newcars.com®
Log In

New 2014 Mitsubishi Outlander Reviews

Add to Favorites  | 
More Details & Photos New 2014 Mitsubishi Outlander

Don't Overpay for Your 2014 Mitsubishi Outlander!

Save Time and Money Online When You Shop with Us

Over the past month we helped 97,581 new car buyers find their perfect car.

Get your best price before going to the dealer!

Consumer Reviews Summary Write a Review

Average Overall Rating:

4.9/5

Value:
5.0/5
Exterior:
4.6/5
Interior:
4.7/5
Comfort:
4.6/5
Performance:
4.5/5
Reliability:
4.9/5

14 of 14 (100%) of consumers said they would recommend this vehicle to a friend.

Overall Rating:
5/5
Value:
5/5
Exterior:
5/5
Interior:
5/5
Comfort:
5/5
Performance:
4/5
Reliability:
5/5

Great Car Truck

Reviewed by NewMitsuManni
May 27, 2014

It's no co-incadink that all reviews for this small SUV by customers that own this SUV are very very positive. It's fun to drive, it handles well, it looks good and it's narrow and not a monster truck like beast to drive in the city. We have occasional grandparent visits and maybe a playdate or 2 where the third row is nice to have. We looked at all options, and the outlander has the best gas mileage, best safety ratings, best options and best looks. Plus when I work and drive and park in San Francisco, it lets me do so without feeling like I am too big and wide and brawny to get along.

I would recommend this vehicle to a friend: YES

Overall Rating:
4/5
Value:
5/5
Exterior:
5/5
Interior:
4/5
Comfort:
4/5
Performance:
4/5
Reliability:
4/5

BANG FOR THE BUCK

Reviewed by DMF
May 19, 2014

COMPARED THIS TO SEVERAL OTHER COMPACT SUVs: VW , FORD, MAZDA, HYUNDAI. LOOKED STRICTLY AT SUVS WITH A MANUAL TRANSMISSION. THE OUTLANDER SPORT WAS THE MOST BANG FOR THE BUCK, WITH A MSRP THOUSANDS BELOW THE OTHER MODELS. THE EXTERIOR IS INDEED SPORTY LOOKING. THE INTERIOR IS FUNCTIONAL, NOT HEART-POUNDING. IT DOES INCLUDE A USB CONNECTION AND STEERING WHEEL CONTROLS FOR PHONE, RADIO AND CRUISE CONTROL. STANDARD WHEELS ARE 18" ALLOY. THE ENGINE IS A FOUR CYLINDER WITH 148 HP, WHICH IS NOT RACE CAR-LIKE BUT BIG ENOUGH FOR NORMAL DRIVING. ALSO LIKED THAT IT TAKES REGULAR GAS; AFTER HAVING TO USE PREMIUM ON MY VW TIGUAN. THE FIT AND FINISH IS GOOD. SO FAR THE INTERIOR IS QUIET AND FREE OF ANY SHAKES, RATTLES AND OTHER NOISES. ONE ITEM I HAD TO ADD WAS DAYTIME RUNNING LIGHTS; A MUST HAVE. ALSO, IT WOULD BE NICE IF BASE MODELS WERE AVAILABLE WITH A MOONROOF OPTION. OVERALL, VERY HAPPY.

I would recommend this vehicle to a friend: YES

Overall Rating:
5/5
Value:
5/5
Exterior:
4/5
Interior:
4/5
Comfort:
4/5
Performance:
4/5
Reliability:
5/5

1800 miles. so far, great!

Reviewed by Fisherman
May 18, 2014

No problems at all to date. Good gas mileage. like the front wheel drive-all wheel drive feature. Comfortable.

I would recommend this vehicle to a friend: YES

Overall Rating:
5/5
Value:
5/5
Exterior:
4/5
Interior:
5/5
Comfort:
5/5
Performance:
4/5
Reliability:
5/5

Driving Mitsi

Reviewed by MY Mitsi
May 02, 2014

I knew I wanted a Crossover SUV that handled like a car. I have two grandkids, and family members that hubby and I spend lots of quality time with. I didn't want anything too big. I wanted a comfortable, attractive, and safe vehicle. I am not a high- tech person and I don't require all the latest features that some of the competition espouses. What was most important to me was leather seats, a back-up camera, easy access to the vehicle, and the third row of seats. I also love the large mirrors and the radio in my vehicle. The sun-roof is another nice feature. The Outlander is affordable, and it gets good gas mileage. I am very satisfied with this vehicle purchase.

I would recommend this vehicle to a friend: YES

Overall Rating:
5/5
Value:
5/5
Exterior:
5/5
Interior:
5/5
Comfort:
5/5
Performance:
5/5
Reliability:
5/5

My Outlander

Reviewed by Stoneman
April 08, 2014

Very nice handling SUV and has ample power. Gas mileage is excellent for this size vehicle. Love the backup camera and now that I have one, I would not get another car without it. Excellent Stereo Radio with Bluetooth built in. I am very happy that I stopped and check it out the day that we were car shopping. I think anyone would be pleasantly surprised at all the extras that you get with the purchase of this fine SUV.

I would recommend this vehicle to a friend: YES

Overall Rating:
5/5
Value:
5/5
Exterior:
5/5
Interior:
4/5
Comfort:
5/5
Performance:
4/5
Reliability:
5/5

my new outlander

Reviewed by dodgedav
March 17, 2014

car drives very well on the road, exterior appearance i would put against any other car, its a beautiful car. the 4 cylinder engine has alot to be desired in power, but it gets excellant fuel mileage so i'm happy. the interior is great, i would suggest arm rest on both the front seat backs, the consol arm rest is to far back and is hard to rest your arm on, the car has plenty of storage in back and in the front. all in all i rate it an excellent buy for the money.

I would recommend this vehicle to a friend: YES

Overall Rating:
5/5
Value:
5/5
Exterior:
4/5
Interior:
5/5
Comfort:
4/5
Performance:
5/5
Reliability:
5/5

mitshubishi fan

Reviewed by Impressed new owner
March 13, 2014

This is my first Mitsubishi. I picked it up Dec 28 2013, and I'm happy to say, my family and I made an excellent choice. I test drove the Forester, but my wife didn't like the styling. The Rav4 was nice, the kids wanted more leg room. We finally agreed on the 2014 Outlander. I'm hooked on this vehicle. It handles great and is good on gas. Got the 4 cylinder with the super all wheel control.It has plenty of passing power and the ride is pretty smooth. They did an excellent job with the interior. I picked the cosmic blue. It looks like a small Durango when you look at it from the side. the front grill isn't flashy, but it grows on you. Over all we are very happy with our purchase and highly recommend this vehicle. I've seen one or two others in my town, but none in the city where I work (NYC).You really get your moneys worth with this vehicle. I hope that more people take a look at this outlander before blowing their hard earned money on one of the other competitors. I'm telling you , This car is very surprising :).

I would recommend this vehicle to a friend: YES

Overall Rating:
5/5
Value:
5/5
Exterior:
4/5
Interior:
4/5
Comfort:
5/5
Performance:
5/5
Reliability:
5/5

Excellent SUV for Small Family

Reviewed by Regular Commuter
February 01, 2014

I drive this mainly for work ... but sometimes need that extra 3rd row (I do have a van) but I prefer this can due to its size and MPG. I only bought the ES but it came with fog lights and FUSE bluetooth - which is a nice bonus. Fav features: - Excellent MPG - getting up to 34-35, combined is 28-29 even with all 3 rows used. - Really quiet (excellent insulation) - Very spacious headroom, kneeroom etc. - Great stereo and base features - Smooooooth CVT - Great pickup and go (for my commute) - I got a 3 row SUV for 3K less than the closest 3-row competitor Things to Improve: 1. I do wish they had more colors for the ES - both for the exterior and interior ... otherwise, all you'll get for the interior (for ES) is black, black and black. 2. Needs more lighting for the lower part of the dash. At night, I cannot see the storage area where the 12V port is. 3. Needs more storage areas. There is a LOT of room under the seats ... and maybe have a storage bin under the cushion like the Mazda5. 4. The Info Center should use more verbiage not just symbols.

I would recommend this vehicle to a friend: YES

Overall Rating:
4/5
Value:
5/5
Exterior:
5/5
Interior:
5/5
Comfort:
4/5
Performance:
5/5
Reliability:
4/5

Good vehicle

Reviewed by Brich
January 18, 2014

Sales staff was great and very helpful. Kept my interest at heart. Vehicle looks and drives great. Will take into deep snows. Should last a good number of years.

I would recommend this vehicle to a friend: YES

Overall Rating:
5/5
Value:
5/5
Exterior:
4/5
Interior:
5/5
Comfort:
4/5
Performance:
5/5
Reliability:
5/5

Exceptional Value

Reviewed by Practical Driver
January 15, 2014

Been shopping and comparing for a CUV with 3 rows. I am the only passenger (90%) of the time but it is nice to have the ability have the 3rd row when needed. Primary drivers are - 1. Great gas mileage 2. Available 3rd row 3. Highly reliable I whittled it down to the Rogue (2014), Outlander (2014) and the Santa Fe/Sorento. I settled for the Outlander. Impressions: 1. Overall quiet driving refinement - minimal road noise. I do hear the engine (typical Mitsubishi sound - having been a previous Mitsu owner). 2. Exceptional gas mileage - I drive within restricted zones (45-50 mph - 70% of the time). I am getting up to 35 MPG. In the city or highway at 65 mph, I am getting 30-33 MPG - with me as the sole occupant. 3. CVT seems flawless so far. This is my 2nd CVT. I drive a Nissan Quest with CVT. 4. Great price - The Rogue 2014 was higher by at least $3K (lowest negotiated price). The Santa Fe / Sorrento was about $2-3K higher as well. 5. 5 Star safety rating 6. Nice engine layout - I work on my own cars. The Nissan was really tight. The Outlander had plenty of space for me to work on. 7. Reliable - this is my 2nd Mitsu. My first was a Lancer and never gave me a CEL even at 166K. I sold it as it reached 11 years. Wish List 1. More storage spaces - there is plenty of space for more cubbies. For example, a drawer underneath the front passenger would be a nice plus. 2. There should a be a separate quick guide for the USB/Bluetooth function. As it is, without reading the thick manual, it is hard to figure out. 3. Build in roof cross rails. The available cross rails/cross bars is a single integrated piece. I only want cross rails - and you cannot order them as a separate piece.

I would recommend this vehicle to a friend: YES

2014 Mitsubishi Outlander SUV Comparison Reviews

*MSRP and Invoice prices displayed do not include applicable gas taxes or destination charges.