cars.com

A member of the
Cars.com family

Log In
McAfee Badge

New 2014 Subaru Impreza WRX Reviews

More Details & Photos
New 2014 Subaru Impreza WRX

Don't Overpay for Your 2014 Subaru Impreza WRX!

Save Time and Money Online When You Shop with Us

Over the past month we helped 97,581 new car buyers find their perfect car.

Get your best price before going to the dealer!

Consumer Reviews Summary Write a Review

Average Overall Rating:

4.3/5

Value:
4.3/5
Exterior:
4.3/5
Interior:
3.3/5
Comfort:
3.8/5
Performance:
4.5/5
Reliability:
4.3/5

10 of 12 (83%) of consumers said they would recommend this vehicle to a friend.

Overall Rating:
5/5
Value:
5/5
Exterior:
5/5
Interior:
3/5
Comfort:
5/5
Performance:
5/5
Reliability:
5/5

Great for the money

Reviewed by Will G.
February 27, 2014

After buying one, having test driven the STI and owned an SRT-4, MR2, and S2000 - this car is great value for the money. I know the interior is lacking but who cares? If you want a fancy interior buy a VW. If you get the purpose of this car and appreciate the balance of comfort and speed then this is the car for you. Get one while you can.

I would recommend this vehicle to a friend: YES

Overall Rating:
5/5
Value:
5/5
Exterior:
5/5
Interior:
4/5
Comfort:
5/5
Performance:
5/5
Reliability:
5/5

Great car

Reviewed by Scooby
February 15, 2014

Pros: Great handling Lots of horsepower Nice red stitching inside Bucket seats Amazing instrument cluster display Slick engine bay, hood also extends and auto holds (up) Heated wipers/seats (premium version) but worth it Manual Transmission only :) Cons: Cheap stereo head unit and/or speakers Lack of insulation-road noise Summer tires (awd so who cares lol) MPG - it takes premium and it devours it --Love the car.

I would recommend this vehicle to a friend: YES

Overall Rating:
5/5
Value:
5/5
Exterior:
5/5
Interior:
4/5
Comfort:
4/5
Performance:
5/5
Reliability:
5/5

Top of the performance food chain for its price.

Reviewed by SportsCarGuy3
February 13, 2014

I bought a brand new 2014 Wrx base sedan for 27 grand in September of last year and it has been the best vehicle I have ever owned which includes Porsche Boxster, 03 Sentra Spec V and 11 Civic Si Sedan . I did not opt for the Sti because it was too stiff for me and the wrx just felt a bit lighter and quicker going to 60. I dont know how that was possible but you need 3rd gear to reach 60 in the Sti and only 2nd gear for the wrx so im sure that has a lot to do with it. Not to mention bigger wheels , suspension and that huge spoiler all make the Sti bulkier it seems. The Wrx though has decent gas mileage(Better than the Sti) for the kind of power the car has and its also good on trips because the suspension while sporty and solid is forgiving on the road. The clutch also feels like silk and I like the nice long throws of the 5-speed. When you want to open it up, it is just a blast ! When the turbo spools up , this car really pins you against the nice racing-inspired seats. Subaru has this car tested to reach 60 in 4.7 seconds and 1/4 mile in just over 13. For 26 grand, that kind of performance beats several other vehicles that are much more expensive. This AWD turbocharged street scorcher is the real deal and I am very proud to be the owner of this exhilarating machine .The only negative thing I will say about this car is the radio volume is terrible but the sweet sound of the boxer engine makes up for it. I recommend this to anyone who is looking for a 4 door sports car that is safe and reliable with great performance who also might be on a budget. You just cant go wrong here.

I would recommend this vehicle to a friend: YES

Overall Rating:
4/5
Value:
5/5
Exterior:
5/5
Interior:
3/5
Comfort:
3/5
Performance:
5/5
Reliability:
5/5

fun car for sure

Reviewed by outdoorsie
January 29, 2014

if you want something that is a blast to drive, great cargo room, this is the car. I have 3 kids and they all fit in fine. load all my gear and that fits fine as well. this car is amazing. all for right at 25k which makes it that much better

I would recommend this vehicle to a friend: YES

Overall Rating:
5/5
Value:
5/5
Exterior:
5/5
Interior:
4/5
Comfort:
5/5
Performance:
5/5
Reliability:
5/5

What a nice ride

Reviewed by 2014 WRX Owner
January 17, 2014

Wow... This car is a nice dependable car. I wanted dependable car with a kick and this is the perfect car. The best buy for 25,000. When I was looking for a car, i wanted an all wheel drive but i did not want an suv. I always liked cars and this was perfect. I live in illinois and we get a lot of snow here so i wanted to be ready for anything. This is the best choice i made in a long time AWD car is very nice. when it snows i love racing off the line at a light.... it just sticks and goes. love it

I would recommend this vehicle to a friend: YES

Overall Rating:
5/5
Value:
5/5
Exterior:
5/5
Interior:
5/5
Comfort:
5/5
Performance:
5/5
Reliability:
5/5

WRX STI ROX

Reviewed by IMSA racer
January 09, 2014

The WRX STI ROCKS!!! If you live snow put on a set bridgetone blizziq snow tire This is the closet you will get to driving a snow mobile on the street. Before this I was factory team driver for Porcshe in the ALMS an had a custom all wheel drive GT2. The Subi cost about 1/4 price. GREAT CAR FOR THE $

I would recommend this vehicle to a friend: YES

Overall Rating:
5/5
Value:
4/5
Exterior:
5/5
Interior:
4/5
Comfort:
5/5
Performance:
5/5
Reliability:
4/5

Love it!

Reviewed by Grace
January 02, 2014

OK, I'm just an average driver that mostly use the car to go to work, shop and the occasional drive out of town. So I won't be able to give a review on the technical aspects of the car. Prior to the 2014 model, I've drove the 2005 version of the same car for 8 years. It was a very good 8 years. It handled wonderfully in all types of weather. It is fun to drive, and very useful. I decided to upgrade to the 2014 version and am very pleased. Shifting is LOTS smoother than the 2005 version, the interior is re-designed to fit taller people than me. Haha, people over the height of 5'7" had trouble fitting on the passenger side. I'm 5'2", so it was no big deal for me. :) SO far, the driving experience has been wonderful. Handles all my reactions to the road and regular driving experience perfectly. I have no complaints. Would be good to keep some funds aside for some maintenance stuff. Over the 8 years of ownership, I went thru 1 clutch, a few sets of brakes, and a few sets of tires. The OEM tires aren't that great in slippery weather. So that may be the first thing to consider. Have fun!

I would recommend this vehicle to a friend: YES

Overall Rating:
5/5
Value:
5/5
Exterior:
4/5
Interior:
4/5
Comfort:
4/5
Performance:
5/5
Reliability:
4/5

Impressed

Reviewed by Viper Owner
December 20, 2013

I have driven performance cars for years. From a modified 69 Olds 442 with 830hp and 650 pounds feet of torque to my 2005 rag top viper which is also modified. I test drove the WRX and I was impressed with the stability of the vehicle and its' road sense. I was blown away with how responsive the engine/turbo were and how easy it was to quick shift through the gears. Very responsive clutch. After the tires are heated up the vehicle caresses corners with ease and without no more body roll than a porsche, viper or any other Italian vehicles I have also driven. The breaking system is awesome. I read the responses of other people and to say the car is poorly built and doesn't handle is absurd. I am impressed with ergonomics and the price is amazing for this much vehicle. Subaru knows what they are doing. I would recommend this vehicle without question.

I would recommend this vehicle to a friend: YES

Overall Rating:
5/5
Value:
5/5
Exterior:
5/5
Interior:
3/5
Comfort:
3/5
Performance:
5/5
Reliability:
5/5

For the true driver who cherishes drivelines.

Reviewed by SportsCarDad
December 13, 2013

The WRX has very little to do with the normal Impreza other than the fact that it is just as reliable. Do not even consider looking at this car if you are not a true sports car enthusiast. This is the only car that costs under $50K that you can take to a track meet and even the drivers with the $120K+ Porsches will give you a nod of respect. This car has proven itself time and time again in rally events all over the world and is sure to become a classic and hold its value quite well. Having said this, its on road mannerisms are great. It absorbs bumps extremely well on the road so obviously whoever made the comment about the car being "rough" has never driven this car before. But make no mistake, there is no fancy interior, no woodgrain, no OnStar... this is not a cushy american vehicle. If you have purchased this car, you have done so with the understanding that there lies a stunning array of mechanical parts under the sheet metal, working seamlessly together to create a high performance driving experience like no other. If you do not care about longitudual designs, the meaning of symmetrical AWD, even torque distribution, weight balance ratios, forced air induction and A/R ratios, and anything else that exists to take a vehicle to the apex of performance driving, then this is not the car for you. Go get a FWD, automatic, gas saver with fake wood trim and call it a day. You are not worthy of the WRX.

I would recommend this vehicle to a friend: YES

Overall Rating:
5/5
Value:
4/5
Exterior:
5/5
Interior:
3/5
Comfort:
5/5
Performance:
5/5
Reliability:
5/5

Own the car before you judge it

Reviewed by mac
November 06, 2013

I read the two previous reviews and knew right when I finished that these people never owned these vehicles or spent any time in them. I recently purchased the 2014 model. I love the car and it is my first subaru wrx. I have owned several performance vehicles in my life and have lived in both cold and hot climates. The model I have is the limited version with heated seats and leather interior. I'll counter the lack of 5 ratings on the above area. Subaru's know to be one of the best if not the best vehicle for reliability. The value for the money is also not a true representation because the horsepower/all wheel drive vs price is best in that price range since there arent any other vehicles that even come close. The exterior styling is love it/hate it but that doesn't mean it requires a low rating since you don't like it. I can say I love the styling and bought this model because I wanted this specific body style and not the newest one. The only reason it is a 2014 even though it should be a 2013 is because of the time it was built in the year so it is not truly a 2013 so there won't be any changes to the vehicle. The interior does have some slick plastics that look cheap but the steering wheel and shifter all are trimmed in black leather and red stitching which looks great. The seats are extremely smooth with the only drawback being that my child seat in the rear slides from one side to the other because of the leather. The motor is a one of a kind and the second reviewer is not a true vehicle enthusiast. It is Subaru's signature motor and performs without any mechanical issues. Subaru ranks highest in customer satisfaction. Acceleration comes on hard at 4,000 rpm and the handling is as if your on rails. I'm not sure what kind of mini vans the first reviewer drove but it doesn't compare to any I have. I took a corner at over 80 mph which was meant to be taken at 35 mph so I would say that it handles like no minivan I have ever driven. It does speak to the previous reviews though which indicates that they have never owned this car or driven it outside of what the dealer allowed. All of the 4 wheel drive hardware is centered in the vehicle which balances the vehicle unbelievably in the corners. I have owned over 10 cars in my life from trucks, to turbo cars, to vtec hondas, to mini vans and this is by far the best car I have ever driven.

I would recommend this vehicle to a friend: YES

2014 Subaru Impreza WRX Sedan Comparison Reviews

2014 Subaru Impreza WRX Coupe/Hatchback Comparison Reviews

 

*MSRP and Invoice prices displayed do not include applicable gas taxes or destination charges.