newcars.com®
Log In

New 2014 RAM 1500 Reviews

Add to Favorites  | 
More Details & Photos New 2014 RAM 1500

Don't Overpay for Your 2014 RAM 1500!

Save Time and Money Online When You Shop with Us

Over the past month we helped 97,581 new car buyers find their perfect car.

Get your best price before going to the dealer!

Consumer Reviews Summary Write a Review

Average Overall Rating:

4.5/5

Value:
4.4/5
Exterior:
4.7/5
Interior:
4.6/5
Comfort:
4.8/5
Performance:
4.6/5
Reliability:
4.5/5

34 of 38 (89%) of consumers said they would recommend this vehicle to a friend.

Overall Rating:
5/5
Value:
5/5
Exterior:
3/5
Interior:
5/5
Comfort:
5/5
Performance:
3/5
Reliability:
5/5

Super comfortable. Really good seat.

Reviewed by GEORGE
October 10, 2014

The RAM is a really good pickup. Superb seats, good fuel economy, great automatic trans and drives really well. I looked at every other kind of pickup before purchase. The RAM simply looked better. I have owned eight pickups, not all RAMS. This is this is the best yet. Chrysler will probably change this truck. I will buy another. Don't haul anything, just me. Use the RAM as a car, very pleased with the ride and handling. I did change the tires to Michelin. This makes a huge difference. Very expensive but well worth the price. Thank you Chrysler for making a really great pickup.

I would recommend this vehicle to a friend: YES

Overall Rating:
4/5
Value:
4/5
Exterior:
4/5
Interior:
4/5
Comfort:
4/5
Performance:
4/5
Reliability:
4/5

Ford folks lacked necessary drive

Reviewed by Papa Pete
October 06, 2014

I started off looking for a 2013-2014 F-150 but the professionalism and the follow-up on the Ford side was sorely lacking so I turned to the alternative Ram 1500 and was pleasantly surprised to find the effort and persistence on the Ram side to be much more thorough and customer oriented. I purchased a 2014 Ram 1500 and am very satisfied with the results. The difference between the automobiles favors the Ram by a slight to medium margin but the difference in approach, persistence, and effort is shockingly one sided in favor of the Ram. The bottom line is the value for the money-the product- and the experience-getting what you want- was one sided in favor of the Ram

I would recommend this vehicle to a friend: YES

Overall Rating:
3/5
Value:
3/5
Exterior:
5/5
Interior:
4/5
Comfort:
4/5
Performance:
4/5
Reliability:
1/5

2014 Ram 1500 bighorn 4X4 V6-8SPD

Reviewed by Life long truck owner.
October 04, 2014

I leased a V6 4X4 instead of the Hemi to save on gas,it's a nice truck with lots of great features.Pretty much from day one the trans down shifted really hard.So on day two I called the sales guy who sold it to me & He said... "it just needs to learn your driving habits,I get this question all the time".On day three it got worse. At 219 miles on day four the transmission tore itself to shreds on my way to the dealership to have a service tech drive it. I was called the next day & told I would be getting a new trans....in about 2 wks or so. They put me in a Hemi Ram 4X4 rental it's nice...seems in 2013 Ram had problems with V6 8 spd combo.Well as of Oct 3 2014, I know it's a problem on other Chrysler vehicles with the V6 8/9 spd trans.I really want to like this truck but it's sure not making it very easy.When it shifted properly the 3.6L V6 provided more power than I expected,I hope I still feel that way after driving a Hemi for 3 wks.

I would recommend this vehicle to a friend: NO

Overall Rating:
5/5
Value:
5/5
Exterior:
5/5
Interior:
5/5
Comfort:
5/5
Performance:
5/5
Reliability:
5/5

Love this truck!

Reviewed by Pleasantly Surprised
September 28, 2014

My hauling needs are not heavy-duty, but enough to warrant having a full-size pickup as my primary vehicle. Because comfort is also important to me, I've always shopped at or near the "top of the line". Being a Ford man through and through, I've owned eight Ford pickups and one Lincoln Mark LT. When I began shopping for a new truck about a year ago, I couldn't resist being lured into the local Ram dealership by a gorgeous black and gold Laramie Longhorn Edition that was prominently displayed out front. It was the ride and handling that seduced me into purchasing it, however. It is, without a doubt, the smoothest driving truck I've ever experienced. Every bit as comfortable as my wife's 2012 Lincoln MKT and the Town Cars that preceded it. I admit to being a little skeptical about a Chrysler product after a bad experience years ago, but I've had my truck for ten months now and couldn't be happier. Took one road trip with four adults that involved ten hours at a time on the road and we were all perfectly comfortable. Magnificent truck! I have the 5.7 L Hemi, eight-speed transmission, and air-ride suspension. I would buy another one in a heartbeat and I highly recommend it to anyone looking for a luxurious workhorse.

I would recommend this vehicle to a friend: YES

Overall Rating:
5/5
Value:
5/5
Exterior:
5/5
Interior:
5/5
Comfort:
5/5
Performance:
5/5
Reliability:
5/5

Best Pickup I have owned

Reviewed by Frosty
September 23, 2014

The options from the dual comfort to heated seats and steering wheel to the radio and back up camera are great. When I was looking for a new pickup I didn't think much about the options but I wouldn't be without them now

I would recommend this vehicle to a friend: YES

Overall Rating:
5/5
Value:
5/5
Exterior:
5/5
Interior:
5/5
Comfort:
5/5
Performance:
5/5
Reliability:
5/5

Best value

Reviewed by cpaharley
September 19, 2014

Decided to go with the 5.7 hemi with the 8 speed, got a 2014 Ram Sport with all the extras. with the 3:21 rear it is quick and shifts smoothly, getting 20 mpg around town.

I would recommend this vehicle to a friend: YES

Overall Rating:
5/5
Value:
5/5
Exterior:
5/5
Interior:
5/5
Comfort:
5/5
Performance:
5/5
Reliability:
5/5

RAM 1500 GREAT!

Reviewed by FIRST TIME RAM OWNER
September 09, 2014

I have had the truck almost a year now, about 11,000 miles, No issues, the truck is very comfortable,my wife does not miss the Ford at all. Seats are very comfortable she says, and I love the ride, features, and mileage. I have the bighorn with towing pkg to tow my large boat and fish-house, works great for me. If you are going to haul super heavy loads in the box the coil spring rear will allow the the rear to sag. But for my use its great as I never haul ove 1000 lbs in the bed. Getting 20 to 21 average on highway and 15.5 to 17.5 towing in haul mode. I have had all makes and like the Ram best.

I would recommend this vehicle to a friend: YES

Overall Rating:
5/5
Value:
5/5
Exterior:
4/5
Interior:
5/5
Comfort:
5/5
Performance:
5/5
Reliability:
4/5

2014 Single Cab Sport R/T

Reviewed by Torque junky
September 08, 2014

I love sports cars but I needed a work truck. I decided to go for a single cab muscle truck over a Tacoma or used ranger. After shopping every single cab truck on the market I found my truck. The R/T Ram is a fantastic truck with almost no compromises compared to a car. The Engine is a lovely 400 hp and 400 ft of torque while the 8 speed transmission is the smoothest auto this side of a dual clutch. The sport trim has a leather trimmed dash and 8.5" xm/navi/backup camera. Alpine sound system makes sure the truck is bumping at all times. Center console is extremely comfortable and convenient. Way better than a bench seat. Overall gorgeous interior in Sport trim. The 22's are a bit loud but they've grew on me quickly. The fuel economy from the 8 speed is excellent. Getting 16/24 and 19 combined with a heavy foot. I didn't dream a 400 hp V8 truck could do that. The single cab offers excellent handling with a 120" wheel base. Easier to park too. I wouldn't get a 4 door unless you have a family.

I would recommend this vehicle to a friend: YES

Overall Rating:
5/5
Value:
5/5
Exterior:
5/5
Interior:
5/5
Comfort:
5/5
Performance:
5/5
Reliability:
5/5

Pure Class

Reviewed by Ram Owner
September 05, 2014

Bought my 2014 Dodge Ram Laramie with all the "bells & whistles, I could not be happier, Great Truck!!

I would recommend this vehicle to a friend: YES

Overall Rating:
5/5
Value:
5/5
Exterior:
5/5
Interior:
5/5
Comfort:
5/5
Performance:
5/5
Reliability:
5/5

Ford-Ram-Tundra-Ram

Reviewed by Ram-Tundra-Ram
September 05, 2014

The 5.7, 8 speed trans. crew cab Bighorn is my fourth truck and by far the best. Ram has really exceeded my expectations with ride, styling and mileage. I almost bought another Tundra (which I loved), but Toyota hasn't done anything to their engine/trans. for close to 10 years and the economy was not good. I've been getting 22.5 mpg driving in the country with the new trans. and cylinder drop off system. The Ram was also a much better buy than the Tundra.

I would recommend this vehicle to a friend: YES

2014 RAM 1500 Truck Comparison Reviews

*MSRP and Invoice prices displayed do not include applicable gas taxes or destination charges.