newcars.com®
Log In

New 2015 Subaru Forester Reviews See 2016

Add to Favorites  | 
More Details & Photos New 2015 Subaru Forester

Don't Overpay for Your 2015 Subaru Forester!

Save Time and Money Online When You Shop with Us

Over the past month we helped 97,581 new car buyers find their perfect car.

Get your best price before going to the dealer!

Consumer Reviews Summary Write a Review

Average Overall Rating:

4.6/5

Value:
4.5/5
Exterior:
4.5/5
Interior:
4.3/5
Comfort:
4.5/5
Performance:
4.6/5
Reliability:
4.7/5

61 of 67 (91%) of consumers said they would recommend this vehicle to a friend.

Overall Rating:
5/5
Value:
5/5
Exterior:
4/5
Interior:
5/5
Comfort:
4/5
Performance:
5/5
Reliability:
5/5

6-Speed Manual Review

Reviewed by Beau
September 18, 2015

I bought this vehicle a few months ago. Its the Touring model, but it is the 6-speed manual transmission. I can't speak to the CVT version, but the manual is a very smooth drive, with very capable power delivery. I moved from a 2.5i Impreza. The engine is the same, very powerful, yet good on gas. Despite being a heavier vehicle than the impreza, the power delivery is equal, allowing easy passing even at high speeds. The vehicle is very sturdy, and the suspension is a fair bit stiff for an SUV. This gives it a sharp drive with excellent control. I have never lived the buttery suspension on some vehicles as it makes cornering or driving at higher speeds feel dangerous. The interior is pretty comfortable. The seats could be a tiny bit softer, but other than that ergonomics are great and so is space. The interior styling is also amazing. Very crisp, and has all the things you need. The model I have has a sunroof, which is MASSIVE. The people in the front and back and benefit equally from it. Storage is surprisingly good, especially for a small SUV. I recently moved and I was able to take an entire queen bed and queen futon all in the same trip (mattresses easily tied on top and all the long pieces fit easily with the seats down. I'm a fairly young guy so I appreciate a sporty look as well as feel. Subaru balances that off-road look and feel with city styling and performance. I will absolutely buy another.... although thats going to be a long time since all subarus (like my last one) last forever.

I would recommend this vehicle to a friend: YES

Overall Rating:
4/5
Value:
5/5
Exterior:
5/5
Interior:
3/5
Comfort:
4/5
Performance:
4/5
Reliability:
5/5

My 3rd review and 12K miles later..

Reviewed by KJ
September 15, 2015

This is a follow-up review to my 2nd review. I have now owned my new Forester for nearly 10 months now. One problem that continues to be worked on is numerous rattles in the dash. Just recently, and after calling Subaru Corp, I got to meet with a Field Rep. regarding the rattles. The dealer has never been able to resolve this. I plan to keep this car for a long time and need the rattles fixed once and for all. Another issue is the rear view mirror sliding down into a lower position. After 2 days of driving the mirror is nearly impossible to see out the back window. Once I get a loaner car my car will have the dash pulled apart and insulated, interior mirror replaced, and both sun visors replaced due to rattles inside the slider area. Yes, I very much hate rattles. Aside from all these issues my Forester still drives great. Like other reviews the seats are a bit uncomfortable. It took me several weeks to finally get them adjusted just right. This SUV is fun to drive, has super great visibility, easy to get in and out off, and is a great road-trip car. Got to drive it once in slushy snow and it did great. Will have to wait until another winter to experience a snow storm to truly test out the AWD. I find the steering in the Forester to be very tight, which helps on windy days for the car can get pushed during a side wind. For all practical and safety reasons the Subaru Forester offers great value and security, especially when paired with the Eye Sight cameras.

I would recommend this vehicle to a friend: YES

Overall Rating:
5/5
Value:
5/5
Exterior:
5/5
Interior:
5/5
Comfort:
5/5
Performance:
5/5
Reliability:
5/5

Just a great SUV!!!

Reviewed by Denver Driver
August 30, 2015

I recently purchased my second Subaru Forester. I held out to get a six-speed and it was worth the wait. Rides very smooth. And it gets better gas mileage than what I was promised which is vital as I have a 50 mile per day commute. I got it from Shortline Subaru. I worked with Marvis Cobb for the second time. Marvis and all the Shortline employees are the best!! And I love this car!

I would recommend this vehicle to a friend: YES

Overall Rating:
3/5
Value:
2/5
Exterior:
2/5
Interior:
2/5
Comfort:
3/5
Performance:
3/5
Reliability:
2/5

The car is not bad, but I'm not satisfied

Reviewed by Volodymyr
August 23, 2015

The car is full of great features, but there is something that dismisses them all. This email, that I've sent to subaru.com with silly hope to get a valuable answer: I have bough Forster 2015 a week ago approx. After a couple of days I've noticed that after driving ~half and hour the worm car is producing unwelcome and annoying howling, that is coming from the back. It happens at low speed ~10 m/ph. I went to my dealership. The service guy was very friendly and gave me another vehicle to test. That vehicle produced exactly the same noise. So, at this moment I understand that I'm in trouble. The dealership is not going to deal with it because most likely the car is howling "by design". This is not a first car that I bought from this dealership and I never heard anything like that in previous Outback 2013.

I would recommend this vehicle to a friend: NO

Overall Rating:
5/5
Value:
5/5
Exterior:
5/5
Interior:
5/5
Comfort:
5/5
Performance:
5/5
Reliability:
5/5

Our 2nd Forester the First One Was Like Family

Reviewed by Salmonkev
August 15, 2015

Our 2002 Forester gave up the ghost at 132,000 miles, but we got our money's worth. Advice: if the repairs cost more than the car is worth, then it's time to find another car. We knew we were going to buy another Forester. We live in the PNW and that means all kinds of harsh weather throughout the year. We get blazing heat. We gets a lot of rain. We get black ice. We get snow at times. The old Forester handled all of that and sitting in the driveway all year. So yeah, the engine, fluid systems and paint held up for 13 years and in all that abusive weather. This is my wife's car as I drive a pickup. After a great experience with the 2012 model, then seeing all the upgrades and improvements on the 2015, she never had a doubt about another one. We didn't even bother to look at other automobile brands--Subaru was it for us. Surprisingly, the maintenance schedule and estimated costs to service this model won't change much. Another benefit of Subaru. Reasonable service intervals that won't break the bank. We have middle school kids and they will be driving very soon. As was the priority when our kids grew up in the first Forester, this one is just as safe--or more so. We actually like that the Forester isn't a sexy car. We love the fact that it is utilitarian and practical, given our kids will be behind the wheel of it one day. Like their mom knows, the visibility, handling, comfort, reliability will serve them well when they learn to drive. Fortunately, the Forester will be 3 or 4 years old by then and we won't be more worried about the car than them. Given the reputation of Subaru quality and the fact they proved it to us with the first Forester, we are happy we bought another one. The wife loves this car. Me too. I can honestly say, you can't go wrong. I hope this one goes 15 years and 150,000 miles.

I would recommend this vehicle to a friend: YES

Overall Rating:
5/5
Value:
4/5
Exterior:
5/5
Interior:
4/5
Comfort:
5/5
Performance:
5/5
Reliability:
5/5

Just the right size car for me

Reviewed by On The Go!
July 24, 2015

This car has many useful features and is rated very safe. The heated front seats will be great for the winter. Having many features at my fingertips means I don't take my eyes off the road. It is very comfortable to drive with a whole selection of seat positions, that can be adjusted to each person. Plus, the backseat passengers have plenty of leg room!

I would recommend this vehicle to a friend: YES

Overall Rating:
4/5
Value:
3/5
Exterior:
2/5
Interior:
3/5
Comfort:
4/5
Performance:
3/5
Reliability:
5/5

Good vehicle

Reviewed by ron
July 19, 2015

The upgraded model has many safety abilities, but very confusing and complicated directions for all. Manual is way too long and complicated. The backup camera screen is much much too small.Exterior styling is bland. Nothing exciting about this vehicle.

I would recommend this vehicle to a friend: YES

Overall Rating:
5/5
Value:
5/5
Exterior:
5/5
Interior:
5/5
Comfort:
5/5
Performance:
5/5
Reliability:
5/5

Best car that I ever had and worth every cent

Reviewed by New Subaro addicted
June 26, 2015

Bought the car few weeks ago. Amazing car. I should have bought years ago if I knew how good it is. One main advantage over other SUVs is that it can drive very steep incline.

I would recommend this vehicle to a friend: YES

Overall Rating:
5/5
Value:
5/5
Exterior:
5/5
Interior:
4/5
Comfort:
4/5
Performance:
5/5
Reliability:
5/5

Subaru Forester Limited 2015

Reviewed by Lionelsb
June 14, 2015

My first SUV. Excellent visibility & seating. Good styling. I have driven it only a couple of hundred miles so far. Had it only for less than a month. So far no complaints.

I would recommend this vehicle to a friend: YES

Overall Rating:
5/5
Value:
5/5
Exterior:
5/5
Interior:
5/5
Comfort:
5/5
Performance:
5/5
Reliability:
5/5

2015 SUBARU FORESTER TURBO TOURING LOADED

Reviewed by Hot Rod
June 12, 2015

I regularly drive to northern Canada in the winter and a Subaru is the only option. Subaru meets all expectations except the tires and brakes. Winter snow tires are a must in Canadian winters and a legal requirement in lieu of snow chains in many mountain passes. With Michelen Ice X2 tires I have gone everywhere without a single slippage incident. Total control due to the industrie's best AWD system. The 6 speed manual/automatic transmission is great and makes up for the shortcomings in the brake department in lesser models.

I would recommend this vehicle to a friend: YES

Subaru Forester SUV Comparison Reviews

*MSRP and Invoice prices displayed do not include applicable gas taxes or destination charges.