newcars.com®
Log In

New 2014 Mazda CX-5 Reviews

Add to Favorites  | 
More Details & Photos New 2014 Mazda CX-5

Don't Overpay for Your 2014 Mazda CX-5!

Save Time and Money Online When You Shop with Us

Over the past month we helped 97,581 new car buyers find their perfect car.

Get your best price before going to the dealer!

Consumer Reviews Summary Write a Review

Average Overall Rating:

4.5/5

Value:
4.4/5
Exterior:
4.7/5
Interior:
4.3/5
Comfort:
4.5/5
Performance:
4.4/5
Reliability:
4.5/5

90 of 104 (86%) of consumers said they would recommend this vehicle to a friend.

Overall Rating:
5/5
Value:
5/5
Exterior:
5/5
Interior:
5/5
Comfort:
5/5
Performance:
4/5
Reliability:
5/5

Love my CX5

Reviewed by Lexi
September 13, 2014

I have no complaints about my CX5. People are impressed how much power it has for a SUV. I love the gas mileage it gets. It handles turns well. The navigation system is great and I never get lost now. The A/C system is great. I have a black CX5 and live in an area where it's close to 100 degrees. No problem in cooling the CX5 down fast. I am almost 5 feet tall and had problems with my knees hitting the below dash area. No problem with this in the CX5.. Love the camera in the back with the guiding lines so I can now parallel park with no problem.

I would recommend this vehicle to a friend: YES

Overall Rating:
3/5
Value:
2/5
Exterior:
5/5
Interior:
2/5
Comfort:
3/5
Performance:
4/5
Reliability:
3/5

Disappointed

Reviewed by tree
September 01, 2014

For over a year I had been looking to purchase a new car. I was torn between Subaru and Mazda. I did a lot of research and spent hours reading reviews and test driving both makes. I chose Mazda because I was not comfortable with the CVT in the Subaru. I purchased an AWD 2014 CX-5 touring in April with almost 11,000 miles on it. I love the body style, the soul red paint and the handling but am disappointed with the gas mileage and quality of the interior. About a month ago, I noticed a crack in the plastic below the shifter trim, I don't know if it was the heat or if it was cracked before I purchased the car and it had been glued back together, either way, I had not noticed it before and you can not miss it. Since I had purchased an extended warranty, and the car had less then 12,000 miles on it, I took it to the dealer only to find out that trim is not covered under any warranty. Last week I noticed that the front driver seat is already starting to fray where the seat and back meet. ( I am under 5' tall and weigh less than 120 lbs so I shouldn't be putting too much stress on the fabric.) The carpet throughout the entire vehicle is very cheap.The plastic scratches easily. Please really look at the interior of the car and pay attention to the plastic, trim, fabric and carpeting. When people ask how I like my new car, it saddens me not to be able to say I love it. I would not have purchased this car if I had paid more attention to the detail/quality of the interior. The interior of my Ford explorer with 130,000 miles is in better condition than my brand new car. I don't think it will last 130,000 miles, I just hope it lasts 5 years until the car is paid off.

I would recommend this vehicle to a friend: NO

Overall Rating:
5/5
Value:
5/5
Exterior:
5/5
Interior:
5/5
Comfort:
5/5
Performance:
5/5
Reliability:
5/5

Good ride

Reviewed by Murrary
July 17, 2014

I purchased a new CX-5 Mazda after driving a '01 Protégé for 13 years since new I am proud with the Mazda lineup on their vehicles. This crossover has more technology compared on what used to drive with a vehicle having base options as power windows, power doors, am/fm radio, CC, but now things have changed since than this is more like a Base SUV being cheaper in new advanced technology. It rides solid, features are really outstanding on CX-5 got navigation, rain sensor wipers, iPod interface, info center, heated seats, backup camera, keyless, lane departure warning. CX-5 gives me some of the most greatest road handling ever, there is nothing could think in lows on this little SUV after all I think have got much better deal instead buying a CR-V which really considering buying but since owned and drove a Mazda for 13 years with zero problems went for another new one know right could trust the reliability but so pleased with all new features and better technology ever. The transmission is automatic makes me have a really firm ride with comfortable seats in lots of bolstered support being more safer to drive too. Overall Mazda vehicles does last up to 350K miles or up this is the 3rd I bought own a (2 Protégé and CX-5) one lasted 400xxx a '92 and '01 went 240xxx with zero issues no oil burning or nothing. Recently purchased my CX-5 few weeks ago still learning the basics for navigation to infotainment systems but loving this SUV...Oh! The gas mileage is a plus one thing with these vehicles they are gas misers I am getting 35.8 mpg on CX-5 but on both Protégé vehicles averaged out 40 mpg still with the CX-5 think have good gas mileage otherwise got better discount sticking with Mazda again.

I would recommend this vehicle to a friend: YES

Overall Rating:
4/5
Value:
3/5
Exterior:
4/5
Interior:
4/5
Comfort:
4/5
Performance:
4/5
Reliability:
4/5

M Sport Adds Spice to a Solid Performer

Reviewed by PF Westwood
July 07, 2014

The 2014 BMW 7 Series is a joy to drive and the M Sport package makes it a bit more stylish as well.

I would recommend this vehicle to a friend: YES

Overall Rating:
5/5
Value:
5/5
Exterior:
5/5
Interior:
5/5
Comfort:
4/5
Performance:
5/5
Reliability:
5/5

A keeper

Reviewed by Nmlobo
July 06, 2014

Owned my 2015 cx5 GT for 14 months and 16,000 miles. Smooth quiet ride. Excellent gas milage ~ 30 mpg city and 34 to 36. Highway. It did have a driver side window rattle that was fixed by the dealer within 5 minutes. I completely pleased with this suv!

I would recommend this vehicle to a friend: YES

Overall Rating:
1/5
Value:
3/5
Exterior:
5/5
Interior:
5/5
Comfort:
5/5
Performance:
1/5
Reliability:
1/5

DISSAPPOINTED CUSTOMER

Reviewed by NICE STYLE
July 02, 2014

8/2013 PURCHASE MAZDA CX5 REALLY LIKE THE STYLE OF THE CAR. THE 1ST MONTHS EXCELLENT , ON THE 2ND MONTH OF HAVING THE CAR HAD ISSUES TOOK TO DEALER THEY COULD NOT FIGURE OUT THE PROBLEM SO THEY RESET THE COMPUTER HOPING IT TAKES CARE OF THE PROBLEM, THE N 1 MONTH LATER SAME ISSUE ALL THE HAPPENED TO TO THE DEALER THE Y CONTACT MAZDA TO MY SUPRISE NEEDS A NEW TRANSMISSION. WOW THE CAR IS ONLY 3 MONTHS OLD, MONTH GOES BY ON THE 5 MONTH AGAIN ISSUE WITH THE DISPLAY DASHBOARD NOT WORKING AS IS SUPPOSE TOO, TAKE TO THE DEALER THEY JUST RESET THE COMPUTER IT WORKS, NOW ON THE 9TH MONTHS OF HAVING THE CAR THE BLUETOOTH, NAVAGATION IS NOT WORKING AT ALL THE DEALER ARE TO ORDERING THE PART. THIS CAR WILL NOT RECOMMEND AT ALL.

I would recommend this vehicle to a friend: NO

Overall Rating:
5/5
Value:
5/5
Exterior:
5/5
Interior:
5/5
Comfort:
4/5
Performance:
5/5
Reliability:
5/5

LOVIN this car!!!!!!!!!

Reviewed by Trish
June 17, 2014

Just traded in my 2011 VW TIguan that I loved, but was getting up there in miles. It was really expensive to fix and maintain, so wanted to go with something else. I drive about 1000 per week for work so I practically live in my car. I wanted something loaded, with all the bells and whistles and good MP, while still looking COOL! Very important, ya know? Needed to have sort of a "mobile office". Ruled out the Escape because there is NO ROOM for anything beyond a couple cup holders and the arm rest bin. Where do you put the key fob? Sunglasses? Cell phone? Besides, it was really cramped. Ruled out the RAV4 because it had a really dumb shelf thing on the dashboard and very cheap feeling and looking interior. The dashboard was more utilitarian. Everything else seemed to get poor MPG. Finally found this CX5 and fell madly, instantly in love!!!!!! I've taken it on a major road trip already and it lived up to my expectations!! I would have rated the "comfort" higher, but I got a little uncomfy...that's probably just me as I don't think you are going to be compfy in any car after 1000 miles!!!!!!

I would recommend this vehicle to a friend: YES

Overall Rating:
3/5
Value:
4/5
Exterior:
4/5
Interior:
3/5
Comfort:
4/5
Performance:
5/5
Reliability:
4/5

Beware of this Potential Security Issue CX-5

Reviewed by Beware Security Issue
June 14, 2014

You will never ask this question (I never did) but it is a huge issue for me. While standing near the car it is impossible to lock the trunk. You must walk 10' away and then it will automatically lock. REALLY!! How do you know it will always do this. I have had sensors go bad many times. Are you going to lay down your key 10' away from you car in the parking lot walk back and check the trunk. I think not. Now I am going to have to take the car to a body shop and see if a lock with a key can be installed. I do not feel secure shopping and leaving my possessions (IPad or whatever) in the back of this care and depending on Mazda's electronics to work forever to lock the trunk. This is a bad, bad design and I would not have purchased the car if I had any idea it worked this way. There are no other options believe me I have checked.

I would recommend this vehicle to a friend: NO

Overall Rating:
3/5
Value:
3/5
Exterior:
3/5
Interior:
4/5
Comfort:
3/5
Performance:
3/5
Reliability:
4/5

Highway gas mileage is terrible

Reviewed by Don't Buy This car
June 08, 2014

The highway gas mileage does NOT even come close to what they say. In fact, the highway mileage is LESS than the city mileage. I have never ever had a car that did not get at least 3 miles a gallon better than city. Not this one.

I would recommend this vehicle to a friend: NO

Overall Rating:
5/5
Value:
5/5
Exterior:
5/5
Interior:
5/5
Comfort:
5/5
Performance:
5/5
Reliability:
5/5

Sweet SUV that rides like a sports car.

Reviewed by Picky SUV driver
May 31, 2014

I recently purchased the CX-5 GT- after test driving and doing a lot of research on other SUV's. If you are in the market you have to check this one out. Very affordable. Fast pick up. I tried Honda CRV and Ford Escape and they were terrible compared to the CX-5. Better gas mpg, better price starting at 20k not 30k like the others. Very comfortable. Looks great, runs great. Very impressed and I have never owned a Mazda. Dealership went beyond and back to please me and my husband. Service department came over and introduced themselves to me. I never had that experience. Very happy employees which leads to happy customers, The best part is the technology in this car saves gas more that all of the other SUV's out there. I am very happy with the choice we made.

I would recommend this vehicle to a friend: YES

2014 Mazda CX-5 SUV Comparison Reviews

*MSRP and Invoice prices displayed do not include applicable gas taxes or destination charges.