newcars.com®
Quick Car Finder

New 2016 Scion FR-S Reviews

New 2016 Scion FR-S

Average Overall Rating:

4.6/5

Write a Review
Value:
4.0/5
Exterior:
4.7/5
Interior:
3.7/5
Comfort:
4.1/5
Performance:
4.7/5
Reliability:
4.6/5

7 of 7 (100%) of consumers said they would recommend this vehicle to a friend.

Way better than I expected

Reviewed by DH87
June 04, 2017

I purchased this car new 2 years ago to be a fun commuter. After considering many cars for the role, the finalists were a 2006 Aston Martin DB9, a new Hyundai Genesis v6 and a new BRZ. I found the FR-S to be the winner. I felt what the BRZ included was not worth the price increase. The genesis seemed to just miss the mark. And was more expensive and although the DB9 was the coolest and most fun of the choices it was clearly the least practical decision. The FR-S with the proper tires has proven unstoppable in the worst weather conditions and ALWAYS a blast to drive. The rear passengers will certainly disagree but it seems there isn't a shortage of willing volunteers despite the need to amputate your legs below your knees to fit back there. This car would be much better with a little more performance, a slightly fancier dash, improved radio (iPhones can not use the messaging feature and aha is useless) and/or exterior modifications. But I feel this car is in a perfect place where the owner can always add more if they'd like but also will not be disappointed by just leaving the car alone. This car has been beyond reliable and with out any issue, 2 years and 40,000 miles later.

I would recommend this vehicle to a friend: YES

Perfect light agile classic sports car feel

Reviewed by RickyG
May 13, 2017

This is everything that an old school sports car, a drag racing car, is supposed to be. Front engine, rear drive, and light.

I would recommend this vehicle to a friend: YES

Great Car

Reviewed by cutabird
June 27, 2016

It's a pleasure to drive. It handles great! It is very comfortable. You just sink right in. I feel safe in it. I plan on keeping it a long, long time!

I would recommend this vehicle to a friend: YES

Just simplistic.

Reviewed by Mattson
April 28, 2016

The FRS is just simple. It is the transgender of the car world. You don't know if you should hang out with the BRZ, the boxer club, Scion, Toyota. Its confusing as an enthusiast to see which group will let you hang out and who you should associate with. But the car is a driver's car. Besides small cosmetic issues, backseats as useless as man nipples, power that doesn't do it justice, and the tire size/wheels it comes with, it is a responsive, reliable car adapting to the end-users liking. It's just simply simple. Steering is tight, you don't have any play, the car handles great considering the tire profile and small anti-sway bars, and the horizontally oppose 4 is something you can appreciate in time. I've stuck coils and bigger profile wheels and it exceeds my expectations. When I was in the market for a new car, the FRS/BRZ didn't cross my mind. The dealership had one and I just simply couldn't resist the 6-speed vehicle, and decided to take it for a test drive. The seats sucked me in, the engine with that restricted boxer sound, and the softness of the suspension set-up really got me curious about the car. The FRS is generally a friendly car with a lot of aftermarket support for the enthusiast, and just a good looking car for daily driving. There are plenty more powerful car on the market for the same price, but handling wise, the FRS gets a top notch vote. 8/10.

I would recommend this vehicle to a friend: YES

Most fun for the buck

Reviewed by raiderrick
January 16, 2016

This car is absolutely amazing for the money it cost. It is the most fun car to drive I have ever driven, and I drove sports cars for many years earlier in my life. With the 200 horsepower it has enough power to have fun without a pocket full of tickets. At normal speeds you can have an incredible amount of fun. The seats fit so well that I enjoy just sitting in the car. Being designed from the ground up as a sports car and not turning another car into a sporty car has made this car what I feel is the best card for the $ out there. Everything about the car has been above my expectations. I just wish Toyota would promote the car so others could enjoy the car like I do. The steering and handling are like cars at twice or more the price. Mr. Toyoda wanted a fun car for the street and he has it. Please Mr. Toyoda promote the car you had designed for more to enjoy.

I would recommend this vehicle to a friend: YES

Go kart

Reviewed by Litttle boy blue
October 16, 2015

I bought this to tow a travel trailer. The salesman said it would work perfectly. I'm starting to think he lied to me. Oh well, it has a real nice radio. And windsheild wipers, too.

I would recommend this vehicle to a friend: YES

Dude were's my car

Reviewed by tomcat
August 13, 2015

Looks good drives good for the money they could have spend a little more money in the interiors but overall is a good car with a lot of power You'll enjoy this car if you aren't 50 years old because is a little small in the inside and I'm 6'4 and is a little uncontible

I would recommend this vehicle to a friend: YES