newcars.com®
Log In

New 2015 Mazda CX-5 Reviews See 2014

Add to Favorites  | 
More Details & Photos New 2015 Mazda CX-5

Don't Overpay for Your 2015 Mazda CX-5!

Save Time and Money Online When You Shop with Us

Over the past month we helped 97,581 new car buyers find their perfect car.

Get your best price before going to the dealer!

Consumer Reviews Summary Write a Review

Average Overall Rating:

4.8/5

Value:
4.8/5
Exterior:
5.0/5
Interior:
4.8/5
Comfort:
4.8/5
Performance:
4.8/5
Reliability:
5.0/5

19 of 19 (100%) of consumers said they would recommend this vehicle to a friend.

Overall Rating:
5/5
Value:
5/5
Exterior:
5/5
Interior:
5/5
Comfort:
5/5
Performance:
5/5
Reliability:
5/5

I'm a believer now!

Reviewed by kthinsa
October 03, 2014

I want to preface this Review with the fact that I had gone to the Dealership with the intention of purchasing a Kia Soul(so ugly it's cute), until my friend pointed out the CX5. In a word - Awesome. I have been planning on moving up to an SUV for almost 10 years now, but just never tested one that made me feel it was worth the money...that is until I drove the 2015 CX5. From the moment I sat in it, I knew. Everything right where I wanted it to be, armrest at just the right position, controls all easily accessible, and all the features you could possibly need were available. Once I took it out on the road, the handling was as confident as my old sedan I was trading in. Solid, good power for the size of the engine, and one of the easiest Cruise Control set ups I have ever used(and I use it every day). Bottom line...it sold itself to me without any help from the Salesman, and he knew it. Got a good deal, better than I expected trade-in for my old sedan, I drove out a very Happy Camper, and after several months of driving it, I am still loving it. Would definitely recommend this SUV to any one who asked. As I was finishing up my deal, I looked over to see that my friend was also making the same purchase....apparently he was sold on it also, and last I heard, was also still in love with it.

I would recommend this vehicle to a friend: YES

Overall Rating:
5/5
Value:
5/5
Exterior:
5/5
Interior:
5/5
Comfort:
5/5
Performance:
5/5
Reliability:
5/5

Most fun, sporty & sharp looking SUV I've owned!

Reviewed by Racy driver
August 25, 2014

I was looking for an SUV with good gas mileage, sporty, fun, smooth driving with extra features without great expense. It accelerates well without pause or hesitation. Classy but clean look and enough gadgets without being overwhelming. I found it all in the Mazda CX-5. It has tight steering and take corners quickly but smoothly. The interior features are modern, but easy to understand. It has the room of an SUV, but the ride of a luxury car. The exterior is sleek and doesn't have the rounded or bulky appearance.of other SUVS. I love the backup camera and the side mirror blind spot warning system. And the gas mileage has been great! I am a first time Mazda owner and would highly recommend this vehicle. Zoom-Zoom!

I would recommend this vehicle to a friend: YES

Overall Rating:
5/5
Value:
5/5
Exterior:
5/5
Interior:
5/5
Comfort:
5/5
Performance:
4/5
Reliability:
5/5

Another Mazda - Another Great Ride

Reviewed by Mazda True NY
August 20, 2014

My wife and I just bought the 2015 CX-5 AWD Touring. We got the blue ext / black int no tech but w/installed remote starter. Price was almost $1600 below MSRP plus, trade in, and Tax / Title. Overall good price for great vehicle. We're still breaking in but handling, comfort, and overall design seem to be living up to the hype. My wife is enjoying features like the blind spot monitoring and rear back up camera. Layout is simple but intuitive and functional; from tilt / tele steering wheel, 40/20/40 folding seats to easy pairing of Bluetooth. Gas mileage is right at 25mpg so we'll see how that holds up in the winter months. This Mazda out shined over the Toyota, Honda, & Ford. Enjoy the seating comfort, room both front and rear, flexibility of the rear seats. Handling and gas mileage so far. Blind spot monitoring, UI and phone pairing, back up camera. Leather wrap steering wheel and soft touch material on door panels and center console where your skin typically makes contact. Power adjustable driver's seat; tilt / tele steering wheel. Good power and AWD capability (to be tested this winter - living in NY area) Styling and options like the retractable cargo cover, all weather mats, and remote starter. Visibility could be better though typical of these style and size of cross overs (BSM is a plus) Transmission tends to stay in higher gears (tradeoff for better gas mileage) UI / Bluetooth is slow to download Mid-trim stereo is just ok (noticeable step down from the Mazda Bose system I came out of) Wish the mid trim would come with heated seats without moving up to the GT with leather

I would recommend this vehicle to a friend: YES

Overall Rating:
5/5
Value:
4/5
Exterior:
5/5
Interior:
5/5
Comfort:
5/5
Performance:
4/5
Reliability:
5/5

Another Mazda / Another Great Ride

Reviewed by Mazda True
August 15, 2014

My wife and I just bought the 2015 CX-5 AWD Touring. Overall good price for great vehicle. Still breaking in but handling, comfort, and overall design seem to be living up to the hype. My wife is enjoys features like the blind spot monitoring and rear back up camera. Layout is simple and functional; from tilt / tele steering wheel, 40/20/40 folding seats. Gas mileage is right at 25mpg so we'll see in winte. This Mazda out shined over the Toyota, Honda, & Ford. Enjoy the seating comfort, room both front and rear, flexibility of the rear seats. Handling and gas mileage so far. BSM, UI and phone pairing, back up camera. Leather wrap steering wheel and soft touch material on door panels and center console where your skin makes contact. Power adjustable driver's seat; tilt / tele steering wheel. Good power and AWD capability (will test this winter - living in NY area) Styling and options like the retractable cargo cover, all weather mats, and remote starter. Visibility could be better though typical of cross overs (BSM is a plus) Transmission tends to stay in higher gears (tradeoff for better gas mileage) UI / Bluetooth is slow to download Mid-trim stereo is just ok. Wish the mid trim would come with heated seats without moving up to the GT with leather

I would recommend this vehicle to a friend: YES

Overall Rating:
5/5
Value:
5/5
Exterior:
5/5
Interior:
5/5
Comfort:
5/5
Performance:
5/5
Reliability:
5/5

Awesome car - just want to drive it all day!

Reviewed by Very Satisfied Customer
August 11, 2014

Finally after researching for MANY months - and narrowing the search down to the Mazda CX5 Touring -- I have the car of my dreams! If you do your research, this car on paper wins hands-down against its competitors (2014 model year) in the same class (Honda CRV, Toyota RAV4, Subaru Forester). Test driving it sealed the deal. It is a blast to drive -- peppy, sporty, comfortable. And to sweeten the ride, the price was spot on out the door.

I would recommend this vehicle to a friend: YES

Overall Rating:
5/5
Value:
5/5
Exterior:
5/5
Interior:
5/5
Comfort:
5/5
Performance:
5/5
Reliability:
5/5

New car experience!

Reviewed by Nene
August 04, 2014

It's been 13 years since I bought my last car so the car buying experience was intense!! I did my homework often referring to the Consumer magazine. I researched both Mazda cars (CX5 and CX9) but in the end the CX5 won out because for a lot less money, I still got ALL of the bells and whistles (sun/moon roof, BOSE sound system, bluetooth and a navigation system). I enjoy driving the car and seems to be good on gas. The only thing I wish Mazda had done was to include a trunk release on the inside of the car, however, it wasn't something that would have been a deal breaker! This is my second Mazda and I hope it holds up as well as the previous Mazda purchased 23 years ago. So far so good - Love it!

I would recommend this vehicle to a friend: YES

Overall Rating:
4/5
Value:
5/5
Exterior:
5/5
Interior:
4/5
Comfort:
5/5
Performance:
4/5
Reliability:
5/5

Great, but was hoping for a little more

Reviewed by Previous Subaru WRX owner
July 14, 2014

I went from a Subaru WRX to the Mazda CX-5. I like the higher vantage point, and the good amount of space inside. I went with the top of the line version because you get so much for your money. It drives great, except I was hoping for a little less road noise and a slightly smoother ride. I realize it's tuned a bit sporty on the suspension, but I was expecting a little less bumpy-ness. Also, going from a sports car to this, I miss the extra horsepower. I find myself wanting to downshift around a lot of the back roads. Having said all that, it's a great buy, and I would recommend it.

I would recommend this vehicle to a friend: YES

Overall Rating:
5/5
Value:
5/5
Exterior:
5/5
Interior:
4/5
Comfort:
5/5
Performance:
5/5
Reliability:
5/5

Perfect!! (Almost)

Reviewed by bdoonzoom
June 23, 2014

13,000 miles on a CX-5 Grand Touring 2.5 liter, AWD, 6 speed automatic - absolutely no regrets. Drives like my first car a BMW 2002. It feels like German DNA (I've also owned one new Audi and one new Porsche). However, the CX-5 long term reliability ratings are much higher, and service costs are much lower - like a Honda (owned 3) or Acura (owned 2). 24 mpg in very twisty mountain driving, 30 mpg on the Interstate. Love the 6-speed in manual mode. Just enough torque and horsepower - when combined with the perfectly tuned chassis it can really "dance". Very roomy for 4 / OK for 5. And I can get a mountain bike inside without removing the front wheel. Exterior looks athletic. Interior materials are high quality and styled conservatively. No Bling to detract from the ergonomic presentation of gauges, knobs and real tactile buttons. Downside -- Tom-Tom Nav is marginally OK, iPod USB interface is very poor. Bluetooth iPod interface is marginal. But its a dream to drive!!

I would recommend this vehicle to a friend: YES

Overall Rating:
5/5
Value:
5/5
Exterior:
5/5
Interior:
5/5
Comfort:
4/5
Performance:
5/5
Reliability:
5/5

Mazda Got It Right

Reviewed by Pipemajor
June 22, 2014

This pertains to the 2015 Grand Touring CX-5 with optional AWD and Technology Package. I really wasn't looking at this particular class of vehicle until I spotted the CX-5. It had the room I needed to transport my stuff, seats 4 comfortably, has that zoom-zoom Mazda drivability and still delivers around 30mpg. I chose the Mazda over its competitors because I really really wanted the HID headlights. We live in a state where vehicle/deer collisions are common so the added visibility is worth the price of the Tech Package alone. The 2.5 litre engine and 6 speed auto trans are a great match - I haven't enjoyed driving a vehicle this much in many, many years.

I would recommend this vehicle to a friend: YES

Overall Rating:
5/5
Value:
5/5
Exterior:
5/5
Interior:
5/5
Comfort:
5/5
Performance:
5/5
Reliability:
5/5

Mazda CX-5 - Grand Touring

Reviewed by Your dream car is here!
June 17, 2014

I love this car! I have had Honda's for years but this beats the pants off any Honda. I love the style, comfort, moon roof, side mirror warning lights, GPS! I love not having to plug in the old GPS. And the best part is I am getting 27 miles in the city! I love the way it saves me gas and it is so much better than the other SUV's out there. I shopped all of the competition for two months and I am so happy with what I got with the CX-5. The Price was thousands of dollars less than the other SUVs out there. I am talking 4-5k less! Honda CRV started at 31k and that wasn't loaded. Ford, Chevy, Kia, Hyundia, VW, BMW - I shopped them all. So if your in the car buying for a SUV you have to check this one out. You would be crazy not to buy one.

I would recommend this vehicle to a friend: YES

2015 Mazda CX-5 SUV Comparison Reviews

*MSRP and Invoice prices displayed do not include applicable gas taxes or destination charges.