newcars.com®
Log In

New 2014 Mitsubishi Outlander Sport Reviews

Add to Favorites  | 
More Details & Photos New 2014 Mitsubishi Outlander Sport

Don't Overpay for Your 2014 Mitsubishi Outlander Sport!

Save Time and Money Online When You Shop with Us

Over the past month we helped 97,581 new car buyers find their perfect car.

Get your best price before going to the dealer!

Consumer Reviews Summary Write a Review

Average Overall Rating:

4.3/5

Value:
4.5/5
Exterior:
4.7/5
Interior:
4.5/5
Comfort:
4.5/5
Performance:
4.0/5
Reliability:
4.4/5

9 of 11 (81%) of consumers said they would recommend this vehicle to a friend.

Overall Rating:
2/5
Value:
2/5
Exterior:
3/5
Interior:
3/5
Comfort:
2/5
Performance:
2/5
Reliability:
2/5

Toyota

Reviewed by Bad selection
June 19, 2014

I bought two months ago a outlander sport, but has a defect that the air conditioning compressor turns on and off frequently and makes a very loud noise. I went to the service and all outlander do this very unpleasant noise for a new car, That looks like an older car. Finally the Regional Manager said that that is normal, must be normal for him because he does not have to support that noise.

I would recommend this vehicle to a friend: NO

Overall Rating:
5/5
Value:
5/5
Exterior:
5/5
Interior:
5/5
Comfort:
5/5
Performance:
4/5
Reliability:
5/5

Update

Reviewed by JM
May 11, 2014

2014 Outlander Sport ES CVT AWD I just did a 240 mile trip that's was 80% Highway-20 % city and got 31 mpg combined trip average with 675 pounds of passengers and the AC running in 2wd mode only. I drive it with no care to register good mileage. Its fun and toss-able and the flat seats are great on my bad back. At idle I can not even here the 2.0 L run and I have good hearing. The ride is breaking in nicely and it handles the rough stuff better and smoother them my 13 Accord Sport. Very happy with it. Very fun to drive. If they put in the 2.4L from the larger Outlander there would be no penalty on MPG and with a few tweaks it would be a segment leader. here most dealers only have 1 or 2 on the lot. Word is getting out quickly. That means higher prices in the future.

I would recommend this vehicle to a friend: YES

Overall Rating:
2/5
Value:
3/5
Exterior:
5/5
Interior:
4/5
Comfort:
4/5
Performance:
3/5
Reliability:
3/5

watch out

Reviewed by kimtom
May 06, 2014

we own a 2012 Outlander Sport (built in Japan) and had no issues in 2013 (late) I got a 2014 for myself, fully loaded SE. what a mistake!! the car will surge at idle with auto climate control on, all the samples at dealer did same thing. (junk) so far, my wiper fluid works on driver side only when it wants. I regret getting this vehicle, the dealer has only one mechanic for Mitsubishis so it is a long wait to get anything checked. There is definitely something wrong with the 2014 idle surge (in auto climate) the 2012 does not experience any issue, for a new car only a few months old, I had more issues than any other, I have ever owned (that's about 8 new cars!1) NOTE: 2012 were built in Japan , 2013, 2014 are built in Bloomington , IL by UAW, which I guess says it all. Good luck!

I would recommend this vehicle to a friend: NO

Overall Rating:
5/5
Value:
5/5
Exterior:
5/5
Interior:
5/5
Comfort:
5/5
Performance:
5/5
Reliability:
5/5

So pretty with all the extra toys

Reviewed by Love My New Car
April 08, 2014

I love the ambient lighting on the moon roof and the seats are fantastic on my hips. The middle console is very user friendly and has 2 pockets and it telescopes, as well, just great! Very roomy for a single person and seats 5.

I would recommend this vehicle to a friend: YES

Overall Rating:
3/5
Value:
5/5
Exterior:
4/5
Interior:
3/5
Comfort:
4/5
Performance:
2/5
Reliability:
3/5

Sport

Reviewed by Car Seeker
March 31, 2014

Price range was decent from $21,000 to $27,000. well equip. Found Engine to be noisy as to most vehicles owned. The car isn't build for speed. Its a turtle ,roomy with decent stereo, Nice dash layout with blue tooth and other nice things like usb ports and power outlets, For the money not bad,

I would recommend this vehicle to a friend: YES

Overall Rating:
5/5
Value:
5/5
Exterior:
5/5
Interior:
4/5
Comfort:
5/5
Performance:
4/5
Reliability:
5/5

One Year Review

Reviewed by Daily Driver
February 22, 2014

I wanted to give a one year review of living with the SE FWD version of this small SUV. I bought the 2013 model last February and there have been a few changes for 2014, but most things are the same, so here are some notes for you potential buyers: Reliability: 19,000 miles and no problems at all. I have noticed that in -10 degree or colder weather that the CVT may stay in a little higher "gear" until the car is warmed up. Mileage: I drive 80% highway and 20% city and in the Summer I average about 32 mpg at the pump and about 28 mpg in the Winter. Favorite Features: rain sensing wipers, HID headlights, push button start/stop ignition and the stereo. I was surprised at how good the sound is for a pretty economical vehicle. Also, the outside looks are sharp and stand out from the crowd. Least Favorite: The interior could use a little more color, but when I bought the car I also looked at other small SUVS and a dark interior is a consistent theme across the board by other manufacturers too. The dashboard MPG meter consistently underestimates actual mileage by 2-3 MPG from what you actually get if you do the math yourself after filling up. I hope Mitsubishi recalibrates this in future models. Overall I have been pretty happy with the car. I needed something reliable that would not break my budget and the good looks of this small SUV are an extra bonus.

I would recommend this vehicle to a friend: YES

Overall Rating:
5/5
Value:
5/5
Exterior:
5/5
Interior:
5/5
Comfort:
5/5
Performance:
4/5
Reliability:
5/5

What The Other Guy Said

Reviewed by JM
February 10, 2014

I purchased a 2014 Outlander Sport ES CVT 4wd for my parents who are 75 and 80 years old for a reliable, safe, run around vehicle. I got the all weather package with remote start and the all weather mats. Mitsu even included the cloth mats free and put them in the trunk. What the other guy said for 2013 reviews is if you went by the car rags you would not buy one of these. That's right but they are wrong or receive no payola from Mitsu. I can compare it to a world class 2013 Honda Accord Sport I own. The 2.0 L engine with the new balance shaft and more insulation for 2014 is every bit as smooth and quiet as the Honda. Hondas are not dead silent inside but the norm in the under $25K range. The Outlander Sport impressed me as a whole package. You do get a dead zone from 20-30 mph with the CVT. I see that in the Honda too. All you do is slightly tip into the accelerator and its a non issue. Flooring it creates a worse situation. I really think its geared for city driving where you get up to 25-30 mph and that's the speed limit and it cruises like this to save gas. On the highway unlike you have been told the CVT always puts you at the best rpm range for hilly terrain and for this I'd have no other. Here in MD we have large hills and the Sport loaded with 850 pounds of people and gear has no issues with highway driving or hills. Its a fun CUV and can be tossed around nicely. Mine came fitted with South Korean made Nexen tires which are quiet and M&S rated with 440 tread wear and Both A grades for Temp and Traction. I had a chance to drive it in two ice and snow storms and it was flawless. The 4wd is super easy to operate for Auto mode and 4wd lock. It started right up in severe weather below 10F and the HVAC system is absolutely superb. My Honda takes far longer to defrost and heat. This Mitsu breaks all records for the above and I've had over 25 cars. I find the front seats very comfortable and I'm 6' 1" 275 pounds. Much better then my Honda or Ford F350. Everything is easy to reach and the tilt telescopic steering wheel has a large adjustment range. The ES does not have auto headlights. No big deal. It offers an auto shut off feature instead. "Soft touch" is the latest automotive buzzword. Nothing inside looks cheap to me with exception of the door locks near the door handle- they should be color coded to help you see if the door is locked or in unlocked position. Soft touch is a bunch of malarkey. If your going to use a car soft touch is not as durable and does not clean well. Enough said. The center computer read out is easy to see and understand. I do not think the mileage and MPG readings are accurate however. It seems to float around rather quickly. We shall see in more use. Mixed driving I'm getting in the cold high 20's low 30's mpg. I expected more when I get in 2wd mode solely. You do see an "Eco" light come on but its automatic and unlike Honda or Toyota you do not push a button. I think its more of a novelty however. I'm impressed with this little runabout and plan on getting one soon for myself. What you read in the car magazines and what you get is miles apart. I spent $20,500 and the MSRP was just under $24K. What a bargain. It reminds me of the 2012 and under Ford Escapes- fun and easy to drive although I suspect the Mitsu will be more durable.

I would recommend this vehicle to a friend: YES

Overall Rating:
5/5
Value:
5/5
Exterior:
5/5
Interior:
5/5
Comfort:
5/5
Performance:
5/5
Reliability:
5/5

so far, so good!!!

Reviewed by vkramer
December 28, 2013

I have driven a Mitsubishi (same vehicle) for the last 20+ years. I absolutely hated to give it up (actually, it's still "in the family" since I gave it to my cousin!! The only "luxury" it had was power steering! Since this car was so great (still runs well but could no longer get parts for it when something did go wrong), I decided to stick with a Mitsubishi, The Outlander Sport has the amenities I wanted (plus a whole lot more!!) for the best price I could find. It is plenty big for us (elderly couple ages 66 and 82) and handles nicely. It's a little intimidating for me since I have never driven anything but a standard transmission---much less all the other "goodies" on this car. I love driving it and am gradually learning what all these things do and how to operate them!!! I hope and pray this car will last as long as my other one so I will never have to buy another car. If it does, it should outlive me---which is exactly what I want!!! I really can't address reliability since it's so new. I know I haven't had it very long, but, so far, I love it!!!

I would recommend this vehicle to a friend: YES

Overall Rating:
5/5
Value:
5/5
Exterior:
5/5
Interior:
5/5
Comfort:
5/5
Performance:
5/5
Reliability:
5/5

New vehicle purchased

Reviewed by Newvehiclepurchaser
December 23, 2013

Good experience, would recommend. I've never owned a Mitsubishi so the jury is still out on reliability.

I would recommend this vehicle to a friend: YES

Overall Rating:
5/5
Value:
5/5
Exterior:
5/5
Interior:
5/5
Comfort:
5/5
Performance:
5/5
Reliability:
5/5

so new really hard to tell

Reviewed by bill
December 19, 2013

Little SUV is almost everything I expected, I was under the assumption it came with a 6 in dash CD changer, but no, they stopped with the 2013 model. Gas mileage is around 27mpg in town and a little freeway driving. not bad. 148 HP is plenty for this vehicle, it has good pickup and go. Got the SE with the moon roof and some extra goodies. It's my 50th car so I hope it last a long time.

I would recommend this vehicle to a friend: YES

2014 Mitsubishi Outlander Sport SUV Comparison Reviews

*MSRP and Invoice prices displayed do not include applicable gas taxes or destination charges.