newcars.com®
Log In

New 2014 Mercedes-Benz CLA-Class Reviews

Add to Favorites  | 
More Details & Photos New 2014 Mercedes-Benz CLA-Class

Don't Overpay for Your 2014 Mercedes-Benz CLA-Class!

Save Time and Money Online When You Shop with Us

Over the past month we helped 97,581 new car buyers find their perfect car.

Get your best price before going to the dealer!

Consumer Reviews Summary Write a Review

Average Overall Rating:

4.3/5

Value:
4.3/5
Exterior:
4.8/5
Interior:
4.5/5
Comfort:
4.4/5
Performance:
4.5/5
Reliability:
4.6/5

20 of 22 (90%) of consumers said they would recommend this vehicle to a friend.

Overall Rating:
4/5
Value:
4/5
Exterior:
5/5
Interior:
4/5
Comfort:
4/5
Performance:
5/5
Reliability:
4/5

Beware of gas tank door.

Reviewed by Tae
June 13, 2014

I brought my car in April. Last week I noticed my gas tank door was hanging off. I pushed it back on. I took it to the dealer who said the warranty would not replace it. The gas door cover is not bolted on. It is just barely attached and can easily come off if it is pushed too hard. BEWARE!!

I would recommend this vehicle to a friend: YES

Overall Rating:
4/5
Value:
5/5
Exterior:
5/5
Interior:
5/5
Comfort:
4/5
Performance:
5/5
Reliability:
5/5

Awesome but rough

Reviewed by 007
May 01, 2014

This car is awesome in every way, exterior, interior, gas milage, power when you need it. My ONLY complaint is that it does not absorb bumps well. The suspension is very tight which is great for handling but rough on your tail bone.

I would recommend this vehicle to a friend: YES

Overall Rating:
5/5
Value:
5/5
Exterior:
5/5
Interior:
5/5
Comfort:
5/5
Performance:
5/5
Reliability:
5/5

Good car

Reviewed by New car buyer
April 25, 2014

Read a lot of reviews about this one. It's a mercedes afterall, so having to shell out more money for more premium options is not all that surprising. Being 5'3 the space isn't a problem at all. Was considering the mazda 6 and that car ended up costing about the same as the merc with all the options I wanted... so went for merc anyway.

I would recommend this vehicle to a friend: YES

Overall Rating:
2/5
Value:
1/5
Exterior:
5/5
Interior:
5/5
Comfort:
5/5
Performance:
1/5
Reliability:
4/5

Don't Believe The Hype

Reviewed by Preference Toward German Engineered Cars
April 22, 2014

Significantly underpowered and greatly overvalued. Looks sleek, and rides comfortably in the front of the cabin, but any "friends" that are over 5' 7" tall that you place in the back seats will be friends no longer. Basically an insult to the MB line, and had another manufacturer crafted this vechicle for MB they would have been sued for malpractice. Attempts to be the low-cost intro into the line, but is just a gimick to lure prospective buyers into the showroom to allow the upselling to begin. Low class for such a classy line. Much better off with the V6 C300.

I would recommend this vehicle to a friend: NO

Overall Rating:
5/5
Value:
5/5
Exterior:
5/5
Interior:
5/5
Comfort:
4/5
Performance:
5/5
Reliability:
5/5

2014 Mercedes-Benz CLA 250 Review

Reviewed by Rose K.
April 20, 2014

When you think Mercedes-Benz, you think expensive. That was true, until Mercedes created the CLA. It’s a first generation 4 door 5 passenger vehicle that has a starting price of just under 30 thousand. This vehicle has really stirred up the market, now Audi has introduced the A3 and BMW the 320i. It’s also the first ever Mercedes in the states to have front wheel drive, all-wheel drive is also available. They even made an AMG version of the CLA that’s truly amazing. It’s the most powerful 4 cylinder engine ever made, producing 355 horsepower and 332 pound-feet. When you first lay your eyes upon the CLA, you see why it’s truly one of the best looking cars on the road. It has that sleek coupe design with jaw dropping curves. It’s like they first deigned the body then made each and every aspect of the exterior to perfectly fit and flow with the shape of the body. The Rear lights look absolutely stunning at night and the front head lights are curved to fit perfectly within the front of the car. It also has a drag coefficient of just 0.23, Mercedes claims it's the most slippery shape in the production-car world. If you take a look at the CLA, you will think it’s a much more expensive car then it really is with its long CLS look. The interior is where you spend all your time as a driver and it’s really important that it’s comfortable and calming. Mercedes has always been known for high quality interiors and they have not slacked off with the CLA. The great thing about buying a 30 thousand dollar car from a manufacture that also makes 200 thousand dollar cars, is that all of the research and high quality parts that are used on that 200 thousand dollar car, carry over to the 30 thousand dollar CLA. It’s really a stunning interior with soft touch leather and a sleek interior design. The steering wheel is very fun and comfortable to grasp, you will also be comfortable in the 11 way power adjustable seats. In order to give your CLA that personal touch, they give you 9 color choices, 3 wheal choices, 4 trim choices and 6 leather choices. During the later hours, you will enjoy the evening lighting package that has accent lights throughout the interior of the vehicle. The multimedia system is standard and is easy to use with the central control button. The most notable features are Bluetooth streaming, hands free calling and HD radio. Overall the interior is well thought out and keeps the driver comfortable and informed. Mercedes has introduced a new 2.0-liter, direct-injected, turbocharged four-cylinder engine, producing 208 horsepower and 258 pound-feet, the CLA 250 doesn't lack for power. They also created the most powerful 4 cylinder engine for the AMG version, producing 355 horsepower and 332 pound-feet. This car moves to 60 in just 6.5 seconds and has a top speed of 149 mph. What they were able to achieve with this new engine is nothing short of astonishing, to get that much power out of a 2.0-liter and get 28 City, 36 Highway while not throwing performance out the window. All this power is mounted to a seven-speed dual-clutch transmission, the low-end torque can put lumps in the shifts, and the gearbox up shifts rapidly to obtain the best possible gas mileage numbers; it can be cycled out of Eco mode into Sport or Manual shift modes, which clean up the responses to the point where some turbo lag becomes evident. Shifts are quicker over 30 mph or so, where the action melts into the momentum. However this 7 speed is really fun transmission to have especially on those curvy roads. All versions of the CLA have electric power steering and it really works well for this car. Nice and easy driving at low speeds and stiff at highway speeds. That’s clearly one of the big advantages to this type of steering, however for a true enthusiast, you may not be satisfied. The ride is comfortable while not letting you get out of touch with the road. Overall you will be really happy behind the wheel of the all new CLA. The all new CLA was a bold move for Mercedes and it paid off. It’s like a one size fits all car, being affordable, beautiful and fun to drive while keeping that MB prestige. This car really appeals to everyone, since there is always something to like about it.

I would recommend this vehicle to a friend: YES

Overall Rating:
5/5
Value:
5/5
Exterior:
4/5
Interior:
5/5
Comfort:
5/5
Performance:
5/5
Reliability:
5/5

Thank you Mecedes Benz

Reviewed by Ann Marie
April 20, 2014

I love my car. I would recommend this to anyone. What Mecedes has done is brilliant! They have provided the ultimate car with design, interior and exterior, it is the best aerodynamical in the world. It handles so well and really easy to drive. It handles the road condition well also. What I like also is that when you stay at a red light the engine shuts off to save gas. Everything else is a step below a Mercedes Benz!

I would recommend this vehicle to a friend: YES

Overall Rating:
5/5
Value:
5/5
Exterior:
5/5
Interior:
5/5
Comfort:
4/5
Performance:
4/5
Reliability:
5/5

dream car, wanted a Mercedes all my life

Reviewed by ordinary person
April 16, 2014

Checked out 6 different vehicles, all top end. Always test drive first, shop at end of month. This is a great vehicle, lots of pick up, very easy to drive, very stylish, a dream car for anyone. Quality is above most cars.

I would recommend this vehicle to a friend: YES

Overall Rating:
4/5
Value:
4/5
Exterior:
5/5
Interior:
5/5
Comfort:
5/5
Performance:
5/5
Reliability:
4/5

My First Mercedes Benz

Reviewed by NK
March 09, 2014

I previously owned BMW 335i. The car was a blast to drive but the problems arose when the warranty was over. So I traded it in for this baby Benz; CLA250 My CLA is a bit over $35,000 (not includes tax and fee), and I find the car pretty much well-equipped. It has everything that I possibly need; heated seats, nav, power seats, turbocharged engine, etc. Overall, it does what I expect. It moves along quickly. The turbo lag is very minimal. Quiet and comfortable ride. Rather relax driving experience comparing to BMW. The understeer is very manageable for a FWD. Excellent fuel economy as I manage to get somewhere between 27-33MPG in rural driving. However, there are few complains. First, the removable center cupholder is squeaking every time I hit rough roads. It's very annoying but it's just, to me, too small of a problem to bring it to a dealer. Second, backseat has no tight support because the seat cushions are quite short. Basically, it's a coupe backseat! Third, there is not a single cupholder in the back but only bottle holder along door pockets. Last, mBrace service is quite handy but the subscription is pretty expensive. I won't renew it after the trial expires. I am hoping that the maintenance will be less expensive than my previous BMW 335i and perhaps far less issue also. At least, its 4-cylinder turbo engine should be less costly to maintenance. Now, it only has 2,000 miles. It's too soon to say how it holds up. Let's hope I won't be visiting the dealer as frequent as the time I had the 335i

I would recommend this vehicle to a friend: YES

Overall Rating:
5/5
Value:
5/5
Exterior:
5/5
Interior:
4/5
Comfort:
5/5
Performance:
4/5
Reliability:
5/5

Sharp looking but practical Car

Reviewed by Sporty but practical car enthusiast.
February 01, 2014

The Mercedes CLA is not the fastest car, but has excellent smooth acceleration with the turbo boost engine. It is great in handling! The sport package upgrade with the fancy front end and the LED back lights reaay improve its' looks. The panoramic sun roof makes the appearance excellent! The enertainment pkg including navigation, blue tooth, with voice activation is easy to use! The back seats are a little to straight up and down, which would be uncomfortable on a long trip. The exterior design is one of the best looking Mercedes and of any car available today. Gas mileage is superb with it's 7 speed transmission.

I would recommend this vehicle to a friend: YES

Overall Rating:
3/5
Value:
2/5
Exterior:
4/5
Interior:
4/5
Comfort:
4/5
Performance:
4/5
Reliability:
4/5

expensive TIRES

Reviewed by beaware
January 30, 2014

I just got my car today. I WANT everyone who is considering getting this car to MAKE SURE YOU ARE AWARE about the expensive tires. No one told me about the tires, WHAT A SHOCK, after I sold my clk350, and only while meeting the :finance guy to try to sell me all the warranties, I learned that I just bought a car that has no spare tire and each tire cost $650!! had no choice but to get the tire warranty and still not happy, I did test drive the car the day before and met a couple times with two different salespeople in two different dealerships, no mention about the tires and no spare tire, If I would have know about these tires, I definitively would have not bought the car. It is a nice car, rides well, but just the thought of having to replace a tire whenever I get a flat tire, at a cost of $650 each is absurd when Mercedes is marketing this car as entry level car!!

I would recommend this vehicle to a friend: NO

2014 Mercedes-Benz CLA-Class Sedan Comparison Reviews

*MSRP and Invoice prices displayed do not include applicable gas taxes or destination charges.