newcars.com®
Log In

New 2015 Nissan Altima Reviews

Add to Favorites  | 
More Details & Photos New 2015 Nissan Altima

Don't Overpay for Your 2015 Nissan Altima!

Save Time and Money Online When You Shop with Us

Over the past month we helped 97,581 new car buyers find their perfect car.

Get your best price before going to the dealer!

Consumer Reviews Summary Write a Review

Average Overall Rating:

4.9/5

Value:
4.9/5
Exterior:
4.8/5
Interior:
4.9/5
Comfort:
5.0/5
Performance:
4.9/5
Reliability:
4.9/5

26 of 26 (100%) of consumers said they would recommend this vehicle to a friend.

Overall Rating:
3/5
Value:
5/5
Exterior:
4/5
Interior:
4/5
Comfort:
5/5
Performance:
4/5
Reliability:
5/5

Best All Around Car for Under 30k

Reviewed by 370Z Enthusiast
August 15, 2015

I've owned my 2015 Nissan Altima SL black/beige leather for almost a full year. I took delivery on September 1, 2014. I had one of the early 2015's that came out of the Smryna, Tennessee plant. Overall, it's a very solid car. But there have been a few hiccups along the way. Pro's: Most comfortable driver's seat I've ever sat in, good quality interior overall/nicely designed, no squeaks or rattles after one year, easy to maneuver/turns easily, AMAZING highway ride - smooth as glass, AMAZING fuel economy. I've gotten over 40MPG highway doing 70MPH on flat ground. At 70MPH, you're only turning about 1750 RPM'S. The CVT is definitely tuned and set up for a highway commuter. CVT is very smooth (AFTER break in period). Michelin tires (with the SL package only) handled excellent in snow/ice in Northeast. Solid car in the snow, traction control works very well and kicks in when it needs to. Base Altima's get cheaper Continental brand tires. Love the heated steering wheel in the winter. Excellent power and power delivery. Not abrupt. It's very smooth throughout the power band. Definitely feels like any V6 I've ever driven. Stylish 17 inch aluminum alloy wheels. Very attractive, flowing overall style. Very roomy backseat and huge trunk. Looks like a luxury car for a lot less money. Push button start and remote keyless entry (push button on door handle to lock and unlock) are awesome. I did have to replace the battery in my fob. Problems: Blower motor for the HVAC system had to be replaced under warranty after about 4 months. Developed a bad rattle/squeak. Replaced, no problems since. CVT (Transmission): Took VERY long to break in. For the first 5,000 miles, the car would lurch, jump, buck, and jerk forward just before I would do a complete stop. So under braking, around 15mph-10 mph, the car would buck and jerk forward. Very annoying. And I drove the car very easy. I tried opening it up on the highway for awhile when new, that didn't help. Then around 3k, it started doing it less and less. And then 5k miles, it stopped completely. I have 11k miles now and no problems. The CVT's operation and serpentine belt apparently takes a very long time to break in. It's very important with this car to come to a complete stop before shifting, or you could damage the CVT. Con's: Bose radio system from the factory is not that great. Sounds only slightly better than a standard radio, quite disappointing. The fit and finish of the center mounted bose speaker plate on the dashboard was poor. I had to remove it and fix it myself. Paint: Very disappointed with the black paint. Nissan is known for their lousy paint jobs, and I got one. I've complained to corporate. Simply put: It's dull. They didn't apply enough clearcoat, too thin a layer, so it just doesn't have any shine, UNLESS I wax it. Then I get it to shine. But as soon as it rains and gets dirty, it's fairly dull again. Also on the left side of the car only, the upper portion of both the driver's door and rear door have "wavy" paint. If you're not sure what that is, look it up. The paint wasn't applied evenly and didn't dry properly when they baked it, leaving a wavy look. It's subtle, but you can notice it in the sun if you look for it. Check your paint job carefully on a sunny day. A lot of rock chips from a non-existent clearcoat, no protection whatsoever. Leather Seats: DO NOT hold up. I'm 5'10, 190lbs. The driver's seat leather is already noticeably stretched on the seat cushion. Fairly low grade leather. It will not remain tight for that long. CVT has a whine and a light tapping (rattle) that is very pronounced in cold weather. If you don't like hearing unusual noises, I wouldn't suggest this car. While the engine power with the 2.5 liter is very good, its VERY noisy above 3,000 RPM. Sounds unrefined, like you're driving a cheap economy car. Transmission shifter is clunky and loud. Heated Seats are not calibrated properly. On the low setting, you feel almost nothing. On the high setting, it gets too hot after about 5 minutes and you have to turn it off. For all the features you get with the SL package, along with stellar fuel economy and ride quality, I would definitely recommend the car. It's a great buy and most dealers discount them heavily. The cost of ownership is very low and reliability is excellent. If you can put up with a few annoyances here and there that pop up, you'll be glad you made the purchase. Great car to keep for the long term.

I would recommend this vehicle to a friend: YES

Overall Rating:
5/5
Value:
4/5
Exterior:
4/5
Interior:
5/5
Comfort:
5/5
Performance:
5/5
Reliability:
5/5

Classy Car very smooth

Reviewed by Stormy
August 09, 2015

Drive it and you will fall in love with it. I added a spoiler for sportiness for the exterior . It's so smooth that you gave to be careful not to go faster than you should. 3rd Altima for me, after driving twelve other cars I still liked this the best for the value

I would recommend this vehicle to a friend: YES

Overall Rating:
5/5
Value:
5/5
Exterior:
5/5
Interior:
5/5
Comfort:
5/5
Performance:
5/5
Reliability:
5/5

Altima SL

Reviewed by Treblig Leba
July 15, 2015

This is our 2nd SL the 1st was a 2009 the new has all options and for fuel economy it can't be beat 27 city 38 hwy in total comfort.Go demo you'll know what we're talking about. Sincerely, Gilbert and Naida Abel Grants Pass,Oregon

I would recommend this vehicle to a friend: YES

Overall Rating:
5/5
Value:
5/5
Exterior:
5/5
Interior:
4/5
Comfort:
5/5
Performance:
5/5
Reliability:
5/5

Great quality for the amount paid!

Reviewed by Nissan Owner
June 22, 2015

I bought this car about a month ago and have already managed to put 2,000 miles on it. I am in love! I have had no problems with this car, previous models seemed to have a lot of issues but Nissan has set the bar higher by doing some minor changes. You get more features than you do in the majority of competitors. The only issue I have with this car is how often it needs to be cleaned, inside and out, for some reason the material used for the center console always has a residue seeped in that's hard to remove. I will say that the transmission and engine become loud after a while, but it sounds good when you put it into sport mode. The "shifting" amuses me, but the CVT transmission can really put out some power; for a 4 cylinder I can speed up pretty quick on the highway when needed. I owned a 2002 Infiniti G20 before I traded it in for a white 2015 Altima and it has exceeded my expectations immensely. I would definitely recommend this car and I will always buy from Nissan/Infiniti. Props to the engineers and designers.

I would recommend this vehicle to a friend: YES

Overall Rating:
5/5
Value:
5/5
Exterior:
4/5
Interior:
4/5
Comfort:
5/5
Performance:
5/5
Reliability:
5/5

take nothing for ranted

Reviewed by old driver
June 14, 2015

I settled for the color I had the least dislike for. The 8 way power seat and quality interior are something you must experience. Words fail to convey how much extra comfort you get for a bad back and leg position strain. READ THE MANUAL. So many new good things that it will take a few days to learn them. A Sales person who greets you with a smile and a hand out stretched with" can I help you" Is where to start a good relation ship for the life of the car.

I would recommend this vehicle to a friend: YES

Overall Rating:
5/5
Value:
5/5
Exterior:
5/5
Interior:
5/5
Comfort:
5/5
Performance:
5/5
Reliability:
5/5

Excellent car for the price

Reviewed by Marlins' Fan
June 07, 2015

So far I'm enjoying the car. The ride is smooth and I like the looks of the car. I also get great mileage.

I would recommend this vehicle to a friend: YES

Overall Rating:
5/5
Value:
5/5
Exterior:
4/5
Interior:
5/5
Comfort:
5/5
Performance:
4/5
Reliability:
5/5

Pleasant Surprise!

Reviewed by runner12
May 13, 2015

I am the new proud "leaser" of a 2015 Nissan Altima. I have to admit, at first, I was a bit hesitant because I was coming from a V8 engine down to a 4 cylinder automobile. However, I had lots of surprises in store for me this day. When I walked into the dealership, I was waiting to be pounced upon like in the past visits from other dealerships. This dealership was cool with me just wanting to "look" around and get a feel first. Then when I requested assistance, they were happy and friendly to accommodate me. They answered my questions and enlightened me on the power of the 4 cylinder engines. Anyway, I took a test drive and was hooked. I was impressed by the comfort, smooth ride and "pick up" of the Altima. The seating is roomy and comfortable. The outside looked sleek and sporty. We sat down and I was surprised again by the ability of the salesman to work with me, so that my payment was something I could actually afford. In very little time, my paperwork was done efficiently and my salesman explained all the details and features of my new car and I was out enjoying the rest of my weekend. An experience I was not looking forward to, turned in to a quite happy and pleasant surprise!

I would recommend this vehicle to a friend: YES

Overall Rating:
5/5
Value:
5/5
Exterior:
5/5
Interior:
5/5
Comfort:
5/5
Performance:
5/5
Reliability:
5/5

2015 altima

Reviewed by memo
May 09, 2015

Great interior style. I especially like the design that went into the dash cluster and it's monitoring system. I so wish Nissan does come up some with a more sportier version of the car or simular like they have does in the past with the SE-R back in 2006.

I would recommend this vehicle to a friend: YES

Overall Rating:
5/5
Value:
4/5
Exterior:
5/5
Interior:
5/5
Comfort:
5/5
Performance:
5/5
Reliability:
3/5

Nice Family Sedan

Reviewed by Smitty
May 08, 2015

2015 Altima SL....My wife and I have similar driving styles...cautious with light to moderate acceleration. We find the CVT to be an asset, delivering smooth power and a consistent 30 MPG city. Aggressive drivers probably won't like the CVT due to the engine revs. The leather seats are the most comfortable in any mid sized sedan that we drove. The suspension dampened the road bumps better than any other in it's class. As an engineer, I find the Altima, very well designed and a good value.

I would recommend this vehicle to a friend: YES

Overall Rating:
5/5
Value:
5/5
Exterior:
5/5
Interior:
5/5
Comfort:
5/5
Performance:
5/5
Reliability:
5/5

Excellent Car

Reviewed by Motorguy
May 05, 2015

Car: .2015 Altima 4 Door SV .4 Cylinder .Tech Package .Navigation .Back-up Camera Highs: .Terrific Gas Mileage: 37-41 Highway; 22-26 City .Regular Unleaded Fuel (Not Premium) .Large Truck .Spacious cabin .Acceleration power. .Comfortable Seating .Great Handling - handles like smaller car .Easy to parallel park with back-up camera .Great Radio .Intuitive GPS and other car performance related information Lows: .Needs an covered, quickly accessible space for spare change. .Acceleration drone under hard acceleration. After I purchased my car the dealer told me they sold a lot of Altimas. It is evident this is one very well envisioned and executed car.

I would recommend this vehicle to a friend: YES

2015 Nissan Altima Sedan Comparison Reviews

*MSRP and Invoice prices displayed do not include applicable gas taxes or destination charges.