newcars.com®
Log In

New 2014 Mitsubishi Mirage Reviews

Add to Favorites  | 
More Details & Photos New 2014 Mitsubishi Mirage

Don't Overpay for Your 2014 Mitsubishi Mirage!

Save Time and Money Online When You Shop with Us

Over the past month we helped 97,581 new car buyers find their perfect car.

Get your best price before going to the dealer!

Consumer Reviews Summary Write a Review

Average Overall Rating:

4.4/5

Value:
4.5/5
Exterior:
4.2/5
Interior:
4.0/5
Comfort:
4.1/5
Performance:
3.9/5
Reliability:
4.6/5

15 of 17 (88%) of consumers said they would recommend this vehicle to a friend.

Overall Rating:
5/5
Value:
5/5
Exterior:
5/5
Interior:
5/5
Comfort:
5/5
Performance:
5/5
Reliability:
5/5

Greatest gas mileage

Reviewed by Teritootles
May 14, 2014

Really enjoy this car. I drive over 100 a day, on the Hwy and mountain roads.Great on gas nice smooth ride...plus its Red!

I would recommend this vehicle to a friend: YES

Overall Rating:
2/5
Value:
2/5
Exterior:
2/5
Interior:
2/5
Comfort:
3/5
Performance:
3/5
Reliability:
2/5

Junk

Reviewed by Vince
May 14, 2014

stupidly loud engine sounds like a chainsaw is constantly annoying, and sounds like it wants to explode. The interior rattles over ever bump, steering is way to light, causing unexpected sharp turns and over steer. The dumbest possible controls you can get. Save yourself the agony and just go buy a Hyundai if you want fuel efficiency, got a new rental 8 hours after having this pile, same problems with the second one. Mitsubishi lives up to their reputation of junk cars again!

I would recommend this vehicle to a friend: NO

Overall Rating:
5/5
Value:
5/5
Exterior:
3/5
Interior:
4/5
Comfort:
4/5
Performance:
4/5
Reliability:
5/5

Great Value

Reviewed by Kirk
April 26, 2014

Unbelievably low price of 13,300, loaded. Very reliablye and awesome gas mileage IF you drive reasonably and gradual acceleration. The divergence between "hot rodding" gas mileage and "taking it easy" gas mileage is larger than any other vehicle I have owned. I have gotten 60+ on long trips going 55 mph, but only 30 mpg driving like a maniac.

I would recommend this vehicle to a friend: YES

Overall Rating:
4/5
Value:
5/5
Exterior:
5/5
Interior:
4/5
Comfort:
4/5
Performance:
4/5
Reliability:
5/5

What a Relief!

Reviewed by ssbtrk
April 26, 2014

This was the best and easiest experience I've ever had buying a car! The car has everything you need inside at the base model and has a surprising amount of room inside. The model I purchased is a stick shift, so the 'slow start' doesn't bother me at all. Also, I think the complaints of too much engine noise are overrated...don't notice it at all when I'm listening to music or podcasts, which is almost all the time. I got the red model which makes it very stylish. It can easily maintain speed and maneuver into areas and parking spaces my old car could not. I would recommend Christopher's Dodge World (MH) to purchase you Mirage in a heartbeat. I purchased my Mitsubishi Mirage through the internet. I especially liked that everything was straight forward (just taxes and normal dealer fees) and above board (unlike other dealers that had "hidden fees" even though I was looking at specific vehicles w/VIN #'s). The process was quick and easy...picked the car on a Saturday afternoon and it was delivered the following Wednesday with paperwork ready to go-- when it would fit into my work schedule. I will recommend the same car and process to my daughter when she is ready to buy her car.

I would recommend this vehicle to a friend: YES

Overall Rating:
4/5
Value:
5/5
Exterior:
5/5
Interior:
4/5
Comfort:
4/5
Performance:
5/5
Reliability:
5/5

Economist

Reviewed by Economist
April 10, 2014

I love the car. The seats are black and purple so I felf I had to buy a black car. The other model the seat were silver and black but I couldn't get the features I wanted.

I would recommend this vehicle to a friend: YES

Overall Rating:
4/5
Value:
5/5
Exterior:
5/5
Interior:
4/5
Comfort:
4/5
Performance:
3/5
Reliability:
5/5

2014 Best Economical Hatchback Car

Reviewed by Tom
April 06, 2014

Have owned Mirage for less then a month and am overall very happy. The 77 hp 3 cylinder engine and variable transmision work flawlessly. O.K. acceleration getting on highway and cruising at 60 or 70 with average rpm not a problem. Averaging about 40 mpg. This 2014 car brand new lists for over $15,000 but I paid less. However other small cars list up to $20,000. I bought the basic model which included 7 air bags, including one for drivers' knees, automatic air, tilt steering wheel, UPc connector, bluetooth, stability contro, remote mirrors, a powerful radio with ipod connection, power remote door locks, fantastic dispay with 7 (I believe) settings showing everything including serviice times and average mpg. and other features, great comfortable average size seats with back tilt at least in front. Back seats fold and are quite thin. Car rides and corners well. While driving it seems like you are in a much larger car. Now for the complaints which are very few. 1.) Sloping hood prevents seeing any of the front of the car while driving. 2.) Yes, they could have given it another 20 hp or so. 3). Power steering a bit light and loose for this small of a car. $.) No outside air temp. with the automatic air. At least i can' find it. Since I live on an island, I find it a great "Island Car" but prefer to use my larger car for road trips although I could survive with driving this car all the time.

I would recommend this vehicle to a friend: YES

Overall Rating:
4/5
Value:
5/5
Exterior:
4/5
Interior:
3/5
Comfort:
3/5
Performance:
3/5
Reliability:
4/5

Daily Driver

Reviewed by Mileage much higher than EPA estimate
April 05, 2014

I don't see how it is even possible to drive this car on the highway and only get 42 mpg. I get 45 mpg driving through the mountains, and 50+ on flat terrain. I live in the mountains, so even short trips always involve steep hills, and I average 43 mpg overall. I've driven the car in the Richmond area and got 51mpg for that trip. I have the DE model with manual transmission. The car isn't super comfortable, but I've driven it on multiple 3-hour trips without any problems. High winds do blow it around a bit, as they would any car that is this light. This car cost me just over one half of what I paid for my Prius, and it's mileage is only a few mpg's lower. Ignore the reviews by magazine editors who would never even consider buying a sub-$30k car. If you read the reviews of people who have driven and purchased the car, you will see that they are always above 4.5 stars. If you want a cheap, high-mpg car that is reliable and even kind of cute, buy the Mirage.

I would recommend this vehicle to a friend: YES

Overall Rating:
5/5
Value:
5/5
Exterior:
3/5
Interior:
5/5
Comfort:
4/5
Performance:
4/5
Reliability:
5/5

best car for money

Reviewed by great car
February 17, 2014

love the car rented one and found out it only had a 3 cylinder engine I was impressed with the power ride comfort for a small car I Compare the ride to my ford focus

I would recommend this vehicle to a friend: YES

Overall Rating:
5/5
Value:
5/5
Exterior:
5/5
Interior:
5/5
Comfort:
4/5
Performance:
4/5
Reliability:
5/5

Excellent Little Car

Reviewed by Green Guy
February 02, 2014

First the cons: While using hands free calling, you can't see the clock. The car is very light so is susceptible to wind. That's it, I love everything else about this car. The ES model comes with an impressive list of features. The blue-tooth connectivity with steering wheel controls works excellently. Even at highway speeds people can't tell you're using it and it's nice for streaming music too. There's plenty of room in the back for me at 5'9". Last tank I averaged 44mpg combined (cvt transmission) and on highway have averaged 56mpg over 25 miles.

I would recommend this vehicle to a friend: YES

Overall Rating:
4/5
Value:
5/5
Exterior:
4/5
Interior:
4/5
Comfort:
4/5
Performance:
3/5
Reliability:
5/5

A great car to own!

Reviewed by Jules
January 28, 2014

I had a 02 lancer es and really liked what it did for me. I decided to take the mirage out when i was in the showroom and was delighted with the drive. Its not meant to be a power house on speed but it drove real nice and was fun! I made this my first brand new car and have had it for a month now and have to say i love what it does. The gasoline i save on this car is amazing compared to my 02 lancer and the warranty is amazing. I went with the DE model because it really has enough for a car. I was looking for an affordable, reliable car and i am please with what i found. It also has done well in the snow where i have already encountered bad weather and has not let me down!

I would recommend this vehicle to a friend: YES

2014 Mitsubishi Mirage Coupe/Hatchback Comparison Reviews

*MSRP and Invoice prices displayed do not include applicable gas taxes or destination charges.