newcars.com®
Log In

New 2014 Nissan Murano CrossCabriolet Reviews

More Details & Photos New 2014 Nissan Murano CrossCabriolet

Don't Overpay for Your 2014 Nissan Murano CrossCabriolet!

Save Time and Money Online When You Shop with Us

Over the past month we helped 97,581 new car buyers find their perfect car.

Get your best price before going to the dealer!

Consumer Reviews Summary Write a Review

Average Overall Rating:

4.3/5

Value:
3.7/5
Exterior:
4.3/5
Interior:
4.6/5
Comfort:
4.7/5
Performance:
4.6/5
Reliability:
4.2/5

11 of 15 (73%) of consumers said they would recommend this vehicle to a friend.

Overall Rating:
1/5
Value:
2/5
Exterior:
3/5
Interior:
3/5
Comfort:
4/5
Performance:
3/5
Reliability:
1/5

Do not purchase this car!

Reviewed by Bruce
June 26, 2015

I purchased a new 2011 Cabriolet in July 2012. Recently, I tried to lower the top and couldn't. I took the car to the dealer and was informed that two frame rails were broken and that the top would have to be replaced for a cost of approximately $13,000, and since the car was 1,000 miles over warrantee (one month within the three year limit), I would have to deal with Nissan. Nissan has since informed me that they will not cover the repair. Do not buy one of these vehicles or any other Nissan vehicle. They will not stand behind their product even if there is an obvious manufacturing or materials defect.

I would recommend this vehicle to a friend: NO

Overall Rating:
5/5
Value:
4/5
Exterior:
4/5
Interior:
5/5
Comfort:
5/5
Performance:
4/5
Reliability:
5/5

Great choice if you've already owned a Murano!

Reviewed by Bill
April 20, 2015

We've had 4 Muranos in the family and loved them all! The oldest has 250,000 miles and still is going strong! The others have 100,00 and 145,00 miles respectively with no issues. My 2014 CC now has 50,000 miles and I still love it! Great car for road trips. Seats four comfortably with 3 of us over 6 feet tall. Just had my first minor glitch with the top, but the dealer's been great (if inexperienced) and I've had convertibles in the past...you will have an issue eventually. If you think the doors are too big or the back end is too wide, don't buy it...it will never lose weight!

I would recommend this vehicle to a friend: YES

Overall Rating:
2/5
Value:
3/5
Exterior:
5/5
Interior:
5/5
Comfort:
5/5
Performance:
5/5
Reliability:
1/5

CVT or horror T

Reviewed by El Dano
September 15, 2014

I've been looking forward to owning a Murano Crosscabriolet until an engineer friend of mine talked to me about the CVT transmission. Do you know owners of used products with CVTs find themselves with transmission repair cost higher than the value of their automobiles? And this includes models with low mileage. Most car-radio talk shows suggest you sty away from them or to buy expensive extended warranties. I'll wait until the 2015 model and hope they drop this CVT for something less controversial. Until then sorry Nissan.

I would recommend this vehicle to a friend: NO

Overall Rating:
2/5
Value:
2/5
Exterior:
2/5
Interior:
2/5
Comfort:
5/5
Performance:
5/5
Reliability:
5/5

Terrible Design

Reviewed by Sad by the "functioning as designed" comment
September 12, 2014

I was so excited when I bought this car in February 2014. I traded my 4-Runner and my convertible bug. I felt like I was squishing the two together. And until the summer rolled around I was beyond happy with everything about the car. Then when the weather warmed up and I could put the top down more frequently I noticed black marks on the inside of top. So I began paying close attention to what was causing them. When I put the top up or down it rest on the backseat headrest and slides off as it engages. I was so shocked!! So I took it to the dealer to have it looked at, I was sure it was an easy fix right?? No, the dealer told me it was "functioning as designed". When I expressed my concern as this will 1) create horrible looking black marks on the interior that cannot be removed and 2) eventually the constant friction will tear the top. The dealer tried to clean the black marks off and of course they are already permanent and cant be removed. I had the designer and the regional technical support people look at it and admit it was a flaw but nothing could be done to fix it. I am so so so not happy with this. I paid way to much money for this car to have a "known flaw" coming of the design table. The car value will drop considerable and to replace the top is over 12k. Just makes me very sad!!!

I would recommend this vehicle to a friend: NO

Overall Rating:
5/5
Value:
4/5
Exterior:
5/5
Interior:
5/5
Comfort:
5/5
Performance:
5/5
Reliability:
4/5

Great choice!

Reviewed by Erika
August 24, 2014

I bought an 2011 Nissan Murano CC and I just love love love love it!!! It gets a lot of looks so I am pressured to always look my best :) I feel awesome in it. I am not a small girl and this thing hugs my curves perfectly. It's stylish and time won't affect it. It will still be a stylish vehicle in 10 years. The interior is beautiful, takes some getting used to. Watch the DVD. I would highly and I have highly recommended this vehicle. Very happy with my purchase. You will need to dedicate time to keeping it up though, it is a convertible and caring for the fabric top is essential. You won't be disappointed :)

I would recommend this vehicle to a friend: YES

Overall Rating:
5/5
Value:
5/5
Exterior:
5/5
Interior:
5/5
Comfort:
5/5
Performance:
5/5
Reliability:
5/5

Best car / SUV ever

Reviewed by Car and watch lover
August 21, 2014

Nicest car I have ever owned ! You get the best of both worlds - convertible in summer and all wheel drive in winter. Being from Syracuse NY it works for everything. I love being up high. Ride is like a luxury car . Very smooth to drive. Very roomy inside both front and back seat! Four adults can fit with no problem. The exterior of this car is beautiful! It is very unique looking. Everyone stops and stares. I love the way the top goes down into the trunk. I have people stop me all the time and ask about it or comment about how beautiful it is. Just this week I had at least five people stop me and a few wanted to take pictures of it. This car attracts a lot of attention all the time. The best thing about this car is I never have another one next to me. There are very few around. And I love that!!

I would recommend this vehicle to a friend: YES

Overall Rating:
5/5
Value:
3/5
Exterior:
1/5
Interior:
5/5
Comfort:
4/5
Performance:
5/5
Reliability:
5/5

Fun to Drive,

Reviewed by Midlife Crisis III
August 16, 2014

We call it the EGG. Fortunately, you can't see how ugly it is from the drivers seat. Today convertibles are either too cheap or too expensive, and too small. I bought it because it was cheap, a deal, a give away. What I didn't expect was how much fun this one is to drive. After 3 hours of tooling around on some rural roads, I have to say, this one's a keeper. It's fast, smooth, heavy, and safe. When my grandson gets his license, I know he'll fight for it. I can't blame him.

I would recommend this vehicle to a friend: YES

Overall Rating:
5/5
Value:
5/5
Exterior:
5/5
Interior:
5/5
Comfort:
5/5
Performance:
5/5
Reliability:
5/5

EXCEPTIONAL

Reviewed by AWDfun in colo
August 07, 2014

I was looking for an awd when I came across this vehicle at dealer beautiful sport and AWD w/the bonus of it being a convertible. It's rides like a luxury vehicle and has too many features to count. I am not sure why it gets a bad review I LOVE MINE.

I would recommend this vehicle to a friend: YES

Overall Rating:
5/5
Value:
3/5
Exterior:
5/5
Interior:
4/5
Comfort:
4/5
Performance:
4/5
Reliability:
5/5

perfect for our needs

Reviewed by Hill Country
June 17, 2014

The day after I purchased this there was a horrible review about this car on Yahoo implying anyone who bought this car was a fool. I felt embarrassed at first then I realized the people who write these reviews don't live where I do, in th shill country of Texas. These "critics probably live in L..A , Detroit , or some other metropolis. I probably would not like this car either if i lived in an urban environment. But cruising the back roads of the Texas hill country, it is the perfect vehicle. When were are cruising to wineries or just viewing wildflowers, this is a great car and perfect for our needs. It is stout enough that I'm not too worried if a deer jumps in front of our path. We have owned two Solara convertibles previously and this has so much more room and is more responsive on our windy back roads. Again it is perfect for our lifestyle and needs.

I would recommend this vehicle to a friend: YES

Overall Rating:
5/5
Value:
4/5
Exterior:
5/5
Interior:
5/5
Comfort:
5/5
Performance:
5/5
Reliability:
5/5

Incredible Car

Reviewed by Florida Girl
May 27, 2014

I purchased the Cabriolet yesterday. I was looking for a convertible but was used to driving an SUV and being 50+ wanted the vehicle to be comfortable and easy to enter and exit. This vehicle had everything I ever wanted. It is only my second day of driving and I am truly in love with it. The only negative is the small back window but I live in Florida so top will be down most of the time anyway.

I would recommend this vehicle to a friend: YES

*MSRP and Invoice prices displayed do not include applicable gas taxes or destination charges.