premium trim level, which seems to be a much better value. (I read a review somewhere that complained that the driver's and passenger's headrests are not adjustable. This isn't true--just tilt it forward to release it and you can put it in whatever position you want.) Build quality is very good. Nothing seems amiss (though I do notice a very subtle rumble over rough pavement from the passengers door or window--not sure what that is). The big difference from the Camry is the suspension. The Camry was very smooth most of the time, though it really bobbed when taking speed bumps or in tight corners. The Limited has 18-inch wheels and the suspension is firmer and sportier (or to me, rougher). (I tried hard to get 17-inch wheels, but it's not an option on the Limited, but I would have probably been very happy with 16-inch wheels for economy and comfort.) But it handles speed bumps well, and takes corners without any sway. To be fair, I think that the suspension is less "sporty" than the Accord or the Camry SE for that matter. Steering is fine; no complaints, and I love the way it takes corners and handles. Some people have complained about the acceleration, but I have not complaints in this department either. I don't drive my cars hard, so if you want a family-style sports car, this might not be for you. (Consumer Reports reported that its 0 to 60 mph time was very slow, but I think they mismeasured that.) Many improvements in the safety systems over my former car: 10 airbags and seat belt pretensioners, anti-lock brakes, traction control and stability control are now standard (as in other cars). Gas mileage on my first tank of gas is only 23 mpg (city driving mostly with the AC on and using the Summer ethanol blend). My Camry was around 27. I'm somewhat happy with the infotainment center: It's more logical than the Mazda 6's or the Honda Accord's (and about as nice as the Maxda 3). I'm still in the pre-smart phone era, so I can't report on this yet, though I think the smart phone integration will be fine. I miss my old Camry's CD player and the easy controls it had. I often play audio CDs, and it's a task to rewind the CD with the touchy "back" button on the Legacy. There are a dozen steering wheel controls for audio (volume, tuning, source, list), but not the one I use the most. My Limited has the Harmon-Kardon premium sound system. It sounds as good as my old Camry's, which is fine, but I don't think it's worth paying extra for. They have woofer at my left knee, which doesn't seem to do much. I get a sense of stereo sound from the dashboard speakers, but I get nothing from behind me. Well, that's all for now. I'm still learning how to use all the gadgets the Legacy has. I will try to update this review after I've had more experience with the car. There's a lot to learn on my new Legacy!

I would recommend this vehicle to a friend: YES

Overall Rating:
4/5
Value:
5/5
Exterior:
4/5
Interior:
5/5
Comfort:
4/5
Performance:
3/5
Reliability:
5/5

2015 Legacy 2.5 Premium

Reviewed by New2Subaru
July 16, 2015

If half-stars were possible, I'd give this a 4.5 overall. This is the first Subaru I've owned, and I'm very impressed so far. Pros: both the exterior and interior are nicely styled, with the interior being a significant upgrade over the prior generation. The AWD has been great in the very wet weather we've had (It's July, so no snow experience yet). Plenty of room, plenty of storage. Trunk is a good size. Infotainment center has lots of options and features, and is fairly easy to use. The gas mileage has been very good (roughly 30-31 mpg combined city/highway). Ride is comfortable, but not luxury-car level. Cons: I'd probably prefer the 3.6R in terms of power. The 2.5 is adequate but won't blow you away. The accelerator hesitates a split second before catching, especially when shifting from reverse to drive. Overall, a very good car for the money.

I would recommend this vehicle to a friend: YES

Overall Rating:
2/5
Value:
3/5
Exterior:
5/5
Interior:
3/5
Comfort:
5/5
Performance:
2/5
Reliability:
4/5

Poor Gas Mileage

Reviewed by MAD
July 16, 2015

Bought my 2015 Subaru Legacy 4cyl based on the gas rating. Supposedly should get 29 city and 36 highway. I'm getting about 25 on the highway! Have never even gotten to the 29. Have over 7000miles on the car now so should be getting better gas mileage. Took it to dealer and told nothing is wrong. The inside provides a noisy ride, very windy sounding. Stereo system poor and small print size of outside temp makes it difficult to read. Will probably trade this car, really looking for a car with better gas mileage.

I would recommend this vehicle to a friend: NO

Overall Rating:
5/5
Value:
5/5
Exterior:
5/5
Interior:
3/5
Comfort:
2/5
Performance:
5/5
Reliability:
5/5

hard seats

Reviewed by chuck
June 17, 2015

Had to buy a seat cushion do to how hard the seats are. No power reserve after key is turned off, can't roll up the Windows.

I would recommend this vehicle to a friend: YES

Overall Rating:
5/5
Value:
5/5
Exterior:
5/5
Interior:
5/5
Comfort:
5/5
Performance:
5/5
Reliability:
5/5

Best all around choice

Reviewed by toontown player
June 09, 2015

We have put 1200 miles on our new Legacy 3.6 with all the bells and whistles. We love the eye sight, back up camera, the navigation system, etc. Hubby enjoys his bi weekly commute from New York to New Haven, CT. So far, no problem with our car. He loves the way the car drives and enjoys the quietness in the cabin. We wanted an all wheel drive car for the winter time and felt Subaru fits our requirements. We love our legacy!

I would recommend this vehicle to a friend: YES

Overall Rating:
4/5
Value:
4/5
Exterior:
5/5
Interior:
5/5
Comfort:
3/5
Performance:
3/5
Reliability:
4/5

Get lengthy test drive

Reviewed by LA Driver
June 01, 2015

Have had a 2015 Legacy Limited 4cyl for about 3 months; based purchase somewhat on magazine and internet reviews. Make sure you drive this car over every kind of road. Most reviews say the car is very smooth, floating over pot holes! Hardly!! The roads in my area are not well maintained. I feel every ripple, stone, tar strip, hole---everything! The areas with new pavement are fairly smooth if the cement or asphalt was well applied. The good: brake feel is very good, steering is quick and has good feel, noise isolation in interior is good--not perfect, some tire noise, eyesight works very well as does blind back-up alarm if cross-traffic, and blind-spot alarm. Harman Kardon radio is OK but not top tier sound quality (if you like real music.) After about 1200 miles I don't find any use of oil. One major gripe about a minor issue: when you park your car, and turn the engine off, you will have no retained power to any window!! (Come on, Subaru!! A car full of electronics and I can't close the windows!!) The four cylinder is adequate except for fast passing, then you need to plan ahead a bit. Outside the car, the engine sounds somewhat noisy, but it's not noticeable inside. The interior is comfortable and rear leg room is very good. As to reliability, that's an adventure that awaits me. This is my first Subaru. Hope this information will help others make a good choice. If you know of a good window wiring mechanic, let me know!

I would recommend this vehicle to a friend: YES

Overall Rating:
5/5
Value:
5/5
Exterior:
5/5
Interior:
5/5
Comfort:
4/5
Performance:
5/5
Reliability:
5/5

I like my new 2015 Legacy

Reviewed by First time subaru owner
May 18, 2015

2 weeks ago I finally got my Legacy 2015 3.6R limited with Eyesightin system in tungsten color. I had to wait for 10 weeks while this customized car was manufactured. Recently I have committed my first 500 miles round trip and can make some conclusions. Overall I and my wife are very satisfied with our car. It looks gorgeous in tungsten color (in booklet tungsten color does not look so good as compared to real car). 6 cylinders provide enough power. However car does not feel as sporty as our 2006 Accord EX V6. On another hand it provides more quite and comfortable ride (still not like a Lexus, but good enough). Adaptive cruise control works grate and makes long traveling even more relaxing. Some reviewers complained about a wind noise. To my opinion the wind noise is normal. It seems that this issue was related to first produced cars (according to internet research). Fuel economy (with 20-29 mpg expected): I have in town 22 mpg; highways (with activated cruise control) - 30.5 mpg cruising with speed 55 ml/h and 28 mpg at 72 ml/h. I have to note that there are some things in the car that look uncomfortable/inconvenient on one hand, but at the same time they may have a sense from a safety point of view. Firstly: a trunk does not pop-up when trunk button is released. It needs to be lifted physically. It is inconvenient on one hand, on another hand it is secured by strut arms (like a hood) preventing unexpected fall on our heads. Secondly: headrest feels firm and tilted to far forward (as compared to my 2006 Accord). I guess Subaru’s engineers did that on purpose to save our necks in case of accident; however it does not feel so comfortable at least in the beginning. Luckily after 2 weeks of driving I feel that I am adapting to new headrest. And at the end I have an advice to new car buyers: test as more cars as possible (and do not rely on reviews only). I have tested new Accord, Camry and Sonata. They all are good cars with relative advantages and disadvantages. Legacy just better fitted my personal preferences.

I would recommend this vehicle to a friend: YES

Overall Rating:
1/5
Value:
1/5
Exterior:
3/5
Interior:
2/5
Comfort:
1/5
Performance:
1/5
Reliability:
1/5

Subaru = Poor Quality

Reviewed by thatran
May 16, 2015

Brand New 2015 Subaru Legacy has terrible wind and road noise. The "premium" sound system is *unbelievably* terrible (Corolla LE sounds system in my rental sounds far superior). Brakes are not very responsive. I'll be trading it in for a better quality car, not necessarily a more expensive car, but a one that's been better quality-tested.

I would recommend this vehicle to a friend: NO

Overall Rating:
5/5
Value:
5/5
Exterior:
5/5
Interior:
4/5
Comfort:
5/5
Performance:
4/5
Reliability:
5/5

Comfortable and quiet ride!

Reviewed by subie15
May 01, 2015

I have had the legacy for 2 weeks already and I love it. I test drove all of the mid-size category and subaru was the only car that stood out. The ride is the most comfortable in the class with plush interior seats and added comfort on the door handles and arm rest. Most of the other Japanese cars have hard interiors and cheap materials. This car does not.The handling is great and there is limited road noise in the cabin. Also this car is smooth over potholes and other road bumps. I ended up getting the 2.5i base model because it had everything I wanted: HD radio, Bluetooth, Pandora app, backup camera. This is great to have for a base model! The radio on the base model is great even with the 4 speakers instead of 6 on the more expensive models. This is such a great value considering it has all wheel drive! I havent tried it in the snow but I look forward to seeing how it handles. Only con's for me on the car is the trunk is heavy and doesn't pop all the way up which can be tough if you have a lot of groceries. Also the car starts up pretty loud but I don't know if that is just because it is new. This is not the fastest car but it does keep up on the highway. However these are no way deal breakers for me! Great comfort, quiet ride, plenty of room, and a great value. I am a happy customer!

I would recommend this vehicle to a friend: YES

Overall Rating:
5/5
Value:
5/5
Exterior:
5/5
Interior:
5/5
Comfort:
5/5
Performance:
5/5
Reliability:
5/5

Awesome!

Reviewed by SuperSal
April 24, 2015

My new Legacy is just awesome. Every day I find something else that I love about this car. The icing on the cake is the gas mileage. When we went out of town last weekend, we got over 37 miles per gallon. All of that and all wheel drive too!!

I would recommend this vehicle to a friend: YES

Subaru Legacy Sedan Comparison Reviews

*MSRP and Invoice prices displayed do not include applicable gas taxes or destination charges.