newcars.com®
Log In

New 2014 Subaru Forester Reviews See 2015

Add to Favorites  | 
More Details & Photos New 2014 Subaru Forester

Don't Overpay for Your 2014 Subaru Forester!

Save Time and Money Online When You Shop with Us

Over the past month we helped 97,581 new car buyers find their perfect car.

Get your best price before going to the dealer!

Consumer Reviews Summary Write a Review

Average Overall Rating:

4.4/5

Value:
4.3/5
Exterior:
4.3/5
Interior:
4.3/5
Comfort:
4.3/5
Performance:
4.5/5
Reliability:
4.6/5

86 of 102 (84%) of consumers said they would recommend this vehicle to a friend.

Overall Rating:
2/5
Value:
1/5
Exterior:
4/5
Interior:
1/5
Comfort:
1/5
Performance:
4/5
Reliability:
4/5

I'm doggone sure, Subaru paid for this to be rated

Reviewed by 350 miles a day
June 19, 2014

I bought my 2014 in late January of this year. It is by far, bar none the most uncomfortable car I have ever driven on highways, country roads and brand new just got redone roads. It hates curves. I live in an area with hills and snake curves. Never understood how people hit guard rails before this vehicle, now I get it.. I know how to drive into a curve, been doing it for years. This thing slides almost like it's hydroplaning. Comfort, I haven't found a seat position in this vehicle that doesn't make my back hurt within 20 miles. Is it safe, yes. I have a great deal with my insurance company because of it's safety rating. Is Subaru helpful, pretty much NO! The dealership finally listened to me about my hood flapping around. Turns out it really did need to be tightened. Customer service with Subaru through their 800 number is laughable. My dealership isn't much better. Would I recommend this car to anyone? Not on your life.

I would recommend this vehicle to a friend: NO

Overall Rating:
3/5
Value:
4/5
Exterior:
4/5
Interior:
4/5
Comfort:
3/5
Performance:
4/5
Reliability:
3/5

Heating and A/C problems

Reviewed by Back to the Dealer
June 03, 2014

Purchased the car in the fall of 2013. When the cold weather came there was mediocre heat and limited defrosting. Returned to the dealer several times before they contacted SOA. SOA stated that there was a replacement thermostat to solve the problem. Now its warm and the A/C doesn't work in traffic or at idle while in gear. Several visits to the dealer has now resulted in the dealer replacing the compressor. We will see if this works. The quality of the interior is unremarkable with unfinished areas. This is my 5th Subaru and 4th purchased new. It will, most likely, be my last.

I would recommend this vehicle to a friend: NO

Overall Rating:
5/5
Value:
5/5
Exterior:
5/5
Interior:
5/5
Comfort:
5/5
Performance:
5/5
Reliability:
5/5

Most Reliable Car We've Owned

Reviewed by Fran
May 29, 2014

Bought this car from IRA Danvers and Maria S. was our salesperson. We were interested in the Subaru Forester due to it's consumer reports rating of safety and reliability. It is everything that has been written about it. Maria was great as was the entire IRA Subaru staff. For once it was a pleasure buying experience. The entire staff was truly excited for us, including Mike, the finance guru. So happy with our purchase.

I would recommend this vehicle to a friend: YES

Overall Rating:
5/5
Value:
5/5
Exterior:
4/5
Interior:
5/5
Comfort:
5/5
Performance:
5/5
Reliability:
5/5

great handling

Reviewed by Red
May 16, 2014

I got this car because of it's safety record and great ratings for a small SUV in consumer reports. Nice drive, pep, comfortable, handles great.

I would recommend this vehicle to a friend: YES

Overall Rating:
1/5
Value:
1/5
Exterior:
3/5
Interior:
3/5
Comfort:
3/5
Performance:
3/5
Reliability:
1/5

oil burner

Reviewed by john
May 16, 2014

Buyers Beware ! Constantly using oil between changes serviced every 5000 miles at Subaru dealer. Car is not abused. I buy extra oil at dealer to keep it full until next service. I constantly complain to dealer they tell me it's normal consumption they tell me some 2.5's consume oil and some don't. How can that be? Very disappointed. Will not buy another Subaru !

I would recommend this vehicle to a friend: NO

Overall Rating:
4/5
Value:
4/5
Exterior:
3/5
Interior:
4/5
Comfort:
3/5
Performance:
4/5
Reliability:
5/5

Worst Forester out of 4

Reviewed by Steve
May 15, 2014

This is my 4th Forester. The worst one. The steering is electric, not hydraulic. Provides very little feedback. Feels numb. The seats are stiff, the bottom doesn't tilt enough. The dashboard isn't centered in front of the steering wheel. I have a perfect view of the tach, the speedometer is hidden by my hand. Why no gauges? The odometer and gas gauge are hopeless. I have 16K miles and plan to trade before 20K. My last Forester was a dream car - I should have kept it.

I would recommend this vehicle to a friend: NO

Overall Rating:
5/5
Value:
5/5
Exterior:
4/5
Interior:
5/5
Comfort:
5/5
Performance:
5/5
Reliability:
5/5

suburu

Reviewed by augie
May 10, 2014

60,000 car for 35,000 great value great performance l love this car well thought out i sure you could improve on it but i don,t know were

I would recommend this vehicle to a friend: YES

Overall Rating:
4/5
Value:
4/5
Exterior:
4/5
Interior:
5/5
Comfort:
4/5
Performance:
4/5
Reliability:
5/5

2014 Forester

Reviewed by milmeteor
May 07, 2014

Purchased a Forester Touring edition. Still getting use to the CVT transmission. Eye Sight option is a great feature. No more rubber timing belt to worry about, new Subaru's have a timing chain.

I would recommend this vehicle to a friend: YES

Overall Rating:
5/5
Value:
5/5
Exterior:
5/5
Interior:
5/5
Comfort:
4/5
Performance:
5/5
Reliability:
5/5

Best safety features I have ever had on a car

Reviewed by Rick
April 25, 2014

I highly recommend the Eye Sight option. The cruise feature wants you to use it all of the time, city or highway. Great head lights and radio. The navigation system is wonderful. The gas mileage is just as advertised. The transmission is so smooth, it is near impossible to tell when it changes gears. We live on a mountain, the four wheel drive is terrific.Love the fact that it has such a high safety rating. Would love the get the new 2015 Outback as a second vehicle. Our last Subaru was a 2002 Outback Legacy. Had it new since 2002. Wonderful vehicle.

I would recommend this vehicle to a friend: YES

Overall Rating:
5/5
Value:
5/5
Exterior:
4/5
Interior:
4/5
Comfort:
4/5
Performance:
5/5
Reliability:
5/5

Seems rock solid

Reviewed by Subared
April 22, 2014

Purchased a month ago for a 5000-mile road trip from Oregon to Texas and back. Got almost 31 mpg overall even though there was significant mountain driving along with brutal gale-force winds all through southern Wyoming. There were many times when I averaged over 34mpg when driving on mostly flat roads. Got as high as 37 mpg in some stretches. Note to readers, I drive just over 60 mph on the highways. If you are a leadfoot you will not get the mileage I got. I am disappointed that there is no temp or oil pressure gauge, just "idiot lights". Come on Subaru! I would also prefer a manual option to open the tailgate. I like the the ability to open it with my key fob but what if it malfunctions? The car seems incredibly well-built. The ride is stiff, definitely not cushy. If you like a mushy ride BUY AMERICAN.

I would recommend this vehicle to a friend: YES

Subaru Forester SUV Comparison Reviews

*MSRP and Invoice prices displayed do not include applicable gas taxes or destination charges.