newcars.com®
Log In

New 2014 Nissan Pathfinder Reviews

Add to Favorites  | 
More Details & Photos New 2014 Nissan Pathfinder

Don't Overpay for Your 2014 Nissan Pathfinder!

Save Time and Money Online When You Shop with Us

Over the past month we helped 97,581 new car buyers find their perfect car.

Get your best price before going to the dealer!

Consumer Reviews Summary Write a Review

Average Overall Rating:

3.9/5

Value:
3.9/5
Exterior:
3.9/5
Interior:
4.2/5
Comfort:
4.6/5
Performance:
3.6/5
Reliability:
3.5/5

13 of 18 (72%) of consumers said they would recommend this vehicle to a friend.

Overall Rating:
5/5
Value:
4/5
Exterior:
5/5
Interior:
4/5
Comfort:
5/5
Performance:
5/5
Reliability:
4/5

Driving is fun again

Reviewed by Ex-minivan owner
August 07, 2014

Purchased this car new about a month ago. So far it has been great and driving is fun again. Here are the primary reasons we purchased: 1. Interior head room. I am 6'6". It has the most front head room, both on paper in and reality, though I will say some of the competitors were pretty good too even though on paper you wouldn't have thought so. Even the driver's backmost position is almost too far even for my height but 2nd row does not get impacted. 2. 4WD - we were looking for something with optional 4WD, not all the time AWD. 3. Ride - the ride is fantastic. The perfect blend of comfort and sport. We have gone on two out of state trips already and it makes long trips a breeze. 4. Sliding 2nd row - not a class exclusive feature but Nissan's implementation is about perfect. Getting into 3rd row is easier than a minivan. 5. MPG/horsepower - We so far have been getting about 23mpg combined. I am not the most aggressive driver but when you need it the power is there. Recently hauled 5 adults and two kids easily. Noticeable impact on power but as expected really. 6. CVT - This is possibly the controversial item both from perception and reliability. I don't miss the shifting personally and would say I now prefer it over an automatic. Too soon to speak about reliability but so far none of the shuddering and other problems some of reported with the CVT. Overall, we are very pleased so far.

I would recommend this vehicle to a friend: YES

Overall Rating:
4/5
Value:
5/5
Exterior:
5/5
Interior:
4/5
Comfort:
5/5
Performance:
4/5
Reliability:
5/5

Awesome Ride

Reviewed by Akhil Sharma
August 06, 2014

I bought mine in 2013 and will soon be doing 1 year on it with 13k+ miles. I have done extensive towing and a lot of city and highway driving. Trip to florida gave 25 mpg as said by the onboard computer. In city the mpg is 15-16. I will double check manually as some folks stated that onboard mpg reporting in not 100% accurate. I have no issues with the vehicle. I did experience shudder a few times (may be 10 times while driving 12k miles), but dealership reprogrammed it and it has almost gone now. Plus, it is said it is not totally unexpected or not a flaw. I think, some people just get too worried and get their transmission replaced and post a bad review about an awesome vehicle. I drive it daily for commute to work and with kids. It is pretty comfortable to drive. I have SL model which doesn't have all the high end features but with whatever we have in there, we are very pleased. Feels like a luxury ride. Very smooth, good control, light steering, great looks, decent interior. Some of the dashboard controls took me some time to get used to. Sits 7 easily, kids in the back seat. The size of the vehicle is pretty good. Other SUVs of this type are either too low on MPG or aren't big/wide enough. Overall, no regrets and all love for my Pathfinder SL Arctic Blue. I give it 4 star because I feel they could have removed the shudder 100%. Some people worry about the 2 recalls, but looks at the recall description. They are very normal and nothing big. Like have high tire pressure for spare tyre and sensitivity of the passenger airbag. No big deal. But some people want 0 recalls, whatsoever.

I would recommend this vehicle to a friend: YES

Overall Rating:
3/5
Value:
3/5
Exterior:
4/5
Interior:
4/5
Comfort:
4/5
Performance:
4/5
Reliability:
1/5

Issues since delivery

Reviewed by Disappointed in NY
August 05, 2014

I love my Pathfinder except for the issues I had and currently have. To begin, the panoramic moon roof leaked. Needless to say there were water stains in the interior. I must admit, the dealer and Nissan handled this issue well. I'm very lucky to say I have not experienced transmission trouble. However, I do have a faulty passenger side air bag. I have read several others have this problem with their Pathfinders (and other models). Unfortunately, Nissan's standard responses seem to be "cannot duplicate the problem", "it works properly", "bring your car to another Nissan dealer to see if they can correct the problem". Hello...Nissan, this is a very big safety issue. Fix the problem!

I would recommend this vehicle to a friend: NO

Overall Rating:
3/5
Value:
3/5
Exterior:
4/5
Interior:
3/5
Comfort:
4/5
Performance:
2/5
Reliability:
3/5

Disappointed

Reviewed by Working Mom
August 04, 2014

Disappointed! This is our 4th Nissan and it only has 5,000 miles on it. It started shuddering yesterday at around 20mph. I have scheduled an appointment with Nissan Wednesday morning. From the reviews I have read online this not uncommon! Many people are not having any luck getting them fixed either! I also read a review where someone has smelled burning coolant. We have also had that experience. I'm hoping they can fix mine. If you haven't bought one yet, DON'T! Save your money and get something reliable.

I would recommend this vehicle to a friend: NO

Overall Rating:
4/5
Value:
5/5
Exterior:
3/5
Interior:
5/5
Comfort:
5/5
Performance:
2/5
Reliability:
4/5

High end features for the right price

Reviewed by Happy in FL
July 15, 2014

I have had my 2014 SL Premium since March 2014. I looked at some smaller CUVs - BMW X3, Mercedes GLK, Infiniti QX50. All were too small, yet their larger SUV cousins were out of my price range. On a whim I test drove the Pathfinder. I was completely surprised by the quality of the interior - looks just like the inside of the QX60! I got power lift gate, leather, dual moonroofs, drive exit/entry assist (seat moves back when you turn car off to help you get out easier), hidden USB port, Bose sound system, and so much more. All for more than $10,000 less than a comparable QX60. This is also the only 3-row CUV that I know of that you can get the 2nd row moonroof without getting the loaded model. The 2nd row folding mechanisms are amazing and make access to the third row a dream, there is a ton of 2nd row legroom, even the 3rd row is usable for small adults on short trips. Both rows fold EASILY in multiple ways for getting in/out or for loading up large cargo. The outside leaves more to be desired, it is kind of bland (I honestly like the look of the Highlander or QX60 better outside but the interior of the HL can't hold a candle to the PF and the QX60 is expensive). I do wish I could have Xenon headlights, but I'd rather have the 2nd row moonroof for sure. I haven't had any problems with the CVT, let's hope it stays that way. It has a very different drive feel than a traditional engine, and really doesn't provide much feedback for the driver, which I wish was not the case. But it is smooth, quiet and fuel efficient, so I'm happy! If you want a usable 3-row CUV that's beautiful, comfortable and usable inside, with good gas mileage and quiet ride, this is one you should take a look at.

I would recommend this vehicle to a friend: YES

Overall Rating:
3/5
Value:
4/5
Exterior:
3/5
Interior:
4/5
Comfort:
4/5
Performance:
4/5
Reliability:
3/5

2014 nissan pathfinder platinum

Reviewed by T bird
July 11, 2014

I noticed a vibration when applying my brakes and took it back to the dealership with 1900 miles,with less than one month of owning the vehicle,was told that the rotors would have to be turned/shaved.I was not in anyway happy about this having to be done at such a early interval,i asked why they were worn at such a short term and did not receive a clear answer,then I asked why not replace rotors with new ones and I was told that was the first task to perform per Nissan specifications.I hope this is not the beginning of a recurring problem.Other wise I like the pathfinder.

I would recommend this vehicle to a friend: YES

Overall Rating:
5/5
Value:
4/5
Exterior:
4/5
Interior:
4/5
Comfort:
5/5
Performance:
3/5
Reliability:
3/5

Quiet ride

Reviewed by Ok
July 04, 2014

The transmission feels strange but is quite and smooth is totally different than regular transmission. The interior is comftable and quite. The blue Thoot is only for the telephone you would have to go to the platinum to get a beter system. The engine feels slow at the pick up but is smooth and fast once you are moving. The on board computer is unreliable when it comes to gas mileage. The miles are actually 19.5 M/ gal The computer is constantly on 17,6

I would recommend this vehicle to a friend: YES

Overall Rating:
1/5
Value:
1/5
Exterior:
4/5
Interior:
4/5
Comfort:
4/5
Performance:
3/5
Reliability:
1/5

POOR CVT DESIGN

Reviewed by TRANSMISSION NOTEMARE AT 7000 MILES
June 22, 2014

LOOK ELSEWHERE !! CVT TRANSMISSIONS ARE STILL HAVING ISSUES!! I have had 2 2014 nissan pathfinders this year, Our platnum 4x4 has 7214 miles on it and nissan is replacing the transmission due to a "shudder" problem in the cvt. DO you research BEFORE you buy cvt nissan. i WILL NEVER buy another cvt transmisssion again!! our sales guy toni at midway nissan assured me that the transmission issue that the 2012 and 2013 models had has been corrected, WRONG!! too bad nissan cant figure out the issue :( othe little things have been replaced (rear diff axle seal (Leaking out of factory) a/c smells like mildew, Nissan says to turn the a/c on fresh air then wait till evaperator dries out then turn it on re circulate. and the Gas Mileage is POOR i get 16-18 in town and im supposed to get 19-25. and i dont have a lead foot either. BOTTOM LINE DO YOUR RESEARCH before buying into the nossan CVT!!

I would recommend this vehicle to a friend: NO

Overall Rating:
5/5
Value:
5/5
Exterior:
5/5
Interior:
5/5
Comfort:
5/5
Performance:
5/5
Reliability:
5/5

Great for three months

Reviewed by Pathfinder Holic
June 12, 2014

The Pathfinder is a great crossover have Sv Platinum pkg with nav, cooled and heated seats, dual panoramic moon roof, bluetooth and more. Only thing don't like bad gas mileage but otherwise love the SUV with great handling and ride is terrific with CVT trans no issues but does shudder after few warmups a thing with CVTs still recommend the Pathfinder it's my 2nd one love it more!

I would recommend this vehicle to a friend: YES

Overall Rating:
4/5
Value:
4/5
Exterior:
3/5
Interior:
5/5
Comfort:
5/5
Performance:
4/5
Reliability:
3/5

Nice vehicle but missed the mark

Reviewed by The average man
May 16, 2014

The new pathfinder is a very refined vehicle, the ride is comfortable and the interior is loaded with a plethora of creature comforts (The platinum edition at least). Inside is Infinity all the way, from the 4 spoke steering wheel to the radio and climate controls, the design is stylish and up to date, the materials used are of good quality and it is very roomy. The outside, well, it is a love it or hate it kind of deal. While it looks modern, and bares the PATHFINDER badge, this vehicle does not share the OFF ROAD heritage of the previous models.This vehicle sits lower and it is wider and it drives as such, My PATHFINDER has performed good for the first 5 months that I have driven it, as an everyday driver is great, but while it is more CROSSOVER than SUV it does not like spirited driving, the vehicle will fight with you if you try to push it to its limits. The steering wheel lives happy as long as you are cruising down main st, but feels hard and unresponsive during fast cornering and the front end will dip down significantly, Fuel economy is average for a vehicle this size. At the end of the day, this vehicle is happy tackling the many challenges of the URBAN jungle, but if you need a true OFF ROAD vehicle look at the X TERRA or an older PATHFINDER.

I would recommend this vehicle to a friend: YES

2014 Nissan Pathfinder SUV Comparison Reviews

*MSRP and Invoice prices displayed do not include applicable gas taxes or destination charges.