newcars.com®
Log In

New 2014 Mercedes-Benz CLA-Class Reviews

Add to Favorites  | 
More Details & Photos New 2014 Mercedes-Benz CLA-Class

Don't Overpay for Your 2014 Mercedes-Benz CLA-Class!

Save Time and Money Online When You Shop with Us

Over the past month we helped 97,581 new car buyers find their perfect car.

Get your best price before going to the dealer!

Consumer Reviews Summary Write a Review

Average Overall Rating:

4.3/5

Value:
4.4/5
Exterior:
4.8/5
Interior:
4.6/5
Comfort:
4.5/5
Performance:
4.6/5
Reliability:
4.5/5

24 of 27 (88%) of consumers said they would recommend this vehicle to a friend.

Overall Rating:
3/5
Value:
5/5
Exterior:
5/5
Interior:
5/5
Comfort:
5/5
Performance:
5/5
Reliability:
2/5

Love the car but it's high maintenance

Reviewed by Car Crazy
September 02, 2014

3 trips to the Service Dept and there's only 1000 miles on the car. Got the car in June 2014 and 3 days into driving it, the engine light went on. A software patch was applied that fixed it. This should have been caught at the factory as it was a known issue in April. Then the dashboard started making noise and another trip to Service. It wasn't fixed because I was worried about them removing the dashboard. 9/2/14 and the "Auxiliary Battery Malfunction" error appeared on the dash. Now it needs that battery replaced. I LOVE everything about this car except the fact that I'm constantly taking it in for service. It's definitely high maintenance, a high price to pay to enjoy driving it so much.

I would recommend this vehicle to a friend: NO

Overall Rating:
5/5
Value:
5/5
Exterior:
5/5
Interior:
5/5
Comfort:
5/5
Performance:
5/5
Reliability:
5/5

LOVE the car

Reviewed by Northern Nights
August 29, 2014

A Mercedes Benz was my dream car. I wanted an affordable and unique style. It is perfect. It definitely stands out from the rest. I love it. The ride is smooth. I do not have any complaints. Right car. Right Price.

I would recommend this vehicle to a friend: YES

Overall Rating:
5/5
Value:
5/5
Exterior:
5/5
Interior:
5/5
Comfort:
5/5
Performance:
5/5
Reliability:
5/5

Perfect for Emptinesters

Reviewed by Sensible Driver
August 25, 2014

After going back and forth for months (SUV vs Sedan, Gas hog vs. Gas Sipper, Style vs. Functionality, Customer Experience vs Marginal Support, etc) we finally find a vehicle that met all out expectations. The car is right for us. Emptinesters with active lifestyle who don't want the larger vehicle mind-set. First the quality, its first rate - there are no glaring glitchy gimmicks or unnecessary details. Though I do love the ambient lighting. Secondly, 38 MPG without giving up the horsepower and its nimble and surefooted enough to move when you need it too. Who wouldn't love that?! Sure, the ECO system gets some getting used to -- but 38 MPG!! I'm no idiot!! Lastly, the styling and design -- wow, its got great looks, the right lines, the right angles and the right amount of room for us.

I would recommend this vehicle to a friend: YES

Overall Rating:
4/5
Value:
4/5
Exterior:
5/5
Interior:
5/5
Comfort:
4/5
Performance:
5/5
Reliability:
3/5

Addition Review @ 6600 Mileage

Reviewed by NK_ATL
July 25, 2014

Overall, the car still hold up pretty well. I have one major issue that I have not yet done anything about it. Actually, I don't know what I can do about it. The problem is the nav screen and all along the center stack are squeaking and rattling over rough roads. It's very annoying at time. I usually hold or squeeze the screen when I drive over certain part of my route because of this issue. Fuel mileage is still pretty good. I went on 3-day GA-SC road trip and I filled up the car twice and once for half a tank. Driver seat already shows a bit sign of wear. No problem. Auto Start/Stop function still works fine. I get caught in a wrong momentum every now and then, which causes the engine and transmission to act out of sync. Like having a hiccup, I can't really explain it. Besides all these little things, I still enjoy my car. It looks great and unlike anything else. Trunk is large. Backseat is limited but accommodating when needed. I am considering trade it in for another one without Multimedia package but add 4Matic system.

I would recommend this vehicle to a friend: YES

Overall Rating:
5/5
Value:
5/5
Exterior:
5/5
Interior:
5/5
Comfort:
5/5
Performance:
5/5
Reliability:
5/5

Love this car

Reviewed by New Benz Owner
June 29, 2014

I've had the car for several weeks now and driven it for about 1,000 miles. Great handling, power and ride. It looks great and I get a lot of looks. I'm 44 years old and would have never considered a Benz until I stopped in and test drove this car. I'm very happy with the purchase and hope to be driving it for years to come. BTW, it is worth the price..

I would recommend this vehicle to a friend: YES

Overall Rating:
4/5
Value:
4/5
Exterior:
5/5
Interior:
4/5
Comfort:
4/5
Performance:
5/5
Reliability:
4/5

Beware of gas tank door.

Reviewed by Tae
June 13, 2014

I brought my car in April. Last week I noticed my gas tank door was hanging off. I pushed it back on. I took it to the dealer who said the warranty would not replace it. The gas door cover is not bolted on. It is just barely attached and can easily come off if it is pushed too hard. BEWARE!!

I would recommend this vehicle to a friend: YES

Overall Rating:
4/5
Value:
5/5
Exterior:
5/5
Interior:
5/5
Comfort:
4/5
Performance:
5/5
Reliability:
5/5

Awesome but rough

Reviewed by 007
May 01, 2014

This car is awesome in every way, exterior, interior, gas milage, power when you need it. My ONLY complaint is that it does not absorb bumps well. The suspension is very tight which is great for handling but rough on your tail bone.

I would recommend this vehicle to a friend: YES

Overall Rating:
5/5
Value:
5/5
Exterior:
5/5
Interior:
5/5
Comfort:
5/5
Performance:
5/5
Reliability:
5/5

Good car

Reviewed by New car buyer
April 25, 2014

Read a lot of reviews about this one. It's a mercedes afterall, so having to shell out more money for more premium options is not all that surprising. Being 5'3 the space isn't a problem at all. Was considering the mazda 6 and that car ended up costing about the same as the merc with all the options I wanted... so went for merc anyway.

I would recommend this vehicle to a friend: YES

Overall Rating:
2/5
Value:
1/5
Exterior:
5/5
Interior:
5/5
Comfort:
5/5
Performance:
1/5
Reliability:
4/5

Don't Believe The Hype

Reviewed by Preference Toward German Engineered Cars
April 22, 2014

Significantly underpowered and greatly overvalued. Looks sleek, and rides comfortably in the front of the cabin, but any "friends" that are over 5' 7" tall that you place in the back seats will be friends no longer. Basically an insult to the MB line, and had another manufacturer crafted this vechicle for MB they would have been sued for malpractice. Attempts to be the low-cost intro into the line, but is just a gimick to lure prospective buyers into the showroom to allow the upselling to begin. Low class for such a classy line. Much better off with the V6 C300.

I would recommend this vehicle to a friend: NO

Overall Rating:
5/5
Value:
5/5
Exterior:
5/5
Interior:
5/5
Comfort:
4/5
Performance:
5/5
Reliability:
5/5

2014 Mercedes-Benz CLA 250 Review

Reviewed by Rose K.
April 20, 2014

When you think Mercedes-Benz, you think expensive. That was true, until Mercedes created the CLA. It’s a first generation 4 door 5 passenger vehicle that has a starting price of just under 30 thousand. This vehicle has really stirred up the market, now Audi has introduced the A3 and BMW the 320i. It’s also the first ever Mercedes in the states to have front wheel drive, all-wheel drive is also available. They even made an AMG version of the CLA that’s truly amazing. It’s the most powerful 4 cylinder engine ever made, producing 355 horsepower and 332 pound-feet. When you first lay your eyes upon the CLA, you see why it’s truly one of the best looking cars on the road. It has that sleek coupe design with jaw dropping curves. It’s like they first deigned the body then made each and every aspect of the exterior to perfectly fit and flow with the shape of the body. The Rear lights look absolutely stunning at night and the front head lights are curved to fit perfectly within the front of the car. It also has a drag coefficient of just 0.23, Mercedes claims it's the most slippery shape in the production-car world. If you take a look at the CLA, you will think it’s a much more expensive car then it really is with its long CLS look. The interior is where you spend all your time as a driver and it’s really important that it’s comfortable and calming. Mercedes has always been known for high quality interiors and they have not slacked off with the CLA. The great thing about buying a 30 thousand dollar car from a manufacture that also makes 200 thousand dollar cars, is that all of the research and high quality parts that are used on that 200 thousand dollar car, carry over to the 30 thousand dollar CLA. It’s really a stunning interior with soft touch leather and a sleek interior design. The steering wheel is very fun and comfortable to grasp, you will also be comfortable in the 11 way power adjustable seats. In order to give your CLA that personal touch, they give you 9 color choices, 3 wheal choices, 4 trim choices and 6 leather choices. During the later hours, you will enjoy the evening lighting package that has accent lights throughout the interior of the vehicle. The multimedia system is standard and is easy to use with the central control button. The most notable features are Bluetooth streaming, hands free calling and HD radio. Overall the interior is well thought out and keeps the driver comfortable and informed. Mercedes has introduced a new 2.0-liter, direct-injected, turbocharged four-cylinder engine, producing 208 horsepower and 258 pound-feet, the CLA 250 doesn't lack for power. They also created the most powerful 4 cylinder engine for the AMG version, producing 355 horsepower and 332 pound-feet. This car moves to 60 in just 6.5 seconds and has a top speed of 149 mph. What they were able to achieve with this new engine is nothing short of astonishing, to get that much power out of a 2.0-liter and get 28 City, 36 Highway while not throwing performance out the window. All this power is mounted to a seven-speed dual-clutch transmission, the low-end torque can put lumps in the shifts, and the gearbox up shifts rapidly to obtain the best possible gas mileage numbers; it can be cycled out of Eco mode into Sport or Manual shift modes, which clean up the responses to the point where some turbo lag becomes evident. Shifts are quicker over 30 mph or so, where the action melts into the momentum. However this 7 speed is really fun transmission to have especially on those curvy roads. All versions of the CLA have electric power steering and it really works well for this car. Nice and easy driving at low speeds and stiff at highway speeds. That’s clearly one of the big advantages to this type of steering, however for a true enthusiast, you may not be satisfied. The ride is comfortable while not letting you get out of touch with the road. Overall you will be really happy behind the wheel of the all new CLA. The all new CLA was a bold move for Mercedes and it paid off. It’s like a one size fits all car, being affordable, beautiful and fun to drive while keeping that MB prestige. This car really appeals to everyone, since there is always something to like about it.

I would recommend this vehicle to a friend: YES

2014 Mercedes-Benz CLA-Class Sedan Comparison Reviews

*MSRP and Invoice prices displayed do not include applicable gas taxes or destination charges.