newcars.com®
Log In

New 2015 Subaru Forester Reviews See 2014

Add to Favorites  | 
More Details & Photos New 2015 Subaru Forester

Don't Overpay for Your 2015 Subaru Forester!

Save Time and Money Online When You Shop with Us

Over the past month we helped 97,581 new car buyers find their perfect car.

Get your best price before going to the dealer!

Consumer Reviews Summary Write a Review

Average Overall Rating:

4.7/5

Value:
4.6/5
Exterior:
4.5/5
Interior:
4.4/5
Comfort:
4.6/5
Performance:
4.7/5
Reliability:
4.8/5

36 of 40 (90%) of consumers said they would recommend this vehicle to a friend.

Overall Rating:
5/5
Value:
5/5
Exterior:
5/5
Interior:
4/5
Comfort:
4/5
Performance:
5/5
Reliability:
5/5

Great Car So Far

Reviewed by First Time Subaru Owner
February 17, 2015

Comfort is good for a car of this price. The seats aren't the very most comfortable but there is a lot of room inside to make up for that. I only have about 10k miles on mine but so far it has performed very reliably. I haven't noticed oil burning or anything so far. I like the way the car looks. Before they looked a little more like a wagon but I like the SUV look more. Interior design it on par with other cars in this price range with the exception of the stereo unit. I really do not like it at all. It does what I need it to with bluetooth but not very reliably. Setting up the bluetooth wasn't as simple as pairing the phone with the stereo unit. You have to go through the steering wheel hands free command in order the the phone to reconnect on startup. The bluetooth sometimes, rarely, just quits playing and won't play again until the car's power is cycled. When getting a phone call the bluetooth audio doesn't revert back to playing music. You have to turn the radio off and then on again. The phone book is a joke. You can only store so many contacts on the car itself and you must speak the name of the contact for storing it. Most any other car will just grab your contacts from your phone and use text/voice recognition to allow for voice dialing. I knew the radio was behind the times when I bought the car and plan on upgrading it at some point in the future. This car, in my opinion, is a very good value for the money compared to other cars in this class. Pros: Visibility - Amazing. I feel like I'm driving a bubble on wheels in this thing. AWD - Amazing. I have finally gotten to test it in the snow and it is a tank. I do have snow tires because my commute is on treacherous mountain roads. I feel totally in control at all times. MPG - I have been getting great gas milage. At the higher end of the EPA rating. Cons: Heat - I feel like the car takes forever to reach a warm cabin temperature. This might have something to do with the amount of window space. If that is the case then I am fine with that. I would trade the amazing visibility for being a little chilly. Stereo head unit - I already explained that. Low gear - As others have mentioned the low gear is almost useless. You have to be going very slow to use it effectively. I haven't had trouble going down hills because of the car's overall ability to tackle adverse road conditions but it would be nice to be able to downshift more effectively. You could always buy a model with the paddle shifters if this is a big deal for you. I kind of wish I had at times but the car is honestly fine without it.

I would recommend this vehicle to a friend: YES

Overall Rating:
5/5
Value:
5/5
Exterior:
5/5
Interior:
5/5
Comfort:
5/5
Performance:
5/5
Reliability:
5/5

Visibility Plus!

Reviewed by Forever Forester
February 04, 2015

Our previous SUV had serious blind spots and that was a major reason for choosing the Forester. The decision was a good one, for that and other reasons. The Subaru is easy to drive, with nimble handling. The gas mileage is better, and the all around ride is comfortable.

I would recommend this vehicle to a friend: YES

Overall Rating:
5/5
Value:
5/5
Exterior:
5/5
Interior:
5/5
Comfort:
5/5
Performance:
5/5
Reliability:
5/5

Great Car

Reviewed by Jan
January 12, 2015

We love our new 2015 Subaru Forester. Easy to drive and get around. Performance is great. Lovely driving experiance.

I would recommend this vehicle to a friend: YES

Overall Rating:
4/5
Value:
4/5
Exterior:
4/5
Interior:
4/5
Comfort:
4/5
Performance:
5/5
Reliability:
5/5

4th Subaru!

Reviewed by Bluebaru
December 06, 2014

This is my 4th Subaru and the most comfortable one yet! With all the extras - stereo, mapping, blue tooth - it is the most fun one too! looking for many years of enjoyable driving!

I would recommend this vehicle to a friend: YES

Overall Rating:
4/5
Value:
4/5
Exterior:
4/5
Interior:
3/5
Comfort:
4/5
Performance:
5/5
Reliability:
4/5

prefer the outback

Reviewed by PJ
December 04, 2014

I drove an outback for the past 10 tears and it died on me and there were not any available at the time I had to buy a new Suburu. The Forrester is not as solid a car and does not run as smoothly. and I hope eventually I will come to love it as I did my outback.

I would recommend this vehicle to a friend: YES

Overall Rating:
5/5
Value:
5/5
Exterior:
5/5
Interior:
5/5
Comfort:
5/5
Performance:
5/5
Reliability:
5/5

Enjoy driving again

Reviewed by Coalminersdawter
November 29, 2014

I took a lot of time researching this car and its safety features. It comes out on top. I researched many cars before I test drove so I didn't get swayed by emotion. I had my decision made by the time I test drove. It is awesome. I enjoy driving again. It's about as safe as you can get according to the insurance industry and what I also enjoy is the visibility and height. I can actually see the end of the front of the car. The turning radius is like a small car. If you want safety, ride, features, and style, this car ticks all the boxes.

I would recommend this vehicle to a friend: YES

Overall Rating:
5/5
Value:
4/5
Exterior:
5/5
Interior:
4/5
Comfort:
4/5
Performance:
4/5
Reliability:
4/5

great service

Reviewed by Jing
November 21, 2014

My husband's car damaged on the road, so we decided to buy an awd suv good for snow. From cars.com, we found a reasonable price subaru forester listed by autonation subaru west. We called there and met the salesman named Mitchell Hyder. He is a very kind person and knowledgeable for subarus. We were told the car listed had been sold, and Mr Hyder searched on his computer and found another same model one and he tryed to match the price the same with what we mentioned on the advertizement. On the way home, we found this car drove not smooth enough, the next day, we called about this problem, Mr Hyder just let ue drive back and exchange another one. Thanks to Mr Hyder for his kind help.

I would recommend this vehicle to a friend: YES

Overall Rating:
4/5
Value:
5/5
Exterior:
2/5
Interior:
5/5
Comfort:
5/5
Performance:
5/5
Reliability:
4/5

dents

Reviewed by fireman 370
November 14, 2014

we love everything about the forrester, except for the fact that the aluminum used on the hood is so thin that it dents when hit by acorns falling from trees. mine is only 3 months old and has 5 dents that happened before we knew what was doing it. we now have to drape a quilt over it. living in new England it is impossible to avoid oak trees.

I would recommend this vehicle to a friend: NO

Overall Rating:
2/5
Value:
2/5
Exterior:
1/5
Interior:
2/5
Comfort:
1/5
Performance:
3/5
Reliability:
2/5

Worst car I have ever driven

Reviewed by 1cooldaddyo
November 12, 2014

I took delivery of a 2015 Forester as my company fleet vehicle 3 months ago. 18,000 miles later I remain unimpressed. Where to begin? The seats. This car is a base model with manual seats. A park bench is more comfortable and probably more supportive. I have driven my Chevy Silverado for 10 hours straight with no issue, but now I have to stop and walk around every two hours. The power? It sort of seems like it there might be some in there somewhere, but it's never around when you want it. Floor it to scoot across an intersection and torque management comes on so hard you can take a nap while it decides whether or not to move. Four wheel drive is unpredictable, shifting torque around seemingly at random. Once it sent so mush torque to the front that the steering effectively locked due to torque steer. In snow it slips, skids, and fishtails all over the place. It took every bit of 4x4 traction control just to get up my driveway (wife's 2014 Mazda 6 with summer tires had no trouble). But best of all is the heat...or lack of it. It was 25 today. With the grill completely blocked by duck tape, it never got above 190 . I drove all day with the temp turned all the way up, wearing long underwear and 3 shirts and never broke a sweat. Hopefully the company will let me switch to a minivan before it gets below zero!

I would recommend this vehicle to a friend: NO

Overall Rating:
5/5
Value:
5/5
Exterior:
4/5
Interior:
4/5
Comfort:
4/5
Performance:
5/5
Reliability:
5/5

Love my Forester

Reviewed by New Subaru owner
November 03, 2014

After trying out an Outback, which I had thought I wanted, I bought a Forester. I Love this car. The Visibility is awesome, handling good, ride a bit rough (I had bmw's before) perky and responsive. Most of all I feel safe and stable. Backup camera nice feature. If you can - get upgraded model. Overall, Very pleased.

I would recommend this vehicle to a friend: YES

2015 Subaru Forester SUV Comparison Reviews

*MSRP and Invoice prices displayed do not include applicable gas taxes or destination charges.