cars.com

A member of the
Cars.com family

Log In
McAfee Badge

New 2014 Mazda Mazda3 Reviews See 2013

More Details & Photos
New 2014 Mazda Mazda3

Don't Overpay for Your 2014 Mazda Mazda3!

Save Time and Money Online When You Shop with Us

Over the past month we helped 97,581 new car buyers find their perfect car.

Get your best price before going to the dealer!

Consumer Reviews Summary Write a Review

Average Overall Rating:

4.8/5

Value:
4.6/5
Exterior:
4.8/5
Interior:
4.8/5
Comfort:
4.8/5
Performance:
4.8/5
Reliability:
4.8/5

14 of 16 (87%) of consumers said they would recommend this vehicle to a friend.

Overall Rating:
5/5
Value:
4/5
Exterior:
5/5
Interior:
5/5
Comfort:
5/5
Performance:
5/5
Reliability:
4/5

grande tour

Reviewed by dank
March 30, 2014

A brilliant machine! Am a bit weary of being too high tech. Road noise could be addressed. almost to tight for a road machine as it handles like a gocart! A well engineered fast and classy ride ineed!

I would recommend this vehicle to a friend: YES

Overall Rating:
4/5
Value:
5/5
Exterior:
4/5
Interior:
4/5
Comfort:
4/5
Performance:
5/5
Reliability:
4/5

I went from the city to the suburbs in my Mazda 3

Reviewed by Scooter
March 26, 2014

I lived in the city for several years and did not look forward to moving to the suburbs because I dreaded the commute.The Mazda dealer in Olathe changed my mind. I walked in and was greeted my a salesman who not only listened to my needs but also provided me a great value for my money. The sound system and great handling of my new Mazda 3 make the commute a breeze. The seat is comfortable and the 5 speed transmission is getting me over 30 miles per gallon. Who needs all the city noise. I think I will take a drive in the country.

I would recommend this vehicle to a friend: YES

Overall Rating:
5/5
Value:
5/5
Exterior:
5/5
Interior:
5/5
Comfort:
5/5
Performance:
5/5
Reliability:
5/5

Never a problem with Mazda

Reviewed by Mazda lover forever
March 26, 2014

I had an 11:00 appointment on 3/22 with Michael Moses to lease a 2014 Mazda. He showed me the cars available and I fell in love immediately with the metallic red - and that's what I got. This car looks great and Michael did everything in his power to make sure that there were no problems. He's really a wonderful person. I recommend Mazda and Michael Moses - the experience was great and I got a great RED car!!

I would recommend this vehicle to a friend: YES

Overall Rating:
5/5
Value:
4/5
Exterior:
5/5
Interior:
5/5
Comfort:
4/5
Performance:
5/5
Reliability:
5/5

itouring, So Far So Good!

Reviewed by CarBuff_steve
March 25, 2014

Mazda3, Sedan. It works as advertised, 28 mpg in city, driving in cold upstate NY. Handles really good, has enough power with the 2.0 engine. Blind spot warning and back up warning help you when needed. The stereo sounds good and the streaming blue tooth audio is easy to use. USB port is great because I can keep my old iPod connected and stored out of site. The stereo display will show all the info from the iPod.

I would recommend this vehicle to a friend: YES

Overall Rating:
5/5
Value:
5/5
Exterior:
5/5
Interior:
5/5
Comfort:
5/5
Performance:
5/5
Reliability:
5/5

2014 Mazda Mazda3

Reviewed by matthewkiddo
March 11, 2014

The redesigned 2014 Mazda Mazda3 is also awesome to me. I have a red 2014 Mazda3 hatchback. And it is AWESOME.

I would recommend this vehicle to a friend: YES

Overall Rating:
5/5
Value:
5/5
Exterior:
5/5
Interior:
5/5
Comfort:
4/5
Performance:
4/5
Reliability:
5/5

Most pleased over any other car I ever purchased!

Reviewed by Practically Wired
March 01, 2014

I ultimately chose the Mazda 3 i-Touring Hatchback. The Mazda 3 Hatchback wasn’t my first option. I was considering a Diesel VW Golf or possibly the TDI Audi A3 (however, Audi is not releasing their A3 in a Hatchback here in the US at this time). Let’s not forget that the elevated cost of diesel in the US does not make this an easy call. My attention was immediately caught by the new 2014 styling on the Mazda3. The fact that SkyActiv technology was incorporated to suit the entire vehicle’s holistic re-design (Engine, chassis, body and suspension) is something that can really I appreciate. So, to break down the most important features that I consider the most impact on my daily drive (and henceforth influencing my purchase decision): 1. Engine/Drivetrain Efficiency and Performance -The i-Touring 155 HP, 150 lb-ft of torque engine has a VERY high compression ratio of 13:1, thanks to the 4-into-2-into-1 exhaust manifold. A result is maximum of 41 MPG highway on the automatic tranny version on 87 octane gas! I am currently getting 36-37 MPG in mixed driving conditions. Hats off to Mazda for this achievement, I am happy to have this much efficiency without shelling extra dough out for diesel prices! -Dual exhaust (both are visible on the rear of the Hatchback models) are standard in all trims, an indication than Mazda is also keen on reducing exhaust path restriction. A major benefit to the driver in looks, efficiency and functionality. -Acceleration is not like a supercar – you can pedal to the floor, or kick into manual sequential shifting and get more torque in the higher revs, up to 7.8 seconds 0-60 in ideal conditions (7.0 seconds with the larger engine); even so, I am not complaining about the ability for the i-touring to get-up and go when the need calls for it. -Go for the 184 HP s-touring model if you are ok with losing some MPG. The bigger engine is the same one used in the Mazda 6; that means you get some mean performance in higher power to weight ratio out of the lighter Mazda 3 chassis. Very nice! 2. Ride Quality and Handling -The Mazda 3 is not the quietest ride out of the competition, but I also didn’t feel like it was too noisy. There is some notable road noise in highway speeds. -The suspension incorporates a rear multi-link design, and the front suspension is quite angled back (6 degrees of caster on the front strut), unlike any other front wheel drive car in its class. I was pleasantly surprised about the suspension performance. The suspension is very well tuned for soaking up everyday bumps, and handles excellent in the turns. The amount of work and typical associated cost for this suspension design means that the driver is getting some big value here. -The steering is fully electric, as opposed to electric/hydraulic. Even so, there is enough feedback on the steering to give the driver response on the curves. 3. Interior Quality and Styling -Interior dash is lined with a soft, leather-like material. This is a welcome alternative to the hard plasticky material found in the competitors. There are notes of fake carbon fiber on the steering wheel and door trim, but I think it complements the look well, rather than hurting it. -Exterior styling (eye candy) is bar-none my favorite aspect of the car. The KODO styling concept (Soul in Motion) speaks out in the lines of the car. Both sedan and hatchback models look excellent, but my preference is the squat-down, fast-back look on the rear of the hatchback. Also complementing the look is a longer and wider wheelbase and lower stance than the previous model Mazda 3’s. Totally awesome! 4. Cabin Environment, Entertainment and Technology -Legroom in the rear suffers quite a bit compared to the competition, but it did not impact me at all, since I am always driving to work by myself. Definitely acceptable for around the city trips with friends, but not for extended road trips. Your mileage may vary. -Voice commands, Bluetooth audio/phone integration. A must for my geekness. - Three words….. Side Mirror Heaters! A must in dewy conditions in New Orleans. Standard on the i-Touring model and above. -Optional i-Touring Tech Package The re-design of the Mazda 3 has made me such a pleased owner, that I felt it necessary to document this in a detailed review to share with others considering the Mazda 3. “ZOOM ZOOM!”

I would recommend this vehicle to a friend: YES

Overall Rating:
5/5
Value:
5/5
Exterior:
5/5
Interior:
5/5
Comfort:
5/5
Performance:
5/5
Reliability:
5/5

Crash Test...

Reviewed by Mermal
February 18, 2014

We just leased the 5 door I Grand Touring Mazda 3 this past Saturday. I got one day of joy riding on Sunday and by Monday morning I was in an accident. I was driving and my husband in the passenger seat. Someone did not yield the right of way and did a left turn right in front of us. The front passenger side of the car was crushed by the small SUV that hit us, but my husband and I were able to walk away from the accident with only scrapes and bruises. I cannot express how thankful I am to Mazda for making this car so safe. So safe in fact that the interior of the car is immaculate except for the deployed airbags. Needless to say we'll be replacing our poor Mazda 3 with another one and drive with the knowledge that Mazda has done everything they can to keep you as safe as possible when in an accident.

I would recommend this vehicle to a friend: YES

Overall Rating:
3/5
Value:
2/5
Exterior:
3/5
Interior:
4/5
Comfort:
4/5
Performance:
3/5
Reliability:
3/5

Just average car

Reviewed by albert usa
February 02, 2014

Nav problems. ipod problems over dashboard display problems!!!!!!!!!!!!!! gas milage is only 29miles (s touring)

I would recommend this vehicle to a friend: NO

Overall Rating:
5/5
Value:
4/5
Exterior:
5/5
Interior:
4/5
Comfort:
5/5
Performance:
5/5
Reliability:
5/5

sporty car

Reviewed by Teddy Bear
January 27, 2014

I bough the car for my son Ted . He is going to med.school In the comming summer. This is a gift awarded for his hardwork. He drove the car to his school in the snow storm. He is glad that he made the right decision. Mazda 3 passed the test.

I would recommend this vehicle to a friend: YES

Overall Rating:
5/5
Value:
5/5
Exterior:
5/5
Interior:
5/5
Comfort:
5/5
Performance:
5/5
Reliability:
5/5

Near luxury car

Reviewed by Jwmsales
January 11, 2014

I looked at the Buick Verano and Acura ILX and the Mazda3. It wasn't close. The mazda3 is a fantastic car for the money. I have 2800 miles on my Soul Red S Touring sedan and could not be happier. Just travelled 300 miles on the highway and averaged close to 40 mpg! Interior is fantastic and the driving position perfect.

I would recommend this vehicle to a friend: YES

 

*MSRP and Invoice prices displayed do not include applicable gas taxes or destination charges.