newcars.com®

New 2016 Subaru Forester Reviews

Add to Favorites  | 
More Details & Photos New 2016 Subaru Forester

Don't Overpay for Your 2016 Subaru Forester!

Save Time and Money Online When You Shop with Us

Over the past month we helped 97,581 new car buyers find their perfect car.

Get your best price before going to the dealer!

Consumer Reviews Summary Write a Review

Average Overall Rating:

4.5/5

Value:
4.6/5
Exterior:
4.5/5
Interior:
4.4/5
Comfort:
4.5/5
Performance:
4.5/5
Reliability:
4.6/5

30 of 31 (96%) of consumers said they would recommend this vehicle to a friend.

Overall Rating:
5/5
Value:
5/5
Exterior:
4/5
Interior:
4/5
Comfort:
4/5
Performance:
4/5
Reliability:
5/5

Ayup

Reviewed by billski
August 21, 2016

New Englander here. Last subie as a 1980. Only had it 1,000 miles, yet cars.com insisted on a review. Silly cars.com. Asked me for reliability. Silly cars.com. Took it out on forest roads after only 200 miles. I'm the "outdoorsy" people everyone talks about and never sees. X-drive works pretty well on it. Low gear also works good for maintaining a slower speed. The spoiler on back gives it way more style. I have the Limited Edition. It has more features than I would have liked (simple is beautiful), but it was impossible to get the combination of features I needed. I really could care less that it has leather seats, but so it is. I can adjust the car seat up high which gives me visibility I need on steep roads.Got all my trail tools in the back (rubber liner is a joy.). I turned off all the damned beeps and flashes for locking and unlocking it. I also don't like the auto opener for the hatch. It's too slow. I'd rather open it by hand, which is possible, but only after getting the exact timing right on pushing the button. I use the car mostly for myself. I do a lot of trail work and hiking. Clearance is excellent, as I expected. Been through some small drainage brooks, no issues. I will probably get brighter headlamps, I want to see the moose in the road late at night. The stereo speakers are meh. Probably will change out the woofers at some point. I love the super large sunroof and great window visibility . Like driving around outside. I will use the car for skiing. I tend to chase storms, so traveling in heavy snow is a must. Fog lights work great for that. Heated mirrors - meh, I only needed them once in ten years on my Audi. It's a fun car. I'm no lead foot or performance gearhead, I can get up to traveling speed on highway on ramps with no problem. It's going to be my workhorse - I always stayed away from SUVs, then compromised on a small SUV. 80% highway, 10% city, 10% dirrt/"soft-roading. Love the gas mileage,. even with the crossbars on. Getting 34mph on long trips. It's amazing how good the mileage is if you stay at 60mph. I'm averaging 28 overall.

I would recommend this vehicle to a friend: YES

Overall Rating:
1/5
Value:
1/5
Exterior:
1/5
Interior:
1/5
Comfort:
3/5
Performance:
2/5
Reliability:
1/5

Disappointment in Subaru customer service

Reviewed by Disappointed in my forester
August 08, 2016

I bought a brand new 2014 Subaru forester because they claim to be dog friendly and reliable, sadly the interior center console is not dog friendly...within ten seconds of my dogs checking out the new rig it was destroyed.... My gas cover sticks and I have to ask for strangers to pull the lever while I pry it open with a butter knife ( had it to dealer six times to fix) and the engine burns so much extra oil we have had to undergo annoying oil consumption tests for three thousand miles. The air conditioner runs so loudly you can't hear the radio and the built in radio loses its set stations on a weekly basis!!! I bought this truck at full price brand new..under warranty ..but other then doing free oil consumption tests and bending the spring in my gas cover the warranty does not cover much. The reason I ranked my Subaru so low overall is that i am now in a battle with corporate over my paint job which has been months of trips to multiple dealers and pictures and hours on the phone to be told that my truck with less then 30k miles that sits in my garage has had its paint eaten off by acid rain... Mind you the two other vehicles that are in our driveway are fine... As are all my neighbors and friends... And I have not taken the car out of state.... And the one spot in the car with perfect paint....a door we had replaced by a local body shop after a hit and run when the car was two months old....strange that that paint is unaffected.... Subaru does not back the paint... And the paint warranty oddly enough does not cover any environmental issues... So I am stuck with a forester that has paint missing from top to bottom, front to back down to the base metal...and its practically a brand new truck... So sad and disappointed.... Will never buy a Subaru again....

I would recommend this vehicle to a friend: NO

Overall Rating:
3/5
Value:
4/5
Exterior:
3/5
Interior:
3/5
Comfort:
3/5
Performance:
5/5
Reliability:
5/5

Navigation

Reviewed by Sam
June 20, 2016

Do not buy a SUBARU with Navigation. It comes with 5 year old map and no updates available. I paid for a 2016 Forester with Navigation and using my old $200 worth GARMIN GPS unit to find roads around Toronto. GARMIN updates with very accurate & up to date maps. Paying for Subaru Navigation is a waste of money. Subaru is a great vehicle but they are working with the worst company in the world for maps.

I would recommend this vehicle to a friend: YES

Overall Rating:
5/5
Value:
5/5
Exterior:
5/5
Interior:
5/5
Comfort:
5/5
Performance:
5/5
Reliability:
5/5

Love my Subaru Forester

Reviewed by SUV Owner Forever
June 19, 2016

I just purchased my first Subaru and my first SUV and it was a great choice. The Forester is comfortable, easy to handle and comes with backup camera and large moon roof on all its models. There is ample storage space. The new Eyesight is an excellent feature as well as the lane departure warning. It has many extras that I am still learning how to use but I will never regret the move to an SUV or to Subaru.

I would recommend this vehicle to a friend: YES

Overall Rating:
5/5
Value:
5/5
Exterior:
5/5
Interior:
5/5
Comfort:
5/5
Performance:
5/5
Reliability:
5/5

One great vehicle

Reviewed by easy rider
April 11, 2016

No regrets! This SUV has everything I wanted and more. I shopped around and did my research and it paid off. Subaru hit a home run with the 2016 Forester!

I would recommend this vehicle to a friend: YES

Overall Rating:
5/5
Value:
5/5
Exterior:
5/5
Interior:
5/5
Comfort:
5/5
Performance:
5/5
Reliability:
4/5

my 3rd Subaru

Reviewed by Subaru loyalist !
April 02, 2016

Loving the new 2016 that I bought - will always stick with Subarus - a safe car, especially in Rochester winters. Ease of entry, sit right down into the car without banging head or uncomfortable bending or twisting - hate to admit my age but a great car for elders. And, 2 of my adult children swear by Subaru foresters also, consider it a great family car ! Try one !!!

I would recommend this vehicle to a friend: YES

Overall Rating:
5/5
Value:
5/5
Exterior:
4/5
Interior:
5/5
Comfort:
5/5
Performance:
4/5
Reliability:
5/5

Nice Car, I'm pleased

Reviewed by First Time Subaru owner
March 31, 2016

I was looking for a manual transmission. In this price range the Mazda CX5 and Subaru Forester came up on this web site. I test drove both and IMHO the Subaru was the winner. Very comfortable, roomy for my family of four and surprisingly good mileage. The Forester is made in Japan (the J as the first letter of the VIN#) and my experience with, made in Japan cars, is that they are very reliable. I just finished the break in period of 500 miles, so time will tell. Likes: The hill start assist (manuals only). The entertainment system, the voice command is a trip. The ride and handling. It is so quiet inside. The mileage, I get about 2 more MPG by mixing 40% 93 octane with 60% 87 octane fuel. My combined 30% city 60% Hwy is 30MPG. It has some pep and the Manual Transmission and clutch are smooth and precise. Dislikes: The fuel gauge, I prefer an analog meter not a LCD bar graph.

I would recommend this vehicle to a friend: YES

Overall Rating:
5/5
Value:
5/5
Exterior:
5/5
Interior:
5/5
Comfort:
5/5
Performance:
5/5
Reliability:
5/5

Best driving vehicle!

Reviewed by Happy new car owner
March 28, 2016

From start to finish my experience at Dominion Subaru was excellent. I would highly recommend this dealership.

I would recommend this vehicle to a friend: YES

Overall Rating:
4/5
Value:
5/5
Exterior:
4/5
Interior:
4/5
Comfort:
4/5
Performance:
4/5
Reliability:
5/5

excellent family car for the value.

Reviewed by penholder
March 25, 2016

We purchased the forester to replaced our old 96' subaru legacy. It's an fantastic car for its value, we test drove Mazda CX-3 also but found Subaru much better in term of acceleration and stopping. Both are smooth with the CVT engine and no head dip during emergency break. Also with it's base model cheaper than the CX-3 plus AWD it was an no brainier. I loved it everything about it so far with good gas mileage and room interior and good visibility. Only minor complaint I have is the controls knobs are hard see what dial setting it's at. Since the knob is chrome and the indicator light is not distinctive so I have to strain my eye to really see. I have the base model, and notice in other model the knobs were black. I wish they had made the knobs black and light indicator bright RED. It's an minor thing but it really bugs me as I use the knobs everyday. I did notice there was minor issue with the gear change delay from R to D daily, but got used to it after couple days. Just make sure you have completely stopped before you switch gears and use gas pedal only when it's in gear. Overall so far we really like the car and used it few times going up to tahoe during the snowing weather which Subaru AWD really works well.

I would recommend this vehicle to a friend: YES

Overall Rating:
4/5
Value:
4/5
Exterior:
4/5
Interior:
4/5
Comfort:
4/5
Performance:
4/5
Reliability:
4/5

Roomy w/hot seat

Reviewed by Retired & lovin' it
February 12, 2016

Could have given a 5 star review, but it lacks a few simple extras. The glove box has no light so you cannot see inside @nite. Sometimes I use the cup holder for a change dish & there is no cover. Doors do not automatically lock when put in drive. Back-up camera is more of a distraction than a plus. The key does not fold up into a case, so, if you put the key in your pocket, the point of the key is going to rip the pocket of your pants. There is a 12 week wait if you do not want light-colored seats. Dark colors were only available on 1 model. Also, a little more chrome trim would be a bonus. On the bright side: roomy, comfortable, good mileage as stated & good performance on the road. Really like the heated seats. Everything is just what we wanted!

I would recommend this vehicle to a friend: YES

2016 Subaru Forester SUV Comparison Reviews

*MSRP and Invoice prices displayed do not include applicable gas taxes or destination charges.