cars.com

A member of the
Cars.com family

Log In
McAfee Badge

New 2014 Kia Soul Reviews See 2013

More Details & Photos
New 2014 Kia Soul

Don't Overpay for Your 2014 Kia Soul!

Save Time and Money Online When You Shop with Us

Over the past month we helped 97,581 new car buyers find their perfect car.

Get your best price before going to the dealer!

Consumer Reviews Summary Write a Review

Average Overall Rating:

4.9/5

Value:
4.9/5
Exterior:
4.8/5
Interior:
4.9/5
Comfort:
4.8/5
Performance:
4.4/5
Reliability:
4.9/5

15 of 15 (100%) of consumers said they would recommend this vehicle to a friend.

Overall Rating:
5/5
Value:
5/5
Exterior:
5/5
Interior:
5/5
Comfort:
5/5
Performance:
3/5
Reliability:
5/5

Great 1st car

Reviewed by T2drive
April 21, 2014

Highly recommend if looking for 1st car that is a great value and has a high safety rating. Love Kia's warranty of 10 yrs/100,000 miles.

I would recommend this vehicle to a friend: YES

Overall Rating:
5/5
Value:
5/5
Exterior:
5/5
Interior:
5/5
Comfort:
5/5
Performance:
4/5
Reliability:
5/5

High Lighting The Fantastic KIA SOUL

Reviewed by Value Hunting Car Enthusiast
April 12, 2014

We love cars with "Extra Large Sized Personalities", and the SOUL ! (exclaim) with the "Whole Shebang Package" has it in Spades...!!! Its got Hamster's...!!! What other car Tops That...<:-)) 1) Its got a strong body structure, and handles like a CAT... I'm still impressed how Flat the Soul handles fast corners...! 2) I'm satisfied that its getting better than the rated combined fuel economy numbers running in ECO mode... 3) The Air Cooled front seats "Really Work"...<:-)) 4) Love the NAV, and using a USB stick, I put 1366 songs on it, plugged it in, and now listen to them in random play mode all the time... 5) The roof with the whole glass Top Front, and Rear is a sight to behold...!!! Plus the Front half opens up...!!! 6) The interior is Top of the Class (soft touch everywhere)... 7) The infinity 350 watt 10 speaker sound system (woofer in the back) is Great. The SOUL is all about a Music Theme, with its "Out Sized" design treatment in this Car...<:-)) 8) The outside of the Soul is a Design Statement leader in its class. When the Wife, and I test drove the SOUL, she said: We Got To Buy This "THING" hehehe... 9) Naturally the shape of the SOUL give it Great Utility Value"...<:-)) 10) We have no regrets buying the SOUL,,, Test Drive One, and you will be a believer...

I would recommend this vehicle to a friend: YES

Overall Rating:
4/5
Value:
4/5
Exterior:
5/5
Interior:
4/5
Comfort:
4/5
Performance:
3/5
Reliability:
4/5

Love my new Soul +

Reviewed by DMV
April 11, 2014

I'm still getting use to it but so far no problems. It is small than it looks which is what I was looking for. Not a sedan and not a full size SUV, in between, which is another style I was looking for. It doesn't have the power to accelerate fast but I wasn't looking for speed:) The price was right too! I don't know about reliability because I have only had it for 3 weeks, but somehting had to be checked off on the list.

I would recommend this vehicle to a friend: YES

Overall Rating:
4/5
Value:
5/5
Exterior:
5/5
Interior:
4/5
Comfort:
5/5
Performance:
4/5
Reliability:
5/5

Soul+

Reviewed by OCTOGENARIAN
March 29, 2014

Great car. Comfortable, smooth, and quiet. Great line of sight, except for to the rear (where the camera helps a lot). MPG about 30, w/o any trips. Good sound system. The door pockets could be improved, and there could be a 2nd seat back pocket. Getting the feel for parking is taking a bit of time--no fender lines or hood ornament.

I would recommend this vehicle to a friend: YES

Overall Rating:
5/5
Value:
5/5
Exterior:
5/5
Interior:
5/5
Comfort:
5/5
Performance:
5/5
Reliability:
5/5

Best car ever!

Reviewed by Kia soul driver
March 24, 2014

Had a car that was a 2009 with almost 100,000 miles on it. Wanted a car easy on the pocket book and with a good warranty. I love this car! Tons of room in it and it's as comfortable as a car can get! Only 200 miles on it so it will last me a while. I love Midwest kia!

I would recommend this vehicle to a friend: YES

Overall Rating:
5/5
Value:
5/5
Exterior:
5/5
Interior:
5/5
Comfort:
5/5
Performance:
5/5
Reliability:
5/5

Stylish and A Great Value

Reviewed by Big Al
March 23, 2014

I bought a 2014 Kia Soul with the Alien color a couple of weeks ago. It is by far the coolest vehicle I've ever driven! I love that the interior warms up quickly, especially driving it at the tail end of a brutal Chicago winter. It also plows through snow easily. I also love the Bluetooth and sound system which is easy to use. Very comfortable to drive. You sit up high like a big SUV, but when you get out, you wonder where is the rest of the vehicle? If you are looking for a stylish and a good vehicle for the money, I highly recommend the 2014 Kia Soul.

I would recommend this vehicle to a friend: YES

Overall Rating:
5/5
Value:
5/5
Exterior:
5/5
Interior:
5/5
Comfort:
5/5
Performance:
4/5
Reliability:
5/5

2014+

Reviewed by soulplusbrother
March 19, 2014

i was the previous owner of a 2012 sxt challenger. it was my dream car but it was rusting at 21,000 miles. so i traded it in for a 2014 soul +. i was looking at the new 2014 subaru legacy, 14 wv passat and the 14 optima. this car wasnt even on my radar do to its less the manly exterior. i drove it and was sold. it was their show room car with only 5miles on it. smooth ride and tight turning when in sport mode. it is a complete 180 from my challenger. its not the manliest car but it was calling to my inner child. its like driving an over sized gocart on the street. I'm getting better then the estimated mpg it claimed so that's awesome. i recommend this car to anyone looking for a roomy, fun, easy on the wallet car.

I would recommend this vehicle to a friend: YES

Overall Rating:
5/5
Value:
5/5
Exterior:
5/5
Interior:
5/5
Comfort:
5/5
Performance:
5/5
Reliability:
5/5

! with Whole Shabang beats itsy bisy brand wagon

Reviewed by Animal Hauler Taxi
February 19, 2014

Exclaim trim with Whole Shabang & few other options, not much less than a prestigious name badge itty bitty wagon. Multi-adjustable power seats comfortable, exc. lumbar support. Backup camera & large 8" screen makes it easy to park & back. Heated & ventilated seats, heated steering wheel, moonroof excellent. as is the infotainment system No CD player but a hard drive that can hold 6000 songs or so. Exc. navigation, voice directions HD radio, Sirius/XM.. Best of all systems I tried. Sound is very good. Rear storage area-nice hidden, compartment OK space for groceries, with seats down quite good space. Tall large dogs fit fine. Driving: on eco mode feels about 20% less power but still that has a bit more punch than other wagons Off of eco and the Soul is quite responsive, uphill freeway on ramps it has plenty of power even with Eco on. 75% city driving mileage was 27.5 mpg. Found the steering felt fine in sport mode, not too much body lean on turns. Interior is one of the quietest for a small sedan or hatchback. Suspension is firm but not jarring handling most of the bumps quite well. Top 1 o2 best riding vehicle with such a short body. Feels solid, does not feel like a sub 35K inexpensive vehicle especially with good quality interior. Excellent bright HID self leveling headlights,(only with ! WS package) though they do cut off abruptly. Have not had the need to use the high beams. (I used high beams a lot on previous vehicles.) Exterior & styling: I like the floating panel and side profile. Would look better with some accent pin striping or molding as the sides look plain. Great looking 18" 3 toned wheels. With key fob on you, no need to press buttons, the mirrors open up, and door unlocks when handle is pulled. Over all Fun to drive, near luxury, urban utility vehicle Cons: Upper trim not in the price range for many - mid/high 20s depending on options added in addition to WS Packages. Just fair MPG (have not done just a tank with freeway driving-but Souls have been know to get in low 30s). Sides are plain, no protection molding. No spare tire-tire repair kit. Spare tire kits are an available option. Perception as economy car and brand. (At close to 30K fully loaded, really not an econobox) Pros: Quiet & solid ride, fun to drive, with enough power for hills, getting on freeway and passing. Quality, near luxury interior, among the best in sub 33K class. Long warranty:

I would recommend this vehicle to a friend: YES

Overall Rating:
5/5
Value:
5/5
Exterior:
3/5
Interior:
5/5
Comfort:
3/5
Performance:
4/5
Reliability:
5/5

After One Month

Reviewed by Bob
February 08, 2014

The 2014 Kia Soul is excellent. It handles like a sports car. You can see in all directions very easily. One is always amazed at the room one has for shopping or moving. Last night we found food dishes for a pot luck dinner easily and securely fit into the recessed sections in the back so one does not worry about things being tossed around or spilled.

I would recommend this vehicle to a friend: YES

Overall Rating:
5/5
Value:
5/5
Exterior:
5/5
Interior:
5/5
Comfort:
5/5
Performance:
5/5
Reliability:
5/5

Very excited about our purchase

Reviewed by First time new car buyer.
February 03, 2014

We are very happy with our new Kia Soul Plus. The entire car buying experience at Riverside Kia was very pleasant as well.

I would recommend this vehicle to a friend: YES

 

*MSRP and Invoice prices displayed do not include applicable gas taxes or destination charges.