newcars.com®

New 2016 Mazda CX-5 Reviews

Add to Favorites  | 
More Details & Photos New 2016 Mazda CX-5

Don't Overpay for Your 2016 Mazda CX-5!

Save Time and Money Online When You Shop with Us

Over the past month we helped 97,581 new car buyers find their perfect car.

Get your best price before going to the dealer!

Consumer Reviews Summary Write a Review

Average Overall Rating:

4.8/5

Value:
4.7/5
Exterior:
4.9/5
Interior:
4.7/5
Comfort:
4.7/5
Performance:
4.7/5
Reliability:
4.8/5

41 of 43 (95%) of consumers said they would recommend this vehicle to a friend.

Overall Rating:
5/5
Value:
5/5
Exterior:
5/5
Interior:
5/5
Comfort:
5/5
Performance:
5/5
Reliability:
5/5

So happy

Reviewed by mazdafan
November 01, 2016

I absolutely love my new CX-5 Touring. I'm glad I went with the fancier model. I love features of navigation, backup camera, heated seats, power seating, pandora option, the quality of calling from my car is fantastic. I love the keyless entry and you can set the car to lock when you walk away. I also forgot and left my lights on and it automatically turns the lights off for you. The blind spot monitor is also handy. The only negative I have found is there isn't an interior latch to unlock and open the trunk which is odd and a bit annoying. Other than that I LOVE my new car. I like my husband's huyndai Tuscon but I get car sick in it. I'm short so I can't see over the hood much. In my mazda cx-5 I can adjust the power seat perfectly and even though it is a bigger car than what I am used to I feel like it fits me perfectly.

I would recommend this vehicle to a friend: YES

Overall Rating:
5/5
Value:
4/5
Exterior:
5/5
Interior:
5/5
Comfort:
4/5
Performance:
5/5
Reliability:
4/5

Are new 2016.5 Mazda CX-5

Reviewed by Carl n Jen cx5
October 26, 2016

Our new CX-5 is a blast to drive. Seats are a little firm but comfortable. Car handles great and is pretty smooth over rough surfaces. We thought for sure in order to get great gas mileage you would have to sacrifice performance. Not true with the CX-5 you have plenty of pep and still gets great gas mileage. Carl and. Jen A.

I would recommend this vehicle to a friend: YES

Overall Rating:
5/5
Value:
4/5
Exterior:
4/5
Interior:
4/5
Comfort:
5/5
Performance:
5/5
Reliability:
5/5

Perfect car for Incoming / Outgoing College Kids

Reviewed by Just Graduated
August 16, 2016

I just purchased a 2016 Mazda CX-5 after graduating and it has made my life easier. The car is spacious enough to fit most of my stuff into for moving into an apartment near my new job. Also, the gas mileage is ages beyond anything that my old car could do. In addition to the space, the comfort of the chairs and ease of movement within the car is fantastic. It's enough room for my dog to lay down in the back and not have to curl into a ball. Also, the vents for AC / heat are phenomenal. Almost immediately, the AC is up and running to make the worst summer days bearable.

I would recommend this vehicle to a friend: YES

Overall Rating:
5/5
Value:
5/5
Exterior:
5/5
Interior:
5/5
Comfort:
4/5
Performance:
5/5
Reliability:
5/5

Love it, but

Reviewed by Little ole' lady
August 15, 2016

I was a Honda woman (last five cars), but traded it in for my first Mazda! Love the sport-looking exterior, the interior colors and the driver seat that allows me (very short) to see over the hood. The only complaint I have is it not having XM in my Touring even though the radio menu shows XM. Apparently to continue my Sirius subscription is to buy an aftermarket radio - bummer! Glad it has a CD player so I play 50-60's cds! After checking out the 2016 CRV, didn't like the interior panel - too complicated for this little ole' lady and couldn't see over the hood. No regrets for choosing the Mazda CX-5 Touring (except no XM)!

I would recommend this vehicle to a friend: YES

Overall Rating:
5/5
Value:
5/5
Exterior:
5/5
Interior:
5/5
Comfort:
4/5
Performance:
5/5
Reliability:
5/5

My second Mazda CX-5

Reviewed by Feet
July 14, 2016

I purchased my second Mazda CX-5 in Dec., 2015. It is a 2016 model, with several changes from my 2013 CX5 1) The radio intimidated me initially, but I have found that it is safer and easier to operate while driving than the previous, more traditional radio in my 2013 model. I particularly like the "song identification" feature on this new radio. 2) The backup camera increases the odds that I'll avoid little parking lot fender benders...My insurance rates actually went DOWN. 3) My gas mileage WITH A/C on is right at the 26 mpg...without A/C I'm getting 27 1/2 to 29 mpg. (I have a 4-cylinder automatic, which has great acceleration) 4) The A/C, when it's set on low, cools so well I can easily imagine that I am driving in San Diego instead of in 100 degrees Dallas this summer. (of course, with all the windows closed). Wonderful vehicle....

I would recommend this vehicle to a friend: YES

Overall Rating:
5/5
Value:
5/5
Exterior:
5/5
Interior:
4/5
Comfort:
5/5
Performance:
5/5
Reliability:
5/5

Quibbles with the CX-5 2016.5 Grand Touring

Reviewed by Mazda Fan
July 10, 2016

I do not intend to do a "review" of this car. Overall, it is a lot of car for the money, is better looking inside and out and more fun to drive than other cars in it's class and price range. I gave it a lot of stars. Enough said. My quibbles are that when sticking with the same brand and buying a newer, more expensive model I expected that good ideas on the older car would be carried forward and/or improved. Not dropped. The CX-5 Grand Touring with Tech Package gave up a compass in the auto-dimming, home-link rear view mirror. I tend to frequently rely on the compass feature, as the GPS doesn't as readily show you which direction you're heading. Yeah...it's a quibble, but I am going to look at swapping out this mirror for the one that was included in my 2013 Mazda 3 iGrand Touring model. Mazda also chose to put a 12volt socket inside the arm-rest console, but dropped the USB connector. If you want to connect an Ipod, it can no lo nger be kept out of sight, neatly tucked away inside. Instead, there are two usb ports up front in the storage area beneath the climate controls on the dash. Admittedly, not deal breaker in any sense, but Mazda DID see fit to include this detail on it's 2013 IGrand Touring "3". Quibble #3 is with the small compartment on the left of the steering wheel, which I assume is a coin holder as not much else fits in that space. On the Mazda 3 GT, that little "coinbox" had just the right slope such that coins didn't go spilling out of it every time you accelerated the car. Such is not the case with the CX-5. Have to find somewhere else to keep spare change. My 4th and final quibble with the new CX-5 may be just a matter of getting used to it, but I find the "joystick" control of the radio and nav to be much less intuitive and less easy to use than the previous touch screen had been. It is possible that I will change my opinion about this as time goes on. Beyond these little quibbles, I think it is a great car. In further comparing it to my previous Mazda 3 GT, aside from the obvious more spacious interior, it accelerates and handles about as good (surprisingly), is quieter, smoother and will comfortably seat 4 adults. Other mentionables are that the Bose sound system performs better than it did in the smaller "3" and...I can't wait for those few days where the roads are snow covered as I have the AWD option. Gas mileage has taken a hit of course compared to the "3", but it is still quite reasonable. It looks like my "real-world" driving will average me about 25 MPG whereas in the "3" I regularly averaged 32 MPG. Both of these numbers are less than Mazda advertises, but that's with ME driving it !

I would recommend this vehicle to a friend: YES

Overall Rating:
5/5
Value:
5/5
Exterior:
5/5
Interior:
5/5
Comfort:
5/5
Performance:
5/5
Reliability:
5/5

bear facts

Reviewed by bear moon and mama bear
July 08, 2016

Excellent car still could use more insulation to make it more quite. Also the cup holders and console could be more convenient for driver. Overall I give it a 5 because it is far better than others in this price range.

I would recommend this vehicle to a friend: YES

Overall Rating:
5/5
Value:
5/5
Exterior:
5/5
Interior:
5/5
Comfort:
5/5
Performance:
5/5
Reliability:
5/5

Carlton at Mazda Germantown

Reviewed by kindall
June 09, 2016

i love my new Mazda!! I came to Mazda just out of curiosity and was approached by Carlton. He was so nice and was willing to stay past his shift time to allow me to test drive the CX-5. not only was he funny but also very informative about the vehicle. he honestly sold me the car based on the facts he was able to give me. the guy really knew his stuff!! i took the car home for an over night demo only because the bank was closed and it was too late in the night to purchase the car. i went back the next day and it was so quick and easy!! Linda in finances was also great and very friendly!! thank you mazda for an AMAZING car, but also an amazing experience buying the car.

I would recommend this vehicle to a friend: YES

Overall Rating:
5/5
Value:
5/5
Exterior:
5/5
Interior:
5/5
Comfort:
5/5
Performance:
4/5
Reliability:
5/5

best value out there !

Reviewed by Car Nut !
May 25, 2016

Bought a 2016 cx5 GT, now 500 miles in I can say it drives ,feels and looks bigger inside and out , drives like a much more expensive vehicle, the fit / finish is first class,soft touches ,seats , sight lines all good ,roomier than I thought ,drive quality solid ,firm ,handles great ,controls were easy to adapt to but lots of steps to change stations etc, look forward to winter . Researched and only cuv I test drove ,others can,t compare , I would urge anyone looking at this class to drive this first !!

I would recommend this vehicle to a friend: YES

Overall Rating:
5/5
Value:
5/5
Exterior:
5/5
Interior:
5/5
Comfort:
4/5
Performance:
5/5
Reliability:
5/5

Great car that one shouldn't miss

Reviewed by SuMo
May 18, 2016

A great crossover small SUV with sophisticate equipment that makes it comparable to a high-end car. Fee solid and responsive.Freeway gas millage (31.5 mpg) on this AWD version is higher than the posted 30 mpg. Many very thoughtful designs plus car-like easy-to-drive performance in addition to its nice-looking appearance made me put it at 5 stars.

I would recommend this vehicle to a friend: YES

2016 Mazda CX-5 SUV Comparison Reviews

*MSRP and Invoice prices displayed do not include applicable gas taxes or destination charges.