newcars.com®
Quick Car Finder

New 2017 Mazda CX-5 Reviews See 2016 Model

New 2017 Mazda CX-5

Average Overall Rating:

4.8/5

Write a Review
Value:
4.8/5
Exterior:
4.9/5
Interior:
4.8/5
Comfort:
4.9/5
Performance:
4.8/5
Reliability:
4.7/5

32 of 33 (96%) of consumers said they would recommend this vehicle to a friend.

Never Have Been So Enthusiastic!

Reviewed by Irish
July 15, 2017

I have never been so enthusiastic about a new car in my life and I'm a Senior! I selected the Grand Touring Trim fully loaded with red exterior and black leather interior. The features are phenomenal; particularly the projected display on the windshield which monitors your speed, cars in front and/or behind you, and the blindspot. The interior is accuratelly described as elegant with a slight "sporty" feel to it. The steering is perfect! The ride both on the highway and city traffic is extremely comfortable with perfect handling. I've never received so many compliments on the look of a car-kudos to Mazda designers. I couldn't be more satisfied!

I would recommend this vehicle to a friend: YES

Great Car!!

Reviewed by Mikii
July 11, 2017

This car is quiet and easy to handle. So many safety functions. We were Subaru owners for years and decided to try a Mazda and we are so glad we did. Smooth ride, safety reports a big plus as far as we are concerned.

I would recommend this vehicle to a friend: YES

Awsome Buy

Reviewed by Cinthia Gil
July 09, 2017

I have a family of four. Two kids, my husband, and I. The car is very spacious and the comfort is out of this world. We got the one with the AC units in the back seats, and with added features including the automatic headlights, automatic wind shield wipers, and heated seats. We've owned the car now for a week and don't want to get out of it when we get home. I have the vehicle a 4 out of 5 stars because there are some features that we felt should have been included for the amount of money the car is worth. The driver seat is not as adjustable as the Honda Accord we owned before this one. There is no power lift gate, and the door is heavy. Yesterday, it was raining hard and we had groceries on both our hands and kids running behind us wanting to get in the car. We had to set the bags down in order to get the trunk door open. Otherwise, no complaints. Great buy!

I would recommend this vehicle to a friend: YES

It's incredibly fantastic!

Reviewed by John S.
June 29, 2017

After tons of research I chose the 2017 CX-5 GT and could not be happier. The obvious competitor is the new CR-V and I actually waited for the new Tiguan as I also currently own a 2015 Passat. Skipping through all the gritty details, if you buy a CX-5 you will be giving up interior room. The backseat is comfortable but not nearly as spacious as the Tiguan & CR-V and the same can be said for the cargo area. Mazda cannot compete here, it's simply a smaller car. Fuel mileage is good but not as good as the CR-V, so something to keep in mind as the real driving reports say the difference is about 3mpg on average. However where the CX-5 shines is it's exterior design and interior quality. Both the CR-V and Tiguan are bland to me whereas the CX-5 is gorgeous and luxurious. As a Realtor and essentially having a mobile office this is what resonated with me. It's beautiful without screaming "he's making too much money" like a BMW, Audi or Mercedes. I chose the white and it makes for a clean and classic look with the chrome and black accents while the white and black contrasting interior makes for a eye-catching entrance that neither the CR-V or Tiguan can claim. It's sporty yet functional rather than the everyday blah personality of the CR-V or the "mini" minivan look of the Tiguan. It's strikes a perfect balance for me and many others as you can see how highly satisfying this car is based on the reviews. One last note, it's exceptionally quiet which has been one of the most gratifying aspects of the car. Go drive one, I think you will be very impressed you can get THIS type of car for $33K!

I would recommend this vehicle to a friend: YES

Champagne Taste, Beer Money

Reviewed by AR
June 27, 2017

Luxury styling, quiet cabin, smooth ride. Engine performance is average, but moves just fine. Handling is excellent for a car of this class. This thing is fun to drive. Qualms: -Blind Spot Monitor a bit too sensitive -Parking sensors not standard -No digital Speedometer (unless you opt for HUD) -Navigation is inferior to Waze -No Apple Carplay (but that's changing soon supposedly) If those things were included, this would be the perfect car for us. Love everything else about it.

I would recommend this vehicle to a friend: YES

Beautiful to look at and fun to drive

Reviewed by PGD
June 27, 2017

I am impressed by the quiet interior, the acceleration is amazing. Previously I had only owned six cylinder vehicles and was skeptical of a four cylinder. However, this car handles better than my previous one by far. LOVE all the amenities and details from the moon roof to the heated seats!

I would recommend this vehicle to a friend: YES

Fuel efficient and reliable!

Reviewed by Catherine91
June 26, 2017

This vehicle is comfortable for not just me but for my passengers. Has lots of room and compartments to fit my needs. Very fuel efficient and overall I am extremely happy I made the choice to get the cx-5!

I would recommend this vehicle to a friend: YES

Fun car to drive!

Reviewed by Mauricio
June 24, 2017

Car is great, from interior design to features, the car is overall a good value. What I really love is the features. Mazda really stepped up this time with the CX-5. If you are looking for the perfect size in a SUV, get the CX-5. It is not too small or too big, I would say is the perfect size for a family of 5. Interior quality is amazing, you feel like you are in a more expensive suv. Mazda is trying to be above the other Japanese competitors and they are heading into the right direction.

I would recommend this vehicle to a friend: YES

Well appointed stylish SUV with nice handling

Reviewed by Ssergi
June 22, 2017

I evaluated and test drove the top 6 SUV in this class amd without a doubt this offers the best design, comfort and performance among them.

I would recommend this vehicle to a friend: YES

I was blown away by the performance and style.

Reviewed by Sandraec
June 20, 2017

I was impressed by this CX-5 the moment I seen it at Boniface-Hiers dealership. It's eye catching in the style department, then when I test drove it, I was highly impressed at how well it's torque out. Has sport mode for those of us who like more giddy up in our ride. Comes with Bose sound system, 10 Bose speakers, Navigation, blind spot monitors, and collision warning system along with lane departure warning. This is a lot of vehicle for the price. For the first time ever, I felt I walked away the winner in car buying. My entire experience at Boniface-Hiers was painless and very relaxing without all the horrible negotiating that goes on at other dealerships I have done business with in the past.

I would recommend this vehicle to a friend: YES

2017 Mazda CX-5 SUV Comparison Reviews