newcars.com®

New 2016 Mazda CX-5 Reviews

Add to Favorites  | 
More Details & Photos New 2016 Mazda CX-5

Don't Overpay for Your 2016 Mazda CX-5!

Save Time and Money Online When You Shop with Us

Over the past month we helped 97,581 new car buyers find their perfect car.

Get your best price before going to the dealer!

Consumer Reviews Summary Write a Review

Average Overall Rating:

4.7/5

Value:
4.6/5
Exterior:
4.9/5
Interior:
4.7/5
Comfort:
4.8/5
Performance:
4.7/5
Reliability:
4.8/5

32 of 34 (94%) of consumers said they would recommend this vehicle to a friend.

Overall Rating:
5/5
Value:
5/5
Exterior:
5/5
Interior:
5/5
Comfort:
4/5
Performance:
5/5
Reliability:
5/5

Great car that one shouldn't miss

Reviewed by SuMo
May 18, 2016

A great crossover small SUV with sophisticate equipment that makes it comparable to a high-end car. Fee solid and responsive.Freeway gas millage (31.5 mpg) on this AWD version is higher than the posted 30 mpg. Many very thoughtful designs plus car-like easy-to-drive performance in addition to its nice-looking appearance made me put it at 5 stars.

I would recommend this vehicle to a friend: YES

Overall Rating:
5/5
Value:
5/5
Exterior:
5/5
Interior:
5/5
Comfort:
5/5
Performance:
5/5
Reliability:
4/5

Fun to drive, and practical

Reviewed by Avid golfer
April 18, 2016

I wanted a vehicle that would be large enough to carry 4 large (tall) adults and 4 sets of golf clubs, while not being too huge that it wouldn't fit in my small driveway. I looked at all the small SUVs (Forester, RAV4, CRV, X3, etc) and landed on this one. I'm happy so far. It's more fun to drive than the other cars in the class that I drove. I got the Grand Touring with AWD, and I really like the styling and tech (audio, nav, etc).

I would recommend this vehicle to a friend: YES

Overall Rating:
5/5
Value:
5/5
Exterior:
5/5
Interior:
5/5
Comfort:
4/5
Performance:
4/5
Reliability:
5/5

Great headroom

Reviewed by Steven
April 18, 2016

The 2016 version has sufficient power and performance is good. It has good door and headroom for larger passengers for the size vehicle. Roominess in the front is adequate but not great. The navigation system is marginal compared to Garmin.

I would recommend this vehicle to a friend: YES

Overall Rating:
5/5
Value:
5/5
Exterior:
5/5
Interior:
5/5
Comfort:
5/5
Performance:
4/5
Reliability:
5/5

Classy and as sporty as an SUV can be

Reviewed by Tech Geek
April 06, 2016

Mazda design is a class above. The CX-5 is incomparably more elegant than it's closest competitors, the Honda CR-V and Toyota Rav4. While it's not in the luxury class like Audi, BMW, and Lexus, it's as high-end as you can get for the money. The handling is incredible. I feel like I can turn this huge car on a dime. It's like I'm driving a sports car, but with all that storage space I needed. Acceleration is *pretty good* for an SUV. Hey, you're lugging a lot of weight. Most of the time it accelerates as fast as I could hope for. But on long straightaways I could wish for a little more power. That said, I could have gone for a more powerful engine, but then I would have been giving up on Mazda's world-class reliability. I haven't put this to the test yet, but everyone I talk to says that their Mazda engines last forever (not to mention Car and Driver). All in all, this car is fun!

I would recommend this vehicle to a friend: YES

Overall Rating:
3/5
Value:
3/5
Exterior:
5/5
Interior:
3/5
Comfort:
4/5
Performance:
5/5
Reliability:
4/5

Would recommend, with reservations

Reviewed by Poppabiker
April 05, 2016

Love the styling. Like the interior layout (except for hands-on controls for infotainment system while driving - a real distraction, rather than touch-screen). Quality of interior materials could be better, given the price of the top of the line model (about $32,000). Seats are comfortable, and there's a good balance between cargo space and passenger space. Disappointed that in a vehicle in this price range, there's no automatic tail gate lift (my wife's 12-year old Honda has one). Voice controls can be frustrating - not only that, the dealer can't explain them, either). The nav system is buggy. Sometimes street notifications bar at the top o the screen just pops up without notice and cannot be removed except by turning off the car and restarting. Nav system not at all intuitive, and sometimes takes 5 steps to get to one option (like, for example, the turn-by-turn route - hard to find, difficult to execute while driving. Why isn't this a one-button option since it's something you use often?). I got the latest update of the software but didn't help. Next update out . . . when? No one knows. On the other hand, the performance is great - have driven in pounding rain and near blizzard and felt confident all the time. But you have to be an always aware driver - just like in a sports car. If you want a soft, cushy ride where you can't feel the road - buy a Honda CR-V. Boooring. I think I'll keep my 2016 Mazda CX-5.

I would recommend this vehicle to a friend: YES

Overall Rating:
4/5
Value:
5/5
Exterior:
5/5
Interior:
4/5
Comfort:
4/5
Performance:
4/5
Reliability:
5/5

Sports Car with a lil utility

Reviewed by Need some Zoom Zoom
March 29, 2016

Very happy with my 2016 CX5 GT. Quick for normal real life situations. Doesnt look big on the outside but plenty of room on the inside. Great gas mileage. I have read gripes about the stereo but I guess my ears dont qualify as an audiophile snob as it sounds great to me. Very happy with the car.

I would recommend this vehicle to a friend: YES

Overall Rating:
5/5
Value:
5/5
Exterior:
5/5
Interior:
5/5
Comfort:
5/5
Performance:
5/5
Reliability:
5/5

Very immpressive

Reviewed by Value seeker
March 24, 2016

We couldn't be happier with our new cx-5 Grand touring model Mazda. Everything about the car is really noteworthy. We love the way it drives. It is very responsive and a great handling car. We have always had larger vehicles and we were quite surprised at how well the Mazda handles and rides. We test drove all the other cars in the small SUV class and we felt the Mazda was the best hands down. A great value for the money. We are looking forward to years of service.

I would recommend this vehicle to a friend: YES

Overall Rating:
5/5
Value:
5/5
Exterior:
5/5
Interior:
5/5
Comfort:
5/5
Performance:
5/5
Reliability:
5/5

Surprising for the price

Reviewed by matthewmed
March 23, 2016

Great car - I have the sport with manual transmission. 6th gear provides very quiet, comfortable ride. Manual transmission comes with cruise control, functions very well - which is a surprising and very welcome feature - usually needs to be added aftermarket

I would recommend this vehicle to a friend: YES

Overall Rating:
5/5
Value:
5/5
Exterior:
5/5
Interior:
5/5
Comfort:
5/5
Performance:
5/5
Reliability:
5/5

Great car

Reviewed by happy buyer
February 15, 2016

I have had the car for 3 weeks now and love it. My old car was 16 years old so there was a bit of a learing curve with all the new technology but I love it. I am still surprised by how much room there is in the cargo area. It is fantastic and I can't wait to take it camping.

I would recommend this vehicle to a friend: YES

Overall Rating:
5/5
Value:
4/5
Exterior:
5/5
Interior:
4/5
Comfort:
5/5
Performance:
5/5
Reliability:
5/5

So cool

Reviewed by Zoom zoom
February 06, 2016

Love the 2016 CX-5, so stylist and comfortable. Everyone should test drive one today. I look great in my new car.

I would recommend this vehicle to a friend: YES

2016 Mazda CX-5 SUV Comparison Reviews

*MSRP and Invoice prices displayed do not include applicable gas taxes or destination charges.