newcars.com®
Log In

New 2015 Mazda CX-5 Reviews See 2014

Add to Favorites  | 
More Details & Photos New 2015 Mazda CX-5

Don't Overpay for Your 2015 Mazda CX-5!

Save Time and Money Online When You Shop with Us

Over the past month we helped 97,581 new car buyers find their perfect car.

Get your best price before going to the dealer!

Consumer Reviews Summary Write a Review

Average Overall Rating:

4.7/5

Value:
4.7/5
Exterior:
5.0/5
Interior:
4.7/5
Comfort:
4.6/5
Performance:
4.7/5
Reliability:
4.9/5

22 of 23 (95%) of consumers said they would recommend this vehicle to a friend.

Overall Rating:
5/5
Value:
5/5
Exterior:
5/5
Interior:
5/5
Comfort:
4/5
Performance:
5/5
Reliability:
5/5

Love my 2015 CX-5!

Reviewed by fashionrachel
November 13, 2014

Bought this as my first brand new car because I loved it so much. The car runs great, mileage is good so far- 27 in city driving mostly. It's more quiet than my '07 Mazda3. My "3" is still extremely reliable with 100k miles on it- never been to the shop! I'm hoping for the same from my CX-5. The style is nice and I have no issues with the interior. The Grand Touring upgrade for bigger wheels, sunroof, Bose speakers, etc is worth it. The blind spot warning is wonderful!!!!!! Also love my backup camera. If highly recommend!

I would recommend this vehicle to a friend: YES

Overall Rating:
5/5
Value:
5/5
Exterior:
5/5
Interior:
4/5
Comfort:
4/5
Performance:
5/5
Reliability:
5/5

Awedome vehicle!

Reviewed by Soulful Red
October 28, 2014

I picked up my vehicle on the 29th of July and have nearly 8500 miles on it. At first I thought I was only getting 27 miles per gallon but now my mileage is great. I verified that the readout is accurate and I am now getting 37 miles per gallon! The car is comfortable but on my long trips I could have used a lumbar support as I had in my old Melinnia. I love my new vehicle!

I would recommend this vehicle to a friend: YES

Overall Rating:
5/5
Value:
5/5
Exterior:
5/5
Interior:
5/5
Comfort:
5/5
Performance:
5/5
Reliability:
5/5

LOVE THIS VEHICLE, Thank you Mazda

Reviewed by CarlaMc
October 27, 2014

I went from a 2012 Mazda 6 to my Red Mazda CX5, I didn't get all the bells and extras, but I love this Vehicle. We took it up to Estes Park for the week-end love the drive and was so solid. We opted for the Nav system and love it. Great Gas Mileage.

I would recommend this vehicle to a friend: YES

Overall Rating:
2/5
Value:
2/5
Exterior:
5/5
Interior:
2/5
Comfort:
2/5
Performance:
3/5
Reliability:
3/5

Terrible Infotainment System

Reviewed by Frustrated CX-5 Owner
October 20, 2014

I'm the owner of a 2015 Mazda CX-5 Grand Touring AWD with Technology Package. This car features a buggy and rudimentary Tom Tom navigation unit, which requires frequent updates to fix one glitch after another. The Bose audio projects about 80% of the sound from the dashboard speakers; it doesn't even sound like strereo. The Bluetooth and USB interfaces do not work as advertised with iPhones, iPods, or Android devices. CX-5 and Mazda 6 owners have been reporting these problems to Mazda for about 2 years. Mazda acknowledges the problem and claims a fix is on the way. Meanwhile, they continue to charge a premium for this system to unsuspecting customers. If you're considering this vehicle, skip the Bose and the Tom Tom navigation and have an aftermarket system installed. It probably won't cost any more and you'll be far happier than those of us, who went with the factory option.

I would recommend this vehicle to a friend: NO

Overall Rating:
5/5
Value:
5/5
Exterior:
5/5
Interior:
5/5
Comfort:
5/5
Performance:
5/5
Reliability:
5/5

I'm a believer now!

Reviewed by kthinsa
October 03, 2014

I want to preface this Review with the fact that I had gone to the Dealership with the intention of purchasing a Kia Soul(so ugly it's cute), until my friend pointed out the CX5. In a word - Awesome. I have been planning on moving up to an SUV for almost 10 years now, but just never tested one that made me feel it was worth the money...that is until I drove the 2015 CX5. From the moment I sat in it, I knew. Everything right where I wanted it to be, armrest at just the right position, controls all easily accessible, and all the features you could possibly need were available. Once I took it out on the road, the handling was as confident as my old sedan I was trading in. Solid, good power for the size of the engine, and one of the easiest Cruise Control set ups I have ever used(and I use it every day). Bottom line...it sold itself to me without any help from the Salesman, and he knew it. Got a good deal, better than I expected trade-in for my old sedan, I drove out a very Happy Camper, and after several months of driving it, I am still loving it. Would definitely recommend this SUV to any one who asked. As I was finishing up my deal, I looked over to see that my friend was also making the same purchase....apparently he was sold on it also, and last I heard, was also still in love with it.

I would recommend this vehicle to a friend: YES

Overall Rating:
5/5
Value:
5/5
Exterior:
5/5
Interior:
5/5
Comfort:
5/5
Performance:
5/5
Reliability:
5/5

Most fun, sporty & sharp looking SUV I've owned!

Reviewed by Racy driver
August 25, 2014

I was looking for an SUV with good gas mileage, sporty, fun, smooth driving with extra features without great expense. It accelerates well without pause or hesitation. Classy but clean look and enough gadgets without being overwhelming. I found it all in the Mazda CX-5. It has tight steering and take corners quickly but smoothly. The interior features are modern, but easy to understand. It has the room of an SUV, but the ride of a luxury car. The exterior is sleek and doesn't have the rounded or bulky appearance.of other SUVS. I love the backup camera and the side mirror blind spot warning system. And the gas mileage has been great! I am a first time Mazda owner and would highly recommend this vehicle. Zoom-Zoom!

I would recommend this vehicle to a friend: YES

Overall Rating:
5/5
Value:
5/5
Exterior:
5/5
Interior:
5/5
Comfort:
5/5
Performance:
4/5
Reliability:
5/5

Another Mazda - Another Great Ride

Reviewed by Mazda True NY
August 20, 2014

My wife and I just bought the 2015 CX-5 AWD Touring. We got the blue ext / black int no tech but w/installed remote starter. Price was almost $1600 below MSRP plus, trade in, and Tax / Title. Overall good price for great vehicle. We're still breaking in but handling, comfort, and overall design seem to be living up to the hype. My wife is enjoying features like the blind spot monitoring and rear back up camera. Layout is simple but intuitive and functional; from tilt / tele steering wheel, 40/20/40 folding seats to easy pairing of Bluetooth. Gas mileage is right at 25mpg so we'll see how that holds up in the winter months. This Mazda out shined over the Toyota, Honda, & Ford. Enjoy the seating comfort, room both front and rear, flexibility of the rear seats. Handling and gas mileage so far. Blind spot monitoring, UI and phone pairing, back up camera. Leather wrap steering wheel and soft touch material on door panels and center console where your skin typically makes contact. Power adjustable driver's seat; tilt / tele steering wheel. Good power and AWD capability (to be tested this winter - living in NY area) Styling and options like the retractable cargo cover, all weather mats, and remote starter. Visibility could be better though typical of these style and size of cross overs (BSM is a plus) Transmission tends to stay in higher gears (tradeoff for better gas mileage) UI / Bluetooth is slow to download Mid-trim stereo is just ok (noticeable step down from the Mazda Bose system I came out of) Wish the mid trim would come with heated seats without moving up to the GT with leather

I would recommend this vehicle to a friend: YES

Overall Rating:
5/5
Value:
4/5
Exterior:
5/5
Interior:
5/5
Comfort:
5/5
Performance:
4/5
Reliability:
5/5

Another Mazda / Another Great Ride

Reviewed by Mazda True
August 15, 2014

My wife and I just bought the 2015 CX-5 AWD Touring. Overall good price for great vehicle. Still breaking in but handling, comfort, and overall design seem to be living up to the hype. My wife is enjoys features like the blind spot monitoring and rear back up camera. Layout is simple and functional; from tilt / tele steering wheel, 40/20/40 folding seats. Gas mileage is right at 25mpg so we'll see in winte. This Mazda out shined over the Toyota, Honda, & Ford. Enjoy the seating comfort, room both front and rear, flexibility of the rear seats. Handling and gas mileage so far. BSM, UI and phone pairing, back up camera. Leather wrap steering wheel and soft touch material on door panels and center console where your skin makes contact. Power adjustable driver's seat; tilt / tele steering wheel. Good power and AWD capability (will test this winter - living in NY area) Styling and options like the retractable cargo cover, all weather mats, and remote starter. Visibility could be better though typical of cross overs (BSM is a plus) Transmission tends to stay in higher gears (tradeoff for better gas mileage) UI / Bluetooth is slow to download Mid-trim stereo is just ok. Wish the mid trim would come with heated seats without moving up to the GT with leather

I would recommend this vehicle to a friend: YES

Overall Rating:
5/5
Value:
5/5
Exterior:
5/5
Interior:
5/5
Comfort:
5/5
Performance:
5/5
Reliability:
5/5

Awesome car - just want to drive it all day!

Reviewed by Very Satisfied Customer
August 11, 2014

Finally after researching for MANY months - and narrowing the search down to the Mazda CX5 Touring -- I have the car of my dreams! If you do your research, this car on paper wins hands-down against its competitors (2014 model year) in the same class (Honda CRV, Toyota RAV4, Subaru Forester). Test driving it sealed the deal. It is a blast to drive -- peppy, sporty, comfortable. And to sweeten the ride, the price was spot on out the door.

I would recommend this vehicle to a friend: YES

Overall Rating:
5/5
Value:
5/5
Exterior:
5/5
Interior:
5/5
Comfort:
5/5
Performance:
5/5
Reliability:
5/5

New car experience!

Reviewed by Nene
August 04, 2014

It's been 13 years since I bought my last car so the car buying experience was intense!! I did my homework often referring to the Consumer magazine. I researched both Mazda cars (CX5 and CX9) but in the end the CX5 won out because for a lot less money, I still got ALL of the bells and whistles (sun/moon roof, BOSE sound system, bluetooth and a navigation system). I enjoy driving the car and seems to be good on gas. The only thing I wish Mazda had done was to include a trunk release on the inside of the car, however, it wasn't something that would have been a deal breaker! This is my second Mazda and I hope it holds up as well as the previous Mazda purchased 23 years ago. So far so good - Love it!

I would recommend this vehicle to a friend: YES

2015 Mazda CX-5 SUV Comparison Reviews

*MSRP and Invoice prices displayed do not include applicable gas taxes or destination charges.