cars.com

A member of the
Cars.com family

Log In
McAfee Badge

New 2013 Nissan Pathfinder Reviews See 2014

More Details & Photos
New 2013 Nissan Pathfinder

Don't Overpay for Your 2013 Nissan Pathfinder!

Save Time and Money Online When You Shop with Us

Over the past month we helped 97,581 new car buyers find their perfect car.

Get your best price before going to the dealer!

Consumer Reviews Summary Write a Review

Average Overall Rating:

3.8/5

Value:
3.9/5
Exterior:
4.3/5
Interior:
4.3/5
Comfort:
4.5/5
Performance:
3.8/5
Reliability:
3.6/5

39 of 60 (65%) of consumers said they would recommend this vehicle to a friend.

Overall Rating:
3/5
Value:
4/5
Exterior:
4/5
Interior:
4/5
Comfort:
2/5
Performance:
4/5
Reliability:
3/5

Moonfoof Noise

Reviewed by Kishor
April 14, 2014

Overall the SUV if pretty good for the price if it didn't make so much wind noise with the moonroof. After I purchased it started really driving it there is a constant noise inside the cabin. when driving due to a problem with insulation. I took this to the deanship multiple times. They got poor response from the manufacture. We test drove other cars, in the end they basically said that because I have a moon roof, I should expected some noise difference since it is not metal. If this was mild its not a problem, but it is nearly 10 decibel louder than the other SUV which is unacceptable. More interesting the dealership manager and technician agree this is beyond mild. I basically had no resolution to the problem and to accept it as poor design. I will NEVER buy another Nissan product!!

I would recommend this vehicle to a friend: NO

Overall Rating:
5/5
Value:
5/5
Exterior:
5/5
Interior:
4/5
Comfort:
5/5
Performance:
5/5
Reliability:
5/5

LOVE this car

Reviewed by Camping in the Rockies
April 07, 2014

Purchased the SV with a towing package in May 2013. I have driven it everywhere: long road trips, towing a pop-up camper into the Mountains and running errands. I already have 15,800 miles on it and have only changed the oil once. It has power when I need it too and it is lighter than my old SUV so it gets better gas mileage.

I would recommend this vehicle to a friend: YES

Overall Rating:
1/5
Value:
2/5
Exterior:
3/5
Interior:
3/5
Comfort:
3/5
Performance:
1/5
Reliability:
1/5

Transmission Problem

Reviewed by What the
March 24, 2014

Purchased 2013 Pathfinder June 2013. Last we it started sputtering. Took it to the dealer on Friday. I was told that the transmission is gone. So I am in a loaner car. The new transmission came in today which the service rep said this one they are putting in is a better one. I have a called into Nissan Consumer Advisor. I do not wont the car back. I will mess up my credit if they wont take it back. Another nISSIAN Down the drain.

I would recommend this vehicle to a friend: NO

Overall Rating:
4/5
Value:
3/5
Exterior:
4/5
Interior:
5/5
Comfort:
5/5
Performance:
3/5
Reliability:
3/5

Shuddering

Reviewed by Sarah
March 21, 2014

I bought the Nissan Pathfinder 2013 on Sept 2013. In less than two weeks between 1000 RPM and 1500 RPM the car start to shudder really bad. I went to different dealers about three times and all of them told me that is a normal function of the transmission, which I really doubt it. One day I went to the gas station and the regular gasoline was not available so I refuel the SUV with Premium Gasoline and guess what, the Pathfinder didn't shudder anymore. From that day I am refueling the Pathfinder with Premium Gasoline and is really perfect.... I believe everyone is looking the transmission and probably is not! At least in my case. Try it and let us know your findings

I would recommend this vehicle to a friend: YES

Overall Rating:
2/5
Value:
2/5
Exterior:
3/5
Interior:
3/5
Comfort:
4/5
Performance:
4/5
Reliability:
2/5

carefull with it in the mountain states

Reviewed by Ken
March 20, 2014

It is comfortable, and smooth. The stability control is a little over protective, and it has major blind spots, we had to remove the second row headrests in order to see out the back. We lucked out and didn't have the Judder/stutter problem, but what we did experience could be worse. Apparently below about 20 miles an hour the transmission will not downshift when you put it into low, so far Nissan corporate has not even acknowledged the issue even with the dealership techs confirming it.

I would recommend this vehicle to a friend: NO

Overall Rating:
3/5
Value:
5/5
Exterior:
5/5
Interior:
3/5
Comfort:
5/5
Performance:
3/5
Reliability:
5/5

Good car, never got the MPG they promised

Reviewed by I want my MPG
March 18, 2014

So far, this car is a million times more comfortable than the Highlander we traded in for it. The only major complaint I have about this is that I have never got anywhere near the 20-26MPG they promise. Only once have I got 21 MPG and that was with essentially all freeway driving. If this is only city, mostly what we use this for, I get about 17. Aside from this, the car is great. Unfortunately, the MPG was one of the deciding features for us.

I would recommend this vehicle to a friend: NO

Overall Rating:
2/5
Value:
1/5
Exterior:
4/5
Interior:
4/5
Comfort:
3/5
Performance:
3/5
Reliability:
1/5

More is not better

Reviewed by 13 Nissan Cars - No more
February 12, 2014

Leased the Platinum with all the trim and options. Problem is, the more options, the more options that do not work. Middle row heated seats, do not work. Heated side mirrors do not work. Even the rear window washer fluid dispenser does not work. Middle row "easy" glide seat operation is far from easy. Then get a recall about the ABS brakes now working correctly under certain road conditions. Once again, is this a 4WD SUV? People with normal lives do not have time to go to a dealership and have them waste your day to repair it. Throw in the fact that NissanUSA and its dealers do not offer loaners (without having to pay), really makes it worse. I called Nissan Consumer just to vent and let them know after 13 Nissan vehicles, its time for me to move on. Audi here I come, i just have to wait 2 years.

I would recommend this vehicle to a friend: NO

Overall Rating:
5/5
Value:
5/5
Exterior:
5/5
Interior:
4/5
Comfort:
5/5
Performance:
5/5
Reliability:
5/5

Most Reliable Car

Reviewed by Brian Tashi
February 11, 2014

i bought this SUV 14 months ago and i have put 26K miles on this SUV and still have no issue until now. Just some recalls and that's it. this SUV gives me 24.5 miles/gal. what else do i need. i don't know why people are complaining for small small things. If you are so much picky about quality and performance then buy Ferrari or Bentley which will make a hole in your pocket. Or if you still have problems then buy a horse no transmission issue no performance issue and not expensive to buy and keep. :)

I would recommend this vehicle to a friend: YES

Overall Rating:
3/5
Value:
3/5
Exterior:
4/5
Interior:
2/5
Comfort:
2/5
Performance:
4/5
Reliability:
4/5

Not what I expected

Reviewed by Ex-Navigator Owner
February 10, 2014

My prior auto was a Lincoln Navigator. This is a real disappointment for me. Just little things are wrong with the Pathfinder, so I won't buy another Nissan. 1. Sun Visor: The two sun visors on the front windshield should be "double-visor" designs, not single. A double-visor design would allow the driver (or passenger) to put his visor on the side window, then pull down the second visor (from behind the first one) for the front windshield. My Navigator had this simple and cheap addition, and it was great. It's one of those little additions that once you have it, you never want to be without it. 2. Drivers Seat Movement: The range of movement for the drivers seat is somewhat restricted for a tall person. It should go up/down and back/forward more. The passenger seat is less noticeable (concerning this restriction) because the passenger has more room, but the passenger seat suffers from the same issue. 3. Front Bucket Seat Comfort: Both front seats are uncomfortable. What is noticed most is the driver's seat. The seat bottom is hard, narrow, and the sides of the seat bottom push in at a steep angle. In short, the seat design is very uncomfortable. It would have been a simple matter to design something comfortable, like my prior Navigator. 4. Speed Control: The speed control system algorithm is very poor. This bad design results in too much variation in the speed which it tries to maintains. 5. Speed Control Setting: When one has the speed control set to "on" and slightly taps the speed control button up in order to increase the "set speed," the speed control system should respond with a slight increase in the previous "set speed." My other cars have done this – maybe bumping up the "set speed" by a mile or two for each slight tap on the button. This does not happen with the Pathfinder. It instead adjusts to a new speed setting based on the current speed. Sometimes this might even reduce the "set speed." It is irritating. Maybe it has something to do with the poorly maintained speed control to begin with. 6. Heat Controls: The heat controls for the cabin temperatures do not keep the temperatures set closely to the desired settings. Instead, the temperature varies too widely, resulting "too cold" and then "too hot" feelings for the front passenger and driver. 7. Control Cluster Location: There is a cluster of control buttons on the dash on the lower left of the steering wheel (rear door, steering heat, etc.). This cluster is too low, difficult to see, and dangerous to try and use when driving. This was a terrible place to locate these controls. 8. Outside Mirrors: The two outside mirrors need to be electrically folding, not the manual process now incorporated. Any SUV is a wider vehicle, and I have several locations where I park and need to pull in both mirrors in order to easily get into the parking garages. Without electric mirrors, this can be very difficult to pull in the right mirror manually when no passenger is in that seat. My Navigator had this feature of electric mirrors, and I found it very convenient and now miss it greatly. 9. Rear Step: For trips, I sometimes put packages or a car-top carrier on the top of my Pathfinder. Unlike my Navigator, the Pathfinder does not have a step on the back to stand on when installing the car-top carrier or when putting material on top of the car-top rack. I now have to get a ladder to accomplish this, and the ladder makes it a dangerous task. This Pathfinder missing feature is a very poor design for anyone that intends to use the carrier rails on top of the car. 10. Side Step (Running) Boards: All SUVs need running boards on both sides so it is easier to step up and inside the vehicle. I realize that many do not, but this feature adds a lot of value and it would be nice to have these on your Pathfinder model. I like many features about my new Pathfinder, but these items above are totally irritating. As a result, I would not recommend this model to anyone. Also, I would not buy this product again. There are too many good SUV models available as alternatives.

I would recommend this vehicle to a friend: NO

Overall Rating:
5/5
Value:
5/5
Exterior:
4/5
Interior:
5/5
Comfort:
5/5
Performance:
4/5
Reliability:
5/5

Excellent Value

Reviewed by Mike O
February 07, 2014

I have the 2014 Platinum Premium. We have only had it for a month but I love the car so far. There have not been any issues. One problem w AC/Heat is the defrost/heat choices are preprogrammed. Its not as user friendly as say conventional turn dial choices. You have to get used to the CVT transmission characteristics. I often found myself waiting for a gear change...nothing wrong...but just an awkward feeling. (I would have like to see more power and acceleration although it is not bad.) Outside of those two minor things, the vehicle is great. Roomy, accessible third row. The features in this vehicle are EXCELLENT! Too many to list. Ride and handling characteristics are great for an SUV this size. It is a great value. Very happy I made this choice. Time will tell for a more accurate review of performance and reliability.

I would recommend this vehicle to a friend: YES

 

*MSRP and Invoice prices displayed do not include applicable gas taxes or destination charges.