newcars.com®
Log In

New 2014 Mazda CX-5 Reviews

Add to Favorites  | 
More Details & Photos New 2014 Mazda CX-5

Don't Overpay for Your 2014 Mazda CX-5!

Save Time and Money Online When You Shop with Us

Over the past month we helped 97,581 new car buyers find their perfect car.

Get your best price before going to the dealer!

Consumer Reviews Summary Write a Review

Average Overall Rating:

4.6/5

Value:
4.5/5
Exterior:
4.7/5
Interior:
4.3/5
Comfort:
4.5/5
Performance:
4.5/5
Reliability:
4.6/5

86 of 98 (87%) of consumers said they would recommend this vehicle to a friend.

Overall Rating:
5/5
Value:
5/5
Exterior:
5/5
Interior:
5/5
Comfort:
4/5
Performance:
5/5
Reliability:
5/5

LOVIN this car!!!!!!!!!

Reviewed by Trish
June 17, 2014

Just traded in my 2011 VW TIguan that I loved, but was getting up there in miles. It was really expensive to fix and maintain, so wanted to go with something else. I drive about 1000 per week for work so I practically live in my car. I wanted something loaded, with all the bells and whistles and good MP, while still looking COOL! Very important, ya know? Needed to have sort of a "mobile office". Ruled out the Escape because there is NO ROOM for anything beyond a couple cup holders and the arm rest bin. Where do you put the key fob? Sunglasses? Cell phone? Besides, it was really cramped. Ruled out the RAV4 because it had a really dumb shelf thing on the dashboard and very cheap feeling and looking interior. The dashboard was more utilitarian. Everything else seemed to get poor MPG. Finally found this CX5 and fell madly, instantly in love!!!!!! I've taken it on a major road trip already and it lived up to my expectations!! I would have rated the "comfort" higher, but I got a little uncomfy...that's probably just me as I don't think you are going to be compfy in any car after 1000 miles!!!!!!

I would recommend this vehicle to a friend: YES

Overall Rating:
3/5
Value:
4/5
Exterior:
4/5
Interior:
3/5
Comfort:
4/5
Performance:
5/5
Reliability:
4/5

Beware of this Potential Security Issue CX-5

Reviewed by Beware Security Issue
June 14, 2014

You will never ask this question (I never did) but it is a huge issue for me. While standing near the car it is impossible to lock the trunk. You must walk 10' away and then it will automatically lock. REALLY!! How do you know it will always do this. I have had sensors go bad many times. Are you going to lay down your key 10' away from you car in the parking lot walk back and check the trunk. I think not. Now I am going to have to take the car to a body shop and see if a lock with a key can be installed. I do not feel secure shopping and leaving my possessions (IPad or whatever) in the back of this care and depending on Mazda's electronics to work forever to lock the trunk. This is a bad, bad design and I would not have purchased the car if I had any idea it worked this way. There are no other options believe me I have checked.

I would recommend this vehicle to a friend: NO

Overall Rating:
3/5
Value:
3/5
Exterior:
3/5
Interior:
4/5
Comfort:
3/5
Performance:
3/5
Reliability:
4/5

Highway gas mileage is terrible

Reviewed by Don't Buy This car
June 08, 2014

The highway gas mileage does NOT even come close to what they say. In fact, the highway mileage is LESS than the city mileage. I have never ever had a car that did not get at least 3 miles a gallon better than city. Not this one.

I would recommend this vehicle to a friend: NO

Overall Rating:
5/5
Value:
5/5
Exterior:
5/5
Interior:
5/5
Comfort:
5/5
Performance:
5/5
Reliability:
5/5

Sweet SUV that rides like a sports car.

Reviewed by Picky SUV driver
May 31, 2014

I recently purchased the CX-5 GT- after test driving and doing a lot of research on other SUV's. If you are in the market you have to check this one out. Very affordable. Fast pick up. I tried Honda CRV and Ford Escape and they were terrible compared to the CX-5. Better gas mpg, better price starting at 20k not 30k like the others. Very comfortable. Looks great, runs great. Very impressed and I have never owned a Mazda. Dealership went beyond and back to please me and my husband. Service department came over and introduced themselves to me. I never had that experience. Very happy employees which leads to happy customers, The best part is the technology in this car saves gas more that all of the other SUV's out there. I am very happy with the choice we made.

I would recommend this vehicle to a friend: YES

Overall Rating:
4/5
Value:
4/5
Exterior:
4/5
Interior:
4/5
Comfort:
4/5
Performance:
4/5
Reliability:
4/5

brand loyalty - back to Mazda

Reviewed by tamoshanter
May 28, 2014

we've owned Mazda's since the 1990 protege, which lasted us over 260k miles; our 2000 626, which currently has 308k and still going strong. but in 2007, looking for a CUV and not liking the CX-7 (because a little too large and using premium gas) we regretfully bought at 2008 Nissan Rogue. It was comfortable, but CVT went out at 120k (and Nissan didn't want to cover it under their extended warranty because it was 4k over). paid $5k to repair, then last month, timing chain broke, with only 180k miles on it. so we went back to Mazda, now with their CX-5. got the AWD, touring model, with tech and sunroof/BOSE options. love it...comfortable, like all the little techie gadgets. only had it for 30 days, and already have almost 3000 miles on it - mixed hwy and city. 2.5L engine gives enough push for highway onramps and passing, back up camera helps me with perfect parallel parking, and stereo - with ipod and bluetooth Pandora, gives lots of options for the long highway drives. am hoping this one gives me at least 300k miles as well

I would recommend this vehicle to a friend: YES

Overall Rating:
4/5
Value:
4/5
Exterior:
5/5
Interior:
4/5
Comfort:
3/5
Performance:
4/5
Reliability:
4/5

Mazda cx5

Reviewed by Meloandrews
May 01, 2014

Driver seat does not conform to my back like I'd like. Every time I drive the right side of my back hurts. Plus the Navigation does not work right in SLC, Ut. The Tom Tom gives out the directions wrong due to streets using numbers like #### south then #### West, city,state. It seems confused. So Im still use my Garman, I'm disappointed with this feature.

I would recommend this vehicle to a friend: YES

Overall Rating:
5/5
Value:
5/5
Exterior:
5/5
Interior:
4/5
Comfort:
5/5
Performance:
5/5
Reliability:
5/5

CX-5, you had me at zoom zoom

Reviewed by Mazda Convert
April 16, 2014

I've now owned my 2014 Mazda CX-5 Grand Touring for about 3 months and I've put 2100 miles on her. I have to say, I wasn't sure about Mazda at first. They'd never really stuck out to me as amazing cars...until I drove the 2014 CX-5. I was hooked from the moment I saw the color (I got the reflex blue mica color) and then drove it. Positives: -MPG-I'm averaging 25.8 right now city and 33 highway -Handling-handles like a sports car, smooth, quick responses, amazing -Power-not the most powerful car/SUV out there, but enough power for what I need and for toodling around town and road trips -Space-tons of room in the back, way more than you'd think when you just look at the car -Features-has lots of features like the backup camera, blind spot monitoring, adjustable heated seats, HD radio, leather interior, rain sensing wipers, etc Negatives: -Lighting-the cabin is a little dark at night and I had a hard time finding window and door lock buttons when I first bought her because I couldn't see them -I wish this car had the memory settings for seats. My husband and I both drive my car sometimes and it would be nice if we could just have setting 1 and 2 preset so we're not constantly changing stuff around. Overall, this car is amazing. I'd recommend it to anyone! I love my Mazda and I'm totally converted to the Mazda family now. I just absolutely love driving this car and my 45 min commute to work every day is a much more enjoyable experience.

I would recommend this vehicle to a friend: YES

Overall Rating:
5/5
Value:
5/5
Exterior:
5/5
Interior:
5/5
Comfort:
5/5
Performance:
5/5
Reliability:
5/5

Mazda CX5 - Best Zoom Zoom for the Buck

Reviewed by NewYawker
April 10, 2014

Mazda has hit a home run with this vehicle. I purchased a fully loaded 2015 Grand Touring for my daughter. I am comfortable that this Mazda will get her safely through her 4 yrs of college and to her first job no problem. It has sharp looks, drives great and has every option one could need. Great navigation and phone integration. Blind spot monitor, leather htd seats, etc. The only feature I would say is missing is memory for the seats. The truck has a 5 star crash rating. I am very pleased and feel the Mazda offers the most value for the dollar compared to other vehicles in it's class.

I would recommend this vehicle to a friend: YES

Overall Rating:
5/5
Value:
5/5
Exterior:
5/5
Interior:
5/5
Comfort:
5/5
Performance:
5/5
Reliability:
5/5

Solid small SUV

Reviewed by Driver
March 28, 2014

Have had my Mazda CX5 Grand Touring for almost 10 months. 9500 miles with no issues. Great handling, averaged 25.5 MPG in town and highway. Only small complaint on the road noise. Don't know if replacement tires for the Toyo's would make a difference. I like all the bells and whistles.....xenon headlights, good sound system, side view warning system, etc. Granted, it is not at the level of the premium entries I was considering (X3, Q5 or XC60), but for $20 grand less, a great value. Ready to get my second oil change and tire rotation. No mechanical issues at all. I like it.

I would recommend this vehicle to a friend: YES

Overall Rating:
5/5
Value:
5/5
Exterior:
5/5
Interior:
4/5
Comfort:
4/5
Performance:
5/5
Reliability:
5/5

CX-5: Great vehicle but not perfect

Reviewed by kdaug
March 25, 2014

I have been looking for a small SUV for over a year. I had focussed in on the Ford Escape Titanium, Sante Fe SE, and Toyota RAV 4 Limited initially but not the CX-5. I then was narrowing my choice down to the Escape or Sante Fe because of their more powerful turbo 2.0L engine. But, I then ruled out the Sante Fe as it was just a bit to big, also ruled out the RAV-4 as they didn't have real leather in their top Limited model(not acceptable), just pretend leather(leatherette), and there were knobs/controls so low down under the front console I couldn't see them without bending over, as I am tall. This left the Escape which I really liked but then after reading reports of their extremely poor gas mileage and reliability I ruled it out as well. I had then started reading very favorable reports on the CX-5 and after test driving a GT(without Nav) was completely smitten and the deal was then done. I love this SUV... power, comfort, style,( Bose) 9 speaker sound system, ergonomics...everything I wanted in an SUV. I opted not to get the Tech upgrade with Nav as I had read several negative reviews on the Nav system in the 2013 and 2014 models. The dealer told me a Nav upgrade is due for the soon to be released 2015 model so I decided to hold off and add a NAV(with this upgrade) a bit later( as I think the CX-t is the only SUV out there which you can add Nav as an upgrade...although not cheap). My gas mileage is not up to advertised specs, but, it's winter, cold, snowy and slushy roads here in Canada at the moment. I expect to see better MPG's by spring and after my breakin period is over(I'm at about 3000 km). Yes, there is more road noise than the car I traded in, but this is more typical of suv's. The undercoating I had sprayed on took some of that noise away. My next set of summer tires in a couple of years will be switched to a model/brand which rides more quietly. If there were any major concerns they would be: a small vibration in the drivers mirror(well documented in the CX-5 forums), the heat to the front floor takes quite a while to warm up and there is also some heat coming out of the other vents when only set to the feet(the dealer says this is normal!!!???), and, I have a small vibration on acceleration up to about 40 kmh. Some people have complained about poor/blocked vision out of the rear window. Now I had the same issue in all the SUV's that I test drove. I solved the problem in my CX-5 by removing the 3 head restraints from the back seat. Problem solved. In conclusion I must say that I am a very discerning buyer and would never have bought this vehicle without considerable comparison. Every vehicle has some drawbacks but the CX-5 was the best overall in my mind. Absolutely no regrets!!

I would recommend this vehicle to a friend: YES

2014 Mazda CX-5 SUV Comparison Reviews

*MSRP and Invoice prices displayed do not include applicable gas taxes or destination charges.