newcars.com®

New 2016 Mazda CX-5 Reviews

Add to Favorites  | 
More Details & Photos New 2016 Mazda CX-5

Don't Overpay for Your 2016 Mazda CX-5!

Save Time and Money Online When You Shop with Us

Over the past month we helped 97,581 new car buyers find their perfect car.

Get your best price before going to the dealer!

Consumer Reviews Summary Write a Review

Average Overall Rating:

4.7/5

Value:
4.7/5
Exterior:
4.9/5
Interior:
4.7/5
Comfort:
4.7/5
Performance:
4.7/5
Reliability:
4.8/5

44 of 47 (93%) of consumers said they would recommend this vehicle to a friend.

Overall Rating:
3/5
Value:
4/5
Exterior:
5/5
Interior:
5/5
Comfort:
2/5
Performance:
3/5
Reliability:
4/5

On the Fence

Reviewed by Sailorchick
February 12, 2017

This is a great looking car with superb gas mileage. I would absolutely LOVE this car if it wasn't for Low Profile tires. I don't know how other people don't feel it. I feel like I'm sitting on a dryer. Its so bumpy. You feel EVERYTHING. You cannot change out the tires. They have thin rims which can be easily bent if you run over old railroad tracks too hard or hit a curb. And the tires are over $300 EACH. The inside is really nice. The heated seats are wonderful. And the sunroof is a lot of fun. The seats are a little uncomfortable. I saw that in the reviews and thought oh that wont happen with me. Well, even my neighbor who is about 120 lbs says they are uncomfortable when she was at the dealer with me. Driving long distance is a rough one. The infotainment system is really easy to use. Although the radio is not the greatest. Alot of times I get static and if I pull up at a traffic light a little more I get a better signal. Never had that problem before. The Navigation system is wacky. It sends me some freaky ways when all I have to do is go about 50 feet up the road and I'm at my destination. Or it takes me a round about way no matter if I put it on short distance or economical. Windshield wipers you can set to auto where it wipes with the amount and speed of the rain. I don't like that. I like a certain wiper interval. The auto is unpredictable and you have to wait until it decides to wipe. Could be 12 seconds or 5 seconds. Depends on how hard its raining. I believe the gas tank is 14 gallons. And you really don't have to change oil until 6,000 miles unless you drive it hard. Overall a great car despite the tires.

I would recommend this vehicle to a friend: NO

Overall Rating:
5/5
Value:
5/5
Exterior:
5/5
Interior:
5/5
Comfort:
5/5
Performance:
5/5
Reliability:
5/5

Morries Mazda Chippewa Valley

Reviewed by Gma
December 22, 2016

I recently went in for an oil change and had the best service. The staff are always friendly and the waiting area is comfortable. This is my second Mazda and I love it! Austin S., in sales, is very friendly and goes out his way to answers questions, or find the color of the CX5 that I wanted. I would highly recommend both Austin S and the Service Dept at Morries if you are looking for a car or car service!

I would recommend this vehicle to a friend: YES

Overall Rating:
5/5
Value:
5/5
Exterior:
5/5
Interior:
5/5
Comfort:
4/5
Performance:
4/5
Reliability:
4/5

New to Mazda, happy so far

Reviewed by Philhawk53
December 18, 2016

I have the 2016 Mazda CX5-GT. I've never had a Mazda before, always Honda (one CRV that I loved and two Pilots, loaded, that I would also highly recommend) but I'm not a fan of the new CRV styling and can't afford another Pilot at present time so was looking for something stylish, that was all-wheel drive, that could carry two kids and two hockey bags in the back. I was also looking for the toys that I've become accustom to like Nav system, bluetooth, heated seats etc... I researched for months and drove a ton of vehicles from small pickups like the Frontier and Colorado to the Jeep Wranglers and Cherokees... I'm 6'2" and the CX-5 looked a little small to me but once I got in to it and drove it I realized there's a ton of room in the driver's seat and more than enough room for my kids and their hockey bags in the back. I've had it for three months and I can't complain about anything. Some reviews say that the infotainment system is confusing but I couldn't disagree more, it's very simple for anyone that has the capacity to handle a cell phone or computer, I would say that I actually like it better than Hondas.... If I had to make a couple small complaints it would be the lack of a power lift gate (which I really don't miss that much but for the money it could be there) and the lack of outlets for electronics in the back seats... It stinks that way... There are no outlets for the kids to charge ipads in.... But that's reaching really... I just make sure they're charged before road trips. I think the style of the vehicle is excellent but the interior styling is in my opinion Excellent... Gauges are very simple which I like and the engine is "Good enough"...I do a ton of highway driving and never have a problem passing people... I traded in a BMW 3 series for this so it's just an adjustment ...Overall I would recommend so far.... I'm hoping to keep it for a long time so I can write about dependability later

I would recommend this vehicle to a friend: YES

Overall Rating:
4/5
Value:
5/5
Exterior:
5/5
Interior:
5/5
Comfort:
4/5
Performance:
4/5
Reliability:
5/5

Oh Ya

Reviewed by Monymashane
December 04, 2016

The interior is like a comfy, midsize, trailer though back seat heaters would be good . It looks really, really sporty and it is! The 2016 IIHS test it is the safest SUV in the world. OMG! It has good all- wheel drive and awesome handling . Finally it's great for going on long trips.

I would recommend this vehicle to a friend: YES

Overall Rating:
5/5
Value:
5/5
Exterior:
5/5
Interior:
5/5
Comfort:
5/5
Performance:
5/5
Reliability:
5/5

So happy

Reviewed by mazdafan
November 01, 2016

I absolutely love my new CX-5 Touring. I'm glad I went with the fancier model. I love features of navigation, backup camera, heated seats, power seating, pandora option, the quality of calling from my car is fantastic. I love the keyless entry and you can set the car to lock when you walk away. I also forgot and left my lights on and it automatically turns the lights off for you. The blind spot monitor is also handy. The only negative I have found is there isn't an interior latch to unlock and open the trunk which is odd and a bit annoying. Other than that I LOVE my new car. I like my husband's huyndai Tuscon but I get car sick in it. I'm short so I can't see over the hood much. In my mazda cx-5 I can adjust the power seat perfectly and even though it is a bigger car than what I am used to I feel like it fits me perfectly.

I would recommend this vehicle to a friend: YES

Overall Rating:
5/5
Value:
4/5
Exterior:
5/5
Interior:
5/5
Comfort:
4/5
Performance:
5/5
Reliability:
4/5

Are new 2016.5 Mazda CX-5

Reviewed by Carl n Jen cx5
October 26, 2016

Our new CX-5 is a blast to drive. Seats are a little firm but comfortable. Car handles great and is pretty smooth over rough surfaces. We thought for sure in order to get great gas mileage you would have to sacrifice performance. Not true with the CX-5 you have plenty of pep and still gets great gas mileage. Carl and. Jen A.

I would recommend this vehicle to a friend: YES

Overall Rating:
5/5
Value:
4/5
Exterior:
4/5
Interior:
4/5
Comfort:
5/5
Performance:
5/5
Reliability:
5/5

Perfect car for Incoming / Outgoing College Kids

Reviewed by Just Graduated
August 16, 2016

I just purchased a 2016 Mazda CX-5 after graduating and it has made my life easier. The car is spacious enough to fit most of my stuff into for moving into an apartment near my new job. Also, the gas mileage is ages beyond anything that my old car could do. In addition to the space, the comfort of the chairs and ease of movement within the car is fantastic. It's enough room for my dog to lay down in the back and not have to curl into a ball. Also, the vents for AC / heat are phenomenal. Almost immediately, the AC is up and running to make the worst summer days bearable.

I would recommend this vehicle to a friend: YES

Overall Rating:
5/5
Value:
5/5
Exterior:
5/5
Interior:
5/5
Comfort:
4/5
Performance:
5/5
Reliability:
5/5

Love it, but

Reviewed by Little ole' lady
August 15, 2016

I was a Honda woman (last five cars), but traded it in for my first Mazda! Love the sport-looking exterior, the interior colors and the driver seat that allows me (very short) to see over the hood. The only complaint I have is it not having XM in my Touring even though the radio menu shows XM. Apparently to continue my Sirius subscription is to buy an aftermarket radio - bummer! Glad it has a CD player so I play 50-60's cds! After checking out the 2016 CRV, didn't like the interior panel - too complicated for this little ole' lady and couldn't see over the hood. No regrets for choosing the Mazda CX-5 Touring (except no XM)!

I would recommend this vehicle to a friend: YES

Overall Rating:
5/5
Value:
5/5
Exterior:
5/5
Interior:
5/5
Comfort:
4/5
Performance:
5/5
Reliability:
5/5

My second Mazda CX-5

Reviewed by Feet
July 14, 2016

I purchased my second Mazda CX-5 in Dec., 2015. It is a 2016 model, with several changes from my 2013 CX5 1) The radio intimidated me initially, but I have found that it is safer and easier to operate while driving than the previous, more traditional radio in my 2013 model. I particularly like the "song identification" feature on this new radio. 2) The backup camera increases the odds that I'll avoid little parking lot fender benders...My insurance rates actually went DOWN. 3) My gas mileage WITH A/C on is right at the 26 mpg...without A/C I'm getting 27 1/2 to 29 mpg. (I have a 4-cylinder automatic, which has great acceleration) 4) The A/C, when it's set on low, cools so well I can easily imagine that I am driving in San Diego instead of in 100 degrees Dallas this summer. (of course, with all the windows closed). Wonderful vehicle....

I would recommend this vehicle to a friend: YES

Overall Rating:
5/5
Value:
5/5
Exterior:
5/5
Interior:
4/5
Comfort:
5/5
Performance:
5/5
Reliability:
5/5

Quibbles with the CX-5 2016.5 Grand Touring

Reviewed by Mazda Fan
July 10, 2016

I do not intend to do a "review" of this car. Overall, it is a lot of car for the money, is better looking inside and out and more fun to drive than other cars in it's class and price range. I gave it a lot of stars. Enough said. My quibbles are that when sticking with the same brand and buying a newer, more expensive model I expected that good ideas on the older car would be carried forward and/or improved. Not dropped. The CX-5 Grand Touring with Tech Package gave up a compass in the auto-dimming, home-link rear view mirror. I tend to frequently rely on the compass feature, as the GPS doesn't as readily show you which direction you're heading. Yeah...it's a quibble, but I am going to look at swapping out this mirror for the one that was included in my 2013 Mazda 3 iGrand Touring model. Mazda also chose to put a 12volt socket inside the arm-rest console, but dropped the USB connector. If you want to connect an Ipod, it can no lo nger be kept out of sight, neatly tucked away inside. Instead, there are two usb ports up front in the storage area beneath the climate controls on the dash. Admittedly, not deal breaker in any sense, but Mazda DID see fit to include this detail on it's 2013 IGrand Touring "3". Quibble #3 is with the small compartment on the left of the steering wheel, which I assume is a coin holder as not much else fits in that space. On the Mazda 3 GT, that little "coinbox" had just the right slope such that coins didn't go spilling out of it every time you accelerated the car. Such is not the case with the CX-5. Have to find somewhere else to keep spare change. My 4th and final quibble with the new CX-5 may be just a matter of getting used to it, but I find the "joystick" control of the radio and nav to be much less intuitive and less easy to use than the previous touch screen had been. It is possible that I will change my opinion about this as time goes on. Beyond these little quibbles, I think it is a great car. In further comparing it to my previous Mazda 3 GT, aside from the obvious more spacious interior, it accelerates and handles about as good (surprisingly), is quieter, smoother and will comfortably seat 4 adults. Other mentionables are that the Bose sound system performs better than it did in the smaller "3" and...I can't wait for those few days where the roads are snow covered as I have the AWD option. Gas mileage has taken a hit of course compared to the "3", but it is still quite reasonable. It looks like my "real-world" driving will average me about 25 MPG whereas in the "3" I regularly averaged 32 MPG. Both of these numbers are less than Mazda advertises, but that's with ME driving it !

I would recommend this vehicle to a friend: YES

2016 Mazda CX-5 SUV Comparison Reviews