newcars.com®
Log In

New 2014 Mitsubishi Outlander Reviews See 2015

Add to Favorites  | 
More Details & Photos New 2014 Mitsubishi Outlander

Don't Overpay for Your 2014 Mitsubishi Outlander!

Save Time and Money Online When You Shop with Us

Over the past month we helped 97,581 new car buyers find their perfect car.

Get your best price before going to the dealer!

Consumer Reviews Summary Write a Review

Average Overall Rating:

4.7/5

Value:
4.8/5
Exterior:
4.5/5
Interior:
4.5/5
Comfort:
4.4/5
Performance:
4.5/5
Reliability:
4.8/5

19 of 19 (100%) of consumers said they would recommend this vehicle to a friend.

Overall Rating:
4/5
Value:
4/5
Exterior:
3/5
Interior:
2/5
Comfort:
2/5
Performance:
4/5
Reliability:
4/5

Moms Love it and hate it

Reviewed by New Owner to Mitsubishi
September 13, 2014

I was looking for a vehicle to replace my "mom minivan" so the 7 passenger capability without being a huge vehicle sealed the deal for me. I love the keyless entry and start. The sound system is excellent. My blue tooth is tempermental though and sometimes only has sound coming out of one speaker. What made me sit down and write this review is the vehicle is only 6 months old and has 3 small dings in the exterior panels. I have never had a vehicle (this is not my first) be so easily dented. Also hate the cheap black interior. I do not like the drivers seat. I have spent double the time trying to vacuum the "carpet," if that's what you can call it, and seat fabric due to the fact that every piece of dirt and fuzz gets stuck in the fibers and under the cheap plastic pieces. If you have kids, maybe consider a different vehicle.

I would recommend this vehicle to a friend: YES

Overall Rating:
4/5
Value:
5/5
Exterior:
4/5
Interior:
4/5
Comfort:
5/5
Performance:
4/5
Reliability:
5/5

Fun Vehicle

Reviewed by Mitsubishi Fan
September 11, 2014

Purchased this vehicle last month and I'm very happy with my choice. Comfortable to ride in, heated seats, sunroof, back up camera are all my favorites. Easy to get in and out even with multiple passengers. Seats are easy to lift for cleaning or if you drop something between the seats. The hands-free BT system is so convenient and the satellite radio is a bonus. It came with a 3 month free subscription. Affordable and nice for the money.

I would recommend this vehicle to a friend: YES

Overall Rating:
4/5
Value:
4/5
Exterior:
5/5
Interior:
4/5
Comfort:
4/5
Performance:
5/5
Reliability:
5/5

It's okay and great at the same time

Reviewed by Mother of 2
August 30, 2014

First I will state the good: It has great gas mileage, a third row, blue tooth, back up camera, and comfortable seats. And lastly, an awesome warranty. The only bad is the fact I can feel everything. It seriously feels as though I have no front shocks. Every bump I drive over feels like I am being conked. Needless to say, I have a lot more headaches these days. Kind of a real bummer! *I am looking forward to seeing how it handles on our CO roads in the winter with the AWC.

I would recommend this vehicle to a friend: YES

Overall Rating:
4/5
Value:
4/5
Exterior:
4/5
Interior:
4/5
Comfort:
4/5
Performance:
4/5
Reliability:
4/5

Modern Gadgets/Economy

Reviewed by JuanMagas
August 30, 2014

We traded in our 2012 Sport for this 7 passenger Outlander GS 4WD to get more people in. The Outlander has good mpg; overall 30. I like the adaptive cruise control and Lane Deviation Warning. What we don't like is the floor lip and column position for getting in and out of this vehicle. Also, the Sport really looks a lot better in style appearance. And, we lost the adjustable headlight ability. The 3rd row would probably be better if it faced the rear and afforded one the opportunity to enter and exit through the rear of the vehicle. The GPS, Bluetooth, CD Player and Rear camera all seem to be okay, but the GPS seems a bit busy at times and causes some disorientation due to what appears to be split screen conflict. I hope that future models will be improved upon, but it seems to have been the best value at the time for a 7 passenger SUV.

I would recommend this vehicle to a friend: YES

Overall Rating:
5/5
Value:
5/5
Exterior:
5/5
Interior:
5/5
Comfort:
4/5
Performance:
5/5
Reliability:
5/5

Tremendous performer plus best warranty

Reviewed by Sparks
August 10, 2014

Consumer Reports almost put me off this car; their reviewer was completely off the mark. I got my SE w/ leather, Rockford Fosgate sound, plus a DVD, moon roof, navigation and backing cam for about 28K without any of the other discounts. It is quiet, handles like a champ, has the best safety features in its class including lane departure and forward impact warning. It is keyless touch start. It also has an auto lift gate. I have had to learn my way through the complex sound system, but what a performer! It does get about 25 MPG around town, and 30+ on the highway. It has the best warranty in the business, so there is no risk to the consumer here anyway. Remember--Mitsubishi has been as reliable as can be forever. Talk to owners. I traded my excellent performing Outlander Sport for this, and never had a moment's problem with that car over two years either. Bottom line: it is inexpensive with luxury standard add-ons. It is reliable. It has the best warranty in the world. It handles and accelerates very well. It has a third seat if you want it. It has ample cargo room (Consumer Reports did not understand how to fold the second seat completely down). It has the best sound system in any under $75,000 car. I love it. So much so, I sought out a site where I could brag on the car. Oh, and I love the interior and wood detail. I get compliments everywhere I go on it styling inside and out. Again, I think too many reviewers are in the bag for the big players.

I would recommend this vehicle to a friend: YES

Overall Rating:
5/5
Value:
5/5
Exterior:
5/5
Interior:
5/5
Comfort:
5/5
Performance:
4/5
Reliability:
5/5

Great Car Truck

Reviewed by NewMitsuManni
May 27, 2014

It's no co-incadink that all reviews for this small SUV by customers that own this SUV are very very positive. It's fun to drive, it handles well, it looks good and it's narrow and not a monster truck like beast to drive in the city. We have occasional grandparent visits and maybe a playdate or 2 where the third row is nice to have. We looked at all options, and the outlander has the best gas mileage, best safety ratings, best options and best looks. Plus when I work and drive and park in San Francisco, it lets me do so without feeling like I am too big and wide and brawny to get along.

I would recommend this vehicle to a friend: YES

Overall Rating:
4/5
Value:
5/5
Exterior:
5/5
Interior:
4/5
Comfort:
4/5
Performance:
4/5
Reliability:
4/5

BANG FOR THE BUCK

Reviewed by DMF
May 19, 2014

COMPARED THIS TO SEVERAL OTHER COMPACT SUVs: VW , FORD, MAZDA, HYUNDAI. LOOKED STRICTLY AT SUVS WITH A MANUAL TRANSMISSION. THE OUTLANDER SPORT WAS THE MOST BANG FOR THE BUCK, WITH A MSRP THOUSANDS BELOW THE OTHER MODELS. THE EXTERIOR IS INDEED SPORTY LOOKING. THE INTERIOR IS FUNCTIONAL, NOT HEART-POUNDING. IT DOES INCLUDE A USB CONNECTION AND STEERING WHEEL CONTROLS FOR PHONE, RADIO AND CRUISE CONTROL. STANDARD WHEELS ARE 18" ALLOY. THE ENGINE IS A FOUR CYLINDER WITH 148 HP, WHICH IS NOT RACE CAR-LIKE BUT BIG ENOUGH FOR NORMAL DRIVING. ALSO LIKED THAT IT TAKES REGULAR GAS; AFTER HAVING TO USE PREMIUM ON MY VW TIGUAN. THE FIT AND FINISH IS GOOD. SO FAR THE INTERIOR IS QUIET AND FREE OF ANY SHAKES, RATTLES AND OTHER NOISES. ONE ITEM I HAD TO ADD WAS DAYTIME RUNNING LIGHTS; A MUST HAVE. ALSO, IT WOULD BE NICE IF BASE MODELS WERE AVAILABLE WITH A MOONROOF OPTION. OVERALL, VERY HAPPY.

I would recommend this vehicle to a friend: YES

Overall Rating:
5/5
Value:
5/5
Exterior:
4/5
Interior:
4/5
Comfort:
4/5
Performance:
4/5
Reliability:
5/5

1800 miles. so far, great!

Reviewed by Fisherman
May 18, 2014

No problems at all to date. Good gas mileage. like the front wheel drive-all wheel drive feature. Comfortable.

I would recommend this vehicle to a friend: YES

Overall Rating:
5/5
Value:
5/5
Exterior:
4/5
Interior:
5/5
Comfort:
5/5
Performance:
4/5
Reliability:
5/5

Driving Mitsi

Reviewed by MY Mitsi
May 02, 2014

I knew I wanted a Crossover SUV that handled like a car. I have two grandkids, and family members that hubby and I spend lots of quality time with. I didn't want anything too big. I wanted a comfortable, attractive, and safe vehicle. I am not a high- tech person and I don't require all the latest features that some of the competition espouses. What was most important to me was leather seats, a back-up camera, easy access to the vehicle, and the third row of seats. I also love the large mirrors and the radio in my vehicle. The sun-roof is another nice feature. The Outlander is affordable, and it gets good gas mileage. I am very satisfied with this vehicle purchase.

I would recommend this vehicle to a friend: YES

Overall Rating:
5/5
Value:
5/5
Exterior:
5/5
Interior:
5/5
Comfort:
5/5
Performance:
5/5
Reliability:
5/5

My Outlander

Reviewed by Stoneman
April 08, 2014

Very nice handling SUV and has ample power. Gas mileage is excellent for this size vehicle. Love the backup camera and now that I have one, I would not get another car without it. Excellent Stereo Radio with Bluetooth built in. I am very happy that I stopped and check it out the day that we were car shopping. I think anyone would be pleasantly surprised at all the extras that you get with the purchase of this fine SUV.

I would recommend this vehicle to a friend: YES

Mitsubishi Outlander SUV Comparison Reviews

*MSRP and Invoice prices displayed do not include applicable gas taxes or destination charges.