newcars.com®

New 2016 Subaru Forester Reviews

Add to Favorites  | 
More Details & Photos New 2016 Subaru Forester

Don't Overpay for Your 2016 Subaru Forester!

Save Time and Money Online When You Shop with Us

Over the past month we helped 97,581 new car buyers find their perfect car.

Get your best price before going to the dealer!

Consumer Reviews Summary Write a Review

Average Overall Rating:

4.6/5

Value:
4.7/5
Exterior:
4.7/5
Interior:
4.5/5
Comfort:
4.6/5
Performance:
4.6/5
Reliability:
4.8/5

28 of 28 (100%) of consumers said they would recommend this vehicle to a friend.

Overall Rating:
5/5
Value:
5/5
Exterior:
5/5
Interior:
5/5
Comfort:
5/5
Performance:
5/5
Reliability:
5/5

Love my Subaru Forester

Reviewed by SUV Owner Forever
June 19, 2016

I just purchased my first Subaru and my first SUV and it was a great choice. The Forester is comfortable, easy to handle and comes with backup camera and large moon roof on all its models. There is ample storage space. The new Eyesight is an excellent feature as well as the lane departure warning. It has many extras that I am still learning how to use but I will never regret the move to an SUV or to Subaru.

I would recommend this vehicle to a friend: YES

Overall Rating:
5/5
Value:
5/5
Exterior:
5/5
Interior:
5/5
Comfort:
5/5
Performance:
5/5
Reliability:
5/5

One great vehicle

Reviewed by easy rider
April 11, 2016

No regrets! This SUV has everything I wanted and more. I shopped around and did my research and it paid off. Subaru hit a home run with the 2016 Forester!

I would recommend this vehicle to a friend: YES

Overall Rating:
5/5
Value:
5/5
Exterior:
5/5
Interior:
5/5
Comfort:
5/5
Performance:
5/5
Reliability:
4/5

my 3rd Subaru

Reviewed by Subaru loyalist !
April 02, 2016

Loving the new 2016 that I bought - will always stick with Subarus - a safe car, especially in Rochester winters. Ease of entry, sit right down into the car without banging head or uncomfortable bending or twisting - hate to admit my age but a great car for elders. And, 2 of my adult children swear by Subaru foresters also, consider it a great family car ! Try one !!!

I would recommend this vehicle to a friend: YES

Overall Rating:
5/5
Value:
5/5
Exterior:
4/5
Interior:
5/5
Comfort:
5/5
Performance:
4/5
Reliability:
5/5

Nice Car, I'm pleased

Reviewed by First Time Subaru owner
April 01, 2016

I was looking for a manual transmission. In this price range the Mazda CX5 and Subaru Forester came up on this web site. I test drove both and IMHO the Subaru was the winner. Very comfortable, roomy for my family of four and surprisingly good mileage. The Forester is made in Japan (the J as the first letter of the VIN#) and my experience with, made in Japan cars, is that they are very reliable. I just finished the break in period of 500 miles, so time will tell. Likes: The hill start assist (manuals only). The entertainment system, the voice command is a trip. The ride and handling. It is so quiet inside. The mileage, I get about 2 more MPG by mixing 40% 93 octane with 60% 87 octane fuel. My combined 30% city 60% Hwy is 30MPG. It has some pep and the Manual Transmission and clutch are smooth and precise. Dislikes: The fuel gauge, I prefer an analog meter not a LCD bar graph.

I would recommend this vehicle to a friend: YES

Overall Rating:
5/5
Value:
5/5
Exterior:
5/5
Interior:
5/5
Comfort:
5/5
Performance:
5/5
Reliability:
5/5

Best driving vehicle!

Reviewed by Happy new car owner
March 28, 2016

From start to finish my experience at Dominion Subaru was excellent. I would highly recommend this dealership.

I would recommend this vehicle to a friend: YES

Overall Rating:
4/5
Value:
5/5
Exterior:
4/5
Interior:
4/5
Comfort:
4/5
Performance:
4/5
Reliability:
5/5

excellent family car for the value.

Reviewed by penholder
March 25, 2016

We purchased the forester to replaced our old 96' subaru legacy. It's an fantastic car for its value, we test drove Mazda CX-3 also but found Subaru much better in term of acceleration and stopping. Both are smooth with the CVT engine and no head dip during emergency break. Also with it's base model cheaper than the CX-3 plus AWD it was an no brainier. I loved it everything about it so far with good gas mileage and room interior and good visibility. Only minor complaint I have is the controls knobs are hard see what dial setting it's at. Since the knob is chrome and the indicator light is not distinctive so I have to strain my eye to really see. I have the base model, and notice in other model the knobs were black. I wish they had made the knobs black and light indicator bright RED. It's an minor thing but it really bugs me as I use the knobs everyday. I did notice there was minor issue with the gear change delay from R to D daily, but got used to it after couple days. Just make sure you have completely stopped before you switch gears and use gas pedal only when it's in gear. Overall so far we really like the car and used it few times going up to tahoe during the snowing weather which Subaru AWD really works well.

I would recommend this vehicle to a friend: YES

Overall Rating:
4/5
Value:
4/5
Exterior:
4/5
Interior:
4/5
Comfort:
4/5
Performance:
4/5
Reliability:
4/5

Roomy w/hot seat

Reviewed by Retired & lovin' it
February 12, 2016

Could have given a 5 star review, but it lacks a few simple extras. The glove box has no light so you cannot see inside @nite. Sometimes I use the cup holder for a change dish & there is no cover. Doors do not automatically lock when put in drive. Back-up camera is more of a distraction than a plus. The key does not fold up into a case, so, if you put the key in your pocket, the point of the key is going to rip the pocket of your pants. There is a 12 week wait if you do not want light-colored seats. Dark colors were only available on 1 model. Also, a little more chrome trim would be a bonus. On the bright side: roomy, comfortable, good mileage as stated & good performance on the road. Really like the heated seats. Everything is just what we wanted!

I would recommend this vehicle to a friend: YES

Overall Rating:
5/5
Value:
5/5
Exterior:
5/5
Interior:
5/5
Comfort:
5/5
Performance:
5/5
Reliability:
5/5

best yet

Reviewed by pat
January 26, 2016

TRADED AWD CADILLAC SRX. THIS NEW SUBARU FORRESTER IS MUCH BETTER IN OUR WINTER CONDITIONS HERE IN WESTERN WYOMING. WE LOVE IT. FEEL A LOT SAFER.

I would recommend this vehicle to a friend: YES

Overall Rating:
5/5
Value:
5/5
Exterior:
5/5
Interior:
5/5
Comfort:
5/5
Performance:
5/5
Reliability:
5/5

This is my second Subaru Forester

Reviewed by Silver Frog
January 22, 2016

Both the 2011 and 2016 Subaru Foresters are great small SUVs. They are comfortable to drive and to ride as a passenger. The design of the exterior and interior are attractive without distracting busyness. I'm slowly learning the new technology in the 2016 (seems logical so far).and look forward to driving this car for many years.

I would recommend this vehicle to a friend: YES

Overall Rating:
4/5
Value:
5/5
Exterior:
5/5
Interior:
5/5
Comfort:
4/5
Performance:
4/5
Reliability:
5/5

Great Car from great dealer.

Reviewed by Sam
January 19, 2016

This is a second time that we got car from Shortline and from the same salesman. Marvis had an excellent customer service. Thank You Marvis.

I would recommend this vehicle to a friend: YES

2016 Subaru Forester SUV Comparison Reviews

*MSRP and Invoice prices displayed do not include applicable gas taxes or destination charges.