newcars.com®

New 2016 Mazda MX-5 Miata Reviews

Add to Favorites  | 
More Details & Photos New 2016 Mazda MX-5 Miata

Don't Overpay for Your 2016 Mazda MX-5 Miata!

Save Time and Money Online When You Shop with Us

Over the past month we helped 97,581 new car buyers find their perfect car.

Get your best price before going to the dealer!

Consumer Reviews Summary Write a Review

Average Overall Rating:

4.9/5

Value:
4.8/5
Exterior:
5.0/5
Interior:
4.4/5
Comfort:
4.3/5
Performance:
4.7/5
Reliability:
4.8/5

9 of 9 (100%) of consumers said they would recommend this vehicle to a friend.

Overall Rating:
5/5
Value:
5/5
Exterior:
5/5
Interior:
4/5
Comfort:
5/5
Performance:
5/5
Reliability:
5/5

An Absolutely Fun Ride!

Reviewed by Gabbie
December 28, 2016

Just bought my second Miata MX-5 from Mazda City in Jacksonville. The sales rep we worked with (Ken Baxley) is the best; he kept an eye out for the best deal he could get for us and came through with it! My 2007 MX-5 was a great sports car, but the "fun factor" with my 2016 is even better!!

I would recommend this vehicle to a friend: YES

Overall Rating:
5/5
Value:
5/5
Exterior:
5/5
Interior:
4/5
Comfort:
4/5
Performance:
4/5
Reliability:
4/5

2016 CERAMIC METALLIC SPORT 6-SPEED

Reviewed by 4Horsemen
December 07, 2016

I Currently Own/Daily Drive a 2016 Mazda MX-5 Miata "ND" in Ceramic Metallic with the 6-Speed Manual/Cloth Seats/Non-Navigation. I Purchased It On Black Friday 2015 and I Believe Mine Was The Second 2016 MX-5 In The City In Which I Live. It Took a Solid 4mos or so Before I Saw Another 2016 MX-5 In The Area. Anyway, I'm a 46yr Male, 6'1" 205lbs and Yet I Comfortably Fit In this Car. I've Been a Roadster/Conv Person Since I Started Driving Way back In 1987 When My Dad Gave Me The Keys to a 1969 Austin-Healey Sprite. My First Mazda MX-5 Miata Experience Was On a Test Drive of a 1994 M Edition at a Mazda Dealership about 50mis Away From Where I Live. That Thing Was a Blast To Drive However For Financial Reasons I Never Ended Up Purchasing That Car. Then Again on Yet Another Test Drive Of a First Gen MX-5, This One Being a Classic Red One With Aftermarket Pieces (Chrome Seat Hoops/Wheels/Lowering Springs/Exhaust System) Back In 2006 or So. That Car Became Sold The Next Day To Some Young Marine Before My Financial Institution Approved My Auto Loan... Hence, Flash Forward to Black Friday 2015 I Test Drove What Was To Become My Daily Driven 2016 MX-5 Sport (a.k.a. Base Model) - This Thing Is Also a Blast To Drive, Great On Gas, Greats Me All Kind Of Looks While Out and About In It, Total Complete Strangers Asking Questions/Making Remarks About The Car - I'd Have To Say Mazda Hit a Home-Run With This Baby!!! #ZOOMZOOM

I would recommend this vehicle to a friend: YES

Overall Rating:
5/5
Value:
5/5
Exterior:
5/5
Interior:
5/5
Comfort:
4/5
Performance:
5/5
Reliability:
5/5

LOVE MY MIATA

Reviewed by The Duffer
July 28, 2016

This is my second Miata. I rode a 2009 for almost 5 years and also loved that car. Was waiting for the 2016 style change to buy new and I am in seventh heaven with this new one. It is the GT model and everything is just simple enough for me to use. I am 75 years old and having a lot of fun driving this car. Hay folks, you only live once so make the best of it!!!

I would recommend this vehicle to a friend: YES

Overall Rating:
5/5
Value:
4/5
Exterior:
5/5
Interior:
4/5
Comfort:
4/5
Performance:
4/5
Reliability:
5/5

Most fun I've had in a car

Reviewed by Always wanted Miata
July 03, 2016

Bought a red 2016 Miata new. Haven't stopped grinning since. The car is so fun to drive. I mostly drive it to work (top up in stop and go freeway traffic) and it is pretty comfortable and not as jarring as other sports cars I test drove. However, it is most fun top down on a nice sunny day, off of the freeway. Also amazing is how it sips gas, even when in stop and go traffic. I'm getting double the gas mileage compared with the car I was driving to work before (a 2014 Audi A4, which gets decent gas mileage). The sound system is excellent (not as good as the Audi, but better than most cars in its price range). Love this car!

I would recommend this vehicle to a friend: YES

Overall Rating:
5/5
Value:
5/5
Exterior:
5/5
Interior:
4/5
Comfort:
4/5
Performance:
5/5
Reliability:
5/5

The most fun you'll have in a car

Reviewed by Rex guy
February 05, 2016

I was looking for a great driver's car. I was intrigued by the new design of the 2016 Miata. Much more aggressive looking and a coherent design statement that is not retro, but something that stands on it's own. Biggest surprise is the engine. The heart of the car. A glorious sound and instantly responsive at all RPM. It drives like a 200 + HP car and I would not look for more power. The most amazing thing is the feeling of lightness and agility from the low weight. You are flying around turns faster than you could imagine. It is utterly effortless and remarkable. I have owned two Porsche 911s which I loved. This car is more fun to drive than either of them.

I would recommend this vehicle to a friend: YES

Overall Rating:
5/5
Value:
5/5
Exterior:
5/5
Interior:
5/5
Comfort:
5/5
Performance:
5/5
Reliability:
4/5

Driving as it should be

Reviewed by Roadster Lover
November 02, 2015

This is my 7th roadster and, at my age, probably my last. No worry, though, since this is by far the best one. Like a beautiful woman, the body is what first attracted me, but when I discovered that its beauty was more than skin deep, I fell in love. It's like a glove - you slip into it and it becomes a part of you - and you become a part of it. You experience every twist and turn in the road intimately, and you personally climb every hill and zoom down into every valley. You start shunning the interstates in favor of the back roads so you can feel the wind in your hair and smell those subtle smells that evoke long lost memories. This is what driving used to be when I was a kid long ago - this is what driving should be for everyone today.

I would recommend this vehicle to a friend: YES

Overall Rating:
4/5
Value:
4/5
Exterior:
5/5
Interior:
5/5
Comfort:
4/5
Performance:
4/5
Reliability:
5/5

A lot of hype but still good

Reviewed by Jay
October 11, 2015

The Miata has a lot of body roll, its slow, its very cramped inside and next to a suv, it looks like a toy but it is a fun car hands down! When driving the car hard it is very predictable and never fails to put a smile on your face then when just cruising Its a smooth ride even over bumpy roads and when the top is down, life just seems that much better! I traded my Honda S2000 for the Miata in hopes to replace it which is kind of a disappointment but i guess for the price point this is as close as its gonna get.

I would recommend this vehicle to a friend: YES

Overall Rating:
5/5
Value:
5/5
Exterior:
5/5
Interior:
5/5
Comfort:
5/5
Performance:
5/5
Reliability:
5/5

Love my two seater!

Reviewed by Miata lover
September 13, 2015

We bought our Miata a few days ago and we love it. It's small, quick, responsive and it looks so nice. The seats are very comfortable which is important. The navigation system is great. We would highly recommend a Miata.

I would recommend this vehicle to a friend: YES

Overall Rating:
5/5
Value:
5/5
Exterior:
5/5
Interior:
4/5
Comfort:
4/5
Performance:
5/5
Reliability:
5/5

The thrill is back

Reviewed by Topdown
August 26, 2015

Finally, after years of drab, under-powered and copycat looks the 2016 Miata has arrived and it has put the fun back in driving! Responsive, quick handling and so far averaging 28 MPG in the city! This is a great package!

I would recommend this vehicle to a friend: YES

2016 Mazda MX-5 Miata Convertible Comparison Reviews