cars.com

A member of the
Cars.com family

Log In
McAfee Badge

New 2014 Mitsubishi Outlander Reviews See 2013

More Details & Photos
New 2014 Mitsubishi Outlander

Don't Overpay for Your 2014 Mitsubishi Outlander!

Save Time and Money Online When You Shop with Us

Over the past month we helped 97,581 new car buyers find their perfect car.

Get your best price before going to the dealer!

Consumer Reviews Summary Write a Review

Average Overall Rating:

4.9/5

Value:
5.0/5
Exterior:
4.6/5
Interior:
4.8/5
Comfort:
4.6/5
Performance:
4.7/5
Reliability:
4.9/5

10 of 10 (100%) of consumers said they would recommend this vehicle to a friend.

Overall Rating:
5/5
Value:
5/5
Exterior:
5/5
Interior:
5/5
Comfort:
5/5
Performance:
5/5
Reliability:
5/5

My Outlander

Reviewed by Stoneman
April 08, 2014

Very nice handling SUV and has ample power. Gas mileage is excellent for this size vehicle. Love the backup camera and now that I have one, I would not get another car without it. Excellent Stereo Radio with Bluetooth built in. I am very happy that I stopped and check it out the day that we were car shopping. I think anyone would be pleasantly surprised at all the extras that you get with the purchase of this fine SUV.

I would recommend this vehicle to a friend: YES

Overall Rating:
5/5
Value:
5/5
Exterior:
5/5
Interior:
4/5
Comfort:
5/5
Performance:
4/5
Reliability:
5/5

my new outlander

Reviewed by dodgedav
March 17, 2014

car drives very well on the road, exterior appearance i would put against any other car, its a beautiful car. the 4 cylinder engine has alot to be desired in power, but it gets excellant fuel mileage so i'm happy. the interior is great, i would suggest arm rest on both the front seat backs, the consol arm rest is to far back and is hard to rest your arm on, the car has plenty of storage in back and in the front. all in all i rate it an excellent buy for the money.

I would recommend this vehicle to a friend: YES

Overall Rating:
5/5
Value:
5/5
Exterior:
4/5
Interior:
5/5
Comfort:
4/5
Performance:
5/5
Reliability:
5/5

mitshubishi fan

Reviewed by Impressed new owner
March 13, 2014

This is my first Mitsubishi. I picked it up Dec 28 2013, and I'm happy to say, my family and I made an excellent choice. I test drove the Forester, but my wife didn't like the styling. The Rav4 was nice, the kids wanted more leg room. We finally agreed on the 2014 Outlander. I'm hooked on this vehicle. It handles great and is good on gas. Got the 4 cylinder with the super all wheel control.It has plenty of passing power and the ride is pretty smooth. They did an excellent job with the interior. I picked the cosmic blue. It looks like a small Durango when you look at it from the side. the front grill isn't flashy, but it grows on you. Over all we are very happy with our purchase and highly recommend this vehicle. I've seen one or two others in my town, but none in the city where I work (NYC).You really get your moneys worth with this vehicle. I hope that more people take a look at this outlander before blowing their hard earned money on one of the other competitors. I'm telling you , This car is very surprising :).

I would recommend this vehicle to a friend: YES

Overall Rating:
5/5
Value:
5/5
Exterior:
4/5
Interior:
4/5
Comfort:
5/5
Performance:
5/5
Reliability:
5/5

Excellent SUV for Small Family

Reviewed by Regular Commuter
February 01, 2014

I drive this mainly for work ... but sometimes need that extra 3rd row (I do have a van) but I prefer this can due to its size and MPG. I only bought the ES but it came with fog lights and FUSE bluetooth - which is a nice bonus. Fav features: - Excellent MPG - getting up to 34-35, combined is 28-29 even with all 3 rows used. - Really quiet (excellent insulation) - Very spacious headroom, kneeroom etc. - Great stereo and base features - Smooooooth CVT - Great pickup and go (for my commute) - I got a 3 row SUV for 3K less than the closest 3-row competitor Things to Improve: 1. I do wish they had more colors for the ES - both for the exterior and interior ... otherwise, all you'll get for the interior (for ES) is black, black and black. 2. Needs more lighting for the lower part of the dash. At night, I cannot see the storage area where the 12V port is. 3. Needs more storage areas. There is a LOT of room under the seats ... and maybe have a storage bin under the cushion like the Mazda5. 4. The Info Center should use more verbiage not just symbols.

I would recommend this vehicle to a friend: YES

Overall Rating:
4/5
Value:
5/5
Exterior:
5/5
Interior:
5/5
Comfort:
4/5
Performance:
5/5
Reliability:
4/5

Good vehicle

Reviewed by Brich
January 18, 2014

Sales staff was great and very helpful. Kept my interest at heart. Vehicle looks and drives great. Will take into deep snows. Should last a good number of years.

I would recommend this vehicle to a friend: YES

Overall Rating:
5/5
Value:
5/5
Exterior:
4/5
Interior:
5/5
Comfort:
4/5
Performance:
5/5
Reliability:
5/5

Exceptional Value

Reviewed by Practical Driver
January 15, 2014

Been shopping and comparing for a CUV with 3 rows. I am the only passenger (90%) of the time but it is nice to have the ability have the 3rd row when needed. Primary drivers are - 1. Great gas mileage 2. Available 3rd row 3. Highly reliable I whittled it down to the Rogue (2014), Outlander (2014) and the Santa Fe/Sorento. I settled for the Outlander. Impressions: 1. Overall quiet driving refinement - minimal road noise. I do hear the engine (typical Mitsubishi sound - having been a previous Mitsu owner). 2. Exceptional gas mileage - I drive within restricted zones (45-50 mph - 70% of the time). I am getting up to 35 MPG. In the city or highway at 65 mph, I am getting 30-33 MPG - with me as the sole occupant. 3. CVT seems flawless so far. This is my 2nd CVT. I drive a Nissan Quest with CVT. 4. Great price - The Rogue 2014 was higher by at least $3K (lowest negotiated price). The Santa Fe / Sorrento was about $2-3K higher as well. 5. 5 Star safety rating 6. Nice engine layout - I work on my own cars. The Nissan was really tight. The Outlander had plenty of space for me to work on. 7. Reliable - this is my 2nd Mitsu. My first was a Lancer and never gave me a CEL even at 166K. I sold it as it reached 11 years. Wish List 1. More storage spaces - there is plenty of space for more cubbies. For example, a drawer underneath the front passenger would be a nice plus. 2. There should a be a separate quick guide for the USB/Bluetooth function. As it is, without reading the thick manual, it is hard to figure out. 3. Build in roof cross rails. The available cross rails/cross bars is a single integrated piece. I only want cross rails - and you cannot order them as a separate piece.

I would recommend this vehicle to a friend: YES

Overall Rating:
5/5
Value:
5/5
Exterior:
5/5
Interior:
5/5
Comfort:
5/5
Performance:
5/5
Reliability:
5/5

2014 Mitsubishi Outlander GT

Reviewed by Project.CF
December 27, 2013

Before purchasing the 2014 Outlander GT, I did a lot of research on this vehicle and found out that a lot of consumers are still complaining about the CRAMPED 3rd row seat it has. As a owner of a 2014 Outlander GT, I did my very own test with a drive up to Napa Valley CA with friends and family. The horse power for a V6 is plenty, the 3rd row seats has enough room for 2 adults that are both over 5ft tall and under 6ft tall. Second row seats are comfortable and easy to move forward to make room for the 3rd row seats. As for fuel economy, I got an average of 22.5 miles combined. Also I would like to add is that my car is still under 500 miles so it still has quite a ways until the engine is broken in. If you are looking for a 7 seater vehicle with above fuel economy specs, you need to check out the Outlander. I would recommend this vehicle to everybody, so head down to the dealerships and check them out for yourselves.

I would recommend this vehicle to a friend: YES

Overall Rating:
5/5
Value:
5/5
Exterior:
4/5
Interior:
5/5
Comfort:
4/5
Performance:
3/5
Reliability:
5/5

WOW...Pleasantly surprised!

Reviewed by VolvoOwner
December 18, 2013

Needed a replacement for my fuel-efficient and reliable company car (a sporty-looking 2012 Toyota Camry SE). In addition to driving in heavy traffic in/around metro Chicago, I would now spend time on rough roads in rural Indiana & Central Illinois as well, as part of work. So, a higher ground-clearance SUV was my target...but one that had to be easy to maneuver and park. It would also be used on weekend drives to suburban events along with my wife, kids and on occasion, grandpa & grandma too. As such, priorities were: a Smaller SUV (easy to park), Safety (have owned Volvo and Lexus since 1997 and can't compromise on crash protection!) and Reliability. A stowable 3rd row of seats would be a plus, as well as excellent fuel economy. All within a fairly modest budget. I researched many 2014 Small SUV options then test drove the nice-looking Nissan Rogue, Mazda CX-5 and Hyundai Tucson. I also drove the Honda CR-V, Toyota RAV4, Ford Escape, Jeep Cherokee and lastly, the Mitsubishi Outlander. Wasn't keen on the Outlander's exterior styling at first, but....staying within budget, it managed to hit all my priorities. What then brought it to the top was the combination of superior IIHS safety/crash test scores (it even beat BMW) and the peace of mind from the 5-year bumper-to-bumper warranty with 24/7 roadside assistance (plus a 10-yr powertrain). So, after significant consideration, I surprised myself by purchasing the Outlander (FWD version in SE trim). Owning the Outlander continues to pleasantly surprise me. I readily take advantage of the tight turning radius when driving/looking for parking in the city, enjoy the heated seats & dual auto climate control, love the push start/stop and keyless entry as well as the features of the touchscreen, Bluetooth/hands-free phone and handy back-up camera... all while getting a shocking 28 combined MPG on regular gas (even with 6 or 7 passengers on board)! I find the 18-inch wheels to be one of the most attractive on any SUV, and I do like the overall clean shape. If money was no object, I'd get the elegant & rugged Range Rover. However, for now, I'll settle on this mini-version (lol!).

I would recommend this vehicle to a friend: YES

Overall Rating:
5/5
Value:
5/5
Exterior:
5/5
Interior:
5/5
Comfort:
5/5
Performance:
5/5
Reliability:
5/5

Irresistible functions & features

Reviewed by Mitsu4life
September 28, 2013

I just bought a new 2012 Outlander Sport one year ago having my mother co-sign because of my bad credit. I saw the redesign on the new 2014 Outlanders and was impressed by the features available - especially for safety. Having 4 children, safety is key (and the third row seating made it possible to lug my entire family in one car!). Karla was my sales person and she was very thorough in pointing out all the features and buttons and cool stuff that would keep my family safe! I was able to get into my new 2014 Mitsubishi Outlander for the same monthly payment as my Sport, saving over $100 a year on insurance because of the safety features, and Chad, the Sales Manager, was able to get me into a comfortable payment with a low APR and no co-signer! Paul was the Finance Manager, even though he sold me my Sport last year, and he assured me that with the 10 year powertrain and 5 year bumper to bumper warranties, I wouldn't need to purchase anything additional that would add to my payment since I would already be covered under Mitsubishi's manufacturers warranty. The test driving, customer service, and buying experience was very enjoyable at Fairfield's - I recommend all of my family and friends to Fairfield's Auto Group, they know how to make purchasing a car, a fun and easy transition.

I would recommend this vehicle to a friend: YES

Overall Rating:
5/5
Value:
5/5
Exterior:
5/5
Interior:
5/5
Comfort:
5/5
Performance:
5/5
Reliability:
5/5

Perfect Family Vehicle

Reviewed by Love2014Outlander
July 24, 2013

We purchased our 2014 Outlander on July 6th, 2013 from Don Herring Mitsubishi, Dallas location. They had the color and options we wanted. We had an excellent car buying experience thanks to Johnny Mack and Alan Ray, our sales consultant and General Manager. The experience was actually fun. We got a great price on our trade-in, a great price on the Brand New 2014 Outlander and our interest rate was 1% point lower than Lendingtree offers. We went in to purchase the 2013 model but after taking it home for the evening we realized the overall comfort, ride, interior quality and additional roominess of the 2014 was exactly what we desired. If you drive the 2014 Outlander you will but it. After driving Sorento’s, Sante Fe’s and others I’m convinced the 2014 Outlander is priced much lower than it should be. GREAT JOB Mitsubishi! My wife had 3 requirements for her new Vehicle. 1. 3 Row seating 2. Great Gas Mileage 3. Back up camera We got all that and much more! We were coming from a 2007 Chrysler Pacifica Touring 4.0L and it was a great car for us. I’m confident the Outlander will fit the bill for the next 8 years! Highly recommend this car and Don Herring Mitsubishi! Shopping at Don Herring was a value added experience! Thanks Johnny and Alan!

I would recommend this vehicle to a friend: YES

 

*MSRP and Invoice prices displayed do not include applicable gas taxes or destination charges.